Crossworks’ IP—A cut above the rest

Follow:

Industrial designs, a matter of beauty

Industrial designs are about the elements of a product that appeal to the eye—the esthetic features. In the jewellery world, diamond cuts are essential both for the beauty of the shape of a diamond and for the intensity of its sparkle. The better the cut, the more the diamond sparkles.

The Canadian manufacturer is well-versed in industrial design registration. In fact, Crossworks is known internationally for producing a unique pattern in diamond cutting, called hearts and arrows. Through a special loupe, the cut shows a pattern of arrows on one side of the diamond and hearts on the other side. They are the first company in the world to be able to create this level of finesse on many non‑round diamond shapes, and have made sure to secure that IP.

The advantage of IP ownership

From the start, Crossworks has aimed for value-adding activities rather than low-cost manufacturing.

"Our IP has enabled us to differentiate ourselves in the market by manufacturing nearly perfect diamond cuts, rather than manufacturing generic diamonds and competing on price with other manufacturers who produce in lower-cost environments," says Reut Rothstein, Group Executive at HRA Group / Crossworks Manufacturing Ltd.

Good reputation and valuable intellectual property have paid off for Crossworks, as they've become one of the biggest partners to the Forevermark brand, launched by De Beers. Considering that less than one percent of the world's diamonds are eligible for the brand, this is a testimony to the quality of their IP and products.

Recently, Forevermark selected Crossworks' patented shapes to form an exclusive collection, the Black Label Collection. Crossworks is the sole manufacturer of the Black Label square, cushion, oval and heart shapes. They hold industrial designs and patents for the diamond shapes as well as trademarks for the various brands their diamonds are sold under in all major markets.

To Crossworks, the partnership between their diamonds and De Beers' brand recognition, integrity and professional values is unrivalled, and well worth their investment in recognizing ownership of their IP.

Forever part of Canada's sesquicentennial

Crossworks' industrial design for its unique and near perfect "ideal cushion" cut spent 10 years in the making before it was registered.

They were rewarded for their patience and ingenuity. As part of a partnership between the Canadian Intellectual Property Office and the Royal Canadian Mint (RCM), Crossworks' registered (through subsidiary company Worldwide Diamond Trademarks) industrial design for the "ideal cushion" cut was selected for the diamond that would be featured on a Canada 150 celebratory coin. The RCM called upon the creativity of Vancouver artists Chris Reid and Rosina Li to design the image on the coin. In a geometric style, they superimposed a slightly modified version of the Canada 150 maple leaf symbol over the diamond's industrial design. Curious? We invite you to watch our promotional video!

Crossworks' tip for business success: Consider R&D to keep evolving your products

Innovation plays a great part in Crossworks' agenda. They are constantly researching and developing new diamond shapes and diamond manufacturing methodologies to be more efficient. To do so, the company has a full-time computer software and research department. They have proven that knowledge and discovery, when protected with intellectual property, become profitable and lead to precious opportunities.

Own your creations!

By registering your industrial design, you gain exclusive, legally enforceable rights that allow you to profit from making use of, selling or licensing your design. This is why an original design, as the "ideal cushion" cut, is considered to be valuable intellectual property.

Date modified:

La PI de Crossworks — Un fabricant de taille supérieure

Les dessins industriels, une question de beauté

Les dessins industriels représentent les caractéristiques attrayantes d'un produit, c'est-à-dire les éléments esthétiques. Dans le monde des bijoux, la taille d'un diamant est directement liée à la beauté de sa forme et à l'intensité de son éclat. Plus la qualité de la taille est élevée, plus le diamant brille.

Le fabricant canadien connaît bien le processus d'enregistrement des dessins industriels. En fait, Crossworks est une entreprise reconnue à l'échelle internationale pour sa création d'une forme unique de diamant appelée cœurs et flèches. Si l'on regarde le diamant avec une loupe spéciale, on peut voir un motif de flèches d'un côté et un motif de cœurs de l'autre côté. Il s'agit de la première entreprise au monde à pouvoir créer ce niveau de finesse sur de nombreuses formes de diamant autres que rondes, et c'était une priorité pour Crossworks de se procurer les droits de PI correspondants.

L'avantage de détenir des droits de PI

Dès le départ, l'entreprise Crossworks s'est concentrée sur les activités à valeur ajoutée plutôt que sur la fabrication à faible coût.

« Nos droits de PI nous ont permis de nous différencier sur le marché par la fabrication de diamants presque parfaits, plutôt que de produire des diamants génériques et de concurrencer sur le plan des prix avec d'autres fabricants qui adoptent des pratiques de production moins coûteuses », explique Reut Rothstein, chef de direction à HRA Group / Crossworks Manufacturing Ltd.

La bonne réputation et les précieux droits de PI de Crossworks lui ont rapporté, puisqu'ils lui ont permis de devenir l'un des plus grands partenaires de la marque Forevermark, lancée par De Beers. Le fait que moins de un pour cent des diamants dans le monde ont les caractéristiques nécessaires pour porter cette marque témoigne de la qualité de la PI et des produits de la société.

Forevermark a récemment sélectionné des formes brevetées de Crossworks pour créer la collection exclusive Black Label. Crossworks est le seul fabricant de diamants Black Label de taille carrée, coussin, ovale et cœur. Elle détient des dessins industriels et des brevets pour les formes de diamant, ainsi que des marques de commerce pour les différentes marques sous lesquelles ses produits sont vendus sur tous les grands marchés.

Crossworks estime que le lien inestimable entre ses diamants, d'une part, et la reconnaissance de la marque, l'intégrité et les valeurs professionnelles de De Beers, d'autre part, justifie pleinement son investissement dans l'acquisition de droits de PI.

Une association permanente au sesquicentenaire du Canada

Crossworks a passé 10 ans à perfectionner le dessin industriel pour sa taille « coussin idéal » unique et quasi parfaite avant de l'enregistrer.

La patience et l'ingéniosité de l'entreprise ont été récompensées. L'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada, en partenariat avec la Monnaie royale canadienne (MRC), a choisi leur dessin industriel enregistré (par la filiale Worldwide Diamond Trademarks) pour la taille « coussin idéal » comme modèle pour le diamant qui apparaît sur une pièce de monnaie marquant le 150e anniversaire du Canada. La MRC a fait appel à la créativité de Chris Reid et Rosina Li, deux artistes de Vancouver, qui ont conçu l'image figurant sur la pièce. Ceux-ci ont utilisé un style géométrique et superposé une version légèrement modifiée du symbole de la feuille d'érable Canada 150 au dessin industriel du diamant. Vous aimeriez voir? Nous vous invitons à visionner notre vidéo promotionnelle!

Conseil de Crossworks pour la réussite en affaires : investissez dans la recherche et le développement pour continuer de faire évoluer vos produits

L'innovation est une priorité pour Crossworks. L'entreprise recherche et développe constamment de nouvelles formes de diamant et méthodes de fabrication afin d'accroître son efficacité. Elle s'est dotée d'un service de logiciels et de recherche composé d'employés à temps plein. Crossworks a prouvé que les connaissances et les découvertes protégées par des droits de PI deviennent rentables et ouvrent la porte à des perspectives intéressantes.

Possédez vos créations!

En enregistrant votre dessin industriel, vous obtenez des droits exclusifs protégés par la loi qui vous permettent de bénéficier de l'utilisation de votre dessin, de sa vente ou de l'octroi de licences connexes. C'est la raison pour laquelle un dessin original, comme la taille « coussin idéal », est considéré comme une propriété intellectuelle de valeur.

Date de modification :