Intellectual property success stories

These stories are about businesses reaching their potential with the help and protection of intellectual property.

Canadian businesses bring to the marketplace innovative ideas and designs that are as diverse as its people. Our contribution counts on our knowledge and expertise in delivering quality IP rights for patents, trademarks, copyright and industrial designs so that innovators can profit from rightful ownership. Their success is our raison d'être, and why we choose to share their stories with you.


Crossworks' IP—A cut above the rest

Well settled with two factories in Canada, Crossworks Manufacturing Ltd. is a Canadian diamond manufacturing company whose mission is to create beautiful, sustainable products that are ethically mined, manufactured and sold worldwide. They purchase rough diamonds from the iconic diamond company De Beers, predominately from the Victor Diamond Mine, in Northern Ontario.

Keen on innovation, in the late 1990s, Crossworks began focusing on research and development (R&D) to create new shapes never before seen in the diamond industry, establishing a shiny IP portfolio for themselves. That's when they decided to use their expertise and identity to differentiate themselves as a Canadian company with specialized diamond cuts.

Read more about Crossworks' IP—A cut above the rest


ProSlide – Protecting the “next big thing” with IP

In an industry where differentiation is the key to success, Canada's ProSlide Technology Inc. has manoeuvred the waves expertly. The award-winning water ride company has an impressive list of industry firsts, and recognizes the importance of protecting its intellectual property.

At the heart of its strategy is pursuit of innovation to create the next big thing, while staying flexible towards the market's needs and trends.

ProSlide began to secure IP rights early on, with registered trademarks to protect its corporate identity. It then expanded its IP portfolio with patents, industrial designs, and even trade secrets in its marketing countries.

Read more


Lee Valley Tools – Crafting a business through IP

With beginnings as a kitchen-operated mail-order business, Lee Valley has used the right tools to grow its business over the past 40 years.

The Canadian company has intellectual property in mind at every step of the process: from research and development of the design, to establishing freedom to operate, to deciding which products have IP worth protecting.

Lee Valley knows the value of a strong brand, right down to designing original packaging. The company uses trademarks to create brand recognition at home and internationally, and to adapt its marketing strategies to diverse markets and audiences.

Exploiting various forms of IP to protect their goods, while being respectful of others' IP is part of Lee Valley's good business practices, and it has proven effective.

Read more


CarbonCure – Innovation and IP—CO2 in the mix

Canada's CarbonCure has entirely reimagined CO2 as a solution to reducing concrete's hefty carbon footprint. Its breakthrough technology recycles waste carbon dioxide during the concrete manufacturing process to decrease carbon emissions and improve strength.

A sound IP strategy has been key to CarbonCure's success, enabling the company to generate revenues through licensing its patented technology to concrete manufacturers. CarbonCure also credits its IP-savvy team as invaluable to business development and its effective use of IP.

Read more


lululemon – Intellectual property best practices

Since 1998, Vancouver-based lululemon athletica has evolved from an active living community hub to a global retail phenomenon. Integral to the continued growth of the athletic apparel retailer is the strategic use of IP.

With its distinct logo and brand name, lululemon has successfully used its trademarks as powerful business tools to build a well-recognized brand and establish a strong connection with its customers. To protect the rights to its unique and innovative athletic wear designs, the company holds numerous patents and industrial design registrations in Canada and throughout the world.

Read more


Share your story

Have we inspired you to share your success story? We would love to hear from you!

Contact us for an opportunity to have your success story published on this page.

Please ensure that all submissions can be made publicly available. If you are unsure about disclosing the information please contact a patent or trade-mark agent before submitting your post.


Success stories quiz

Can you guess the answers to the questions on some of these popular Canadian success stories?

1. Shuttled to space 90 times, this astonishing invention was granted its first Canadian patent in 1978.

Answer

The Canadarm

2. How do you solve transport issues caused by harsh Canadian winters? Bombardier found a way with his 1966 industrial design.

Answer

Bombardier B-7 Snowmobile

3. Canadian paramedic Rahul Singh registered a trademark in 2011 for this organization that provides disaster relief.

Answer

Global Medic

4. Hockey goalies around the world owe a debt to Habs fan Bill Burchmore for this industrial design that he registered in 1960.

Answer

Jacques Plante's Goalie Mask

5. This patented invention saved the lives and limbs of thousands of people around the world.

Answer

Acticoat

6. What patented medicine helped lead the way to the pharmaceutical industry with its large-scale production?

Answer

Insulin

7. Trademarked UCA194, this powdered baby cereal potentially saved the lives of many newborn children.

Answer

Pablum

8. An unintentional discovery turned clinical device. That's the remarkable Canadian intellectual property story of this life saving device.

Answer

The pacemaker

Date modified:

Histoires de réussite en matière de propriété intellectuelle

Ces histoires sont celles d'entreprises qui ont réalisé leur plein potentiel à l'aide de la propriété intellectuelle et grâce à la protection qu'elle offre.

Les entreprises canadiennes apportent au marché des idées et des conceptions novatrices tout aussi diversifiées que son public. Notre contribution s'appuie sur nos connaissances et sur notre expertise en matière d'octroi de droits de PI de qualité pour les brevets, les marques de commerce, le droit d'auteur et les dessins industriels, de manière à ce que les innovateurs puissent profiter d'une propriété légitime. Leur succès est notre raison d'être, et c'est ce qui nous motive à partager leur histoire avec vous.


ProSlide – Protéger le « nec plus ultra » grâce à la PI

Dans une industrie où la différenciation est la clé du succès, l'entreprise canadienne ProSlide Technology Inc. a su naviguer sur les vagues avec agilité. Forte d'une liste impressionnante de premières dans l'industrie, l'entreprise de glissades d'eau ayant également reçu de nombreux prix reconnaît l'importance de protéger sa propriété intellectuelle.

Au cœur de sa stratégie se trouve la volonté d'innover pour créer le prochain « nec plus ultra », tout en demeurant souple à l'égard des besoins et des tendances du marché.

ProSlide a commencé à protéger ses droits de PI dès les débuts de l'entreprise, en faisant enregistrer ses marques de commerce pour protéger son identité commerciale. Elle a ensuite étendu son portfolio de PI, maintenant composé de brevets, de dessins industriels, et même de secrets industriels dans les pays où elle fait affaire.

Pour en savoir plus


Lee Valley Tools – Tailler une entreprise à partir de la PI

Lee Valley, qui était initialement une entreprise de vente par correspondance exploitée à partir d'une cuisine, a utilisé les bons outils pour faire croître son entreprise au cours des 40 dernières années.

L'entreprise canadienne tient compte de la propriété intellectuelle à chaque étape du processus : de la recherche et du développement des éléments de conception à la détermination de la liberté d'exploitation, en passant par la prise de décisions sur la PI relativement aux produits qu'il convient de protéger.

Lee Valley connaît la valeur d'une marque forte, et ce, jusqu'à la conception de l'emballage original. L'entreprise utilise les marques de commerce afin que sa marque puisse être reconnue au pays et à l'étranger, et afin d'adapter ses stratégies de marketing en fonction des marchés et des publics.

L'exploitation par Lee Valley de différentes formes de PI pour protéger ses biens tout en respectant la PI d'autrui s'inscrit dans ses bonnes pratiques commerciales et s'est révélée efficace.

Pour en savoir plus


CarbonCure – Innovation et PI — Du CO2 dans le béton

L'entreprise canadienne CarbonCure a complètement repensé le CO2 pour en faire une solution permettant de réduire l'empreinte carbone liée au béton. Sa technologie innovatrice permet de recycler le dioxyde de carbone émis durant le processus de fabrication du béton, ce qui contribue à réduire les émissions de carbone et à accroître la résistance du béton.

Une bonne stratégie de PI a été un élément clé du succès de CarbonCure, permettant à l'entreprise de générer des revenus grâce à l'octroi de licences aux fabricants de béton pour l'exploitation de sa technologie brevetée. CarbonCure reconnaît également que son équipe bien avisée en matière de PI est essentielle au développement des affaires et à son utilisation efficace de la PI.

Pour en savoir plus


lululemon – Pratiques exemplaires en matière de propriété intellectuelle

Depuis ses débuts à Vancouver en 1998, lululemon athletica est passé d'un carrefour pour la communauté de vie active à un imposant détaillant mondial. L'utilisation stratégique de la propriété intellectuelle est au cœur de la croissance continue du détaillant de vêtements de sport.

Avec sa marque et son logo distincts, lululemon a su utiliser avec brio ses marques de commerce en tant que puissants outils d'affaires pour bâtir une marque reconnue et établir un lien solide avec ses clients. Afin de protéger les droits liés à ses dessins de vêtements de sport uniques et novateurs, l'entreprise possède de nombreux enregistrements de brevets et de dessins industriels au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde.

Pour en savoir plus


Partagez votre histoire

Est-ce que nous vous avons donné le goût de partager votre histoire de réussite? Nous aimerions avoir de vos nouvelles!

Contactez-nous pour que votre histoire soit publiée sur cette page.

Veuillez vous assurer que tous les envois peuvent être rendus publics. Si vous n'êtes pas certain de vouloir divulguer l'information, veuillez communiquer avec un agent de brevet ou de marque de commerce avant d'envoyer votre texte.


Questionnaire sur les histoires de réussite

Pouvez-vous trouver les réponses aux questions sur certaines de ces histoires de réussite canadiennes?

1. Envoyée dans l'espace 90 fois, cette superbe invention a obtenu son premier brevet canadien en 1978.

Réponse

Le Bras canadien

2. Comment se déplacer durant les rudes hivers canadiens? Bombardier a trouvé une solution avec son dessin industriel de 1966

Réponse

Autoneige B-7 de Bombardier

3. Le Canadien Rahul Singh a enregistré une marque de commerce en 2011 pour cette organisation qui offre de l'aide lors de catastrophes.

Réponse

Global Medic

4. Tous les gardiens de but sont redevables à Bill Burchmore, partisan du CH, pour son dessin industriel enregistré en 1960.

Réponse

Masque de gardien de but de Jacques Plante

5. Cette invention brevetée a permis de sauver la vie et les membres de milliers de gens dans le monde .

Réponse

Acticoat

6. Quel médicament breveté, avec sa production à grande échelle, a mené à l'industrie pharmaceutique?

Réponse

L'insuline

7. Ces céréales en poudre dont la marque de commerce est UCA194 ont probablement sauvé la vie de nombreux nouveau-nés.

Réponse

Pablum

8. Une découverte imprévue devenue un dispositif médical. Voilà l'histoire de propriété intellectuelle de ce dispositif qui sauve des vies.

Réponse

La fréquence cardiaque artificielle

Date de modification :