Crafting a business through IP

Follow:

Back in 1978, when former Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada employee Leonard Lee founded Lee Valley Tools, the company was a mail-order business that had its debut in a kitchen. The woodworking and gardening tools manufacturer and retailer has since grown into an emblematic Canadian name with 18 stores located nation-wide, and online sales shipping around the world.

Lee Valley uses various forms of intellectual property (IP) to maintain its established reputation for high-quality products and excellent customer service. Part of the hardware company's success is built on its strong brand recognition that resonates with consumers.

Starting right with IP

Lee Valley has IP in mind throughout its product design process. In fact, the IP conversation begins well before the pre-production phase. Before making major investments on manufacturing, they develop the design requirements and perform IP searches to understand what has been created and filed. It is better to know at the start of the design process if creations risk infringing on established IP. Uncovering an existing patent for a similar product saves the company from unnecessary infringement disputes and licensing fees.

Lee Valley's engineering and design staff have a strong understanding of IP. They are knowledgeable in research and development, so they know the competition, and are aware of developments in their market space. Having IP knowledge and processes built into  their design methodology has saved them time, money, and effort.

Picky patenting

Although Lee Valley monitors and defends its IP portfolio, the company is selective in its IP investments. Registering a trademark or industrial design, or obtaining a patent for an invention can be a significant investment. It is not economically possible to protect everything a company manufactures. This is why Lee Valley does a cost-benefit analysis before seeking IP protection. The company wants to know that the cost of obtaining a patent will be recuperated through the sales of the product.

Considering that some of Lee Valley's unique and specialized products may have a relatively small market, these may not be worth protecting with a patent. Rick Blaiklock, Vice President of Veritas Tools Inc. (the manufacturing arm of Lee Valley Tools), says the company typically does not invest in IP in these cases.

Trademarking to secure marketing

Over the course of almost 40 years in business, Lee Valley has used and registered 10 trademarks in Canada, including Lee Valley Tools®, Veritas®, Tools for Life® and Innovation in tools®. Blaiklock believes that a carefully selected registered trademark will help distinguish a company from its competitors. The company protects its trademarks in export markets to make its brand recognizable at home and internationally. With its portfolio of registered trademarks, Lee Valley can adapt its marketing strategies based on different markets and audiences.

What can we learn from Lee Valley's IP success?

Date modified:

Tailler une entreprise à partir de la PI

Lorsque Leonard Lee, ancien employé d'Industrie Canada, fonda Lee Valley Tools en 1978, la compagnie n'était qu'une entreprise de vente par correspondance ayant son quartier général dans une cuisine. Le fabricant et détaillant d'outils de menuiserie et de jardinage est devenu depuis un nom canadien emblématique comptant 18 magasins à l'échelle du pays et des ventes en ligne offrant des livraisons aux quatre coins du monde.

Lee Valley exploite diverses formes de propriété intellectuelle (PI) pour conserver sa réputation bien établie de produits de grande qualité et d'excellent service à la clientèle. Cette entreprise de quincaillerie doit son succès en partie à sa forte reconnaissance d'image de marque qui rejoint les consommateurs.

Partir du bon pied avec la PI

Chez Lee Valley, la PI fait partie du processus de conception d'un produit, du début à la fin. Il est question de PI dès la phase de préproduction. Avant d'investir de grandes sommes dans la fabrication, ils élaborent les critères de la conception  et effectuent des recherches de PI pour savoir ce qui a été créé et déposé. Il est avantageux de savoir dès le départ si une création risque d'enfreindre des droits de PI déjà établis. Découvrir un brevet pour un produit similaire permet d'éviter à la compagnie des disputes inutiles de contrefaçon et les taxes de licence.

Les ingénieurs et les concepteurs chez Lee Valley comprennent très bien la PI. Ils sont très forts en recherche et développement et sont donc au fait de la concurrence, et savent ce qui se passe dans leur marché. En ayant intégré la connaissance et les processus de PI dans leur conception, ils ont épargné du temps, de l'argent et des efforts.

Choisir ses brevets

Bien que Lee Valley surveille et défend son portfolio de PI, la compagnie use de parcimonie lorsqu'elle investit dans la PI. Faire enregistrer une marque de commerce ou un dessin industriel, ou obtenir un brevet pour une invention peut se révéler un investissement coûteux. Il n'est pas possible, d'un point de vue économique, de protéger tout ce que produit une compagnie. C'est pourquoi Lee Valley effectue une analyse de rentabilité avant d'entreprendre des démarches pour faire protéger sa PI. La compagnie veut s'assurer que les coûts relatifs à l'obtention d'un brevet seront récupérés par la vente du produit.

Prenez par exemple les produits uniques et spécialisés de Lee Valley dont le marché est restreint. Il ne vaut peut‑être pas la peine de les protéger avec un brevet. Rick Blaiklock, vice-président de Veritas Tools Inc. (le fabricant des outils de Lee Valley Tools), affirme que la compagnie n'investit généralement pas dans la PI pour ces types de produits.

La marque de commerce comme outil de marketing

Au long d'une quarantaine d'années en affaires, Lee Valley a employé et fait enregistrer 10 marques de commerce au Canada, dont Lee Valley Tools®, Veritas®, Tools for Life® et Innovation in tools®. Blaiklock est d'avis qu'en sélectionnant avec soin sa marque de commerce et en l'enregistrant, on aide la compagnie à se distinguer de ses concurrents. La compagnie protège ses marques de commerce dans les marchés exportateurs pour que sa marque soit reconnue chez elle et à l'international. Avec son portfolio de marques de commerce enregistrées, Lee Valley peut adapter ses stratégies de marketing selon les différents marchés et publics visés.

Leçons à retenir du succès de Lee Valley en matière de PI

Date de modification :