Archived — Office Practice Regarding Fertilized Eggs, Stem Cells, Organs and Tissues

June 20, 2006

The Patent Office takes the position that animals at any stage of development, from fertilized eggs on, are higher life forms and are thus not patentable subject matter under section 2 of the Patent Act. Totipotent stem cells, which have the same potential as fertilized eggs to develop into an entire animal, are considered to be equivalents of fertilized eggs and are thus higher life forms and are not patentable subject matter.

Embryonic, multipotent and pluripotent stem cells, which do not have the potential to develop into an entire animal, are patentable subject matter.

Further, the Office takes the position that organs and tissues are not compositions of matter for the purposes of the definition of invention under section 2 of the Patent Act and are therefore not patentable subject matter. Organs and tissues are created by complex processes, elements of which require no human intervention, and do not consist of ingredients or substances that have been combined or mixed together by a person.

Artificial organ-like or tissue-like structures, generated substantially through the hand-of-man by combining various cellular components and/or inert components, may be considered, on a case-by-case basis, to be compositions of matter and therefore patentable subject matter.

Terminology

For the purposes of the foregoing, the following terminology taken from the National Institutes of Health Stem Cell Information website has been adopted:

Embryonic stem cells — Primitive (undifferentiated) cells derived from a 5-day preimplantation embryo that have the potential to become a wide variety of specialized cell types.

Multipotent — Ability of a single stem cell to develop into more than one cell type of the body.

Pluripotent — Ability of a single stem cell to give rise to all of the various cell types that make up the body. Pluripotent cells cannot make so-called "extra-embryonic" tissues such as the amnion, chorion, and other components of the placenta.

Totipotent — A totipotent stem cell can give rise to all the cell types that make up the body plus all of the cell types that make up the extraembryonic tissues such as the placenta.

Date modified:

Archivé — Pratique du Bureau à l'égard des ovocytes fécondés, des cellules souches, des organes et des tissus

Le 20 juin 2006

Le Bureau des brevets estime que les animaux, quel que soit leur stade de développement, à partir du stade de l'ovocyte fécondé, constituent des formes de vie supérieures et, par conséquent, ne constituent pas de la matière susceptible d'être brevetée aux termes de l'article 2 de la Loi sur les brevets. Les cellules souches totipotentes, qui ont la même aptitude que l'ovocyte fécondé à se développer jusqu'à devenir un animal complet, sont considérées comme des équivalents de l'ovocyte fécondé. Elles constituent donc des formes de vie supérieures et ne constituent pas de la matière susceptible d'être brevetée.

Les cellules souches embryonnaires, multipotentes et pluripotentes qui ne peuvent pas se développer jusqu'à devenir un animal complet constituent de la matière susceptible d'être brevetée.

Le Bureau est également d'avis que les organes et les tissus ne sont pas des compositions de matières, aux termes de la définition d' « invention » figurant à l'article 2 de la Loi sur les brevets et, par conséquent, ne constituent pas de la matière susceptible d'être brevetée. Les organes et les tissus sont issus de processus complexes, dont certains éléments ne nécessitent aucune intervention humaine et ne sont pas constitués d'ingrédients ou de substances qui ont été combinés ou mélangés par une personne.

Les structures artificielles, analogues aux organes ou aux tissus, qui sont en bonne partie le résultat d'une intervention humaine consistant à combiner diverses composantes cellulaires et/ou composantes inertes, peuvent être considérées, selon le cas, comme des compositions de matières et, par conséquent, comme de la matière susceptible d'être brevetée.

Terminologie

Aux fins des dispositions qui précèdent, nous avons adopté la terminologie suivante, qui a été tirée du site Web relatif aux cellules souches des National Institutes of Health (anglais seulement) (Les définitions ont été traduites en français) :

Cellule souche embryonnaire — Cellule primitive (non-différenciée) issue d'un embryon non-implanté de 5 jours, qui est apte à se différencier en divers types de cellules spécialisées.

Multipotente — Désigne l'aptitude d'une seule cellule souche à se différencier en plus d'un type de cellule de l'organisme.

Pluripotente — Désigne l'aptitude d'une seule cellule souche à engendrer tous les types de cellules qui composent l'organisme. Les cellules pluripotentes ne peuvent engendrer les tissus dits « extra-embryonnaires », comme l'amnios, le chorion et les autres composantes du placenta.

Totipotente — Une cellule totipotente peut engendrer tous les types de cellules qui composent l'organisme, ainsi que tous les types de cellules qui composent les tissus extra-embryonnaires, comme le placenta.

Date de modification :