Launch of Public Consultations on the new Industrial Design Office Practice Manual

– Gatineau – Canadian Intellectual Property Office

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) is conducting public consultations on the new Industrial Design Office Practice Manual (IDOP). Canadians are encouraged to provide feedback between and .

The IDOP is an important tool for communicating CIPO's internal office practices and procedures to clients; it is the primary public source for information on how to file and prosecute an application for industrial design registration in Canada.

The new IDOP sets out how CIPO will operationalize the regulatory and legislative changes necessary for Canada to accede to the Hague Agreement Concerning the International Registration of Industrial Designs (the Hague Agreement). It also includes various elements which support the modernization of Canada's industrial design regime and the delivery of improved services for clients.

The Hague System provides businesses with access to an international system to file and manage industrial design applications in multiple countries through a single, streamlined process.

The Government is in the process of finalizing the Industrial Design Regulations, information technology system updates and the Hague Agreement accession arrangements with the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), with the view to a coming into force date in late 2018.

The new IDOP has been developed in close collaboration with stakeholders. Feedback received to date has informed a number of revisions, which are reflected in the draft posted for public consultation. Additional comments received will be taken into account prior to finalizing the new IDOP.

Associated links

Contacts

Media Relations
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
343-291-1777
ic.mediarelations-mediasrelations.ic@canada.ca

 

Date modified:

Lancement des consultations publiques sur le nouveau Manuel des Pratiques Administratives en Dessins Industriels

– Gatineau – Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

L'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC) tient une consultation publique sur le nouveau Manuel des Pratiques Administratives en Dessins Industriels (PADI). Nous invitons les Canadiens et Canadiennes à fournir leurs commentaires entre le et le .

Le nouveau PADI est un outil important pour communiquer aux clients les pratiques administratives et les procédures internes de l'OPIC; il constitue la principale source d'information publique sur la façon de déposer et de poursuivre une demande d'enregistrement d'un dessin industriel au Canada.

Le nouveau PADI énonce comment l'OPIC mettra en pratique les modifications réglementaires et législatives nécessaires à l'adhésion du Canada à l'Arrangement de La Haye concernant l'enregistrement international des dessins industriels (l'Arrangement de La Haye). Il comprend également plusieurs éléments qui appuient la modernisation du régime de dessins industriels du Canada et améliorera les services offerts aux clients.

Le système de La Haye permet aux entreprises d'accéder à un système international de dépôt et de gestion des demandes de dessins industriels dans plusieurs pays, par l'entremise d'un processus unique et simplifié.

Le gouvernement est en voie de finaliser le Règlement sur les dessins industriels (le Règlement), les mises à jour du système des technologies de l'information et les préparatifs pour l'adhésion à l'Arrangement de La Haye avec l'Organisation Mondiale de la Propriété Intellectuelle (l'OMPI), le tout en vue d'une entrée en vigueur à la fin de 2018.

Le nouveau PADI a été élaboré en étroite collaboration avec les intervenants. Les commentaires reçus à ce jour ont donné lieu à un certain nombre de révisions, qui sont reflétées dans l'ébauche publiée dans le cadre de la consultation publique. Les commentaires additionnels reçus dans le cadre de cette consultation seront pris en considération avant de terminer le nouveau PADI.

Liens connexes

Personnes-ressources

Relations avec les médias
Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada
343-291-1777
ic.mediarelations-mediasrelations.ic@canada.ca

 

Date de modification :