Archived — Practice Notice - Vienna Classification

Vienna Classification

Publication Date: 2003-03-19

Vienna Classification now in use for Canadian Trademarks

Since March 3, 2003, CIPO is using the Vienna Classification that provides a list of symbols used to classify the figurative elements of trademarks. This classification is searchable on the Canadian Trademarks Database. The official index that is required to be kept under the supervision of the Registrar of Trademarks pursuant to subsection 28(1) of the Trade-marks Act, is now accessible in the Canadian Trademarks Database on the CIPO Internet site.

The Vienna Classification is based on the Vienna Agreement Establishing an International Classification of the Figurative Elements of Marks. This multilateral treaty is administered by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) and entered into force in 1985.

The Vienna Classification constitutes a hierarchical system that proceeds from the general to the particular, dividing all figurative elements into 29 categories, 144 divisions and 1,634 sections. The main advantage of this classification is that figurative elements of trademarks are indexed with reference to a single classification system, thus facilitating searches.

The Vienna Classification has been established in English and French, is continuously revised and a new version is published every five years. It is presently in use in more than 30 countries, three organizations and the International Bureau of WIPO. Visit the Canadian Trademarks Database on the CIPO web site at: www.cipo.gc.ca for more information on the Vienna Classification or to obtain a text version. An official version of the Vienna Classification is available from WIPO.

Date modified:

Archivé — Énoncé de pratique - La Classification de Vienne

La Classification de Vienne

Date de publication : 2003-03-19

La Classification de Vienne est maintenant utilisée à l'égard des marques de commerce canadiennes

Depuis le 3 mars 2003, l'OPIC utilise la Classification de Vienne, qui est une liste de symboles destinés au classement des éléments figuratifs des marques de commerce. Il est possible d'effectuer des recherches dans la classification en passant par la Base de données sur les marques de commerce canadiennes. L'index officiel qui doit être tenu sous la surveillance du registraire des marques de commerce, conformément au paragraphe 28(1) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce, est maintenant accessible à partir de la Base de données sur les marques de commerce canadiennes, dans le site Internet de l'OPIC.

La Classification de Vienne est fondée sur l'Arrangement de Vienne instituant une classification internationale des éléments figuratifs des marques. Ce traité multilatéral, administré par l'Organisation Mondiale de la Propriété Intellectuelle (OMPI), est entré en vigueur en 1985.

La classification constitue un système hiérarchique qui procède du général au particulier, divisant l'ensemble des éléments figuratifs en 29 catégories, 144 divisions et 1 634 sections. Le principal avantage de cette classification est que les éléments figuratifs des marques de commerce sont indexés en fonction d'un système de classement unique, ce qui facilite les recherches.

La classification, établie en anglais et en français, fait l'objet d'une révision constante, une nouvelle édition étant publiée tous les cinq ans. La classification est actuellement utilisée par plus de 30 pays, trois organisations et le Bureau international de l'OMPI. Visitez la Base de données sur les marques de commerce canadiennes à partir du site Web de l'OPIC à : www.opic.gc.ca pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la Classification de Vienne ou pour consulter une version textuelle. Une version officielle de la Classification de Vienne peut aussi être obtenue de l'OMPI.

Date de modification :