MOPOP - Chapter 5


Filing and completion requirements

Table of Contents

5.01

Scope of this chapter - June 2015

This chapter applies to applications other than PCT national phase applications.

For applications filed under the provisions of the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT), see Chapter 22 of this Manual.

5.02

Filing of applications - June 2015

An application for a patent shall be addressed to "The Commissioner of Patents" and shall be considered to be received by the Commissioner (i.e. filed) on the date of reception [see section 1.04 of Chapter 1]. The requirements for receiving a filing date are set out in subsection 28(1) of the Patent Act.

Subsection 28(1) of the Patent Act provides that

The filing date of an application for a patent in Canada is the date on which the Commissioner receives the documents, information and fees prescribed for the purposes of this section or, if they are received on different dates, the last date.

5.03

Requirements for a filing date - June 2015

To obtain a filing date under subsection 28(1) of the Patent Act an application must conform to the requirements of subsection 27.1(1) of the Patent Rules. It must include:

  1. an indication, in English or French, that the granting of a Canadian patent is sought,
  2. the applicant's name,
  3. the applicant's address or that of their patent agent,
  4. a document, in English or French, that on its face appears to describe an invention, and
  5. either (A) a small entity declaration in accordance with section 3.01 of the Patent Rules and the small entity fee set out in item 1 of Schedule II as it read at the time of receipt, or (B) the standard fee set out in that item.

5.04

Completing the application - September 2017

Section 94 of the Patent Rules provides that even if an application has been given a filing date it remains incomplete unless it meets the requirements set out under subsection 94(2) of the Patent Rules at the time of filing.

Subsection 94(2) of the Patent Rules requires that certain information and documents, if not supplied at the time of filing, be supplied in order to complete the application. The requirements are that:

In all cases of incomplete applications, the Patent Office will make every effort to inform the applicant of the reasons for noncompliance by means of a courtesy letter. The time limit to complete an application without paying the completion fee is the 15-month period after the filing date of the application or, if a request for priority has been made in respect of the application, the 15-month period after the earliest filing date of any previously regularly filed application on which the request for priority is based. The purpose of not requiring a fee for completing an application during the above period is to ensure that all documents listed above arrive at the Patent Office in a timely manner and in the proper format for laying open to public inspection under section 10 of the Patent Act.

Pursuant to subsection 94(1) of the Patent Rules, if on the expiry of the applicable 15-month period the application is still not complete, the Commissioner shall, by notice to the applicant, requisition the applicant to complete the application and pay the fee set out in item 2 of Schedule II, before the expiry of the later of the 3-month period after the date of the notice and the 12-month period after the filing date of the application. Failure to complete the application or to pay the fee within the time period specified in the notice will result in abandonment of the application.


Date modified:

RPBB - Chapitre 5


Exigences relatives au dépôt et au complètement

Table des matières

5.01

Portée du chapitre – Juin 2015

Ce chapitre porte sur les demandes autres que les demandes PCT à la phase nationale.

Pour les demandes déposées aux termes du Traité de coopération en matière de brevets (PCT), il faut se référer au chapitre 22 de ce Recueil.

5.02

Dépôt des demandes – Juin 2015

Une demande de brevet doit être adressée au « Commissaire aux brevets » et est réputée reçue par lui (c.-à-d., déposée) à la date de réception [voir article 1.04 du chapitre 1]. Les exigences relatives à l'obtention d'une date de dépôt sont prévues au paragraphe 28(1) de la Loi sur les brevets.

Le paragraphe 28(1) de la Loi sur les brevets stipule que

La date de dépôt d'une demande de brevet est la date à laquelle le commissaire reçoit les documents, renseignements et taxes réglementaires prévus pour l'application du présent article. S'ils sont reçus à des dates différentes, il s'agit de la dernière d'entre elles.

5.03

Exigences relatives à l'obtention d'une date de dépôt – Juin 2015

Pour obtenir une date de dépôt conformément au paragraphe 28(1) de la Loi sur les brevets, il faut qu'une demande soit conforme aux exigences du paragraphe 27.1(1) des Règles sur les brevets. Elle doit comprendre :

  1. une indication en français ou en anglais selon laquelle l'octroi d'un brevet canadien est demandé,
  2. le nom du demandeur,
  3. l'adresse du demandeur ou de son agent de brevets,
  4. un document rédigé en français ou en anglais qui, à première vue, semble décrire une invention, et
  5. l'un ou l'autre de : (A) la déclaration du statut de petite entité conforme à l'article 3.01 des Règles sur les brevets et la taxe applicable aux petites entités prévue à l'article 1 de l'annexe II, dans sa version à la date de réception, (B) la taxe générale prévue à cet article.

5.04 Complètement de la demande – Juin 2015

L'article 94 des Règles sur les brevets stipule que même si une date de dépôt a été attribuée à la demande, cette dernière est incomplète à moins de satisfaire aux exigences du paragraphe 94(2) des Règles sur les brevets au moment du dépôt.

Le paragraphe 94(2) des Règles sur les brevets exige que certains renseignements et documents, s'ils n'ont pas été fournis au moment du dépôt, soient fournis afin que la demande puisse être complétée. Les exigences sont les suivantes :

Pour toute demande incomplète, le Bureau des brevets fera de son mieux pour aviser le demandeur par lettre de courtoisie des raisons de non-conformité. Le délai pour compléter une demande sans payer la taxe de complètement est la période de 15 mois suivant la date de dépôt de la demande ou, lorsqu'une demande de priorité est présentée à l'égard de la demande, la période de 15 mois suivant la première des demandes de brevet antérieurement déposées de façon régulière sur lesquelles la demande de priorité est fondée. Cette non-exigence de la taxe de complètement d'une demande au cours de la période susmentionnée a pour but de s'assurer que tous les documents énumérés ci-dessus parviennent au Bureau des brevets au moment prévu et dans le bon format pour la mise à la disponibilité du public en vertu de l'article 10 de la Loi sur les brevets.

En vertu du paragraphe 94(1) des Règles sur les brevets, lorsque, à l'expiration du délai applicable de 15 mois, la demande est toujours incomplète, le commissaire, par avis, exige que le demandeur complète la demande et paie la taxe prévue à l'article 2 de l'annexe II dans les trois mois suivant la date de l'avis ou dans les douze mois suivant la date de dépôt de la demande, le délai qui expire le dernier étant à retenir. Les demandes seront abandonnées si elles ne sont pas complétées ou si la taxe n'est pas payée dans les délais indiqués dans l'avis.


Date de modification :