Archived — Patent Notices - Filing requirements with attached CD-R

1999-12-28

Under Section 8.1(1) of the Patent Act, the Canadian Patent Office will accept parts of very large applications on CD-R in duplicate. Very large applications are any application which exceeds 1000 pages. Filing date requirements prescribed in Section 93 of the rules still remain. Parts of the application, for example, the instruction letter at filing, the petition, the abstract and any assignment documents must still be submitted on paper.

The CD-R must contain a table of contents and the specific file(s) must be in TIFF format as defined below. The part(s) of the application must be logically broken down in files which are no larger than 250 pages.

For all amendments of parts of an application which were filed on CD-R, the office requires these amendments on CD-R in duplicate to be included with the amendment letter and the CD-R must include a revised copy of the entire application with instructions in the letter describing the changes that were made.

Under Rule 131 of the regulations, the Canadian Patent Office will accept CD-R format. This CD-R must be separate from any CD-R which may be filed containing parts of the application itself. The ASCII file on the CD-R may and preferably so, be broken down into logical parts (sequences) so that the size of any file is more easily handled by the Office. A table of contents which describes each part is required on the CD-R being submitted.

TIFF Format:

The Canadian Patent Office has chosen the TIFF CCITT Group 4, multi-page format as the acceptable format for graphic images. This format has been chosen primarily because of its current popular usage within the Global Intellectual Property sphere. The United States Patent and Trademarks Office, the World Intellectual Property Organization and the European Patent Office are among several Intellectual Property Offices around the world that utilize the TIFF graphic image format.

The Group 4 standard utilizes compression techniques in order to save on storage space.

In order to ensure that a high graphic resolution is achieved, the images should be scanned /stored at 300 DPI resolution in Black and White. This will minimize file size while maintaining clarity.

The dimensions of the scanned/stored images should match that of the paper requirements, namely 8 1/2" by 11" or A4.

To summarize, the graphic images should be TIFF CCITT Group 4, multi-page, 300 DPI, Black & White, and 8 1/2" by 11" or A4.

Legend:

TIFF is an acronym for Tag(ged) Image File Format

CCITT Group 4 refers to a universal compression standard for TIFF images.

The TIFF Multi-Page format allows several scanned pages to reside in the same TIFF file.

300DPI refers to the Dots Per Inch resolution.

CITT is the International Telegraph and Telephone Consultative Committee Geneva.

Caveat:

The Office reserves the right to require the applicant to provide a copy of the application in a different format.

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis sur les brevets - Exigences de dépôt avec un CD-R attaché

1999-12-28

Le Bureau canadien des brevets acceptera des parties demandes de brevet très volumineuses sous la forme de CD-R en duplicata, sous l'autorité du paragraphe 8.1 (1) de la Loi sur les brevets. Les demandes très volumineuses sont toute demande qui dépasse 1000 pages. Les exigences pour obtenir la date de dépôt d'une demande prévus à l'article 93 des Règles sur les brevets sont toujours en vigueur. Certaines parties de la demande, par exemple, la lettre d'instruction au moment du dépôt, la pétition, le précis et tout document d'une cession, doivent être déposées sous forme papier.

Le CD-R devra comporter une table des matières et les fichiers visés devront être en format TIFF, tel que défini plus bas. La ou les partie(s) de la demande doit (doivent) être divisée(s) en fichiers qui ne dépassent pas 250 pages et en ordre logique.

Pour toute modification de parties d'une demande qui a été déposée sur CD-R, le bureau exige d'inclure cette modification sous forme CD-R en duplicata avec la lettre de modification et le CD-R devra contenir une copie révisée de demande entière avec les instructions dans la lettre décrivant les changements qui ont été effectués.

Le bureau canadien des brevets acceptera le format CD-R sous l'autorité de l'article 131 des Règles sur les brevets. Ce CD-R devra être distinct de tout autre CD-R qui pourrait être déposé contenant les parties de la demande elle-même. Le fichier ASCII fixe du CD-R peut, et sera préférablement, divisé en parties logiques (séquences) de façon à ce que la dimension de tout fichier sera plus facilement manipulé par le bureau. Une table des matières qui décrit chacune des parties est requise sur le CD-R soumis.

Format TIFF :

Le Bureau canadien des brevets a choisi le format TIFF CCITT Groupe 4, multi-pages comme étant le format acceptable pour des images graphiques. Ce format a été choisi principalement parce qu'il est utilisé couramment dans le monde de la propriété intellectuelle. Le bureau des brevets des Etats-Unis (USPTO), l'Organisation mondiale de la propriété intellectuelle (OMPI) ainsi que l'Office européen des brevets (OEB) utilisent le format TIFF.

La norme Groupe 4 utilise une technique de compression pour économiser de l'espace disque.

Pour obtenir une résolution graphique de qualité, les images devraient être balayées/stockés à une résolution de 300 PPP en Noir et Blanc. Ce balayage permettra de réduire le volume des fichiers tout en maintenant une bonne qualité d'image.

Les dimensions des images digitalisées/stockées devraient correspondre exigences sous forme papier, soit 8 1/2" par 11" ou A4.

Pour résumer, les images graphiques devrait être en format TIFF CCITT Groupe 4, multi-pages, 300 PPP, Noir & Blanc, 8 1/2" par 11"ou A4.

Légende :

TIFF est un acronyme pour Tag(ged) Image File Format.

CCITT Groupe 4 fait référence à une norme universelle de compression pour images TIFF.

Le format multi-pages TIFF permet de stocker plusieurs pages numérisées dans le même fichier TIFF.

300 PPP fait référence à la résolution en nombre de points par pouce.

CCITT est le Comité Consultatif International de Télégraphique et Téléphonique à Genève.

Avertissement :

Le bureau se réserve le droit d'exiger au demandeur de fournir une copie de la demande dans un format différent.

Date de modification :