Business Strategy Update (2015)

Message from the Chief Executive Officer

CIPO continues to play a key role in implementing the Government of Canada's agenda to enhance economic growth and competitiveness by issuing intellectual property (IP) rights. We help disseminate new knowledge to promote innovation across Canada and around the world.

With the launch of the Business Strategy in 2012, CIPO renewed its commitment to effectively support innovators and the innovation cycle in Canada, while achieving exemplary operational performance.

Our goals and objectives set out in 2012 were ambitious, and the work still to be done is extensive. However, we continue to be inspired by innovation and are committed to success. This commitment has resulted in some notable accomplishments.

Environmental scan

Each year, CIPO conducts an environmental scan to ensure we are ready to respond to any new realities while improving organizational performance and service to customers.

  • CIPO has a better understanding of the IP needs of its customers and is evaluating several potential new services to provide quick and easily accessible assistance and information during the pre-application, application and post-grant phases.
  • There is a strong Government commitment to modernize Canada's IP agenda by implementing international treaties.
  • CIPO is supporting innovation by working to align the IP framework with international practices and reducing burden on businesses.
  • CIPO's current human resources structure is stable with few employment equity gaps and a robust internal pool of future leadership talent.
  • The organization is in good financial health. Benefiting from a stable revenue base, CIPO is committed to making the necessary investments to successfully implement the Business Strategy.

Recent accomplishments

Getting to know our customers

In launching the Business Strategy, CIPO sought to improve its ability to connect with its customers. To do this, we needed to learn exactly who those customers were and what they needed from us.

To do this, we:

  • held roundtable discussions with stakeholders, including small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), technology transfer offices and clients of the National Research Council's Industrial Research Assistance Program;
  • visited numerous businesses
  • began improving existing services such as the Bank of Speakers and IP Case Studies;
  • took advantage of social media tools to create channels for increased two-way communication; and
  • began to improve our online services, providing clients with new self-serve options.
Redefining working relationship

We are also redefining our working relationship with IP agents with the creation of three joint working groups. Each group is chaired by a CIPO representative and an agent. The goal is to examine options for improving collaboration.

In October 2014, the working groups together issued a single report entitled, "Modernizing the IP Community". The report features 11 recommendations, focused on:

  • the maintenance and oversight of the lists of trademark and patent agents;
  • the qualification and development of patent and trademark agents; and
  • a values and ethics framework for trademark and patent agents.

CIPO is now in the process of identifying which recommendations would be best suited to implement in the near-term. The goal is to ensure that Canada has a modern framework to guide the IP professions, and that Canadian IP business interests are well served.

Aligning with international best practices

CIPO continues to actively engage with foreign IP offices and international organizations to address common IP issues and share information on best practices and policies. We have collaborated with several of these offices in the development of international patent work-sharing initiatives to accelerate patent examination.

We also lead Canada's participation in the Intellectual Property Rights Experts Group, which offers the opportunity to develop alliances with our Asia-Pacific counterparts.

Gaining access to the legislative agenda

The Government continues to place emphasis on IP issues in its legislative agenda. On January 27, 2014, five key international IP treaties were tabled in Parliament which aim to harmonize and simplify procedures across multiple jurisdictions: the Madrid Protocol, the Singapore Treaty, the Nice Agreement, the Patent Law Treaty and the Hague Agreement.

Amendments to the Patent Act, Trade-marks Act and Industrial Design Act are necessary for Canada to ratify these treaties. The required changes to the Trade-marks Act received royal assent on June 19, 2014. Royal assent for the Patent Act and the Industrial Design Act was received on December 16, 2014.

Looking ahead

CIPO's primary focus is our customers and delivering value to them. This is evident in the six strategic pillars that support the Business Strategy, and the objectives under each.

Customers

Feedback gathered throughout the 2013 consultations consistently pointed to four key challenges that prevent businesses from making the best use of intellectual property (IP):

  • Lack of IP awareness: Businesses lack the information they need to increase their understanding of IP and to inform their IP strategy.
  • Complexity: Obtaining IP rights and developing IP strategies due to the complexity of IP laws is challenging.
  • Cost: Costs of obtaining and enforcing IP rights are high.
  • Timeliness: The process to obtain IP rights is too slow.

In order to reduce these barriers, CIPO has identified several new potential services. In the coming year, we will be working towards implementing those services. For example, CIPO will introduce a number of online tools to support IP-strategy development by SMEs as part of their business planning process. These tools will help address the lack of IP knowledge among the SME community, and will better equip them to manage the complexity of the IP system.

We will also expand our regional presence in hubs across the country, enabling us to work more closely with our customers at the local level.

Access to Innovative Knowledge

"Access to Innovative Knowledge" is focused on making CIPO's extensive data available to customers in a meaningful way. Our inventory of data is delivered and integrated into international databases to improve access and contribute to global intellectual property resources for innovators. CIPO will continue to address the needs and expectations of its customers, ensuring maximum capability of the search tools.

In addition, CIPO will produce IP analytics reports. These reports will provide valuable data to our internal and external stakeholders to better inform their business decisions.

Modern IP Framework

Activities under "Modern IP Framework" centre around ensuring Canada's IP laws and regulations are aligned with international best practices. The tabling of the five treaties is a major step that has created opportunities for CIPO to advance its work in this area. However, much remains to be done prior to the treaties' coming into force.

Work related to implementing all five treaties is under way. CIPO continues to consult with stakeholders as the various laws and the accompanying regulations are amended.

Highly Skilled Workforce

CIPO is dedicated to excellence and providing value. To achieve this, it is essential to Canada’s economic success that we have a workforce that understands the innovation benefits of intellectual property. Activities under this pillar are designed to support employees while building their knowledge and, in turn, contributing to the organization’s goal of improving service to our clients. CIPO has developed a learning program and learning blocks that achieve all this. In addition, a leadership program and talent management exercise have also been implemented.

A focus is being made on developing career paths to ensure employees remain experts in their field, as well as to build their knowledge and skills across other lines of business. This will help to provide better service to clients, as well as continue to foster a positive work environment for employees at every level.

Responsive IT Infrastructure

Activities focus on ensuring CIPO has responsive information technology systems in place which support its ability to encourage innovation and respond to the IP community’s business needs. These systems will be ready when the various treaties come into force.

In addition, we must ensure sufficient IT support in order to provide customers with access to CIPO’s data and to carry out other Business Strategy initiatives. We continue to provide customers with new and improved online services and capabilities. These services will allow customers to access their payment history or sign up for an electronic bill payment system.

We also launched a new trademarks eFiling system in 2013–2014. The system has streamlined and simplified the application process, resulting in faster processing times and more flexibility in the application process.

Operational Excellence

Activities in this area are designed to ensure CIPO provides quality IP rights in a timely and cost-effective manner. The implementation of a "Lean" continuous process improvement methodology is enabling our efforts to be more efficient and deliver value for customers, with significant results already realized.

For example, one project was designed to simplify the incoming application process to minimize the movement of files and reduce errors. Initial results have yielded an improvement in the handling of files from the mailroom to patent scanning, including fee validation, from 300 hours to 24 hours. Models are currently being developed in order to more accurately forecast and manage production capacity.

Going forward, we are closely examining our end-to-end processes with the expectation of improving the processes by streamlining the steps necessary to ensure customers receive quality IP rights.

We are now completing the third year of the Business Strategy and there is much to celebrate. With some notable accomplishments already under our belt, I am confident we will meet our goals and achieve measurable results for Canadian businesses and consumers.

Date modified:

Mise à jour de la Stratégie d’affaires (2015)

Message du président

L'OPIC continue à jouer un rôle clé dans la mise en œuvre du programme du gouvernement du Canada visant à stimuler la croissance économique et la compétitivité en octroyant des droits de propriété intellectuelle (PI). Nous contribuons à diffuser de nouvelles connaissances dans le but de promouvoir l'innovation au Canada et dans le monde.

Avec le lancement de la Stratégie d'affaires en 2012, l'OPIC s'est de nouveau engagé à soutenir efficacement les innovateurs et le cycle d'innovation au Canada tout en ayant un rendement opérationnel exemplaire.

Les buts et objectifs que l'on s'est fixés en 2012 étaient ambitieux, et le travail qu'il reste à faire est important. On demeure néanmoins inspiré par l'innovation et déterminé à réussir. Cette détermination a entraîné quelques réalisations notables.

Analyse de l'environnement

Chaque année, l'OPIC effectue une analyse de l'environnement pour s'assurer que l'on est prêt à répondre aux nouvelles réalités tout en améliorant le rendement organisationnel et le service à la clientèle.

  • L'OPIC a une meilleure compréhension des besoins de ses clients en matière de PI et évalue plusieurs nouveaux services éventuels pour offrir une aide et des renseignements rapidement et facilement accessibles avant le dépôt de la demande, durant la phase de dépôt et après l'octroi.
  • Le gouvernement s'engage fermement à moderniser le programme de PI du Canada en mettant en œuvre des traités internationaux.
  • L'OPIC soutient l'innovation en veillant à harmoniser le cadre de PI avec les pratiques internationales et à réduire le fardeau des entreprises.
  • La structure actuelle des ressources humaines de l'OPIC est stable; elle présente peu de lacunes en matière d'équité d'emploi et le bassin interne de dirigeants futurs est grand.
  • L'organisme est en bonne santé financière. Bénéficiant d'une base de recettes stables, l'OPIC s'engage à faire les investissements nécessaires pour que la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie d'affaires soit couronnée de succès.

Réalisations récentes

Connaissance des clients

En lançant la Stratégie d'affaires, l'OPIC avait pour but d'améliorer sa capacité à établir des liens avec ses clients. Pour ce faire, il fallait connaître précisément ces clients et leurs attentes.

Pour ce faire, on a :

  • organisé des tables rondes avec les intervenants, y compris les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME), les bureaux de transfert de technologie et les clients du Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle du Conseil national de recherches du Canada;
  • rendu visite à de nombreuses entreprises;
  • commencé à améliorer les services existants, comme la Banque de conférenciers et les études de cas en PI;
  • tiré profit des médias sociaux pour créer des canaux facilitant le dialogue;
  • commencé à améliorer nos services en ligne, offrant ainsi aux clients de nouvelles options libre-service.
Redéfinition des relations de travail

On redéfinit également les relations de travail avec les agents de PI par la création de trois groupes de travail mixtes. Chaque groupe est présidé par un représentant de l'OPIC et un agent. Ces groupes visent à examiner quelles options favoriseront la collaboration.

En octobre 2014, les groupes de travail ont publié un rapport commun intitulé Modernisation de la communauté de la PI. Ce rapport présente 11 recommandations portant sur ce qui suit :

  • la tenue à jour et la surveillance de la liste des agents de marques de commerce et de brevets;
  • la qualification et le perfectionnement des agents de marques de commerce et de brevets;
  • un cadre de valeurs et d'éthique à l'intention des agents de marques de commerce et de brevets.

L'OPIC tente actuellement d'identifier les recommandations qui se prêtent le mieux à une mise en œuvre à court terme. Cet exercice vise à assurer que le Canada dispose d'un cadre moderne pour régir les professions en PI et que les intérêts des entreprises canadiennes sont bien servis dans le domaine de la PI.

Harmonisation avec les pratiques exemplaires internationales

L'OPIC poursuit sa collaboration active avec les offices de PI étrangers et les organisations internationales pour régler les questions communes de PI et échanger des renseignements sur les pratiques exemplaires et les politiques. Nous avons collaboré avec plusieurs offices à des initiatives internationales de partage des travaux sur les brevets visant à accélérer l'examen des demandes de brevet.

Nous dirigeons également la délégation canadienne au sein du Groupe d'experts sur les droits de propriété intellectuelle (anglais seulement), qui favorise la formation d'alliances avec nos homologues de l'Asie–Pacifique.

Accès au programme législatif

Le gouvernement continue à mettre l'accent sur les questions de PI dans son programme législatif. Le 27 janvier 2014, cinq traités internationaux importants en matière de PI ont été déposés au Parlement. Ces traités, le Protocole de Madrid, le Traité de Singapour, l'Arrangement de Nice, le Traité sur le droit des brevets et l'Arrangement de La Haye, visent à harmoniser et à simplifier les procédures dans diverses administrations.

Des modifications à la Loi sur les brevets, à la Loi sur les marques de commerce et à la Loi sur les dessins industriels sont nécessaires pour que le Canada puisse ratifier ces traités. Les modifications requises à la Loi sur les marques de commerce ont obtenu la sanction royale le 19 juin 2014. La sanction royale aux modifications à la Loi sur les brevets et à la Loi sur les dessins industriels a été accordée le 16 décembre 2014.

Vers l'avenir

L'OPIC se concentre avant tout sur ses clients et sur la valeur ajoutée qui leur est offerte. Ce souci est présent dans les six piliers stratégiques qui appuient la Stratégie d'affaires, ainsi que dans les objectifs qui accompagnent chacun d'eux.

Clients

Les commentaires recueillis tout au long des consultations de 2013 ont souvent mis en relief quatre problèmes importants qui empêchent les entreprises d'utiliser au mieux la propriété intellectuelle :

  • Sensibilisation insuffisante à la PI : Les entreprises n'ont pas les renseignements dont elles ont besoin pour mieux comprendre la PI et appuyer leur stratégie de PI.
  • Complexité : En raison de la complexité des lois relatives à la PI, les entreprises éprouvent de la difficulté à obtenir des droits de PI et à élaborer des stratégies de PI.
  • Coût : Les coûts d'obtention et d'exécution des droits de PI sont élevés.
  • Rapidité d'exécution : Le processus d'obtention des droits de PI est trop lent.

Afin de réduire ces obstacles, l'OPIC a recensé plusieurs nouveaux services à offrir. Au cours de la prochaine année, nous veillerons à la mise en œuvre de ces services. Par exemple, l'OPIC présentera des outils en ligne pour soutenir la conception de stratégies en matière de PI par les PME dans le cadre de leur processus de planification d'activités. Ces outils contribueront à contrer le manque de connaissances au sein des PME et aideront celles-ci à faire face à la complexité du système de PI.  

L'OPIC étendra également sa présence régionale dans les centres d'activité du pays, ce qui lui permettra de travailler en plus étroite collaboration avec ses clients dans leur région.

Accès aux connaissances innovatrices

La section « Accès aux connaissances innovatrices » a pour objectif de rendre l'ensemble des données de l'OPIC accessible et compréhensible aux clients. L'inventaire de données de l'OPIC est livré et intégré à des bases de données internationales pour en améliorer l'accès et contribuer aux ressources mondiales en matière de propriété intellectuelle destinées aux innovateurs. L'OPIC continuera à répondre aux besoins et aux attentes de ses clients en assurant un rendement optimum des outils de recherche.  

En outre, l'OPIC produira des rapports analytiques sur la PI. Ces rapports fourniront des renseignements précieux à ses intervenants internes et externes, leur permettant de prendre de meilleures décisions d'affaires.

Cadre de la PI moderne

Les activités dans la section « Cadre de la PI moderne » servent à garantir que les lois et règlements du Canada en matière de PI sont harmonisés avec les pratiques exemplaires internationales. Le dépôt des cinq traités est une étape majeure qui a permis l'avancement des travaux de l'OPIC dans ce domaine. Il reste toutefois beaucoup à faire avant l'entrée en vigueur des traités.

Les travaux associés à la mise en œuvre des cinq traités sont en cours. L'OPIC poursuit ses consultations auprès des intervenants parallèlement à la modification des diverses lois et des règlements connexes.

Main-d'œuvre hautement qualifiée

L'OPIC a le souci de l'excellence et de la valeur ajoutée. Pour garantir le succès économique du Canada, il est essentiel que notre main-d'œuvre comprenne les avantages de la propriété intellectuelle. Les activités sous ce pilier visent à aider les employés à approfondir leurs connaissances pour qu'ils contribuent à l'objectif d'amélioration du service à la clientèle. L'OPIC a élaboré un programme d'apprentissage et des blocs d'apprentissage pour y arriver. En outre, un programme de direction et un exercice de gestion des talents ont également été mis en œuvre.  

L'accent est mis sur le développement de carrière afin que les employés demeurent des experts dans leur secteur et qu'ils approfondissent leurs connaissances et compétences dans d'autres secteurs d'activités. Cela aidera l'OPIC à offrir de meilleurs services à ses clients et favorisera un milieu de travail positif pour tous les employés.

Infrastructure de la TI adaptée

Les activités visent à ce que l'OPIC dispose des systèmes de technologie de l'information adaptés pour l'aider à favoriser l'innovation et répondre aux besoins commerciaux de la communauté de la PI. Ces systèmes seront prêts lorsque les traités entreront en vigueur.

En outre, on doit assurer un soutien suffisant en matière de TI pour donner aux clients un accès aux données de l'OPIC et pour poursuivre d'autres initiatives de stratégies d'affaires. On continue à offrir aux clients des capacités et des services nouveaux et améliorés. Ces services permettront aux clients d'accéder à l'historique de leurs paiements ou de s'inscrire à un système électronique de paiement de factures.

Un nouveau système de dépôt électronique des marques de commerce a aussi été lancé en 2013‑2014. Le système a rationalisé et simplifié le processus de présentation des demandes, ce qui s'est traduit par des délais de traitement plus rapides et une plus grande souplesse du processus de présentation des demandes.

Excellence opérationnelle

Les activités de ce secteur visent à assurer que l'OPIC accorde des droits de PI de qualité en temps opportun et de façon efficace. La mise en œuvre d'une méthode « LEAN » d'amélioration des processus en continu nous permet d'être plus efficaces et d'offrir une valeur ajoutée aux clients. Des résultats importants ont déjà été obtenus. 

Par exemple, un projet a été conçu pour simplifier le processus des demandes entrantes, afin de réduire le mouvement des dossiers et le nombre d'erreurs. Les résultats initiaux font état d'une amélioration du traitement des dossiers de la salle du courrier à l'analyse des brevets, ce qui comprend la validation des frais, de 300 à 24 heures. Des modèles sont actuellement mis au point pour gérer et prévoir avec une plus grande précision la capacité de production.

Dorénavant, les processus de bout en bout de l'OPIC seront examinés de plus près dans l'espoir de les améliorer grâce à une simplification des étapes nécessaires et d'accorder aux clients des droits de PI de qualité.

La troisième année de la Stratégie d'affaires tire maintenant à sa fin, et les raisons de célébrer sont nombreuses. L'OPIC comptant quelques réalisations notables à son actif, j'ai confiance que l'on atteindra les objectifs et obtiendra des résultats quantifiables pour les entreprises et les consommateurs canadiens.

Date de modification :