Protect your privacy on the Canadian Patents Database

Did you know that most documents relating to a patent or patent application submitted by applicants and/or agents are made available on the Canadian Patents Database (CPD)? All patents, patent applications and documents filed in connection with them become available to the public once a patent application's confidentiality period under the Patent Act has expired.

Documents submitted by applicants and/or agents effecting transfers may contain sensitive personal information. CIPO will not publish these documents on the CPD, but they will be available to the public either in person at our Office in Gatineau or upon request and payment of a prescribed fee.

How do I protect my personal information?

Submit only information needed as prescribed by the Patent Act or Patent Rules.

Required: In the case of a transfer of patent rights, submit only the portion of the document that transfers the patent rights.

Not required: Portions of the transfer documents such as a purchase agreement, will or bankruptcy document that contain sensitive personal or confidential information which detail purchase prices, other assets, due diligence assessments, etc., are not required by CIPO to effect the transfer.

You may redact or suppress any information that you do not wish to be made public before you submit the document to CIPO, so long as this information is not required information according to the Patent Act or the Patent Rules. Please note that CIPO will not redact or suppress any information from documents.

My sensitive personal information is on the CPD, what should I do?

To remove sensitive personal or confidential information from the CPD, the authorized correspondent (for a patent application) or the agent or patentee (for a patent) should provide a written request to CIPO containing the following:

CIPO will review the request and may remove documents that contain sensitive personal or confidential information from the CPD.  Please note that in accordance with the Patent Act, these documents will remain accessible to the public upon request at our Office in Gatineau.

Please note that certain personal information identifying the applicants and inventors and their contact information is required to be provided by the Patent Act or Patent Rules and cannot be removed from the CPD.

I want to correct information on the CPD

There are various mechanisms to correct information. Please review the Patent Notices or the Manual of Patent Office Practice to learn how to correct information already submitted to CIPO.

In the event that the CPD does not reflect CIPO's records, CIPO will correct the CPD upon receipt of a written request by the authorized correspondent (for a patent application) or the agent or patentee (for a patent), or when it becomes aware of the error.

Read more

For more information about privacy, consult Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada Terms and Conditions or CIPO Terms and Conditions.

Visit the List of published and non-published patent-specific documents on the CPD page.

Date modified:

Protégez votre confidentialité dans la Base de données sur les brevets canadiens

Saviez-vous que la plupart des documents liés à un brevet ou à une demande de brevet présentés par les demandeurs ou les agents sont mis à la disponibilité du public dans la Base de données sur les brevets canadiens (BDBC)? L'ensemble des brevets, des demandes de brevet et des documents connexes qui sont déposés deviennent accessibles au public à la fin de la période de confidentialité d'une demande de brevet prévue par la Loi sur les brevets.

Les documents visant les transferts qui sont soumis par les demandeurs ou les agents peuvent contenir des renseignements personnels de nature délicate. L'OPIC ne les publiera pas dans la BDBC, mais ils seront accessibles au public en personne à nos bureaux de Gatineau ou sur demande et moyennant le paiement de taxes prescrites.

Comment puis-je protéger mes renseignements personnels?

N'envoyez que les renseignements nécessaires comme prescrit par la Loi sur les brevets ou les Règles sur les brevets.

Nécessaire : Dans le cas d'un transfert des droits de brevet, n'envoyez que la partie du document qui transfère les droits de brevet.

Non nécessaires : Les parties de l'acte de transfert comme une convention d'achat, un testament ou un document relatif à une faillite qui comprennent des renseignements personnels ou confidentiels de nature délicate faisant état de prix d'achat, d'autres actifs, d'évaluations de diligence raisonnable, etc. ne sont pas requises par l'OPIC pour effectuer le transfert.

Vous pouvez caviarder ou supprimer tout renseignement que vous ne souhaitez pas voir mis à la disponibilité du public avant de présenter le document à l'OPIC, à condition que ces renseignements ne soient pas requis en vertu de la Loi sur les brevets ou des Règle sur les brevets. Veuillez noter que l'OPIC ne caviardera ni ne supprimera aucun renseignement contenu dans des documents.

Mes renseignements personnels de nature délicate sont dans la BDBC; que devrais-je faire?

Pour faire retirer des renseignements personnels ou confidentiels de nature délicate de la BDBC, le correspondant autorisé (dans le cas d'une demande de brevet) ou l'agent ou le breveté (dans le cas d'un brevet) doit soumettre une demande écrite à l'OPIC renfermant :

L'OPIC examinera la demande et pourrait retirer les documents contenant des renseignements personnels ou confidentiels de nature délicate de la BDBC. Veuillez noter que, conformément à la Loi sur les brevets, ces documents demeureront accessibles au public sur demande à notre bureau de Gatineau.

Veuillez noter que certains renseignements personnels identifiant les demandeurs et les inventeurs et leurs coordonnées doivent être fournis conformément à la Loi sur les brevets ou aux Règles sur les brevets et ne peuvent être retirés de la BDBC.

Je souhaite corriger des renseignements contenus dans la BDBC

Divers mécanismes permettent de corriger des renseignements. Veuillez examiner les Avis sur les brevets ou le Recueil des pratiques du Bureau des brevets pour apprendre comment corriger des renseignements déjà soumis à l'OPIC.

Si le contenu de la BDBC ne reflète pas les dossiers de l'OPIC, ce dernier corrigera la BDBC à la réception d'une demande écrite du correspondant autorisé (pour une demande de brevet) ou de l'agent ou du breveté (pour un brevet), ou lorsqu'il prendra connaissance de l'erreur.

En savoir plus

Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet de la protection des renseignements personnels, consultez les Avis d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada ou les Avis de l'OPIC.

Visitez la page Liste des documents liés aux brevets qui sont publiés ou non publiés dans la BDBC.
Date de modification :