Filing prior art

After a patent application is made available to the public, anyone can raise questions about the patentability of the invention or one of its claims by filing prior art.

On this page:

What is prior art?

Prior art consists of all information/documentation that has been disclosed with the public about an invention before the filing date of the patent in question. Patentability (novelty, utility, and inventiveness) must be assessed during the examination process in view of the prior art as it could impact the eligibility for a patent.

Any prior art filed is considered by the examiner only after examination has been requested. Information contained in a filing of prior art is taken into account and will be used during examination if it is found to be pertinent by the examiner.

Example

You are aware of a Canadian application to patent an electric door lock. But, you have evidence of an earlier electric door lock, either yours or another inventor's, which is already known, publicly described or demonstrated. The public disclosure of the door lock constitutes prior art and it does not need to be in existence nor be available on the market to be considered so. You may inform the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) that such a door lock was previously known, before the current application was made.

Filing prior art

Under Section 34.1 of the Patent Act, any third party can file prior art with CIPO, explaining why they believe a claimed invention is not new or inventive. Prior art filed with CIPO becomes a part of the application file and can be accessed by the public.

When filing prior art, the submission will be acknowledged but no further information will be made available, such as resulting action taken or discussion with an examiner to discuss the prosecution of the application. However, access to the prosecution file of the application at the time the file is opened to public inspection is made available and can be followed on the Canadian Patents Database. The applicant is notified that a submission of prior art has been made.

In the event the application is of Patent Cooperation Treaty origin and has not yet entered the national phase in Canada, CIPO will retain the third party submission until the date for late national entry in Canada has passed.

Reasons to file third party prior art

Improving patent quality and increasing the quality and efficiency in the examination process are key goals of IP offices around the world. IP offices recognize that the public can play an important role in ensuring all potentially relevant prior art is considered while a patent application is being examined.

Prior art, submitted by a third party, allows informed individuals to provide relevant information to patent examiners potentially blocking competitors from obtaining a patent for inventions that were previously disclosed. It also becomes part of the laid-open application file made available to the public. Filings of prior art requesting confidentiality will be returned to the sender and will not be considered by the examiner.

How to file third party prior art

Prior art is filed in writing to:

Commissioner of Patents
Place du Portage, Phase I, Room 403B
50 Victoria Street
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0C9
Canada

In your correspondence, indicate:

  • the relevant patent application number
  • the prior art
  • why the prior art is pertinent

Additional reading

Refer to CIPO's Manual of Patent Office Practice, Chapter 18 18.01.

Date modified:

Déposer un dossier d'antériorité

Une fois une demande de brevet rendue publique, n'importe quelle personne peut contester la brevetabilité de l'invention ou de l'une des revendications de la demande en déposant un dossier d'antériorité.

Sur cette page :

Qu'est-ce que l'art antérieur et les antériorités?

L'art antérieur est composé de documents d'antériorités et désigne l'ensemble de l'information et des documents divulgués publiquement à propos d'une invention avant la date dépôt de la demande de brevet en cause. La brevetabilité (nouveauté, utilité et activité inventive) doit être évaluée lors du processus d'examen en regard de l'antériorité ce qui peut avoir effet sur l'éligibilité à recevoir un brevet.

L'examinateur ne tient compte d'un dossier d'antériorité que si une requête d'examen a été effectuée. L'information déposée dans un dossier d'antériorité est prise en compte et servira à l'examen si l'examinateur la juge pertinente.

Exemple

Vous apprenez qu'une demande de brevet canadien a été déposée pour une serrure de porte électrique, mais vous avez des éléments de preuve de l'existence d'une serrure de porte électrique antérieure, l'invention étant la vôtre ou celle d'un autre. Celle-ci est déjà connue ou a été déjà décrite ou mise en démonstration publiquement. La divulgation antérieure au public de la serrure constitue une antériorité, et il n'est pas nécessaire que la serrure existe ou qu'elle soit actuellement offerte sur le marché pour être considérée comme antérieure. Ainsi, vous pouvez informer l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC) qu'une telle serrure était connue avant que la demande de brevet actuelle soit déposée.

Déposer un dossier d'antériorité

En vertu de l'article 34.1 de la Loi sur les brevets, un tiers peut déposer un dossier d'antériorité auprès de l'OPIC, en expliquant pourquoi il estime qu'une invention revendiquée n'est pas nouvelle ou inventive. Un dossier d'antériorité déposé auprès de l'OPIC fait partie du dossier de la demande et peut être consulté par le public.

Lorsqu'un dossier d'antériorité est déposé, un accusé de réception est produit, mais aucun suivi ne sera communiqué, par exemple résultant de mesures prises subséquemment ou de discussions avec un examinateur à propos du traitement de la demande. Par ailleurs, la consultation du dossier de traitement de la demande peut se faire à l'étape où il devient accessible publiquement, grâce à la Base de données sur les brevets canadiens. Le demandeur est avisé du dépôt d'un dossier d'antériorité.

Si la demande a été produite dans le cadre du Traité de coopération en matière de brevets et qu'elle n'a pas encore atteint la phase nationale au Canada, l'OPIC conservera le dossier présenté par un tiers jusqu'à ce que la date tardive d'entrée en phase nationale au Canada soit passée.

Raisons de déposer un dossier d'antériorité par un tiers

Les bureaux de PI de partout dans le monde comptent parmi leurs grands objectifs l'amélioration de la qualité des brevets et de la qualité et de l'efficience du processus d'examen. Ils savent que le public peut jouer un rôle important pour veiller à ce que toutes les antériorités qui pourraient être pertinentes soient prises en compte dans l'examen d'une demande de brevet.

Le dossier d'antériorité déposé par un tiers permet à des personnes avisées de présenter des renseignements pertinents aux examinateurs de brevets, pour peut-être empêcher un concurrent d'obtenir un brevet. Le dossier d'antériorité fait également partie du dossier de la demande rendu accessible au public. Un dossier d'antériorité accompagné d'une demande de confidentialité sera retourné à son expéditeur et l'examinateur n'en tiendra pas compte.

Comment déposer un dossier d'antériorité

Un dossier d'antériorité est déposé par écrit auprès du :

Commissaire aux brevets
Place du Portage, Phase I, pièce 403B
50, rue Victoria
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 0C9
Canada

Dans votre correspondance, veuillez préciser :

  • le numéro de demande de brevet pertinent
  • les documents d'antériorité
  • pourquoi ces documents d'antériorité sont pertinents

Autres lectures

Consulter le Recueil des pratiques du Bureau des brevets de l'OPIC, chapitre 18 (18.01).

Date de modification :