Guidelines for Candidates Requesting Accommodation to Write the Patent or Trademark Agent Examination

*Please contact us at ic.cipoagentexams-opicexamenagent.ic@canada.ca to receive the medical form: Accommodation Request to write the patent or trademark agent examination.

These guidelines have been developed to facilitate a request for accommodation for candidates wishing to sit for the certification examination in order to practice independently as a registered Canadian patent or trademark agent.  All requests for accommodation must be clearly indicated, ideally, at the time of the application, but no later than 45 days prior to the date of the scheduled examination to allow for the Examination Coordinator to arrange for the accommodation if approved.  Requests that are made on very short notice may not be accommodated, for example, due to inadequate resources or the unavailability of persons with appropriate expertise.   If accommodation is requested and the admission notice does not address the request, please contact ic.cipoagentexams-opicexamenagent.ic@canada.ca as soon the admission notice is received.

Application Requirements

In order to consider an accommodation request, the following documentation must be provided:

  • The completed form - Accommodation Request to write the patent or trademark agent examination – Medical Form (To be completed by the candidate's practising physician and the candidate. All fields required.)
  • When applicable, written confirmation from the practising physician that accommodation is still required if there is no indication from a previous application that the condition is long-term and stable.

All requests for accommodation must be submitted separately  from the candidate’s application to sit for the examination.  Accommodation requests must be submitted to the attention of the Examination Coordinator in writing (e.g. email or mail) by the established deadline to submit an application to sit for the exams.  All requests must be submitted using the contact details below.  Please submit your request using only one of the options below to avoid delayed processing of your request.  Misdirected, late or incomplete requests may not be considered. 

Email: ic.cipoagentexams-opicexamenagent.ic@canada.ca

Mailing Address: Attn: Examination Coordinator, Patent Appeal Board, Canadian Intellectual Property Office, Place du Portage, Phase I, 50 Victoria Street, 4th Floor, Room 405-D, Gatineau, Quebec, K1A 0C9

The final decision regarding an accommodation request lies with the Chair of the Examining Board, in consultation with the Examination Coordinator.  Accommodation requests are assessed on a case-by-case basis to ensure equal opportunity for individuals to fully demonstrate their qualifications without compromising the integrity of the exams, or altering the nature or level of the qualification being assessed.  Submitting a request does not guarantee that a candidate will receive accommodation. 

The Examining Board reserves the right to designate the location and date/time of the examination as all accommodations may not be available at any given examination site and/or on any given examination date. 

Reapplication

Approved accommodation arrangements are only applicable to the current year the candidate is sitting for the examination.  A candidate must submit a new request for accommodation each year he or she applies to sit for the Patent or Trademark Agent Examination.    Depending on the type of accommodation requested, the applicant may want to submit an updated practising physician’s statement as well.  In deciding whether to submit an updated statement from the practising physician, the applicant should consider that the determination of both whether to grant an accommodation and what accommodation(s) is appropriate is based on an assessment of the current impact of the applicant’s disability on the testing activity.  For example, if the applicant’s impairment is short-term or changes over time, it may not be possible to assess whether an accommodation should be granted if the practising physician’s statement is not current.  For long-term and stable conditions, an updated statement may not be necessary. 

Privacy of Medical Information

All documentation submitted in support of a request for accommodation will be kept confidential, and will only be used for the purpose of evaluating a request for accommodation and/or implementing a granted accommodation for the candidate.

Date modified:

Lignes directrices pour les candidats qui présentent une demande d'accommodement aux fins de l'examen des agents de brevets ou des agents de marques de commerce

* Prière de communiquer avec nous par courriel au ic.cipoagentexams-opicexamenagent.ic@canada.ca afin d'obtenir un formulaire médical : Demande d'accommodement pour passer l'examen d'agent de brevets ou d'agent de marques de commerce.

Les présentes lignes directrices ont été élaborées dans le but de faciliter la présentation d'une demande d'accommodement par les candidats qui souhaitent passer l'examen d'agrément en vue d'exercer de façon indépendante la profession d'agent de brevets agréé ou d'agent de marques de commerce agréé. Toutes les demandes d'accommodement doivent être clairement signalées au moment de la présentation de la demande d'admission à l'examen, mais doivent être envoyé au plus tard 45 jours précédant  la date de l’examen. Cette démarche a pour but de permettre à la coordonnatrice de l’examen de faire les accommodements nécessaires si  la demande est approuvée.  De plus, la commission d’examen peut, ne pas être en mesure de faire des accommodements si la demande est reçue dans un délai trop court, par exemple, manque de ressources adéquates, ou que les gens ayant de l’expertise appropriée ne soient pas disponibles. . Si un accommodement a été demandé et que l'avis d'admission n'en fait pas mention, veuillez nous en aviser en écrivant à ic.cipoagentexams-opicexamenagent.ic@canada.ca dès réception de l'avis d'admission.

Exigences relatives à la demande

Pour qu'une demande d'accommodement soit prise en considération, les documents suivants doivent être fournis:

  • Le formulaire - Demande d'accommodement pour passer l'examen d'agent de brevets ou d'agent de marques de commerce - Formulaire médical (Doit être rempli par le médecin praticien du candidat et par le candidat. Tous les champs sont obligatoires.)
  • S'il y a lieu, une confirmation écrite rédigée par le médecin praticien indiquant qu'un accommodement est toujours nécessaire, lorsqu'il n'y a aucune indication dans une demande antérieure selon laquelle l'état du candidat est stationnaire et de longue durée.

Toutes les demandes d'accommodement doivent être soumises séparément de la demande d'admission à l'examen présentée par le candidat. Les demandes d'accommodement doivent être soumises par écrit (p. ex. courriel ou courrier) à l'attention du coordonnateur de l'examen avant la date limite prévue pour la présentation d'une demande d'admission aux examens. Toutes les demandes d'accommodement doivent être envoyées aux coordonnées indiquées ci-dessous. Toutefois, afin d'éviter un retard dans le traitement de votre demande d'accommodement, veuillez vous assurer d'utiliser uniquement l'une ou l'autre des options ci-dessous. Les demandes d'accommodement mal adressées, en retard ou incomplètes pourraient ne pas être prises en considération.

Courriel : ic.cipoagentexams-opicexamenagent.ic@canada.ca

Adresse postale : Attn : Coordonnateur de l'examen, Commission d'appel des brevets, Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada, Place du Portage, Phase I, 50, rue Victoria, 4e étage, salle 405-D, Gatineau (Québec), K1A 0C9

La décision finale concernant une demande d'accommodement est prise par le président de la Commission d'examen, en consultation avec le coordonnateur de l'examen. Les demandes d'accommodement sont évaluées au cas par cas afin de garantir à tous et à toutes une chance égale de démontrer pleinement leurs compétences sans compromettre l'intégrité des examens ou modifier la nature ou le niveau de la compétence qui est évaluée. Le fait de soumettre une demande d'accommodement ne garantit pas au candidat qu'un accommodement lui sera accordé. 

La Commission d'examen se réserve le droit de décider du lieu et de la date/heure de l'examen, car il se peut qu'un accommodement ne puisse pas être accordé à un lieu d'examen donné et/ou à une date d'examen donnée.

Présentation d'une nouvelle demande

Les accommodements accordés s'appliquent à l'année en cours, c'est-à-dire l'année pendant laquelle le candidat se présente à l'examen. Un candidat doit soumettre une nouvelle demande d'accommodement à chacune des années où il présente une demande d'admission à l'examen des agents de brevets ou des agents de marques de commerce. Selon le type d'accommodement qui est demandé, il peut être approprié que le demandeur soumette également une déclaration à jour de son médecin praticien. Pour déterminer s'il doit ou non soumettre une déclaration à jour de son médecin praticien, le demandeur doit tenir compte du fait que la décision de la Commission d'examen à savoir s'il y a lieu d'accorder un accommodement et, si oui, de quel type, est fondée sur une évaluation de l'impact actuel que l'incapacité du candidat peut avoir sur la capacité de ce dernier à passer l'examen. Par exemple, si l'incapacité du demandeur est de courte durée ou fluctue dans le temps, il se pourrait que la Commission d'examen ne soit pas en mesure de déterminer s'il y a lieu d'accorder un accommodement si la déclaration du médecin n'est pas à jour. Dans le cas des états stationnaires de longue durée, il peut ne pas être nécessaire de soumettre une déclaration à jour.

Confidentialité des renseignements médicaux

Tous les documents soumis à l'appui d'une demande d'accommodement demeureront confidentiels et seront utilisés uniquement aux fins de l'évaluation de la demande d'accommodement et/ou de la mise en œuvre de l'accommodement accordé au candidat.

Date de modification :