Archived — Waiver of the Requirement under Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) Rules to submit a separate power of attorney and/or a copy of a general power of attorney on PCT applications.

The Canadian Patent Office has recently notified the International Bureau at the World Intellectual Property Organization that, in its capacity as receiving Office, International Searching Authority and International Preliminary Examining Authority, it waives the requirement under PCT Rule 90.4(b) that a separate power of attorney be submitted, as well as the requirement under PCT Rule 90.5(a)(ii) that a copy of a general power of attorney be attached to the request, the demand or a separate notice, as the case may be.

The waiver took effect July 1st, 2005.

Exceptions

As per PCT Rules 90.4(e) and 90.5(d), the Office will still require a separate power of attorney or a copy of a general power of attorney for any withdrawal request specified in Rule 90bis - that is, withdrawals of the international application, designations, priority claims, demand or elections (in such cases, all applicants must sign the notice of withdrawal, or the attorney effecting the withdrawal must provide a power of attorney signed by all applicants).

As well, as per Sections 336 (c) 517 (c) and 617 (c) of the PCT Administrative Instructions, the Office will still require a separate power of attorney or a copy of a general power of attorney where an agent or common representative, who is not indicated on the Request Form at the time of filing, performs any action after filing or, where it is unclear that an agent or common representative has power to act on behalf of the applicant.

Any enquiries about this notice may be directed to:

ic.cipopbpctinternational-opicinternationalpctdb.ic@canada

Date modified:

Archivé — Renonciation à l'exigence prévue aux règles du Traité de coopération en matière de brevets (PCT) concernant le dépôt d'un pouvoir distinct et/ou d'une copie d'un pouvoir général pour les besoins des demandes présentées dans le cadre du PCT.

Le Bureau des brevets du Canada a récemment notifié le Bureau international de l'Organisation mondiale de la propriété intellectuelle qu'à titre d'office récepteur, d'administration chargée de la recherche internationale et d'administration chargée de l'examen préliminaire international, il renonce à l'exigence prévue à la règle 90.4b) du PCT concernant le dépôt d'un pouvoir distinct ainsi qu'à l'exigence prévue à la règle 90.5a)(ii) du PCT selon laquelle une copie d'un pouvoir général doit être jointe à la requête, demande ou avis distinct, selon le cas.

La renonciation a pris effet le 1er juillet 2005.

Exceptions

Conformément aux règles 90.4e) et 90.5d) du PCT, l'Office continuera d'exiger un pouvoir distinct ou une copie d'un pouvoir général pour toute demande de retrait visée à la règle 90bis - c'est-à-dire les retraits de demande internationale, de désignations, de revendications de priorité, de demande d'examen préliminaire international ou d'élections (dans de tels cas, tous les déposants doivent signer la déclaration de retrait, ou le mandataire qui effectue le retrait doit fournir un pouvoir signé par tous les déposants).

De plus, en vertu des paragraphes 336 (c), 517 (c) et 617 (c) des instructions administratives du PCT, l'Office continuera d'exiger un pouvoir distinct ou une copie d'un pouvoir général lorsqu'un mandataire ou un représentant commun non désigné dans la requête au moment du dépôt exécute une action après le dépôt, ou lorsqu'on ne peut établir clairement si un mandataire ou un représentant a le pouvoir d'agir au nom du déposant.

Les demandes de renseignements concernant cet avis peuvent être adressées à :

ic.cipopbpctinternational-opicinternationalpctdb.ic@canada

Date de modification :