Archived — Practice Notice: Limited Partnerships Can Be Entered on the Register of Agents and on the List of Trademark Agents

Publication Date: 2005-10-26

Note: This practice notice is intended to provide guidance on current Patent and Trademarks Office practice and interpretation of relevant legislation. However, in the event of any inconsistency between this notice and the applicable legislation, the legislation must be followed.


The Patent Office and the Trademarks Office (hereinafter jointly referred to as "the Offices") have been receiving inquiries as to whether limited partnerships are entitled to act as patent and trademark agents before the Offices.

With respect to the register of patent agents, section 15 of the Patent Act provides that a register of patent agents shall be kept in the Patent Office on which shall be entered the names of all persons and firms entitled to represent applicants in the presentation and prosecution of applications for patents or in other business before the Patent Office. Section 2 of the Patent Rules stipulates that the expression "patent agent" means any person or firm whose name is entered on the register of patent agents pursuant to section 15. Paragraph 15(c) of the Patent Rules provides that the Commissioner shall enter on the register of patent agents, on payment of the fee set out in item 33 of Schedule II, the name of any firm, if the name of at least one member of the firm is entered on the register.

With respect to the list of trademark agents, subsection 28(2) of the Trade-marks Act provides that the list of trademark agents shall include the names of all persons and firms entitled to represent applicants in the presentation and prosecution of applications for the registration of a trademark or in other business before the Trademarks Office. Paragraph 21(d) of the Trade-mark Regulations stipulates that the Registrar shall, on written request and payment of the fee set out in item 19 of the schedule, enter on a list of trademark agents the name of any firm having the name of at least one of its members entered on the list as a trademark agent.

Both the patent and trademark legislation therefore provide that firms may act as agents before the Offices, as long as one of their members is entered on the register or list of agents. It is generally recognised that the term "firm" includes partnerships, and the Offices have already allowed general partnerships and limited liability partnerships to be entered on the register or list of agents. The Offices consider that limited partnerships are also firms, and that they are entitled to act as agents before the Offices.

Therefore, commencing immediately, the Offices will enter upon request, on the register or list of agents, limited partnerships that otherwise meet the requirements set out in the patent and trademark legislation.

The Offices, however, continue to consider that the current patent and trademark legislation do not allow corporations to be entered on the register or list of agents, since corporations do not have members and therefore cannot meet the requirements set out in paragraph 15(c) of the Patent Rules and paragraph 21(d) of the Trade-mark Regulations.

Date modified:

Archivé — Énoncé de pratique: Les sociétés en commandite peuvent être inscrites au registre des agents de brevets et sur la liste des agents de marques de commerce

Date de publication : 2005-10-26

Nota : Le présent énoncé de pratique a pour but de préciser les pratiques actuelles du Bureau des brevets et du Bureau des marques de commerce et l'interprétation faite par ces derniers de certaines dispositions législatives. Toutefois, en cas de divergence entre le présent énoncé et la législation applicable, c'est la législation qui prévaudra.


Le Bureau des brevets et le Bureau des marques de commerce (ci-après appelés conjointement « les Bureaux ») ont reçu des questions à savoir si les sociétés en commandite (en anglais « limited partnerships ») ont le droit d'agir en tant qu'agents de brevets et de marques de commerce auprès des Bureaux.

En ce qui concerne le registre des agents de brevets, l'article 15 de la Loi sur les brevets prévoit qu'un registre des agents de brevets est tenu au Bureau des brevets sur lequel sont inscrits les noms de toutes les personnes et entreprises ayant le droit de représenter les demandeurs dans la présentation et la poursuite des demandes de brevet ou dans toute autre affaire devant le Bureau des brevets. Aux termes de l'article 2 des Règles sur les brevets, « agent de brevets » s'entend de toute personne ou maison d'affaires dont le nom est inscrit au registre des agents de brevets aux termes de l'article 15. L'alinéa 15c) des Règles sur les brevets prévoit que le commissaire inscrit au registre des agents de brevets, moyennant paiement de la taxe prévue à l'article 33 de l'annexe II, le nom de toute maison d'affaires dont le nom d'au moins un membre est inscrit au registre des agents de brevets.

En ce qui concerne la liste des agents de marques de commerce, le paragraphe 28(2) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce prévoit que la liste des agents de marques de commerce comporte les noms des personnes et études habilitées à représenter les intéressés dans la présentation et la poursuite des demandes d'enregistrement des marques de commerce et de toute affaire devant le Bureau des marques de commerce. Aux termes de l'alinéa 21d) du Règlement sur les marques de commerce, le registraire, sur demande écrite et sur paiement du droit prévu à l'article 19 de l'annexe, inscrit sur la liste des agents de marques de commerce le nom de toute firme dont le nom d'au moins un membre est inscrit sur la liste à titre d'agent de marques de commerce.

La législation actuelle sur les brevets et celle sur les marques de commerce prévoient donc que des firmes peuvent agir en tant qu'agents auprès des Bureaux, à condition que l'un de leurs membres soit inscrit au registre ou à la liste des agents. Il est généralement admis que le terme « firme » inclut les sociétés (en anglais « partnerships ») et les Bureaux ont déjà autorisé des sociétés en nom collectif (en anglais « general partnerships ») ainsi que des sociétés à responsabilité limitée (en anglais « limited liability partnerships ») à être inscrites au registre ou à la liste des agents. Les Bureaux considèrent que les sociétés en commandite sont aussi des firmes et qu'elles ont le droit d'agir en tant qu'agents auprès des Bureaux.

En conséquence, sur demande, les Bureaux inscriront désormais au registre, ou à la liste des agents, les sociétés en commandite qui répondent aux exigences de la Loi sur les brevets et de la Loi sur les marques de commerce.

Les Bureaux continuent toutefois de considérer que la législation actuelle sur les brevets et les marques de commerce ne permet pas aux compagnies (en anglais « corporations ») d'être inscrites au registre ou à la liste des agents, étant donné que les compagnies n'ont pas de membres et ne peuvent donc pas satisfaire aux exigences de l'alinéa 15c) des Règles sur les brevets et de l'alinéa 21d) du Règlement sur les marques de commerce.

Date de modification :