International intellectual property treaties: benefits for business

If you're looking to expand your business outside Canada, you need to protect your intellectual property (IP) in other countries. The good news is that it will be easier to protect your IP outside Canada thanks to Canada's efforts to join international IP treaties.

Canada is in the process of joining five international treaties. By the end of 2018, Canada will have joined the Hague Agreement and by the end of 2019, the four other treaties, i.e. the Madrid Protocol, the Singapore Treaty, the Nice Agreement and the Patent Law Treaty. These will provide foreign businesses in member countries reciprocal advantages in applying for intellectual property protection in Canada.

The goal is to provide Canadian businesses with a globally competitive advantage thanks to reduced administrative burden and harmonized international procedures. Positioning ourselves as a global innovation centre is key to advancing our Innovation and Skills Plan.

CIPO is also modernizing the IP legal framework and office practices. These are aligned with Canada's Intellectual Property Strategy to help ensure that our IP regime is modern, robust, and supports Canadian innovation in the 21st century

On this page

How will joining these IP treaties benefit my business?

Canada is joining five international treaties to allow your business to be better positioned to compete globally through a cost-effective means for obtaining reliable and high-quality IP rights in various jurisdictions around the world.

Aligning domestic IP regimes with other jurisdictions will make it easier to do business in Canada. This will benefit both Canadian businesses and those looking to invest in Canadian markets.

Which treaties apply to industrial designs and what are their benefits?

Canada is joining the Hague Agreement and modernizing its industrial design regime.

Currently, Canadian businesses seeking to register their industrial designs in other countries must meet the administrative requirements of each foreign Intellectual Property Office (IPO).

They must:

This can be a complex, costly and time-consuming process.

The Hague Agreement means key benefits for businesses:

Modernizing Canada's industrial design regime also has key benefits for businesses:

Which treaties apply to trademarks and what are their benefits?

CIPO will be acceding to three treaties: the Madrid Protocol, the Singapore Treaty and the Nice Agreement.

Acceding to these treaties will give key benefits to businesses:

Which treaties apply to patents and what are their benefits?

Canada is joining the Patent Law Treaty (PLT). Its goals are to harmonize and streamline patent administrative procedures among national IP offices. It addresses issues such as the provision of notification to avoid loss of rights, representation before the IP office, and red-tape reduction.

Acceding to this treaty translates to key benefits for businesses:

Additional information and training opportunities

Sign up for training, webinars and demos to learn more about the changes brought forward by joining the IP treaties as they pertain to industrial designs, trademarks and patents.

Consult these pages for more information on the five treaties and how they are modernizing IP regimes:
Date modified:

Traités internationaux sur la propriété intellectuelle : avantages pour les entreprises

Si vous envisagez de faire des affaires à l'étranger, vous devez protéger la propriété intellectuelle (PI) de votre entreprise dans les autres pays. La bonne nouvelle, c'est qu'il sera plus facile d'y protéger votre PI grâce aux efforts déployés par le Canada pour adhérer à des traités internationaux sur la PI.

Le Canada est en voie d'adhérer à cinq traités internationaux. D'ici la fin de 2018, il aura adhéré à l'Arrangement de La Haye et, d'ici la fin de 2019, il aura adhéré aux quatre autres traités (le Protocole de Madrid, le Traité de Singapour, l'Arrangement de Nice et le Traité sur le droit des brevets). Ces traités procureront des avantages réciproques aux entreprises étrangères des pays membres lorsque ces dernières présenteront des demandes de protection de leur PI au Canada.

Le but est de conférer aux entreprises canadiennes un avantage concurrentiel à l'échelle mondiale grâce à la réduction du fardeau administratif et à l'harmonisation des procédures internationales. Pour faire progresser notre Plan pour l'innovation et les compétences, il est essentiel que nous nous positionnions comme un centre d'innovation mondial.

L'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC) modernise également le cadre juridique de la PI et les pratiques administratives connexes. Ces mesures s'harmonisent avec la Stratégie en matière de PI du Canada pour que notre régime de PI soit moderne et sûr et qu'il appuie l'innovation canadienne au 21e siècle.

Sur cette page

Dans quelle mesure mon entreprise profitera-t-elle de l'adhésion à ces traités sur la PI?

Le Canada est en voie d'adhérer à cinq traités internationaux qui permettront à votre entreprise de mieux se positionner par rapport à la concurrence à l'échelle mondiale grâce à un moyen économique d'obtenir des droits de PI fiables et de grande qualité dans diverses administrations partout dans le monde.

L'harmonisation des régimes nationaux de PI avec ceux d'autres administrations facilitera les affaires au Canada. Il en découlera des avantages tant pour les entreprises canadiennes que pour celles qui cherchent à investir sur les marchés canadiens.

Quels traités s'appliquent aux dessins industriels et quels en sont les avantages?

Le Canada est en voie d'adhérer à l'Arrangement de La Haye et modernise son régime de dessins industriels.

À l'heure actuelle, les entreprises canadiennes qui souhaitent enregistrer leurs dessins industriels dans d'autres pays doivent satisfaire aux exigences administratives de chaque office de PI à l'étranger.

Elles doivent :

Ce processus peut être complexe, coûteux et long.

L'Arrangement de La Haye offre d'importants avantages aux entreprises :

La modernisation du régime canadien des dessins industriels comporte également d'importants avantages pour les entreprises :

Quels traités s'appliquent aux marques de commerce et quels en sont les avantages?

L'OPIC adhérera à trois traités : le Protocole de Madrid, le Traité de Singapour et l'Arrangement de Nice.

L'adhésion à ces traités se traduit par d'importants avantages pour les entreprises :

Quels traités s'appliquent aux brevets et quels en sont les avantages?

Le Canada est en voie d'adhérer au Traité sur le droit des brevets, dont les objectifs consistent à harmoniser et à rationaliser les procédures administratives entre offices nationaux de PI relativement aux brevets. Ce traité aborde des questions telles la communication d'avis pour éviter la perte de droits, la représentation devant l'office de PI et la réduction de la paperasserie.

L'adhésion à ce traité se traduit par d'importants avantages pour les entreprises :

Renseignements supplémentaires

Sign up for training, webinars and demos to learn more about the changes brought forward by joining the IP treaties as they pertain to industrial designs, trademarks and patents.

Consultez les pages qui suivent pour en savoir plus sur les cinq traités et la façon dont ils modernisent les régimes de PI :

Date de modification :