Industrial Design Office practice changes: Fact sheet

May 2, 2017

On January 16, 2017, CIPO announced six changes to its Industrial Design Office (the Office) practices with the objectives of improving service to clients, reducing administrative burden, and modernizing our practices to align with international norms. The changes were based largely on feedback from the Industrial Design Practice Committee (IDPC). After the January announcement, we reconvened with the IDPC to hear how the changes were being received and to seek additional input and feedback. The Office is pleased to provide additional guidance on how we will be applying the changes; we have also updated the Practice notice: Colour as a registrable feature of an industrial design, to clarify requirements.

Please contact us if you have questions about these changes or other Office practices.

In this document

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) is pleased to announce changes to six industrial design office practices.

These changes will improve service to clients, reduce administrative burden, and modernize our practices to align with international norms. CIPO is committed to maintaining its strong relationship with clients and stakeholders. The changes outlined below are based largely on stakeholder feedback from the Industrial Design Practice Committee.

The following is a brief summary of the practice changes that affect pending and future industrial design applications.

Computer-generated animated designs

Objective

The change

Benefit

Guidance for applicants:

  1. Applications filed before January 16, 2017

    As a courtesy to applicants, the Office will make every attempt to hold back from registration for a period of two months from May 1, 2017, pending applications filed before January 16, 2017 that claim computer-generated animated designs. However, since the Office is unable to identify every application for which the intent was to seek protection for a computer-generated animated design, applicants are asked to advise the Office of applications that should be held back from registration for this reason.

    Within this two month period, applicants must petition the Office in writing to have their pending applications re-examined according to the new practice. Conversely, an applicant may confirm their intent to proceed without delay. Applicants who submitted divisional applications in response to a multiple design objection may amend the parent application to re-integrate designs that were the subject of divisional applications. Applicants must withdraw these divisional applications when the designs have been reintegrated into the parent application.

    Following the expiry of the two-month grace period, all pending applications for which no request for re-examination has been received will be prosecuted as per the practice prior to January 16, 2017.

Colour as a registrable feature of an industrial design

Objective

The change

Benefit

Guidance for applicants:

  1. Applications filed before January 16, 2017

    As a courtesy to applicants, the Office will make every attempt to hold back from registration for a period of two months from May 1, 2017, pending applications filed before January 16, 2017 that claim colour. However, since the Office is unable to identify every application for which the intent was to include colour as a registrable feature, applicants are asked to advise the Office of applications that should be held back from registration.

    Within this two month period, applicants must petition the Office in writing to have their pending applications re-examined according to the new practice. Conversely, an applicant may confirm their intent to proceed without delay. Descriptions and drawings/photographs may require amendments according to the format described below.

    Following the expiry of the two-month grace period, all pending applications for which no request for re-examination has been received, will be prosecuted as per the practice prior to January 16, 2017.

  2. Application requirements to adequately claim colour

    As stated in the practice notice on colour, the Office considers colour as a feature of ornament or pattern. If an applicant wishes to claim colour, the applicant must ensure that "ornament" and/or "pattern" is included as a feature of the design in the description portion of the application. (Please see Table 1, examples 1 and 2)

    Drawings or photographs must be filed in colour and on paper rather than electronically since the electronic submission process will convert all colour images to black and white. Applicants may provide the Office with a second set of colour images to be sent back with a registration certificate to ensure that drawings and photographs in the registration package are the same as those on file in the Office. This additional set of drawings or photograph will not be considered as additional "pages of drawings in excess of 10 pages" under item 1(b) of the Tariff of Fees.

  3. How to address colour in the description

    The Office considers that colour may describe features of ornament or pattern. Reference to colour in the description must be clear and unambiguous. For example, the adjective "blue" is acceptable; "blue-ish" is not. Alternately, widely-recognized colour systems may be used to describe the colours claimed. In this case, applicants must include a description of the colour and refer to the applicable colour system.

    While the Office does not endorse or recommend a particular colour identification system, any system used should be easy to identify and be reproduced by the general public. If the colour system is the subject of a registered trade-mark, it must be identified using uppercase letters and must include the statement that it is a registered trade-mark. (Please see the example)

  4. Applicants must limit colour to claimed portions of the finished article

    As stated in paragraph 6.5.2 of the Industrial Design Office Practices Manual, it is unacceptable to show shading and transparency in the non-design portions of an article that have been defined by stippled lines. The Office will apply the same principle for colour shown in non-design portions of an article and will issue an objection if colour is included in non-design portions.

    The following examples illustrate possible colour claims and how they will be interpreted by the Office.

    Table 1 – Examples of how the Office interprets colour claims

    Table 1 – Examples of how the Office interprets colour claims
    Example Application Description Drawings Office Interpretation
    1 "The design consists of the shape and ornament of the entire [identify the finished article] as shown in the drawings. The blue colour shown in the drawings is PANTONE 2126C. *PANTONE is a registered trade-mark." Drawings have been filed in colour and on paper. The description refers to "ornament" which can include colour and the drawings are in colour, therefore, the Office will consider colour as a part of the design.
    2 "The design consists of the visual features of the [identify the finished article] as shown in the drawings." Drawings have been filed in colour and on paper. This combination of description and drawings is acceptable. The Office will consider colour as part of the design because drawings have been filed in colour and it is implied from the description (by referring to "visual features") that features of ornament and/or pattern are claimed.
    3 "The design is the shape of the entire [identify the finished article] as shown in the drawings." Drawings have been filed in colour and on paper. Colour will not be considered as part of the design because the description has limited the design to the feature of shape. In order to claim colour, the description should also refer to features of ornament and/or pattern.
    4 "The design consists of the visual features of the [identify the finished article] as shown in the drawings. Colour forms part of the design." Drawings have been filed in black and white on paper. The Office will issue an objection because the description and drawings are inconsistent. The description refers to colour but colour is not reflected in the drawings. The applicant would need to amend the drawings to include colour, or amend the description to remove the reference to colour.
    5 "The design consists of the features of shape and ornament of the [finished article] as shown in the drawings. Colour does not form part of the design." Drawings have been filed in colour and on paper. Even though the drawings are in colour and features of ornament are claimed, colour has been disclaimed in the description. As such, the drawings will be published in colour but the Office will not consider colour as part of the design.
  5. Online database

    Recognizing that technical issues may impact image quality when viewing or printing from the online database, users are advised to consult the physical file as it contains the best representation of the design. This may be especially useful for viewing designs that include colour as a registrable feature.

Reducing time limits to respond to office actions

Objective

The change

Benefit

Search to assess originality where there is a priority claim

Objective

The change

Benefit

Guidance for applicants:

  1. Language requirements

    A certified copy of the foreign application and a certificate from the foreign office showing the filing date of the application can be submitted to the Office as long as they are accompanied by a translation of the documents into English or French.

  2. A supported priority claim

    The design disclosed in the priority document must be for the same design as the design the applicant is seeking to register in Canada. Drawing techniques will not have an impact on the assessment of whether or not the design is considered to be the same (e.g. a bold wavy boundary line used to delineate between the design and non-design portions). If your application contains variants, each of them must be adequately supported. If a variant is not supported, the search will be conducted no earlier than six months after the Canadian filing date.

New notices of possible refusal

Objective

The change

Benefit

Guidance for applicants:

  1. Advance notice of an impending Notice of Possible Refusal (NPR)

    The Office will inform the applicant that a NPR is forthcoming in a report where an objection to registration is maintained. This report will also specify that unless the objection is overcome, a NPR will be issued.

  2. Options available to the applicant after receiving a NPR

    The NPR will inform applicants of two possible options; any action must be taken within three months from the date of the notice.

    1. Request a review by the Patent Appeal Board (PAB): Applicants may request that the Office submit their application for review by the PAB. The Office will forward the application to the PAB which will in turn contact the applicant.
    2. No action: Applicants may decide to take no further action. In this case, the Director of the Office will review the application to either issue the registration or a refusal. A refusal will terminate the examination of the application. If the applicant is not in agreement with the refusal, an appeal to the Federal Court may be available.

Delaying the registration of an application

Objective

The change

Benefit

Guidance for applicants:

  1. How to request a delay of registration

    An applicant may request a delay of registration any time prior to registration. The Office requires a written request accompanied by the required fee (Item 9 of the Tariff of Fees) to process the request.

    Registration can be delayed for up to six months per request; the Office does not limit the number of delays that can be applied to an application. A shorter delay period may be specified, as long as it is in monthly increments. Should a delay no longer be required or the delay period inadequate, a written request to cancel or modify the delay may be submitted to the Office.

  2. Request for delay of registration received prior to January 16, 2017

    Under the previous practice, a delay of registration began on the date the request was received in the Office. Therefore, if a delay of registration was filed prior to January 16, 2017, it has already commenced.

    Applicants who wish to benefit from the practice introduced on January 16, 2017, may petition the Office in writing to have an already-active delay of registration come into effect on the date of allowance of the application, rather than on the date the request was received. No additional fees will apply.

  3. Using delay of registration when filing divisional applications

    Applicants are required to notify the Office when an application is being filed as a divisional of another application (commonly known as the “parent”). As indicated in the Practice notice: Delaying registration of an industrial design, the Office will no longer hold back from registration parent applications to allow applicants to file divisionals. Instead, applicants are encouraged to file their divisional applications at the same time they restrict the parent application to one design. Should the applicant require more time to file divisional applications, the applicant may request a delay of registration on the parent application.

  4. Effect of a delay of registration on associated applications

    When applicants request that related designs be registered on the same day or when they submit parent and divisional applications, the Office will associate the appropriate applications so that they all register on the same day.

    Consequently, when a delay of registration is requested for a particular application that is associated with other applications, those other applications may also be delayed as a result.

    For example, if a delay of registration is requested on application “A” which is associated with other applications, application A will hold back from registration all associated applications until the delay of registration expires. At that time, all associated applications will proceed to registration on the same day if they are all in an allowable state. Please note that if an application that has been delayed from registering is disassociated from a group of applications, only the application to which the delay was applied will be held back from registration. The others will proceed to registration if they are in an allowable state.

  5. More than one design report issued prior to January 16, 2017

    If an application contains more than one design at the time of filing, an examiner’s report is issued informing the applicant that the application must be limited to one design and that any other designs may be submitted in divisional applications. Such a report issued prior to January 16, 2017, would have indicated that in order for the applicant to file divisionals, the application would be held back from registration for a period of two months, should it be in an allowable state. Since the practice of holding back the registration of an allowed parent application has been discontinued, the Office has implemented an interim measure for affected applications. The Office will send a courtesy letter which will outline the change in practice and will inform applicants that they have two months from the date of issuance of the letter to file divisional applications, or to request a delay.

    If no divisionals are filed within this period, a parent application in an allowable state will proceed to registration. Consequently, it will no longer be possible for the applicant to file divisional applications. Should an applicant require more time to file divisional applications, they may request a delay of registration.

  6. More than one design report issued after January 16, 2017

    The Office will, in an examiner’s report, remind applicants that they must file divisional applications before the parent application proceeds to registration. The Office will also highlight the recent change in practice and suggest that any divisional applications be filed at the same time as amendments to the parent application. The report will also indicate that should the applicant require more time to file divisional applications, a delay of registration may be requested for a delay of up to six months from the date of allowance of the parent.

Date modified:

Changements concernant les pratiques du Bureau des dessins industriels : Fiche de renseignements

Le 2 mai 2017

Le 16 janvier dernier, l'OPIC a annoncé six changements aux pratiques du Bureau des dessins industriels (le Bureau), l'objectif étant d'améliorer le service à la clientèle, de réduire le fardeau administratif et de moderniser nos pratiques pour qu'elles s'harmonisent avec les normes internationales. Les changements étaient en grande partie fondés sur les recommandations du Comité de pratique en dessin industriel (CPDI) Après l'annonce de janvier, nous nous sommes réunis à nouveau avec le CPDI pour savoir comment les changements avaient été accueillis et pour obtenir des commentaires additionnels de même que de la rétroaction. Le Bureau est heureux de publier des instructions supplémentaires sur la façon de mettre en application les changements; nous avons aussi révisé l'Énoncé de pratique : La couleur en tant que caractéristique enregistrable – dessins industriels, afin d'en clarifier les exigences.

Pour toute question au sujet de ces changements ou des pratiques du Bureau, contactez¬ nous.

Dans ce document

L'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC) est heureux d'annoncer un changement à six pratiques administratives associées aux dessins industriels. 

Ces changements permettront d'améliorer le service à la clientèle, de réduire le fardeau administratif et de moderniser nos pratiques pour qu'elles s'harmonisent aux normes internationales. L'OPIC est déterminé à maintenir une solide relation avec ses clients et intervenants. Les changements décrits ci-dessous sont en grande partie fondés sur la rétroaction fournie par les intervenants dans le cadre du Comité de pratique en dessin industriel.

Voici un résumé des changements de pratique qui ont une incidence sur les demandes d'enregistrement de dessin industriel en instance et futures.

Dessins animés générés par ordinateur

Objectif

Changement

Avantage

Instructions aux demandeurs :

  1. Demandes déposées avant le 16 janvier 2017

    Par courtoisie envers les demandeurs, le Bureau s'efforcera, pendant une période de deux mois commençant le 1er mai 2017, de retarder le traitement des demandes en instance déposées avant le 16 janvier 2017 qui revendiquent un dessin animé généré par ordinateur. Toutefois, vu que le Bureau n'est pas toujours en mesure de repérer chacune de ces demandes, les demandeurs sont invités à informer le Bureau de leur désir de retarder le traitement de leur demande d'enregistrement pour ce motif.

    Durant cette période de deux mois, les demandeurs peuvent demander par écrit au Bureau qu'il réexamine leur demande selon la nouvelle pratique. Inversement, un demandeur peut signifier son intention de faire traiter sa demande sans délai. Les demandeurs qui ont soumis des demandes complémentaires en réponse à une objection qui leur a été faite du fait de l'existence de plus d'un dessin peuvent modifier la demande principale et y réintégrer les dessins qui ont fait l'objet de demandes complémentaires. Les demandeurs doivent retirer ces demandes complémentaires une fois que les dessins ont été réintégrés dans la demande principale.

    Au terme de la période de grâce de deux mois, toutes les demandes en instance pour lesquelles aucune demande de réexamen n'aura été reçue seront traitées conformément à la pratique qui était en vigueur avant le 16 janvier 2017.

La couleur en tant que caractéristique enregistrable d'un dessin industriel

Objectif

Changement

Avantage

Instructions aux demandeurs :

  1. Demandes déposées avant le 16 janvier 2017

    Par courtoisie envers les demandeurs, le Bureau s'efforcera, pendant une période de deux mois commençant le 1er mai 2017, de retarder le traitement des demandes en instance déposées avant le 16 janvier 2017 qui revendiquent la couleur. Toutefois, vu que le Bureau n'est pas toujours en mesure de repérer chacune de ces demandes, les demandeurs sont invités à informer le Bureau de leur désir de retarder le traitement de leur demande d'enregistrement pour ce motif.

    Durant cette période de deux mois, les demandeurs peuvent demander par écrit au Bureau qu'il réexamine leur demande selon la nouvelle pratique. Inversement, un demandeur peut signifier son intention de faire traiter sa demande sans délai. Les descriptions, les esquisses et photographies pourraient devoir faire l'objet de modifications de la manière décrite ci-après.

    Au terme de la période de grâce de deux mois, toutes les demandes en instance pour lesquelles aucune demande de réexamen n'aura été reçue seront traitées conformément à la pratique qui était en vigueur avant le 16 janvier 2017.

  2. Exigences pour adéquatement revendiquer la couleur

    Tel qu'il est indiqué dans l'énoncé de pratique sur la couleur, le Bureau estime que la couleur peut représenter des caractéristiques d'éléments décoratifs ou d'un motif. Si un demandeur souhaite revendiquer une couleur, il doit s'assurer que les éléments décoratifs ou le motif soient inclus comme des caractéristiques du dessin dans la partie description de la demande (voir les exemples 1 et 2, tableau 1).

    Les esquisses ou photographies doivent être déposées sur support papier en couleur plutôt que sur support électronique, car le procédé électronique convertit toutes les images couleur en noir et blanc. Les demandeurs peuvent fournir au Bureau un second ensemble d'images en couleur qui sera retourné avec le certificat d'enregistrement, s'ils veulent être certains que les esquisses et photographies dans la trousse d'enregistrement soient identiques à celles que possède le Bureau. Cet ensemble additionnel ne sera pas considéré comme faisant partie des « page de dessins en sus de 10 pages » dont il est question à l'l'article 1 b) du Tarif des droits.

  3. Comment faire mention de la couleur dans la description

    Le Bureau estime que la couleur peut représenter des caractéristiques d'éléments décoratifs ou d'un motif. La mention de la couleur dans la description doit être claire et sans équivoque. Par exemple, l'adjectif « bleu » est acceptable; « bleuâtre » ne l'est pas. Les systèmes connus de notation de couleurs peuvent être utilisés pour décrire les couleurs revendiquées. Dans ce cas, les demandeurs doivent donner une description de la couleur et faire mention du système en question.

    Bien que le Bureau n'approuve ni ne recommande aucun système particulier de notation de couleur, celui employé doit être facile à identifier et doit pouvoir être reproduit par le grand public. Si le système de couleur porte le nom d'une marque de commerce déposée, il doit être identifié en lettres majuscules et être accompagné d'une mention indiquant qu'il s'agit d'une marque de commerce déposée (voir l'exemple)

  4. Les demandeurs doivent limiter la couleur aux parties de l'objet fini qui sont revendiquées

    Tel qu'il est indiqué au paragraphe 6.5.2 du guide Dessins industriels - Pratiques administratives, il n'est pas acceptable d'utiliser l'ombrage ou la transparence dans les parties de l'objet, illustrées en lignes pointillées, qui ne font pas partie du dessin. Le Bureau appliquera le même principe pour ce qui est de la couleur utilisée dans les parties de l'objet qui ne font pas partie du dessin et il signifiera son opposition si la couleur y est incluse.

    Les exemples qui suivent illustrent les façons possibles de revendiquer la coleur ainsi que la façon dont le Bureau les interprétera.

    Tableau 1 – Exemples de la façon dont le Bureau interprète les revendications de couleur

    Tableau 1 – Exemples de la façon dont le Bureau interprète les revendications de couleur
    Exemple Description dans la demande Esquisses Interprétation
    1 « Le dessin correspond à la forme et aux éléments décoratifs de [identifier l'objet fini] montré en entier sur les esquisses. La couleur bleue utilisée dans les esquisses porte l'identification PANTONE 2126C. *PANTONE est une marque de commerce déposée. » Les esquisses ont été déposées en couleur sur support papier. Étant donné que la description fait mention d'« éléments décoratifs » ce qui peut inclure la couleur et que les esquisses sont en couleur, le Bureau considère que la couleur fait partie du dessin.
    2 « Le dessin correspond aux caractéristiques visuelles de [identifier l'objet fini] montré sur les esquisses. » Les esquisses ont été déposées en couleur sur support papier Ce mélange de description et d'esquisses est acceptable. Le Bureau considère que la couleur fait partie intégrante du dessin, car les esquisses ont été déposées en couleur et la description laisse entendre (en faisant mention de « caractéristiques visuelles ») que les éléments décoratifs et/ou le motif sont revendiqués.
    3 « Le dessin correspond à la forme de [identifier l'objet fini] montré en entier sur les esquisses. » Les esquisses ont été déposées en couleur sur support papier. La couleur n'est pas considérée comme faisant partie intégrante du dessin, car la description limite le dessin à la forme de l'objet. Pour qu'il y ait revendication de couleur, il faudrait que la description fasse aussi mention d'éléments décoratifs ou d'un motif.
    4 « Le dessin correspond aux caractéristiques visuelles de [identifier l'objet fini] montré sur les esquisses. La couleur fait partie intégrante du dessin. » Les esquisses ont été déposées en noir et blanc sur support papier. Le Bureau signifiera son opposition, car la description et les esquisses sont incompatibles. La description fait mention de couleur, mais les esquisses sont sans couleur. Le demandeur devra modifier les esquisses en y ajoutant la couleur ou modifier la description en y supprimant la mention de couleur.
    5 « Le dessin correspond à la forme et aux éléments décoratifs de [identifier l'objet fini] montré sur les esquisses. La couleur ne fait pas partie intégrante du dessin. » Les esquisses ont été déposées en couleur sur support papier. Bien que les esquisses soient en couleur et que les éléments décoratifs fassent l'objet de la revendication, il est explicitement mentionné dans la description que la couleur ne fait pas partie du dessin. Les esquisses seront donc publiées en couleur, mais le Bureau considère que la couleur ne fait pas partie du dessin.
  5. Base de données en ligne

    Étant donné que des problèmes techniques peuvent compromettre la qualité des images lors de leur visionnement ou de leur impression, il est conseillé aux utilisateurs de consulter le dossier physique, car c'est lui qui contient la meilleure représentation du dessin. Cela s'avère particulièrement important pour les dessins pour lesquels la couleur est incluse en tant que caractéristique enregistrable.

Réduction des délais prescrits pour répondre aux mesures administratives

Objectif

Changement

Avantage

Recherche servant à évaluer l'originalité d'une demande lorsqu'il y a revendication d'une priorité

Objectif

Changement

Avantage

Instructions aux demandeurs :

  1. Exigences linguistiques

    Une copie certifiée de la demande étrangère et un certificat du bureau étranger indiquant la date de dépôt de la demande peuvent être soumis au Bureau à condition qu'ils soient accompagnés d'une traduction des documents en français ou en anglais.

  2. Une revendication de priorité corroborée

    Le dessin divulgué dans le document de priorité doit concerner le même dessin que le demandeur tente de faire enregistrer au Canada. Les techniques de dessin n'ont pas d'incidence sur la question de savoir si le dessin est considéré comme étant le même (p. ex., une ligne ondulée en gras utilisée pour faire une démarcation entre les parties comprises dans le dessin et celles qui ne le sont pas). Si la demande comporte des variantes, chacune d'entre elles doit être adéquatement corroborée. Si une variante n'est pas corroborée, la recherche ne débutera qu'au plus tôt six mois suivant la date de dépôt au Canada.

Nouveaux avis de possible refus

Objectif

Changement

Avantage

Instructions aux demandeurs :

  1. Préavis d'un avis de possible refus (APR)

    Le Bureau informera le demandeur qu'un APR est imminent dans un rapport qui maintient une objection à l'enregistrement. Ce rapport spécifiera également qu'à moins que l'objection soit surmontée, un APR sera émis.

  2. Options disponibles au demandeur après réception d'un APR

    L'APR informera les demandeurs de deux options possibles; toute action devra être prise dans les trois mois suivant la date de l'avis.

    1. Demande de révision à l'intention de la Commission d'appel des brevets : Les demandeurs peuvent demander au Bureau de transmettre sa demande à la CAB pour révision. Le Bureau reverra la demande à la CAB, qui communiquera ensuite avec le demandeur.
    2. Ne rien faire : Les demandeurs peuvent décider de ne rien faire. Dans ce cas, le directeur du Bureau, après étude de la demande, décidera d'émettre un enregistrement ou de signifier son refus. Un refus mettra fin à l'examen de la demande. Si le demandeur n'est pas en accord avec le refus, un appel devant la Cour fédérale peut être disponible.

Sursis à l'enregistrement d'une demande

Objectif

Changement

Avantage

Instructions aux demandeurs :

  1. Comment faire une requête de sursis à l'enregistrement

    À n'importe quel moment avant l'enregistrement, le demandeur peut demander un sursis à l'enregistrement. Pour traiter la requête, le Bureau exige qu'elle soit faite par écrit et qu'elle s'accompagne des droits y afférents (article 9 du Tarif des droits).

    Il peut être fait sursis à l'enregistrement pour une période maximale six mois par requête; le Bureau ne limite pas le nombre de requête de sursis pouvant être appliqués à une seule demande. Une période plus courte de sursis peut être spécifiée, à condition qu'il s'agisse d'incréments mensuels entiers. Si le sursis n'est plus nécessaire ou que la période de sursis est jugée inadéquate, il est possible de présenter au Bureau une requête écrite portant annulation ou modification du sursis.

  2. Requête de sursis à l'enregistrement reçue avant le 16 Janvier 2017

    Selon la pratique précédente, le sursis à l'enregistrement prenait effet à la date à laquelle le Bureau accusait réception de la requête en sursis. Par conséquent, si la requête a été déposée avant le 16 janvier 2017, elle est déjà active.

    Les demandeurs qui souhaitent tirer avantage de la pratique adoptée le 16 janvier 2017 peuvent demander par écrit au Bureau qu'une requête de sursis déjà active prenne effet à la date d'acceptation de la demande plutôt qu'à la date de réception de la requête de sursis. Aucun frais additionel ne s'applique.

  3. Requête de sursis à l'enregistrement lors du dépôt de demandes complémentaires

    Les demandeurs sont tenus d'informer le Bureau lorsqu'ils déposent une demande complémentaire à une autre demande (communément appelée la « demande principale »). Tel qu'il est indiqué dans l'Énoncé de pratique : Sursis à l'enregistrement d'un dessin industriel, le Bureau a mis fin à la pratique consistant à prévenir l'enregistrement d'une demande principale afin de permettre aux demandeurs de déposer des demandes complémentaires. En lieu et place, les demandeurs sont encouragés à déposer leurs demandes complémentaires à la date à laquelle la demande principale est limitée à un seul dessin. Si un demandeur nécessite plus de temps pour déposer toute demande complémentaire, un sursis à l'enregistrement peut être demandé dans la demande principale.

  4. Effets d'un sursis à l'enregistrement sur des demandes associées

    Lorsque des demandeurs demandent que des dessins connexes soient enregistrés le même jour ou lorsqu'ils soumettent des demandes principales ou complémentaires, le Bureau associe les demandes concernées afin qu'elles soient enregistrées le même jour.

    Par conséquent, lorsqu'il est fait demande d'un sursis à l'enregistrement pour une demande particulière qui est associée à d'autres demandes, ces dernières peuvent aussi faire l'objet du sursis.

    Par exemple, s'il est fait demande d'un sursis à l'enregistrement pour la demande « A », laquelle est associée à d'autres demandes, la demande A entraînera le report d'enregistrement des demandes associées, et ce, jusqu'à l'expiration de la période de sursis. À ce moment-là, toutes les demandes associées seront enregistrées le même jour si elles sont jugées acceptables. À noter que si une demande dont l'enregistrement est reporté est dissociée d'un groupe de demandes, seule la demande à laquelle le sursis s'applique sera reportée. Les autres procèderont à l'enregistrement si elles sont jugées acceptables.

  5. Rapport relatif à l'existence de plus d'un dessin émis avant le 16 janvier 2017

    Si une demande comporte plus d'un dessin au moment du dépôt, l'examinateur produira un rapport informant le demandeur que sa demande ne doit pas contenir plus d'un dessin et que les autres dessins peuvent être soumis dans des demandes complémentaires. Un tel rapport émis avant le 16 janvier 2017 indiquait que, pour que le demandeur puisse déposer des demandes complémentaires, l'enregistrement de la demande serait reporté pendant deux mois, à supposer qu'elle soit acceptable. Étant donné que le Bureau a mis fin à la pratique consistant à prévenir l'enregistrement d'une demande principale acceptée, il a mis en place une mesure transitoire pour les demandes concernées. Il enverra une lettre de courtoisie exposant le changement de pratique et qui informera les demandeurs qu'ils disposent de deux mois à compter de la date d'émission de la lettre pour déposer des demandes complémentaires ou faire une requête de sursis.

    Si aucune demande complémentaire n'est déposée durant cette période, la demande principale, si elle est jugée acceptable, sera enregistrée. Par conséquent, il ne sera plus possible pour le demandeur de déposer des demandes complémentaires. Si un demandeur souhaite disposer de plus de temps pour déposer des demandes complémentaires, il peut faire une requête de sursis à l'enregistrement.

  6. Rapport relatif à l'existence de plus d'un dessin émis après le 16 janvier 2017

    Le Bureau, par le biais d'un rapport d'examinateur, rappellera aux demandeurs qu'ils doivent déposer les demandes complémentaires avant l'enregistrement de la demande principale. Il fera mention aussi du récent changement de pratique et proposera aux demandeurs de déposer toute demande complémentaire en même temps que les modifications à la demande principale. Le rapport indiquera aussi que si le demandeur souhaite disposer de plus de temps pour déposer des demandes complémentaires, il peut faire une requête de sursis à l'enregistrement pour une période maximale de six mois à compter de la date d'acceptation de la demande principale.

Date de modification :