Archived — Patent Notices - Notice concerning the database for ownership information

2000-03-14

This is a follow-up to the Canadian Patent Office Record notice published on July 14, 1998, regarding the Person/Company entity (PERC), a Techsource database for ownership information. Each person or company name contained in the database is assigned an identifier number, similar to the agent registration number. This allows the Office to identify and enter ownership information by simply entering a number corresponding to the owner and/or inventor's name, and significantly reduces both the need for data entry and the error rate.

In accordance with the PCT formats, ownership information is entered in upper case characters, including the name of individuals and trade names. Consequently, the information in the Patent Office databases and outgoing correspondence will appear in upper case characters. It is desirable that the individual's name be submitted in the petition or any other documents by identifying the surname first, in upper case characters, followed by the first name in mixed characters. This will assist the Patent Office in determining the order.

For example:
"SMITH, JOSEPH" - the surname first, immediately followed by a comma and the first name.
"EDWIN COOPER, INC."- an individual's name used as a company name.

Special characters will not be used, such as in "SOCIETE DES PRODUITS NESTLE S.A."; "MACDONALD ENGINEERING COMPANY" and "MCPHAR GEOPHYSICS LIMITED".

The Patent Office will not correct minor errors or discrepancies in punctuation or in the company's abbreviation; e.g. Co. for Company; Inc. for Incorporated; Ltd. for Limited; and S.A. for Société Anonyme; "DRUG INNOVATION & DESIGN, INC." or "DRUG INNOVATION AND DESIGN, INCORPORATED".

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis sur les brevets - Avis concernant la base de données des propriétaires

2000-03-14

La présente fait suite à l'avis publié dans la Gazette du Bureau des brevets le 14 juillet 1998, concernant les entités de Personne/Entreprise (PERC), base de données des propriétaires dans le système TechSource. Un numéro identificateur unique, similaire au numéro d'enregistrement des agents de brevets, est associé à chaque nom de personne et de compagnie contenues dans cette base de données. Ceci permet au Bureau d'identifier et d'entrer l'information sur les propriétaires en entrant simplement le numéro associé au nom du propriétaire et/ou au nom de l'inventeur, réduisant ainsi le taux d'erreurs et la manipulation manuelle des données.

En conformité avec les normes du PCT, l'information concernant le propriétaire est inscrit en lettres majuscules, incluant les noms d'individus et les appellations commerciales. Conséquemment, l'information dans la base de données du Bureau des brevets et sur toutes correspondances émanant du Bureau apparaîtra en lettres majuscules. Il serait souhaitable que les noms d'individus apparaissant à la pétition soient identifiés comme suit: d'abord le nom de famille en lettres majuscules, suivi du prénom en majuscules ou minuscules. Ceci facilitera la distinction du nom et du prénom.

Par exemples:
"SMITH, JOSEPH" - le nom de famille suivi d'une virgule et du prénom.
"EDWIN COOPER, INC." - le nom d'un individu comme nom de compagnie.

Les caractères spéciaux ne seront pas utilisés, comme par exemple:
SOCIETE DES PRODUITS NESTLE S.A."
MACDONALD ENGINEERING COMPANY" et MCPHAR GEOPHYSICS LIMITED".

Le Bureau des brevets n'effectuera pas les corrections d'ordres mineures ou de divergences mineures sur les abréviations et la ponctuation, i.e., Co. pour Compagnie; Inc. pour Incorporé; Ltd. pour Limitée; et S.A. pour Société Anonyme; i.e., "DRUG INNOVATION & DESIGN ,INC." ou "DRUG INNOVATION & DESIGN INCORPORATED"

Date de modification :