General Information


Problems

Server Error Messages: Contact the Innovation, Science and Economic DevelopmentCanada Web Service Centre 1-800-328-6189 (Canada) or Ottawa & area 613-954-5031. Business hours are 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (EST).

For Questions related to the Trademark Database, please contact our Client Service Centre

Contents of the Database

This version of the Canadian Trademarks Database is comprised of all active and many inactive marks that were either applied for or registered pursuant to the current Trade-marks Act or former trademark legislation. The database also includes all trademarks that were cancelled, expunged, abandoned or refused after 1979, and some marks that were cancelled, expunged, abandoned or refused prior to 1979.

The database also includes additional words and designs that are not by definition trademarks, but that are protected by the Trademarks Act or other related legislation. These are prohibited marks for which public notice has been given pursuant to section 9 of the Trade-marks Act. Also included are plant variety denominations granted pursuant to the Plant Breeders' Rights Act, the symbols and badges of the Canadian General Council of the Boy Scouts Association, the Canadian Council of the Girl Guides Association and marks of the Royal Canadian Legion. Furthermore, geographical indications for wines or spirits, or agricultural products or foods are also part of the database.

If you would like to obtain information on what constitutes a registrable trademark, please consult our Guide to Trademarks. You may also consult the Trademarks Act and the Trade-marks Regulations.

Conditions of use

The Trademarks Database is intended for use by the general public. Due to limitations of equipment and bandwidth, it is not intended to be a source for bulk downloads of Canadian Trademarks data.

Clients who, in effect, deny service to the general public by generating unusually high numbers (1 000 or more) of daily database accesses may be denied access to the Canadian Trademarks Database server without further notice.

The Canadian Trademarks Database has been developed by CIPO to provide users with extensive information on Canadian Trademarks registered from 1865 to the present.

You should also note that CIPO does not collect information about search entries or results obtained by individual users of the site.

This site has net links to other sites over which CIPO has no control and CIPO is not responsible for the accuracy, timeliness, or completeness of any data on any of those sites.

CIPO is not liable to users for any damages of any kind relating to use of this site or information collected from this site or linked sites, including, but not limited to, indirect, special or consequential damages (including lost profits or savings).

Disclaimer

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office does not warrant the accuracy of the information contained within this database. Recent updates, corrections or changes may not be included.

It is recommended that a trademark agent or an experienced trademark searcher be consulted if a thorough search of Canadian trademarks or interpretation of search results is required. Trademark information is displayed in the official language in which it was submitted.

This database is for information purposes only. Business decisions should not be made based on this search alone.

Date modified:

Information générale


Problèmes?

Pour des messages d'erreur du serveur, communiquez avec le Centre de service Web d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada au 1-800-328-6189 (Canada) au 613-954-5031 pour la région de la Capitale nationale. Les heures d'ouverture sont de 8 h 30 à 17 h (HNE).

Pour les questions se rapportant à la Base de données sur les marques de commerce, communiquez avec notre Centre de services à la clientèle.

Contenu de la base de données

Cette version de la base de données sur les marques de commerce comprend toutes les marques actives et bon nombre de marques inactives ayant fait l'objet d'une demande ou d'un enregistrement en vertu de la Loi sur les marques de commerce actuelle ou des lois qui l'ont précédée. La base de données renferme aussi toutes les marques de commerce qui ont été annulées, radiées, abandonnées ou refusées après 1979 et certaines des marques qui l'ont été avant 1979.

Dans cette base de données figurent aussi des termes et des dessins qui ne sont pas, par définition, des marques de commerce, mais qui sont protégés par la Loi sur les marques de commerce ou d'autres lois connexes. Il s'agit de marques interdites qui ont fait l'objet d'un avis public en vertu de l'article 9 de la Loi sur les marques de commerce. On y trouve aussi les nouvelles variétés végétales protégées en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des obtentions végétales, les symboles et les insignes des « Canadian General Council of the Boy Scouts Association » ou « Canadian Council of the Girl Guides Association » et les marques de la Légion royale canadienne. Elle comprend par ailleurs les indications géographiques pour les vins et spiritueux, les produits agricoles et les aliments.

Pour mieux comprendre ce qu'est une marque de commerce enregistrable, consultez notre Guide des marques de commerce. Vous pouvez également consulter la Loi sur les marques de commerce et le Règlement sur les marques de commerce.

Conditions d'utilisation

La base de données doit être utilisée par le grand public. En raison du peu de matériel disponible et des contraintes de largeur de bande passsante, les téléchargements massifs de données sont absolument proscrits sur cet outil de travail.

Les clients qui interrompent le service au grand public en accédant trop souvent (1000 fois ou plus) à la base de données au courant d'une même journée se verront refuser l'accès au serveur sans préavis.

L'OPIC a conçu la base de données afin de fournir aux utilisateurs une vaste banque d'information sur les marques de commerce enregistrées depuis 1865 à ce jour.

Il est également à noter que l'OPIC ne recueille pas de renseignements sur les recherches effectuées ni sur les résultats de recherche des utilisateurs du site.

Le site offre des liens Internet vers d'autres sites sur lesquels l'OPIC n'exerce aucun contrôle. L'OPIC n'assume donc aucune responsabilité à l'égard de l'exactitude, de l'actualité ou de l'intégrité des données publiées sur ces sites.

L'OPIC ne peut être tenu responsable des dommages indirects, spéciaux, consécutifs (y compris les pertes de profits ou d'économies), ou de toute autre nature, attribuables à l'utilisation du site et de sites en hyperlien ou des renseignements qu'ils contiennent.

Mise en garde

L'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada ne garantit pas l'exactitude de l'information contenue dans cette base de données. Il se peut que les mises à jour, corrections ou changements récemment effectués n'y figurent pas.

Il est recommandé de consulter un agent de marques de commerce ou un chercheur expérimenté dans le domaine lorsqu'une recherche approfondie des marques de commerce canadiennes ou l'interprétation des résultats d'une recherche s'avère nécessaire. Les renseignements relatifs aux marques de commerce sont affichés dans la langue officielle dans laquelle ils ont été fournis.

Cette base de données ne doit être utilisée qu'à titre d'information seulement. Les décisions en matière de gestion ne devraient donc pas s'appuyer uniquement sur cette recherche.

Date de modification :