Archived — Practice Notice: Procedure Before the Trademarks Opposition Board, Publication Date: 1996-08-19

Procedure Before the Trademarks Opposition Board

Publication Date: 1996-08-19

This practice notice supersedes all practice notices previously issued in respect of Opposition Board procedures. The provisions of this practice notice are general guidelines only, are not binding in any particular case, and are subject to change.

Correspondence

In accordance with Rules 35 and 36 of the Trade-marks Regulations, all correspondence relating to an opposition proceeding should be clearly marked "Attention Opposition Board". and a copy should be sent to the other party.

Furthermore, in accordance with Rule 3(3) of the Trade-marks Regulations, correspondence in respect of an opposition proceeding may be transmitted to the Opposition Board by facsimile. The Opposition Board facsimile number is: (819) 997-5092.

Joint Opponents

  1. A statement of opposition may name any number of persons jointly as opponents.
  2. Where an extension of time to oppose is granted in the name of one person, a subsequently filed statement of opposition may name that person jointly as opponent along with any number of other persons.

Review of Statements of Opposition under ss. 38(4) and (5j)

  1. It is the responsibility of the opponent to ensure that each of its grounds of opposition is properly pleaded. The failure to do so may result in a ground of opposition not being considered: see, e.g., Massimo De Berardinis v. Decaria Hair Studio (1984), 2 C.P.R. (ad) 319.
  2. The responsibility of the Trademarks Opposition Board pursuant to ss.38(4) and (5) is only to determine if the opposition raises one substantial issue for decision and is not to ensure that all grounds are properly pleaded.
  3. If an applicant has difficulty in replying to a ground of opposition, it may wish to seek clarification from the opponent or raise an objection in its counter statement.

Extensions of Time

  1. All requests for extensions of time limits established by the Act or Regulations must be accompanied by the prescribed fee of $125.
  2. No request for an extension of time pursuant to s. 47(1) will be granted unless a reason is given to explain why additional time is needed.
  3. No request for a retroactive extension of time pursuant to s. 47(2) will be granted unless facts are set forth to justify the conclusion that the failure to do the act or apply for an extension within the time limit was not reasonably avoidable.
  4. When an initial extension of time is being requested to file a statement of opposition, the date the trademark was advertised in the Trademarks Journal should be specified.
  5. In respect of the first request for an extension of time at a particular stage of an opposition, the following standard lengths of extension will be granted: to file a statement of opposition - 3 months; to file a counter statement - 3 months; to file Rule 41(1) [formerly Rule 43] evidence - 6 months; to file Rule 42(1) [formerly Rule 44] evidence - 6 months; to file Rule 43 [formerly Rule 45] evidence - 4 months; to file awritten argument - 4 months; and to request an oral hearing - 3 months. No requests for further extensions of time will be considered unless the other party consents or exceptional circumstances are shown. It should be noted that having regard to the interests of third parties, extensions will not be granted indefinitely on the basis of consent. If a further extension is granted on the basis of consent, it will normally not be granted for a period in excess of six months.
  6. A party relying on the consent of the other party need only state that the consent has been given and is not required to file awritten consent. If, however, the other party later advises that it did not in fact give its consent, the extension of time may be revoked.
  7. When a first extension of time is granted at each stage of an opposition, the Office letter granting the extension will include a notice indicating that if a subsequent extension request is filed at that stage based on the consent of the other party, the requesting party can assume that the extension of time has been granted unless the party hears from the Opposition Board to the contrary. The letter from the requesting party will be stamped so as to indicate that the extension of time has been granted and will be placed on file. Should a party wish to do so, it may send a stamped, self-addressed post card to the Opposition Board with its request for a further extension of time which will be returned to the party to confirm the receipt of the extension of time request.
  8. The Trademarks Opposition Board will not grant a retroactive extension of time pursuant to Section 47(2) in respect of a particular stage of an opposition proceeding where the proceeding has advanced to a subsequent stage.

Sections 38(7.1) and 38(7.2) of the Trade-marks Act

In the event that a party requests, but is not granted, an extension of time to comply with Rule 41(1) or42(1) [formerly Rule 43 or 44] of the Regulations and no evidence has yet been filed by that party, then he will be advised that he has three weeks to file and serve a statement that he does not wish to submit evidence pursuant to Rule41(1) or 42(1) in order to avoid the consequences of Section 38(7.1) or 38(7.2) of the Act. The filing of such a statement does not preclude a subsequent request to file evidence pursuant to Rule 44(1) [formerly Rule 46(1)] although such a request will only be granted in appropriate circumstances.

Stay of Proceedings

Having regard to the decision of the Federal Court of Appeal in Anheuser-Busch Inc. v. Carling O'Keefe Breweries (1982), 69 C.P.R. (2d) 136, the Trademarks Opposition Board does not consider that it has jurisdiction to stay opposition proceedings.

Evidence

  1. In general, the rules of evidence which are applicable in the Federal Court are applicable in opposition proceedings. Reference may be made to G.W. Partington's article Evidence In Opposition Proceedings (1985), 2 Canadian Intellectual Property Review 54.
  2. Where parties are in agreement that a particular form of evidence should be accepted, the Trademarks Opposition Board will usually be prepared to accept it.
  3. In general, rulings on evidentiary matters will only be made at the decision stage and not during the course of an opposition proceeding.

Leave Pursuant To Rules 40 and 44(1) [formerly Rules 42 and 46(1)]

  1. Leave to amend a statement of opposition or counter statement or to file additional evidence will only be granted if the Trademarks Opposition Board is satisfied that it is in the interests of justice to do so having regard to all the surrounding circumstances including a) the stage the opposition proceeding has reached; b) why the amendment was not made or the evidence not filed earlier; c) the importance of the amendment or the evidence; and d) the prejudice which will be suffered by the other party.
  2. Requests for leave to amend a statement of opposition or counter statement should be accompanied by an amended statement of opposition or counter statement and the amendments should be clearly indicated in the covering letter.
  3. Requests for leave to file additional evidence should be accompanied by at least a draft and preferably a sworn or declared version of the affidavit or statutory declaration which is proposed to be filed.
  4. Oncewritten arguments have been requested pursuant to Rule 46(1) [formerly Rule 48(1)], no request for leave to file additional evidence will be considered unless it is specifically agreed that the affiant or declarant will be made available for cross-examination at the request of the other party.
  5. A copy of a request for leave pursuant to Rule 40 [Formerly Rule 42] or Rule 44(1) [formerly Rule 46(1)], together with a copy of the amended statement of opposition or counter statement or the affidavit or statutory declaration which is proposed to be filed, should be sent to the other party. In general, if the other party raises no objection to the request for leave, it will be granted.
  6. In general, a grant of leave under Rule 40 [formerly Rule 42] or Rule 44(1) [formerly Rule 46(1)] will have no effect on any outstanding deadlines.

Amending Applications

Any letter requesting that an application be amended should specifically identify the changes being made to the application. Ordinarily, a revised application will not be required.

cross-examination

  1. Where a request for cross-examination in respect of an affidavit or statutory declaration filed pursuant to Rule 41(1) [formerly Rule 43] is made within two months from the completion of all the Rule 41(1) evidence, and the prescribed fee for an extension of time has been submitted, the cross-examination order will specify that the applicant will have four months from the completion of the cross-examination to file its Rule 42(1) [formerly Rule 441 evidence or statement. This applies mutatis mutandis to orders for cross-examination in respect of Rule 42(1) evidence. Apart from the above, cross-examination orders will, in general, specify that they have no effect on any outstanding deadlines.
  2. The Trademarks Opposition Board will not make rulings during the course of an opposition as to whether certain questions should be answered, whether answers given are adequate, etc. Failure to answer proper questions or to fulfill undertakings may, however, result in negative inferences being drawn or in the affidavit or statutory declaration being ignored at the decision stage: see, e.g., Seagram v. Seagram (1984), 3 C.P.R. (ad) 325 at 332.
  3. It is the responsibility of the party requesting the cross-examination to ensure that the time limits established in the cross-examination order are met. If the cross-examination cannot be arranged by mutual agreement, the Trademarks Opposition Board will, on request, set up an appointment for the cross-examination normally on the following basis. Where the person to be cross-examined resides in Canada, the party requesting the cross-examination order will conduct the cross-examination proceedings at the place of the party being cross-examined. The party requesting the cross-examination will pay any expense involved in having his trademark agent present himself at the place of the affiant/declarant and bear any expense necessary with respect to the cross-exa m ination procedure including the hiring of a reporter and the preparation and delivery of a copy of the transcript to the Trademarks Office. The person being cross-examined will bear the costs of his agent and transcript. Where the person to be cross-examined resides outside of Canada and where the parties are unable to come to an agreement concerning in the affiant's/declarant's country, the affiant/declarant will be made available for cross-examination in Canada at affiant's/declarant's expense. Once the affiant/declarant is made available in Canada, the costs associated with the cross-examination shall be handled in the same manner as described above with respect to cross-examination of a person resident in Canada. Failure to attend at a cross-examination scheduled by the Trademarks Opposition Board may result in the affidavit or statutory declaration being deemed not to be part of th e evidence pursuant to Rule 44(5) |formerly Rule 46(5)1 of the Trade-marks Regulations. If the other party delays in fulfilling undertakings, the Trademarks Opposition Board will, on request, set a deadline for the fulfillment of undertakings.

Oral Hearings

Due to delays in mail reaching the Opposition Board, the parties should telephone the Board to advise of any postponement or cancellation of an oral hearing.

Parties relying upon unreported decisions of the Board should copy the other party with such decisions at least one day prior to the date of the oral hearing.

Date modified:

Archivé — Énoncé de pratique: Procédure relative à la Commission des oppositions des marques de commerce, Date de publication : 1996-08-19

Procédure relative à la Commission des oppositions des marques de commerce

Date de publication : 1996-08-19

Le présent énoncé de pratique annule tous les avis qui ont été publiés antérieurement en matière de procédure d'opposition. Les dispositions de cet énoncé de pratique sont un guide général, ne sont pas obligatoires dans un cas en particulier et peuvent être changées.

Correspondance

Conformément aux articles 35 et 36 du Règlement sur les marques de commerce, toute la correspondance se rapportant à une procédure d'opposition devrait porter l'inscription « À l'attention de la Commission des oppositions » et une copie devrait être envoyée à l'autre partie.

De plus, conformément à l'article 3(3) du Règlement sur les marques de commerce, la correspondance en ce qui concerne une procédure d'opposition peut être transmise à la Commission des oppositions par télécopieur. Le numéro de télécopieur de la Commission des oppositions est (819) 997-5092.

Co-opposants

  1. Une déclaration d'opposition peut citer conjointement n'importe quel nombre de personnes à titre d'opposants.
  2. Lorsqu'une prolongation de délai d'opposition est accordée au nom d'une personne, une déclaration d'opposition subséquemment déposée peut citer conjointement cette personne à titre d'opposant avec n'importe quel nombre d'autres personnes.

Examen des déclarations d'opposition en vertu des paragraphes
38(4) et (5)

  1. L'opposant a la responsabilité de s'assurer de faire en sorte que chacun des motifs d'opposition qu'il entend soulever soit dûment plaidé, sans quoi il est possible qu'un motif d'opposition ne soit pas pris en considération: voir, par exemple, la cause Massimo De Berardinis c. Decaria Hair Studio (1984), 2 C P.R. (3d) 319.
  2. La responsabilité de la Commission des oppositions des marques de commerce en vertu des paragraphes 38(4) et (5) ne consiste qu'à déterminer si l'opposition soulève une question sérieuse pour décision, et non à s'assurer que tous les motifs sont dûment plaidés.
  3. Si un requérant éprouve de la difficulté à répondre à un motif d'opposition, il peut chercher à obtenir des explications de l'opposant ou soulever une objection dans sa contre-déclaration.

Prolongations de délai

  1. Toute demande de prolongation de délais établis par la Loi ou le Règlement doit être accompagnée d'un montant de 125,00 $ en paiement des droits prescrits.
  2. Nulle demande de prolongation de délai en vertu du paragraphe 47(1) ne sera accordée, à moins qu'une raison ne soit donnée pour en expliquer la nécessité.
  3. Aucune demande de prolongation de délai rétroactive en vertu du paragraphe 47(2) ne sera accordée, à moins que les faits ne soient exposés pour justifier la conclusion que l'omission d'accomplir l'acte ou de demander la prolongation dans ce délai n'était pas raisonnablement évitable.
  4. Lorsqu'une prolongation de délai initiale est demandée afin de déposer une déclaration d'opposition, la date de l'annonce de la marque de commerce dans le Journal des marques de commerce devrait être spécifiée.
  5. En ce qui concerne la première demande de prolongation de délai à une étape particulière de l'opposition, les délais normalisés suivants seront accordes : dépôt d'une déclaration 3 mois; dépôt d'une contre-déclaration 3 mois; dépôt d'une preuve conformément à l'article 41(1) [anciennement article 43] du Règlement 6 mois; dépôt d'une preuve conformément à l'article 42(1) [anciennement article 44] du Règlement 6 mois; dépôt d'une preuve conformément à l'article 43 [anciennement article 45] du Règlement 4 mois; dépôt de plaidoyers écrits 4 mois; et une demande pour la tenue d'une audience 3 mois. Aucune demande de prolongation de délai supplémentaire ne sera prise en considération, à moins que l'autre partie n'y consente ou que des circonstances exceptionnelles ne soie nt exposées. Considérant les intérêts des tiers, les prolongations de délai ne seront pas accordées indéfiniment de consentement. Si une autre prolongation de délai est accordée en raison d'un consentement, normalement ce ne sera pas accordé pour une période de plus de six mois.
  6. Une partie se fondant sur le consentement de l'autre partie n'a qu'à déclarer que le consentement a été accordé et elle n'est pas tenue de déposer un consentement écrit. Toutefois, si l 'autre partie fait savoir plus tard qu'elle n'a pas effectivement donné son consentement, la prolongation de délai peut être révoquée.
  7. Lorsqu'une première prolongation de délai sera accordée à chaque étape d'une opposition, il y aura un avis dans la lettre de la Commission des oppositions accordant la prolongation requise qui indiquera que, si une nouvelle prolongation est demandée à cette étape et que l'autre partie consent à la prolongation, la partie qui a soumis la demande pourra présumer que la prolongation de délai a été accordée, à moins que la Commission des oppositions ne lui fasse parvenir une lettre à l'effet contraire. Il sera indiqué sur la lettre de la partie qui a demandé la prolongation que le délai a été accordé et la lettre sera versée au dossier. Si une partie désire obtenir une confirmation de la réception de sa demande de prolongation de délai, elle peut faire parvenir à la Commission des oppositions, avec sa demande, une cart e affranchie et pré-adressée, qui sera retournée à la partie.
  8. La Commission des oppositions n'accordera pas de prolongation de délai rétroactive conformément au paragraphe 47(2) en ce qui concerne une étape particulière d'une procédure d'opposition si cette opposition est déjà passée à une étape subséquente.

Paragraphes 3B(7.1) et 38(7.2) de la 1-of sur les marques de commerce

Lorsqu'une partie sera refusée une prolongation de délai pour produire une preuve en application des articles 41(1) ou 42(1) [anciennement articles 43 ou 44] du Règlement et que la partie n'a produit aucune preuve, la partie en cause sera informée qu'elle a trois semaines pour produire et signifier une déclaration énonçant son désir de ne pas produire de preuve conformément aux articles 41(1) ou 42(1) pour éviter ainsi les conséquences prévues aux paragraphes 38(7 1) ou 38(7.2) de la Loi. La production d'une telle déclaration n'écarte pas une demande subséquente conformément à l'article 44(1) [anciennement l'article 46(1)] bien qu'une telle requête ne sera accordée que dans des circonstances appropriées.

Arrêt des procédures

Compte tenu de la décision de la Cour d'appel fédérale dans Anheuser-Busch inc. c. Carling O'Keefe Breweries (1982), 69 C.P.R. (2d) 136, la Commission des oppositions des marques de commerce estime qu'elle n'a pas juridiction pour suspendre des procédures d'opposition.

Preuve

  1. De façon générale, les règles de la preuve qui vent applicables à la Cour fédérale s'appliquent aux procédures d'opposition. On peut se reporter à l'article de G.W. Partington intitulé « Evidence In Opposition Proceedings » (1985). 2 Revue canadienne de propriété intellectuelle 54.
  2. Lorsque les parties conviennent qu'une forme particulière de preuve devrait être acceptée, la Commission des oppositions des marques de commerce sera habituellement disposée à l'accepter.
  3. De façon générale, les décisions concernant des questions de preuve ne seront rendues qu'à l'étape de la décision et non au cours d'une procédure d'opposition.

Autorisation en vertu des articles 40 et 44(1) [anciennement 42 et 46(1)] du Règlement

  1. Une autorisation de modifier une déclaration d'opposition ou une contre-déclaration ou encore de déposer une preuve supplémentaire ne sera accordée que si la Commission des oppositions des marques de commerce est convaincue qu'il est dans l'intérêt de la justice de le faire, compte tenu de toutes les circonstances, y compris a) l'étape où en est rendue la procédure d'opposition; b) la raison pour laquelle la modification n'a pas été apportée ou pourquoi la preuve n'a pas été déposée plus tôt; c) l'importance de la modification ou de la preuve; d) le tort qui sera causé à l'autre partie.
  2. Les demandes visant à autoriser la modification d'une déclaration d'opposition ou d'une contre-déclaration devraient être accompagnées d'une déclaration d'opposition ou d'une contre-déclaration modifiée et les modifications devraient être clairement indiquées dans la lettre d'accompagnement.
  3. Les demandes visant à autoriser le dépôt d'une preuve supplémentaire devrait être accompagnées d'au moins un projet et préférablement d'une version sous serment ou déclarée statutairement de l'affidavit ou de la déclaration statutaire que la partie se propose de déposer.
  4. Une fois les plaidoyers écrits demandés en vertu de l'article 46(1) [anciennement 48(1)] du Règlement, aucune demande visant à autoriser le dépôt de preuves supplémentaires ne sera prise en considération, à moins qu'il ne soit formellement convenu que le signataire de l'affidavit ou de la déclaration statutaire se soumettra à un contre-interrogatoire à la demande de l'autre partie.
  5. Une copie d'une demande d'autorisation en vertu des articles 40 ou 44(1) [anciennement articles 42 ou 46(1)] du Règlement, ainsi qu'une copie de la déclaration d'opposition ou de la contre-déclaration modifiée ou de l'affidavit ou de la déclaration statutaire qu'une partie se propose de déposer, devaient être envoyées à l'autre partie. De façon générale, si l'autre partie ne soulève aucune objection à la demande d'autorisation, celle-ci sera accordée.
  6. De façon générale, une permission accordée conformément à l'article 40 ou 44(1) [anciennement l'article 42 ou 46(1)] n'aura aucun effet sur toute autre date limite en suspens.

Modifications des demandes

Toute lettre visant à modifier une demande d'enregistrement doit contenir, en détail, les modifications désirées. Une demande modifiée ne sera habituellement pas exigée.

Contre interrogatoire

  1. Lorsqu'une demande de contre-interrogatoire concernant un affidavit ou une déclaration statutaire produit en vertu de l'article 41(1) [anciennement l'article 43] du Règlement est présentée, au plus tard dans les deux mois après la date où toute la preuve prévu par l'article 41(1) a été complétée, et que le droit prescrit pour une prolongation de délai a été acquitté, l'ordonnance de contre-interrogatoire précisera que le requérant aura quatre mois à partir de la date d'achèvement du contre-interrogatoire, pour produire sa preuve ou sa déclaration visée à l'article 42(1) [anciennement l'article 44] du Règlement. Cette procédure s'applique, avec les adaptations de circonstance, aux ordonnances de contre-interrogatoire sur un affi davit ou une déclaration statutaire produit conformément l'article 42(1) du Règlement. Sous réserve de ce qui précède, les ordonnances de contre-interrogatoire préciseront qu'elles n'ont aucun effet sur toute autre date limite en suspens.
  2. La Commission des oppositions des marques de commerce ne rendra aucune décision au cours d'une opposition sur l'obligation de répondre à certaines questions, si les réponses données sont appropriées, etc. Toutefois, ne pas répondre à des questions pertinentes ou ne pas remplir des engagements peut conduire à des inférences négatives ou à ce qu'il ne soit pas tenu compte de l'affidavit ou de la déclaration statutaire au stade de la décision: voir, par exemple, Seagram c. Seagram (1984), 3 C.P.R. (3d) 325, à la page 332.
  3. La partie demandant le contre-interrogatoire a la responsabilité de faire en sorte que les délais établis dans l'ordonnance de contre-interrogatoire soient respectés. Si le contre-interrogatoire ne peut être fixé d'un commun accord, la Commission des oppositions des marques de commerce peut, sur demande, fixer un rendez-vous aux fins de la tenue audit contre-interrogatoire, habituellement de la façon suivante. Si la personne qui doit être contre-interrogée réside au Canada, la partie demandant l'ordonnance du contre-interrogatoire mènera celui-ci à la place de résidence de la partie contre-interrogée. La partie demandant le contre-interrogatoire paiera les frais de déplacement relatifs à la présence de son agent de marqu es de commerce à la place de résidence du signataire de l'affidavit ou de la déclaration statutaire et elle paiera toutes les dépenses nécessaires relatives à la procédure de contre-interrogatoire, y compris l'engagement d'un sténographe ainsi que la préparation et la livraison d'une copie de la transcription des notes sténographiques au Bureau des marques de commerce. La personne contre-interrogée supportera les frais de son agent de marques de commerce ainsi que les frais de sa copie de la transcription des notes sténographiques. Lorsque la personne à contre-interroger réside à l'extérieur du Canada et que les parties sont incapables de s'entendre pour tenir la contre-interrogatoire dans le pays du signataire de l'affidavit ou de la déclaration statutaire, ce dernier se rendra disponible aux fins du contre-inter ogatoire au Canada, à ses propres frais. Une fois le signataire de l'affidavit ou de la déclaration statutaire rendu disponible au Canada, les frais relatifs au contre-interrogatoire doivent être traités de la façon décrite ci-dessus en ce qui concerne le contre-interrogatoire d'une personne résidant au Canada. Ne pas assister à un contre-interrogatoire fixé par la Commission des oppositions des marques de commerce peut avoir pour effet que l'affidavit ou la déclaration statutaire soit réputé ne pas faire partie de la preuve en vertu de l'article 44(5) [anciennement article 46(5)] du Règlement les marques de commerce. Si l'autre partie ne remplit pas ses engagements dans les délais prévus, la Commission des oppositions des marques de commerce peut, sur demande, fixer une date limite à cet éga rd.

Audition

Compte tenu des délais dans l'acheminement du courrier, les parties devraient téléphoner à la Commission pour l'informer de la remise ou de l'annulation d'une audition.

Toute partie voulant s'appuyer sur des décisions non-publiées de la Commission des oppositions devrait en transmettre copies à l'autres partie au moins une journée avant la date fixée pour l'audition.

Date de modification :