Consultation on the new Manual of Patent Office Practice Chapter 17 section on medical kits

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) is conducting a three-week consultation on a proposed new section of chapter 17 of the Manual of Patent Office Practice (MOPOP) dealing with medical kits.

From now to May 15, 2017, the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) will be conducting a consultation on proposed changes to the Manual of Patent Office Practice (MOPOP). We are seeking feedback on proposed changes to chapter 17 relating to medical kits.

The proposed changes will lead to additional certainty and consistency in the patent examination process. The proposed update to chapter 17 relating to medical kits will be a new section to address a guidance gap in the MOPOP.

When

April 24th to May 15th, 2017

What

MOPOP Chapter 17 deals with various topics relating to the examination of patent applications in the fields of biotechnology and medicinal inventions. The proposed section of chapter 17 introduces a new topic of medical kits. The proposed section will bring consistency and clarity to the examination of medical kits.

The MOPOP is published to provide patent examiners, applicants, agents, and the public in general with a guide on the procedures and practices relative to the prosecution of patent applications in Canada under the current Patent Act and Patent Rules. This Manual is to be considered solely as a guide and should not be quoted as an authority. Authority must be found in the Patent Act, the Patent Rules and decisions of the Courts interpreting them.

Consultation document

Chapter 17: Kits and packages

Consultation comments received

Who

Any business, individual, group or organization that has an interest in the examination of patent applications in Canada.

How

CIPO values your views and would like to hear about how the proposed chapters align with the Patent Act, Patent Rules and current jurisprudence. Please share with us your comments and feedback by sending an email to: josee.pharand@canada.ca. Please include "MOPOP chapter 17 consultation" in the subject line.

Questions?

Should you have any questions about this consultation, please send them by email to Josée Pharand or by regular mail to the following address:

Canadian Intellectual Property Office
Patent Branch
50 Victoria Street
Place du Portage I
Gatineau, QC
K1A 0C9
Attention: Josée Pharand

Date modified:

Consultation sur la nouvelle section du chapitre 17 du Recueil des pratiques du Bureau des brevets concernant les kits et trousses médicales

L'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC) mène une consultation de trois semaines sur la nouvelle section proposée pour le chapitre 17 du Recueil des pratiques du Bureau des brevets (RPBB) qui porte sur les kits et trousses médicales.

Jusqu'au 15 mai 2017, l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC) mènera une consultation sur les modifications proposées au Recueil des pratiques du Bureau des brevets (RPBB). Nous souhaitons obtenir de la rétroaction quant aux modifications proposées au chapitre 17 relativement aux kits et trousses médicales.

Les modifications proposées permettront d'accroître la certitude et l'uniformité du processus d'examen des brevets. La mise à jour proposée au chapitre 17 relativement aux kits et trousses médicales consistera en une nouvelle section qui comblera une lacune du RPBB en ce qui a trait à l'orientation.

Quand?

Du 24 avril au 15 mai 2017

Quoi?

Le chapitre 17 du RPBB porte sur une variété de sujets liés à l'examen des demandes de brevets dans les domaines de la biotechnologie et des inventions médicinales. La section proposée pour le chapitre 17 aborde un nouveau sujet, à savoir les kits et trousses médicales. Cette section permettra d'uniformiser et de préciser l'examen des kits et trousses médicales.

Le RPBB est un guide destiné aux examinateurs de brevets, aux demandeurs, aux agents et au public qui cherchent des renseignements sur les procédures opérationnelles et les pratiques d'examen du Bureau des brevets en vertu de la version actuelle de la Loi sur les brevets et des Règles sur les brevets. Ce recueil constitue uniquement un guide et ne doit pas être cité comme un texte faisant autorité. Les textes faisant autorité sont la Loi sur les brevets, les Règles sur les brevets ainsi que la jurisprudence connexe.

Document de la consultation

Chapitre 17 : kits et trousses

Commentaires reçus pendant la consultation

Qui?

Les entreprises, les particuliers, les groupes ou les organisations qui s'intéressent à l'examen des demandes de brevets au Canada.

Comment?

L'OPIC accorde de l'importance à votre point de vue et souhaite connaître votre opinion sur la manière dont le chapitre proposé se conforme à la Loi sur les brevets, aux Règles sur les brevets et à la jurisprudence connexe. Veuillez nous faire parvenir vos commentaires par courriel à l'adresse suivante : josee.pharand@canada.ca. Veuillez inscrire le titre « Consultation sur le chapitre 17 du RPBB » dans le champ de l'objet.

Des questions?

Si vous avez des questions sur cette consultation, veuillez les envoyer par courriel à Josée Pharand ou par courrier ordinaire à l'adresse suivante :

Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada
Direction des brevets
50, rue Victoria
Place du Portage I
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 0C9
À l'attention de Josée Pharand

Date de modification :