Description of Dates


Priority Filing Date

Under the terms of the Convention of the Union of Paris, an applicant (or his/her successor in title) who is a member of a country of the Union (any country that is a member of the Union for the Protection of Industrial Property constituted under the Convention, or any WTO Member) may file an application for registration of a mark in Canada, and may claim as the filing date, the date he or she filed an application in or for the Union country for the same or substantially the same mark for use in association with the same kind of goods or services. The Canadian application must be filed within six months of this date (see section 34 of the Trademarks Act).

Date Filed

The date a completed application is officially received and filed at the Trademarks Office.

Date Formalized

The date on which the application is made available for public inspection.

Date Advertised

For trademarks, the advertised date is the date on which a trademark is advertised in the Trademarks Journal. For Section 9 marks, the advertised date is the date public notice was given in the Trademarks Journal. For plant variety denominations, the advertisement date is the date on which the denomination was published in the Plant Varieties Journal of the Canadian Food Inspection Agency. For geographical indications, the advertisement date is the date on which they were published either in the Canada Gazette or on the website of the Canadian Intellectual Property Office.

Date Registered

For trademarks, the date registered is the date on which a trademark is registered. For plant variety denominations, the date registered is the date on which the Canadian Food Inspection Agency granted protection for the denomination. For geographical indications, the date registered is the date on which they have been entered on the list, and the date registered for Royal Canadian Legion marks is the date on which protection was granted pursuant to an Act respecting the Royal Canadian Legion.

Date Inactivated

The date on which the trademark was no longer in good standing with the Office. These will include applications that have been abandoned or refused and registrations that have been cancelled or expunged.

Date modified:

Description des dates


Date de priorité de production

Selon les termes de la Convention d'Union de Paris, un requérant (ou son successeur en titre) d'un pays de l'Union (tout pays qui est membre de l'Union pour la protection de la propriété industrielle, constituée en vertu de la Convention, ou tout membre de l'OMC) peut présenter une demande d'enregistrement de sa marque au Canada et peut réclamer comme date de demande au Canada la date de production de la demande qu'il a faite dans ou pour le pays de l'Union, et ce, pour la même ou sensiblement la même marque et pour un emploi en liaison avec le même genre de produits ou services. La demande faite au Canada doit être présentée dans les six mois à compter de cette date (voir l'article 34 de la Loi sur les marques de commerce).

Date de production

La date à laquelle une demande dûment remplie est officiellement et reçue au Bureau des marques de commerce et versée aux dossiers.

Date de formalités accomplies

La date à laquelle la demande devient disponible à l'inspection publique.

Date de publication

Dans le cas des marques de commerce, la date de publication est la date à laquelle la marque de commerce est publiée dans le Journal des marques de commerce; pour les marques visées à l'article 9 de la Loi sur les marques de commerce, il s'agit de la date de la publication d'un avis public dans le Journal des marques de commerce; pour les dénominations de variétés végétales, il s'agit de la date de la publication dans le Bulletin des variétés végétales de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments; dans le cas des indications géographiques, il s'agit de la date à laquelle les indications géographiques sont publiées dans la Gazette du Canada ou sur le site Web de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada.

Date d'enregistrement

Dans le cas des marques de commerce, la date d'enregistrement est la date à laquelle une marque de commerce est enregistrée; pour les dénominations de variétés végétales, il s'agit de la date d'octroi de la protection de la dénomination par l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments; dans le cas des indications géographiques, il s'agit de la date à laquelle les indications géographiques ont été ajoutées à la liste; pour les marques de la Légion royale canadienne, il s'agit de la date à laquelle la protection a été octroyée en vertu de la Loi concernant la Légion royale canadienne.

Date d'inactivité

La date à laquelle la marque de commerce cesse d'être active. Cela inclut les demandes abandonnées ou refusées, ainsi que les enregistrements annulés ou supprimés.

Date de modification :