Process to Request that a Geographical Indication to be Entered on Canada's List of Geographical Indications

Disclaimer

The information in this notice is reproduced for convenience and should be considered as a general guide only. In the event of any inconsistency between this notice and the applicable legislation, the legislation prevails. For advice on individual cases, the requesting party is encouraged to contact their own legal advisor.

A request may be submitted to have a geographical indication (GI) entered on the list of GIs in Canada, as provided for under subsection 11.12(1) of the Trade-marks Act (“the Act”).  A geographical indication is defined in section 2 of the Act as:

an indication that identifies a wine or spirit, or an agricultural product or food of a category set out in the schedule, as originating in the territory of a WTO Member, or a region or locality of that territory, if a quality, reputation or other characteristic of the wine or spirit or the agricultural product or food is essentially attributable to its geographical origin

How to Request

The request and all supporting documentation must be submitted in writing and be in either English or French or translated thereto (except for the GI itself). The requesting party may use the sample forms for wines or spirits (PDF: 56 KB; 3 pages), or agricultural products or food (PDF: 40 KB; 3 pages), but the use of this format is not compulsory so long as all the required information is provided.

The request must be submitted by or on behalf of a responsible authority for the wine, spirit, or agricultural product or food in question. A responsible authority is defined under subsection 11.11(1) of the Act as:

in relation to a wine or spirit, or an agricultural product or food of a category set out in the schedule, the person, firm or other entity that, in the Minister's opinion, is, by reason of state or commercial interest, sufficiently connected with and knowledgeable about that wine or spirit or that agricultural product or food to be a party to any proceedings under this Act.

A separate request must be made for each GI, accompanied by the fee of $450 for each request submitted. When sending payments to CIPO by mail, facsimile or hand-delivery, we recommend use of the CIPO Fee Payment Form. The fee must be received before the request will be processed and the fee will be charged regardless of the outcome of the review.

The responsible authority is responsible for providing the information required and responding to any related objections and/or questions.

Documentation submitted as part of the request will not be returned.

Requests must be sent to the following address

Canadian Intellectual Property Office
Attn: Trademarks Branch
50 Victoria Street
Place du Portage, Phase I
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
K1A 0C9

Information Required for a GI Request

The particular information required in the request depends on the type of product associated with the GI: (a) wines or spirits, or (b) agricultural products or food.

Review of GI Requests

Requests will be reviewed by the Trademarks Branch of the Canadian Intellectual Property Office. During the review process, the responsible authority may be required to provide additional information to support the request. Input with respect to the quality or reputation of the GI from other Canadian or foreign expert and/or governmental entities, departments or organizations may also be sought in the evaluation of the requests.

Recommendation to the Minister

When an indication meets the criteria to be entered on the list of protected GIs, CIPO will recommend that the Minister publish a statement proposing that the indication be entered on the list of geographical indications kept pursuant to subsection 11.12(1) of the Act.

Publication of Statement of the Minister

Statements from the Minister are published on the website of CIPO and will have the following information, as required under subsection 11.12(3) of the Act:

  1. (a) that the Minister proposes that the indication and, if applicable, a translation of the indication, in the case of an indication that identifies an agricultural product or food, be entered on the list;
  2. (b) in the case of an indication that identifies a wine or spirit, that the indication identifies a wine or that the indication identifies a spirit;
  3. (b.‍1) in the case of an indication that identifies an agricultural product or food, the common name of the agricultural product or food and the category set out in the schedule to which it belongs;
  4. (c) the territory, or the region or locality of a territory, in which the wine or spirit or the agricultural product or food is identified as originating;
  5. (d) the name of the responsible authority in relation to the wine or spirit or the agricultural product or food and the address of the responsible authority's principal office or place of business in Canada or, if the responsible authority has no office or place of business in Canada, the name and address in Canada of a person or firm on whom any document may be served with the same effect as if it had been served on the responsible authority itself;
  6. (e) the quality, reputation or other characteristic of the wine or spirit or the agricultural product or food that, in the Minister's opinion, qualifies that indication as a geographical indication;
  7. (f) that, except in the case of an indication identifying a wine or spirit or an agricultural product or food as originating in Canada, the indication is protected by the law applicable to the territory in which the wine or spirit or the agricultural product or food is identified as originating, as well as particulars of the protection.

Objection Proceeding

In accordance with section 11.13 of the Trade-marks Act, within two months after the publication of the statement referred to above on the website of the Canadian Intellectual Property Office, any interested party may, upon payment of the prescribed fee of $1,000, file a statement of objection with the Registrar of Trade-marks and serve a copy on the responsible authority in one of the manners set out in Rule 53(1) of the Trade-marks Regulations. For information on CIPO's practice in objection proceedings, please refer to the practice notice entitled Practice in Objection Proceedings under Section 11.13 of the Trade-marks Act.

For further information on the objection process, please contact:

Canadian Intellectual Property Office
Attn: Trademarks Opposition Board
50 Victoria Street
Place du Portage, Phase I
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada  K1A 0C9

Telephone:  1-866-997-1936

Entry on the List

Pursuant to subsection 11.12(2) of the Act, the Registrar of Trade-marks will enter the indication on the list of GIs if:

  1. (a) no statement of objection has been filed and served on the responsible authority in accordance with subsection 11.‍13(1) and the time for the filing of a statement of objection has expired; or
  2. (b) a statement of objection has been so filed and served, but it has been withdrawn or deemed under subsection 11.‍13(6) to have been withdrawn or it has been rejected under subsection 11.‍13(7) or, if an appeal is taken, it is rejected in the final judgment given in the appeal.

Changes to Information

The responsible authority must notify the Registrar of Trade-marks of any changes to the information contained in the statement published by the Minister on CIPO's website (e.g. change of address of the responsible authority).

Date modified:

Processus pour faire une demande d'inscription d'une indication géographique sur la liste des indications géographiques du Canada

Avertissement

L'information présentée dans cet avis est reproduite à des fins pratiques et devrait être seulement considérée comme des lignes directrices générales. En cas de divergence entre le présent avis et les dispositions législatives en vigueur, ces dernières ont préséance sur cet avis. Pour obtenir des conseils sur un cas particulier, la partie requérante est encouragée à communiquer avec son conseiller juridique.

Il est possible de présenter une demande afin qu'une indication géographique soit inscrite sur la liste des indications géographiques du Canada, en conformité avec le paragraphe 11.12(1) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce (la « Loi »). La Loi définit les indications géographiques de la façon suivante à l'article 2 :

Indication désignant un vin ou spiritueux ou un produit agricole ou aliment d'une catégorie figurant à l'annexe comme étant originaire du territoire d'un membre de l'OMC – ou région ou localité de ce territoire – dans les cas où une qualité, la réputation ou une autre caractéristique du produit désigné sont essentiellement attribuées à cette origine géographique.

Vous pouvez trouver la liste des indications géographiques protégées au Canada sur la base de données sur les marques de commerce canadiennes ou dans la liste des indications géographiques pour les vins et spiritueux.

Comment présenter une demande

La demande et toutes les pièces justificatives doivent être soumises par écrit en français ou en anglais (ou traduites à cet effet). La partie requérante peut utiliser les formulaires types pour les vins ou spiritueux (PDF : 176 Ko; 3 pages) ou pour les produits agricoles ou les aliments (PDF : 28 Ko; 3 pages), mais il n'est pas obligatoire d'utiliser ce format, pourvu que les renseignements requis soient dûment fournis.

La demande doit être soumise par ou au nom d'une autorité compétente à l'égard du vin, du spiritueux, du produit agricole ou de l'aliment en question. Voici la définition de l'expression « autorité compétente » au paragraphe 11.11(1) de la Loi :

Dans le cas d'un vin ou spiritueux ou d'un produit agricole ou aliment d'une catégorie figurant à l'annexe, la personne, firme ou autre entité qui, de l'avis du ministre, a, du fait d'intérêts commerciaux ou étatiques, des connaissances et des liens suffisants à leur égard pour être partie à une procédure visée par la présente loi.

Une demande distincte est requise pour chaque indication géographique, et des frais de 450 $ canadiens s'appliquent à chaque demande. Nous recommandons d'utiliser le formulaire de paiement des frais de l'OPIC pour les paiements qui sont transmis par courrier ou par fax, ou qui sont remis en mains propres. Les frais doivent être reçus pour que la demande soit traitée, et ils sont applicables sans égard au résultat de l'examen.

Il incombe à la partie requérante de fournir les renseignements requis et de donner suite à toute opposition ou question qui s'y rapporte.

La documentation fournie avec la demande ne seront pas retournés.

Les demandes doivent être envoyées à l'adresse suivante

Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada
À l'attention de : Direction des marques de commerce
50, rue Victoria
Place du Portage, Phase I
Gatineau (Québec) Canada
K1A 0C9

Demande d'indication géographique – Renseignements requis

Les renseignements à fournir dans la demande dépendent du type de produit associé à l'indication géographique, selon qu'il s'agit a) de vins ou spiritueux, ou b) de produits agricoles ou d'aliments.

Révision des demandes

Les demandes seront révisées par la Direction des marques de commerce de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada. Durant le processus de révision, l'autorité compétente peut avoir à fournir un complément d'information à l'appui de la demande. Dans le cadre de l'évaluation des demandes, il est possible que d'autres experts canadiens ou étrangers ou même bien d'autres entités, départements ou organismes gouvernementaux soient invités à fournir leur avis sur la qualité ou la réputation d'une indication géographique.

Recommandation au ministre

Lorsqu'une indication remplit les critères requis pour être inscrite sur la liste des indications géographiques protégées, l'OPIC recommandera au ministre de publier un énoncé d'intention proposant d'inscrire l'indication sur la liste des indications géographiques tenue en application du paragraphe 11.12(1) de la Loi.

Publication de l'énoncé d'intention

Les énoncés d'intention sont publiés sur le site Web de l'OPIC. Conformément au paragraphe 11.12(3) de la Loi, ils comprendront les renseignements suivants :

  1. a) l'intention du ministre de faire inscrire l'indication sur la liste et, le cas échéant, une traduction de cette indication dans le cas d'un produit agricole ou d'un aliment;
  2. b) dans le cas d'une indication désignant un vin ou un spiritueux, la nature – vin ou spiritueux – du produit désigné;
  3. b.1) dans le cas d'une indication désignant un produit agricole ou aliment, le nom commun du produit désigné et la catégorie figurant à l'annexe à laquelle il appartient;
  4. c) le lieu d'origine – territoire, ou région ou localité d'un territoire – du produit désigné;
  5. d) le nom de l'autorité compétente à l'égard du produit désigné et l'adresse de son siège ou de son établissement au Canada ou, à défaut, les nom et adresse au Canada d'une personne ou firme à qui des documents peuvent être signifiés pour valoir signification à l'autorité compétente elle-même;
  6. e) la qualité, la réputation ou une autre caractéristique du produit désigné qui, de l'avis du ministre, justifie de faire de l'indication une indication géographique;
  7. f) le fait que, sauf si l'indication désigne un vin ou spiritueux ou un produit agricole ou aliment dont le lieu d'origine est le Canada, l'indication est protégée par le droit applicable au territoire d'origine du produit désigné, ainsi que des détails relatifs à cette protection.

Processus d'opposition

Conformément à l'article 11.13 de la Loi sur les marques de commerce, dans les deux mois suivant la publication d'un énoncé d'intention mentionnée ci-dessus sur le site web de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada, toute partie prenante peut, sur paiement du droit prescrit de 1000 $, produire auprès du registraire une déclaration d'opposition et en signifier une copie à l'autorité compétente par un des moyens prévus à l'article 53(1) du Règlement sur les marques de commerce. Pour toute information relative à la pratique du registraire dans le cadre d'une procédure d'opposition en matière d'indication géographique, veuillez consulter l'énoncé de pratique intitulé Énoncé de pratique concernant la procédure d'opposition en vertu de l'article 11.13 de la Loi sur les marques de commerce.

Pour en savoir plus sur le processus d'opposition, veuillez contacter la Commission des oppositions des marques de commerce :

Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada
À l'attention de : Commission des oppositions des marques de commerce
50, rue Victoria
Place du Portage, Phase I
Gatineau (Québec) Canada  K1A 0C9
Téléphone : 1-866-997-1936

Inscription sur la liste

Conformément au paragraphe 11.12(2) de la Loi, le registraire des marques de commerce inscrira l'indication sur la liste des indications géographiques si, selon le cas :

  1. (a) aucune déclaration d'opposition n'a été déposée ni signifiée à l'autorité compétente dans le délai imparti par le paragraphe 11.13(1);
  2. (b) une déclaration d'opposition, bien que présentée et signifiée, a été retirée – ou est réputée l'avoir été en application du paragraphe 11.13(6) –, a été rejetée en vertu du paragraphe 11.13(7) ou, en cas d'appel, a été rejetée par un jugement définitif sur la question.

Changements relatifs aux renseignements

L'autorité compétente doit informer le registraire des marques de commerce de tout changement touchant les renseignements contenus dans l'énoncé d'intention publié par le ministre sur le site Web de l'OPIC (p. ex., modification de l'adresse de l'autorité compétente).

Date de modification :