Archived — Amendments to the Trade-marks Regulations 2014

Third-Party Information Liability Disclaimer

Some of the information on this Web page has been provided by external sources. The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.

Consultation update

Consultation comments received.

2014-10-01

Consultation period

Consultation period: October 1, 2014 – November 30, 2014

Consultation documents

Proposed Amendments to the Trade-marks Regulations 2014

Consultation and discussion

Updating the Trade-marks Regulations is necessary in view of the recent amendments to the Trade-Marks Act contained in Division 25 of the Budget Implementation Act (Bill C-31). 

The proposed regulatory amendments to the Trade-marks Regulations are required to enable Canada to accede to the Singapore Treaty on the Law of Trademarks, the Protocol relating to the Madrid Agreement concerning the International Registration of Marks and the Nice Agreement concerning the International Classification of Goods and Services for the Purposes of the Registration of Marks.

The new regulations reflect the requirements of the trade-mark treaties and aim to increase legal certainty, streamline and clarify CIPO's procedures, and align Canada's trade-mark protection regime with international norms. The proposed amendments also include measures relating to the opposition regime and summary cancellation proceedings.

Contact information

Should you have any questions about this consultation, please send them by email to Darlene.Carreau@ic.gc.ca, by fax at 819-953-2476, by phone at 819-997-2469, or by regular mail to the following address:

Canadian Intellectual Property Office
Trade-marks Branch
50 Victoria Street
Place du Portage II
Gatineau, QC K1A 0C9
Attention: Darlene Carreau, Chair, Trade-marks Opposition Board, Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO)

Date modified:

Archivé — Modifications au Règlement sur les marques de commerce de 2014

Désistement de responsabilité concernant l'information provenant de tiers

Une partie des informations de ce site Web à été fournie par des sources externes. Le gouvernement du Canada n'assume aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l'actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations. Le contenu fournit par les sources externes n'est pas assujetti aux exigences sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l'accessibilité.

Mise à jour de la consultation

Commentaires reçus pendant la consultation.

2014-10-01

Période de consultation

Période de consultation: du 1er octobre 2014 au 30 novembre 2014

Documents visés par la consultation

Modifications proposées au Règlement sur les marques de commerce de 2014

Consultation et discussion

La mise à jour du Règlement sur les marques de commerce est nécessaire à la lumière des modifications récentes à la Loi sur les marques de commerce indiquées à la section 25 de la Loi d'exécution du budget (projet de loi C-31).

Il importe d'apporter les modifications proposées au Règlement sur les marques de commerce pour permettre au Canada d'adhérer au traité de Singapour sur le droit des marques, au Protocole relatif à l'Arrangement de Madrid concernant l'enregistrement international des marques et à l'Arrangement de Nice concernant la classification internationale des produits et des services aux fins de l'enregistrement des marques.

Le nouveau règlement prend en compte les exigences des traités sur les marques de commerce, et a pour objet d'accroître la certitude juridique, de simplifier et clarifier les procédures de l'OPIC et d'assurer l'harmonisation du régime de protection des marques de commerce du Canada avec les normes internationales. Les modifications proposées prévoient aussi des mesures liées au régime d'opposition et aux procédures d'annulation sommaires.

Coordonnées

Si vous avez des questions à propos de la présente consultation, veuillez les envoyer par courrier électronique à l'adresse Darlene.Carreau@ic.g.c.ca par télécopieur au 819-953-6742, par téléphone au 819-997-2469 ou par courrier courant à l'adresse suivante :

Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada
Direction des marques de commerce
50, rue Victoria
Place du Portage II
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0C9
À l'attention de : Darlene Carreau, Présidente, Commission des oppositions des marques de commerce Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC)

Date de modification :