Archived — Payment of Fees Relating to Patents and Entity Size

This notice is intended to provide guidance on current CIPO practice and interpretation of relevant legislation and jurisprudence, including in particular the recent decision of the Federal Court of Appeal (FCA) in Barton No-Till Disk Inc. v. Dutch Industries Ltd (2003 FCA 121). However, in the event of any inconsistency between this notice and the applicable legislation and jurisprudence, the legislation and jurisprudence must be followed.

Background

In August 2001, the Federal Court of Canada, in Dutch Industries Ltd. v. The Commissioner of Patents, Barton No-Till Disk Inc, and Flexi-Coil Ltd. (2001 FCT 879) addressed the consequences of the failure to correctly pay the prescribed fees within the prescribed time limits. This specifically applied to corrective payments, whether or not they were submitted in order to compensate for incorrectly having paid a small entity fee. As a result of the aforementioned decision, CIPO no longer accepts any corrective payments which are submitted after a due date, unless the appropriate actions are taken as required by legislation within the prescribed time limits, e.g. a request for reinstatement and reinstatement fee or late fee, together with the action that should have been taken in order to avoid the abandonment or about to lapse state.

In March 2003, the FCA provided, in Barton No-Till Disk Inc. v. Dutch Industries Ltd (2003 FCA 121) an interpretation of the legislative provisions relative to small and large entity fee payments. The FCA found that the entity status is determined only once, when the patent regime is first engaged , and that subsequent fees must be paid based on this initial determination, notwithstanding the fact that it may change after the filing of an application or during the life of the patent.

Practice

The status of an entity is determined once; CIPO considers that the regime is first engaged at the filing date. CIPO will apply the principles of the FCA decision to both small and large entities, regardless of any status change that may occur after the filing of an application or during the life of the patent, through assignments or other corporate reorganizations.

An applicant or patentee must be a small entity as of the filing date in order to benefit from the advantages conferred onto small entities. A small entity declaration should be presented in the petition (Schedule I of the Rules respecting the Patent Act, Form 3) when an application is filed, or separately when, for example, an international application enters the national phase in Canada or, in certain circumstances, when the applicant later determines that it was at the time of filing a small entity. The declaration should be in the following form: "The applicant [or patentee] believes that the applicant [or patentee] is entitled to claim status as a "small entity" as defined under section 2 of the Patent Rules."

The onus is on applicants and patentees to decide for themselves whether they can declare themselves to be a small entity. CIPO generally does not question an assertion by an applicant or patentee that it is a small entity. Applicants and patentees have the responsibility to ensure that the information submitted and the fees paid are sufficient.

CIPO's refund practice has not changed and Section 4 of the Patent Rules will be applied. Specifically, pursuant to Subsection 4(6) of the Patent Rules, the Office is under no obligation to issue a refund solely because a fee is paid at the large entity level and the entity is later determined to have been a small entity as of the filing date.

When an incorrect payment is made and the time limit has elapsed according to the Patent Act and Rules, CIPO's practice is, as a courtesy, to notify the applicant or patentee of the status of his/her application or patent. It is however the responsibility of applicants and patentees to keep track of relevant time limits and they should not rely on a notice necessarily being sent in every case

Information

It is important to note that any status information generated by the Techsource system is based on the records of the Patent Office that are maintained for administrative purposes only. The current status information generated by the Techsource system may not fully take into account the FCA Dutch decision since it is based on information from the last maintenance fee paid, and any entity declaration that may have been submitted on or after the filing date of an application. For legal purposes, it is recommended that the relevant documents in the Patent Office be consulted. Copies or the file history can be obtained from the Reproduction and Sales Unit at 819-997-1936 or by fax at 819-953-9969.

CIPO is currently in the process of reviewing the FCA Dutch decision and determining whether the decision will require any regulatory or statutory changes.

Date modified:

Archivé — Paiement de droits relatifs aux brevets et statut d'une entité

Le présent avis vise à donner des précisions sur la pratique actuelle de l'OPIC et l'interprétation de la législation et de la jurisprudence pertinentes, dont particulièrement la récente décision de la Cour d'appel fédérale dans l'affaire Barton No-Till Disk Inc. c. Dutch Industries Ltd (2003 FCA 121). Cependant, en cas d'incompatibilité entre le présent avis et la législation et jurisprudence applicables, ces dernières ont la préséance.

Contexte

En août 2001, la Cour fédérale du Canada, dans l'affaire Dutch Industries Ltd. c. Le commissaire aux brevets, Barton No-Till Disk Inc, et Flexi-Coil Ltd. (2001 FCT 879), s'est prononcé sur les conséquences de l'omission de payer adéquatement les taxes prescrites dans les délais réglementaires. L'affaire concerne précisément les paiements rectificatifs, à savoir si ces paiements étaient remis ou non afin de remédier à une erreur de paiement de taxe au tarif de petite entité. À la suite de la décision susmentionnée, l'OPIC n'accepte plus de paiements rectificatifs envoyés après la date d'échéance, à moins que ces paiements soient liés à une action appropriée, dictée par la loi dans les délais prescrits, comme une demande de rétablissement et la taxe y afférente ou une taxe pour paiement en souffrance par exemple, accompagnées de l'action qui aurait dû être entreprise pour éviter l'état d'abandon ou de déchéance imminente.

En mars 2003, la Cour d'appel fédérale , dans l'affaire Barton No-Till Disk Inc. c. Dutch Industries Ltd (2003 FCA 121), a donné une interprétation sur les dispositions législatives liées aux paiements de taxe de petite et grande entités. La Cour a statué que le statut d'une entité est déterminé une seule fois, au commencement des procédures en vue de l'obtention d'un brevet, et que les taxes subséquentes doivent être acquittées selon cette détermination initiale, même si le statut peut changer après le dépôt d'une demande ou pendant la durée d'un brevet.

Pratique

Le statut d'une entité est déterminé une seule fois. Selon l'OPIC, le commencement des procédures a lieu à la date de dépôt. L'OPIC appliquera les principes de la décision de la Cour d'appel fédérale à la fois aux petite et grande entités, et ce peu importe le changement de statut qui peut survenir après la date de dépôt d'une demande ou pendant la durée d'un brevet, par l'entremise de cessions ou d'autres réorganisations d'une corporation.

Un demandeur ou breveté doit être une petite entité à la date de dépôt pour bénéficier des avantages accordés aux petites entités. Une déclaration de petite entité devrait figurer dans la pétition (Annexe I des Règles concernant la Loi sur les brevets, Formule 3), soit au moment du dépôt d'une demande ou séparément lorsque par exemple une demande internationale entre en phase nationale au Canada, ou bien dans certains cas, lorsque le demandeur détermine par la suite qu'il est une petite entité à la date de dépôt. La déclaration devrait suivre le format suivant : « Le demandeur [ou breveté] croit avoir droit au titre de petite entité au sens de l'article 2 des Règles sur les brevets. »

Il incombe aux demandeurs et aux brevetés de déterminer eux-mêmes s'ils peuvent se déclarer une petite entité. L'OPIC en général ne met pas en doute la déclaration d'un demandeur ou d'un breveté quant au statut d'entité. Il leur incombe également de s'assurer que les informations fournies et les taxes acquittées sont suffisantes.

La politique de l'OPIC concernant le remboursement n'a pas changé, et l'article 4 des Règles sur les brevets sera appliqué. Plus précisément, en vertu du paragraphe 4(6) des Règles sur les brevets, l'Office n'est pas dans l'obligation d'effectuer un remboursement simplement parce qu'une taxe a été acquittée au tarif de grande entité et qu'il est déterminé plus tard qu'il s'agit d'une petite entité à la date de dépôt.

Lorsqu'il y a une erreur de paiement et que le délai est expiré en vertu de la Loi et des Règles sur les brevets, il est dans la pratique de l'OPIC d'aviser par courtoisie le demandeur ou breveté du statut de sa demande ou de son brevet. Toutefois, il revient aux demandeurs et aux brevetés de connaître les délais pertinents. De même, ils ne devraient pas compter sur l'envoi d'un avis dans chaque cas.

Information

Il importe de noter que toute information sur l'état d'une demande ou d'un brevet créée par le système TechSource provient des données du Bureau des brevets qui sont entretenues à des fins administratives seulement. L'information sur l'état actuel générée par Techsource peut ne pas tenir compte pleinement de la décision de la Cour d'appel fédérale dans l'affaire Dutch, puisque cette information se base sur la dernière taxe périodique payée et sur toute déclaration d'entité qui peut avoir été remise à partir de la date de dépôt d'une demande. Pour des fins légales, il est recommandé aux intéressés de consulter les documents pertinents au Bureau des brevets. Il est possible d'obtenir des copies ou l'historique d'un dossier par l'entremise de la Section de la reproduction et des ventes en composant le 819-997-1936 ou par télécopieur au 819-953-9969.

L'OPIC étudie présentement la décision de la Cour d'appel fédérale afin de déterminer si cette dernière impose des amendements à la loi et aux règlements.

Date de modification :