PB Quality Standards for International Search and Preliminary Examination

"Office Practice" is the administration of the requirements of the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) and PCT Regulations, using the guidance of the PCT International Search and Preliminary Examination Guidelines, the Administrative Instructions under the Patent Cooperation Treaty, the PCT Applicant's Guide, Exam Bulletins and the ISA & IPEA Training and Reference Manual.

Subject matter

1.1 Subject matter issues are appropriately addressed.

Subject matter issues include:

1.2 Search and/or examination is reserved when appropriate.

Search and/or examination may be reserved (completely or partially) when deficiencies in the specification make it impractical to issue a comprehensive report. Situations where reservation may be justified include:

When examination is reserved, the extent of the reservation and the reason are clearly stated in the International Search Report (ISR), Written Opinion (WO) [Ch I or Ch II] or IPRP. In instances of lack of unity, the applicant is informed that a lack of unity exists and they are invited to pay for the search and examination of additional identified inventions beyond the first/main invention identified. The first/main invention will always be searched and examined, along with any others for which additional fees have been received.

Search

A useful International Search Report (ISR) is one that contains all the necessary citations needed to either draft a set of novel and inventive claims, or which completely anticipates the entire subject matter to which the claims are directed or to which they might reasonably be expected to be directed after they have been amended.

2.1 An appropriate search strategy is adopted according to the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) Guidelines

An appropriate search strategy, where a meaningful search can be carried out,

2.2 Search results and necessary information are recorded and reported clearly

The ISR lists relevant documents, which are selected on the basis that the applicant is provided an overview of the prior art, including all particularly significant documents, and their family members on the Patent Family sheet, while avoiding undue repetition.

The ISR:

2.3 Novelty and inventive step defects are appropriately addressed.

Novelty and obviousness

If the examiner has reasonable grounds to believe that the invention lacks novelty or inventive step:

When identifying a lack of novelty or lack of inventive step defect, each claim must be assessed in light of the prior art. Emphasis should be placed on the independent claims. For dependent claims, the level of detail may vary depending on the number of claims and the nature of limitations introduced in the dependent claims.

Application Formalities

3.1 Application formalities and observations are appropriately addressed.

Application form and content defects include (non-exhaustive list):

Application clarity and support observations include (non-exhaustive list):

Note: Clarity matters do not extend to minor defects of grammar or spelling which do not lead to ambiguity.

Examination

A useful Written Opinion (WO) or International Preliminary Report on Patentability (IPRP) contains clear explanations of the basis of the opinion, how the cited documents are applied to the claims and general observations on the application.

4.1 Examination is carried out consistent with the PCT Guidelines

4.2 Abstract defects are appropriately addressed

4.3 Defect Identifications are maintained when appropriate.

Communication

Written and verbal communications are clear and correct so they are useful to clients.

5.1 Written communications are complete and correct

Sufficient detail is always provided when identifying a defect or observation so that the applicant can understand the defect or observation and determine an appropriate response. This includes the following:

5.2 All communications are clear and appropriate

Clear and appropriate communications require:

5.3 Format of WO or IPRP is clear and content is accurate.

Written communications include the following matters of form, where appropriate:

5.4 Notes of Informal Communication with the applicant are accurate and complete

Notes of informal communication with the applicant include the following matters of form, where appropriate:

Timeliness

International Search and Examination are carried out efficiently in keeping with established time limits and the Canadian Patent Office Priorities of Examination.

6.1 Examination is performed in a timely manner.

Timeliness requires the observance of:

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Archivé — Normes de qualité de la Direction des brevets à l'égard de la recherche internationale et de l'examen préliminaire

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

La « pratique du Bureau » encadre l'application des exigences prévues dans le Traité de coopération en matière de brevet (PCT) et le Règlement d'exécution du PCT, et repose sur l'orientation fournie dans les Directives concernant la recherche internationale et l'examen préliminaire international selon le PCT, les Instructions administratives du PCT, le Guide du déposant du PCT, les bulletins à l'intention des examinateurs et le Manuel de formation et de référence ACRI/ACEPI.

Objet

1.1 Les problèmes concernant l'objet sont adéquatement étudiés.

Les questions relatives à l'objet comprennent :

1.2 La recherche ou l'examen est limité, au besoin.

La recherche ou l'examen peut être limité (entièrement ou partiellement) lorsque des irrégularités dans le mémoire descriptif ne permettent pas de produire un rapport exhaustif. Une limitation peut être justifiée dans les situations suivantes :

Si l'examen est limité, la portée de la limitation et les motifs sont clairement énoncés dans le rapport de recherche international (RRI), l'opinion écrite (OÉ) [chapitre I ou chapitre II] ou le RPIB. Dans les cas où il y a absence d'unité, l'examinateur informe le déposant de ladite absence d'unité et du fait qu'il doit payer pour la recherche et l'examen d'inventions supplémentaires désignées, en plus de l'invention première/principale désignée. L'invention première/principale fera toujours l'objet d'une recherche et d'un examen, en plus des autres pour lesquelles des taxes supplémentaires ont été reçues.

Recherche

Un rapport de recherche international (RRI) utile contient toutes les citations nécessaires pour rédiger un ensemble de revendications qui répondent aux critères de nouveauté et d'inventivité, ou qui antériorisent l'ensemble de l'objet visé par les revendications ou qui serait raisonnablement visé par les revendications une fois celles-ci modifiées.

2.1 Une stratégie de recherche appropriée est adoptée conformément aux Directives du Traité de coopération en matière de brevet (PCT)

Une stratégie de recherche appropriée, par laquelle on peut effectuer une recherche significative :

2.2 Les résultats de la recherche et les renseignements nécessaires sont consignés et présentés de façon claire

Le RRI donne la liste des documents pertinents, choisis de manière à procurer au déposant une vue d'ensemble de l'état de la technique et notamment de tous les documents les plus importants, ainsi que les membres de leur famille de brevet sur l'annexe de famille de brevet, tout en évitant les répétitions indues.

Le RRI :

2.3 Les irrégularités liées à la nouveauté et à l'étape inventive sont adéquatement étudiées.

Nouveauté et évidence

Si l'examinateur a des motifs raisonnables de croire que l'invention manque de nouveauté ou ne comporte pas d'étape inventive :

Lorsque l'examinateur relève une irrégularité fondée sur le manque de nouveauté ou l'évidence, il doit examiner chaque revendication en fonction de l'état de la technique. Il devrait mettre l'accent sur les revendications indépendantes. Pour les revendications dépendantes, le niveau de détail peut varier selon le nombre de revendications et la nature des restrictions introduites dans les revendications dépendantes.

Formalités relatives à la demande

3.1 Les observations et les formalités relatives à la demande sont adéquatement étudiées.

Voici quelques exemples d'irrégularités à cet égard (cette liste n'est pas exhaustive) :

Voici quelques exemples d'irrégularités liées à la clarté de la demande et aux observations à l'appui (cette liste n'est pas exhaustive) :

Remarque : Les questions de clarté n'englobent pas les petites erreurs de grammaire ou d'orthographe qui ne donnent pas lieu à une ambiguïté.

Examen

Les opinions écrites (OÉ) ou les rapports préliminaires internationaux sur la brevetabilité (RPIB) utiles expliquent clairement la base de l'opinion, présentent la façon dont les documents cités s'appliquent aux revendications, et contiennent des observations générales au sujet de la demande.

4.1 L'examen est effectué conformément aux Directives du PCT

4.2 Les irrégularités liées à l'abrégé sont adéquatement étudiées.

4.3 Les mentions d'irrégularités sont réitérées, le cas échéant.

Communication

Les communications écrites et verbales sont claires et exactes afin d'être utiles aux clients.

5.1 Les communications écrites sont complètes et exactes

Il faut toujours fournir suffisamment de renseignements sur une irrégularité ou une observation, afin que le déposant puisse comprendre l'irrégularité ou l'observation et y répondre adéquatement. Cela comprend ce qui suit :

5.2 Toutes les communications sont claires et appropriées

Pour qu'elles soient claires et appropriées, les communications doivent :

5.3 Le format de l'OÉ ou du RPIB est clair et le contenu est exact.

Les communications écrites comprennent les éléments de forme suivants, au besoin :

5.4 Les notes relatives à une communication officieuse avec le déposant sont exactes et complètes.

La note relative à une communication avec le déposant comprend les questions de forme suivantes, le cas échéant :

Respect des délais

La recherche internationale et l'examen sont réalisés de manière efficace, en respectant les délais établis ainsi que les priorités de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada relatifs à l'examen.

6.1 L'examen est effectué en temps opportun.

La rapidité d'exécution nécessite le respect :

Date de modification :