The Singapore Treaty, the Madrid Protocol and the Nice Agreement, and a Modernized Canadian Trademark Regime — An Overview

Canada's modernized trademarks legislative framework has officially come into force enabling Canada to accede to the Singapore Treaty, the Madrid Protocol, and the Nice Agreement

By joining the Singapore Treaty, the Madrid Protocol and the Nice Agreement, Canadian businesses and innovators now have access to efficient means of protecting their trademarks in various jurisdictions around the world. A modernized trademark regime that is aligned with other jurisdictions lowers the cost and increases the ease of doing business in Canada to the benefit of both Canadian businesses and those looking to invest in Canadian markets.

Adhering to the Singapore Treaty, the Madrid Protocol, and the Nice Agreement provides Canadian businesses with:

Modernizing Canada's domestic trademark regime also has key benefits for businesses:

Canada's accession to the Singapore Treaty, the Madrid Protocol and the Nice Agreement required significant changes to Canada's trademarks regime. The Trademarks Act was amended in 2014 and the new Trademarks Regulations were finalized in late 2018. CIPO also drafted new practice notices and information guides, revised the Trademarks Examination Manual and developed improved e-services for clients.

Madrid Protocol

The Madrid Protocol offers businesses and innovators the possibility of obtaining trademark protection in a number of countries by filing one single international application in one language with the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). One overall payment is made in one currency, simplifying the application process and providing financial savings for those seeking to obtain and maintain protection for their trademarks internationally.

Singapore Treaty

The Singapore Treaty simplifies and standardizes many formalities and procedures relating to the administration of trademarks. It establishes a maximum set of conditions that can be imposed on applicants, and makes procedures more user-friendly, more consistent internationally and less time-consuming for applicants. It also covers new types of trademarks, such as holograms, colour per se, and scent.

Nice Agreement

A requirement for accession to the Singapore Treaty and the Madrid Protocol is the use of the Nice Classification, governed by the Nice Agreement. The Nice Agreement is a classification system used to categorize goods or services according to 45 general classes for the purpose of registering a trademark. The categories are harmonized across all member countries, making it easier to search and compare different trademarks.

Changes to the Trademarks Act

The Act was amended in 2014 to enable Canada to accede to the Singapore Treaty, the Madrid Protocol and the Nice Agreement, and to modernize Canada's trademark regime.

Notable amendments include:

Changes to the Trademarks Regulations

The Regulations incorporate the requirements of the three trademark treaties, and amendments that reduce the costs and administrative burden on applicants, align the domestic trademark framework with international norms, and simplify and clarify processes and procedures.

Highlights of the new Regulations include:

Resources

CIPO has drafted resources intended to provide information and guidance on the new processes and procedures that apply since .

For more details, please consult the Resources related to trademarks legislative changes page.

E-Services

CIPO has also improved its on-line services. Users now have an improved e-filing interface with new functionalities. This includes the capability to submit images in colour, and allow for a greater number of file formats, including PDF, JPEG, TIFF, and GIF. In addition, users now have the ability to amend an application and submit a Madrid Protocol application using interactive e-services.

Learn more

Date modified:

Le Traité de Singapour, le Protocole de Madrid et l’Arrangement de Nice, et un régime des marques de commerce du Canada modernisé—Un aperçu

Le cadre législatif modernisé des marques de commerce est officiellement en vigueur permettant au Canada d'adhérer au Traité de Singapour, au Protocole de Madrid et à l'Arrangement de Nice.

En adhérant au Traité de Singapour, au Protocole de Madrid et à l'Arrangement de Nice, les entreprises et innovateurs canadiens ont maintenant accès à des moyens efficaces pour protéger leur marque de commerce partout dans le monde. Un régime modernisé des marques de commerce qui est aligné sur celui des autres pays permet également de réduire les coûts d'exploitation et de faciliter les activités commerciales, ce qui bénéficiera à la fois aux entreprises canadiennes et à ceux souhaitant investir dans les marchés canadiens.

L'adhésion au Traité de Singapour, au Protocole de Madrid, et à l'Arrangement de Nice procure aux entreprises canadiennes :

La modernisation du régime des marques de commerce du Canada procure également des avantages importants aux entreprises :

L'adhésion du Canada au Traité de Singapour, au Protocole de Madrid et à l'Arrangement de Nice a exigé des modifications importantes au régime des marques de commerce du Canada. La Loi sur les marques de commerce a été modifiée en 2014 et le nouveau Règlement sur les marques de commerce a été finalisé en 2018. L'OPIC a travaillé également à l'ébauche de nouveaux énoncés de pratique et guides informatifs, à la révision du Manuel d'examen des marques de commerce ainsi qu'au développement de services électroniques améliorés pour les clients.

Protocole de Madrid

Le Protocole de Madrid offre aux entreprises et aux innovateurs la possibilité d'obtenir une protection de marque de commerce dans un certain nombre de pays en déposant une seule demande internationale, dans une seule langue auprès de l'Organisation Mondiale de la Propriété Intellectuelle (OMPI). Un seul paiement général qui est effectué dans une seule devise simplifie le processus de demande et procure des économies financières à ceux qui souhaitent obtenir et maintenir une protection internationale pour leurs marques de commerce.

Traité de Singapour

Le Traité de Singapour simplifie et normalise de nombreuses formalités et procédures liées à l'administration des marques de commerce. Il établit un ensemble maximum de conditions pouvant être imposées aux requérants et rend les procédures plus conviviales, plus uniformes à l'échelle internationale et moins coûteuses en temps. Ce traité couvre par ailleurs de nouveaux types de marques de commerce, tels que les hologrammes, les couleurs « en soi » et les odeurs.

Arrangement de Nice

L'utilisation de la Classification de Nice instituée par l'Arrangement de Nice est requise pour adhérer au Traité de Singapour et au Protocole de Madrid. L'Arrangement de Nice est un système de classification utilisé pour classer les produits et les services dans 45 catégories générales aux fins d'enregistrement d'une marque de commerce. Les catégories sont harmonisées dans tous les pays membres, ce qui simplifie la recherche et la comparaison de différentes marques.

Modifications à la Loi sur les marques de commerce

La Loi a été modifiée en 2014 afin de permettre au Canada d'adhérer au Traité de Singapour, au Protocole de Madrid et l'Arrangement de Nice, et de moderniser le régime des marques de commerce du Canada.

Parmi les modifications, mentionnons les suivantes :

Modifications au Règlement sur les marques de commerce

Le Règlement incorpore les exigences des trois traités relatifs aux marques de commerce, et les modifications qui réduisent les coûts et le fardeau administratif des requérants, alignent le cadre législatif national des marques de commerce avec les normes internationales, et simplifient et clarifient les processus et procédures.

Parmi les nouvelles dispositions du Règlement, mentionnons les suivantes :

Ressources

L'OPIC a rédigé des ressources ayant pour but de fournir de l'information sur les nouveaux processus et procédures qui s'applique depuis le .

Pour plus d'information, veuillez consulter la page Ressources pour les modifications législatives concernant les marques de commerce.

Services électroniques

L'OPIC a également amélioré les services électroniques. Les utilisateurs ont maintenant une interface du formulaire de demande en ligne optimisée avec de nouvelles fonctionnalités. À titre d'exemple, il sera possible de soumettre des images en couleurs, et sous un plus large éventail de formats, dont PDF, JPEG, TIFF et GIF. De plus, les utilisateurs peuvent modifier et soumettre une demande prévue au Protocole de Madrid en utilisant les services électroniques interactifs.

Pour en savoir plus

Date de modification :