Language selection

Search

Writing a patent application (page 3 of 8)

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office


Format

You must send us all patent documents in the correct format or they will be rejected. There are strict rules regarding the quality of the paper, the size of the margins, the size of the text and the page layout. Most word processors can handle these requirements.

You can send your patent application in either French or English. However, the abstract, description, claims, and drawings must all be in the same language.
Here is the format we expect for text:

(There are other rules for drawings.)


Paper

Use good quality white paper that is either 21.6 cm by 27.9 cm or 21 cm by 29.7 cm (A4 format). The paper should not be creased or folded. The Patent Office has to be able to reproduce it electronically, so you must use normal fonts and avoid fancy styles. Your application should not show any underlining, erasures or corrections.

Margins

Use the following margin dimensions:

The only things you can write in the margins are the file reference number (in one of the upper corners) and the line numbering for the description and claims (left margin).

Text

The capital letters of the text should be at least .21 cm high. A font size of 12 pt. is usually enough. Except for sequence listings, tables and mathematical and chemical formulas, the text for the description and claims should be spaced 1.5 lines apart.

Numbering

Number the pages of the description and claims sections in order at the centre of the top or bottom of the page. You can number the lines of the description section in the left margin. Number each claim in order.

Page layout

In most cases the page layout is upright (portrait orientation). If it helps to present the information, you can format the drawings, formulas and tables using a landscape orientation.


Date modified:

Rédaction d'une demande de brevet (page 3 de 8)



Format

Vous devez présenter tous les documents de votre demande dans le bon format, sinon ils seront refusés. Des règles strictes régissent la qualité du papier, la largeur des marges, la taille du texte et la présentation des pages. La plupart des logiciels de traitement de texte peuvent répondre à ces exigences.

Vous devez déposer votre demande de brevet en anglais ou en français. Cependant, l’abrégé, la description, les revendications et les dessins doivent tous être dans la même langue.

Voici le format de texte auquel nous nous attendons. 

(D’autres règles s’appliquent aux dessins.)


Papier

Utilisez du papier blanc de bonne qualité de 21,6 cm sur 27,9 cm ou de 21 cm sur 29,7 cm (format A4). Le papier ne doit être ni froissé ni plié. Le Bureau des brevets doit pouvoir reproduire la demande électroniquement; vous devez donc utiliser des polices standard et évitez les styles compliqués. Votre demande ne doit contenir ni soulignements, ni traces d’effacement, ni corrections.

Marges

Respectez les dimensions suivantes pour les marges :

  • du haut, du bas et de droite : 2,0 cm
  • de gauche : 2,5 cm

Dans les marges, vous pouvez indiquer seulement le numéro de référence du dossier (dans un des coins du haut) et la numérotation des lignes pour la description et les revendications (marge de gauche).

Texte

Les lettres majuscules du texte doivent mesurer au moins 0,21 cm de haut. Une police de 12 points suffit généralement. Sauf pour les listages de séquences, les tableaux et les formules mathématiques et chimiques, le texte de la description et des revendications doit être rédigé à un interligne et demi.

Numérotation

Numérotez les pages des sections de la description et des revendications dans l’ordre dans le centre, en haut ou en bas de la page. Vous pouvez numéroter les lignes de la description dans la marge de gauche. Numérotez chaque revendication dans l’ordre.

Présentation des pages

Dans la plupart des cas, la page est présentée à la verticale (orientation portrait). Si cela facilite la présentation de l’information, vous pouvez présenter les dessins, les formules et les tableaux en orientation paysage.


Date de modification :