Draft – Divisional applications in opposition

This notice is intended to clarify the practice of the Registrar of Trademarks with respect to divisional applications in opposition. It also includes information on the treatment of divisional applications filed for goods or services deleted from the original application during the advertisement period. For further information on the requirements for filing a divisional application or merging registrations, please consult the Practice Notice on Divisional Applications and the Merger of Registrations. For further information on the treatment of applications in opposition, including divisional applications, please consult Practice in Trademark Opposition Proceedings. For further information on the treatment of Protocol applications in opposition consult Opposition to Protocol Applications and Section 45 Cancellation Proceedings against Protocol Registrations.

Publication Date: 201X-XX-XX

Relevant legislation and practice notices

This Practice Notice makes reference to the following legislation and practice notices:

On this page

Important note:

In the event that Bill C- 86 receives royal assent, resulting in subsequent changes to the provisions in the Act and Regulations relating to divisionals, this practice notice will be simplified accordingly to reflect those changes.

I Introduction

An application may be divided any time after advertisement but before registration, including during the two month period following advertisement, any extended opposition period and after the filing of a statement of opposition, so long as the goods or services divided out are within the scope of the original application as advertised [section 39(1)(b) of the Act]. A divisional application may also be divided in which case section 39 of the Act applies as if that divisional application were an original application [section 39(5) of the Act].

II Use of divisional applications in opposition

The ability to divide applications during opposition allows applicants to move certain goods or services forward when, for example, (i) the opposition involves only some of the goods or services in the original application or (ii) the parties agree that the opposition against some of the goods or services could be settled allowing these goods or services to proceed to registration while the remaining goods or services are subject to opposition. Although the purpose of permitting divisional applications in opposition is, in part, to allow for settlement and subsequent withdrawal of an opposition against some goods or services, the consent of the opponent is not required for the filing of a divisional application.

III Correspondence

An applicant must copy an opponent on any correspondence relating to an opposed application after the filing of a statement of opposition, pursuant to section 44 of the Regulations. This includes the filing of a divisional of an opposed application.

The Registrar will copy an opponent or proposed opponent on correspondence concerning a divisional application. Furthermore, if an application is a divisional application or the corresponding original application to a divisional application, this will be noted on the Canadian Trademarks Database.

IV Any action taken

The general rule is that any action taken in respect of the original application, on or before the day on which the divisional application is filed, is deemed to be an action in respect of the divisional application (section 40(1) of the Regulations). This includes the submission of a statement of opposition and any steps taken in an opposition proceeding such as the submitting of evidence or attendance at a hearing. Section 40(2) of the Regulations sets out exceptions to this general rule, including:

V Procedure followed for divisional applications filed during or after opposition proceedings

Set out below are the procedures that will be followed with respect to divisional applications filed (a) during opposition proceedings and (b) following the withdrawal or rejection of an opposition proceeding. The procedure to be followed in the exceptional case where a divisional application is filed for goods or services removed during the two-month period following advertisement is set out below at VI. A chart summarizing the procedures to be followed appears as Schedule A to this practice notice.

If a divisional application is filed, the parties may wish to request leave to amend their statement of opposition or counter statement or file additional evidence with respect to the opposition proceeding against the divisional application [see Practice in Trademarks Opposition Proceedings].

V.a Divisional application is filed during an opposition proceeding

This section covers the situation where a divisional application is (i) filed during an opposition proceeding for goods or services within the scope of the corresponding original application on its advertisement date (and is therefore in compliance with section 39(1)(b) of the Act) and (ii) the goods or services in the divisional application were within the scope of the corresponding original application for the two-month opposition period following advertisement (as such the exception set out in section 40(2)(c) of the Regulations does not apply).

In these circumstances pursuant to section 40(1) of the Regulations, all actions taken by the Registrar, an applicant, or an opponent pertaining to the original application are deemed to be taken with respect to the divisional application. For example, the original application and divisional application have the same advertisement date and any statements of opposition filed with respect to the original application apply to the divisional application.

Because all actions pertaining to the original application are deemed to be taken on the divisional application, any deadline outstanding on the original application as a result of actions taken before the filing of the divisional application will also be outstanding on the divisional application. The parties should take care to monitor any outstanding deadlines on the original application and ensure that they also meet them with respect to the divisional application. In situations where a deadline expires between the time the divisional application is filed and it is accepted or where a deadline will expire within three weeks of acceptance of the divisional application, the Registrar will generally use the Registrar’s discretion to extend this deadline for a brief period of time and this will be confirmed in writing to the parties once the Registrar has confirmed the acceptance of the divisional and its application number. Finally, the Registrar may also use the Registrar’s discretion to align the deadlines for the opposition proceedings against the original application and the divisional application(s) to increase efficiencies for both the parties and the Trademarks Opposition Board.

Two example scenarios (Scenarios 1 and 2) are set out below:

Scenario 1

Scenario 2

V.b Divisional application is filed after the withdrawal or rejection of an opposition proceeding

For divisional applications filed after the withdrawal or rejection of an opposition, actions taken with respect to the original application apply to the divisional application with the exception of the withdrawal or rejection of the opposition. This is because the Registrar needs to confirm that the withdrawal or rejection of the opposition applies to the goods or services in the divisional application.

For a divisional application filed after the withdrawal or rejection of an opposition, the Registrar will review the divisional application and confirm whether the goods or services in the divisional application were within the scope of the application at the time of the withdrawal or rejection of the opposition. If so, the Registrar will generally reject or consider withdrawn the opposition against the divisional application.

If the Registrar is not satisfied that the goods or services in the divisional application were within the scope of the application at the time of the withdrawal or rejection of the opposition, the Registrar will write the opponent to advise that a divisional application has been filed and request that it confirm whether it would like its opposition to continue against the divisional application. If the opponent advises the Registrar that it wishes its opposition to continue against the divisional application, the Registrar will generally set a deadline for the next step in the opposition proceeding.

Two example scenarios (Scenarios 3 and 4) are set out below:

Scenario 3

Scenario 4

VI Divisional application is filed for goods or services removed during the two month period following advertisement

In this exceptional situation, an applicant (i) removes goods or services from its application during the two month period following advertisement and (ii) after this two month period, files a divisional application including goods or services which were outside the scope of the application at the end of the advertisement period. Section 40(2)(c) of the Regulations requires the advertisement of the divisional application since potential opponents have not had two months in which to oppose the goods or services in the divisional application.

Two example scenarios where goods or services are removed during the two-month period following advertisement (Scenarios 5 and 6) are set out below. In each of these cases, the divisional application is advertised since the goods or services did not remain in the original application for the entire two-month period following advertisement.

Scenario 5

Scenario 6

VII Divisional application is filed after the opposition period is extended but before a statement of opposition is filed

Scenario 7 illustrates when it is necessary to request a retroactive extension of time pursuant to section 47(2) of the Act to oppose a divisional application. Specifically, if an extension of time to file a statement of opposition is obtained, goods or services are deleted after the two-month advertisement period, and a divisional application is filed after the extended deadline to oppose where the opponent has not filed a statement of opposition with respect to the original application, should the potential opponent want to oppose the divisional application, it must request a retroactive extension of time. In these circumstances, the Registrar will generally grant the retroactive extension of time request as a potential opponent cannot file a statement of opposition against a good or service which has been deleted from an application. As such, the failure to file the statement of opposition was not reasonably avoidable.

Scenario 7

Schedule A

Summary of procedures followed for divisional applications filed after advertisement
When divisional application is filed Procedure after the filing of the divisional application
Divisional filed for goods or services deleted during the two-month period following advertisement The divisional application will be advertised for opposition since potential opponents have not had two months in which to oppose the goods or services in the divisional application [section 40(2)(c) of the Regulations].
Divisional is filed after the two-month opposition period has been extended The divisional application will be subject to the extended opposition period. If the divisional application is filed after the expiry of the extended opposition period, the potential opponent will need to request and obtain a retroactive extension of time to oppose the divisional application pursuant to section 47(2) of the Act.

Divisional is filed during the opposition

(After the filing of a statement of opposition but before the opposition case closes)

All actions taken by the Registrar, an applicant, or an opponent pertaining to the original application are deemed to be taken with respect to the divisional application [section 40(1) of the Regulations].
Divisional is filed after withdrawal or rejection of an opposition

The Registrar will review the divisional application and confirm whether the goods or services in the divisional application were within the scope of the original application at the time of the withdrawal or rejection of the opposition.

  • If so, the Registrar will reject or consider withdrawn the opposition against the divisional application.
  • If not, the Registrar will write the opponent to advise that a divisional application has been filed and request that it confirm whether it would like its opposition to continue against the divisional application and if necessary grant an extension time.
Divisional filed after registration certificate has issued The request to file a divisional application will not be processed. A divisional application can only be filed prior to registration.

This practice notice is intended to provide guidance on the Canadian Intellectual Property Office practice and interpretation of relevant legislation. In the event of any inconsistency between this notice and the applicable legislation, the legislation must be followed. The provisions of this practice notice are general guidelines only, are not binding in any particular case and are subject to change.

Date modified:

Ébauche – Demandes divisionnaires en matière d'opposition

Le présent énoncé de pratique a pour objet de fournir une orientation sur la pratique du registraire des marques de commerce ayant trait aux demandes divisionnaires en matière d'opposition. Il comprend également des renseignements sur le traitement des demandes divisionnaires produites à l'égard de produits et services supprimés de la demande originale pendant le délai d'annonce. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les exigences relatives à la production d'une demande divisionnaire ou à la fusion d'enregistrements, veuillez consulter l'Avis de pratique relatif aux demandes divisionnaires et à la fusion d'enregistrements. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le traitement des demandes faisant l'objet d'une procédure d'opposition, y compris les demandes divisionnaires, veuillez consulter Pratique concernant la procédure d'opposition en matière de marque de commerce. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le traitement des demandes prévues au Protocole faisant l'objet d'une procédure d'opposition, veuillez consulter Opposition aux demandes prévues au Protocole et procédure de radiation prévue à l'article 45 à l'encontre d'enregistrements prévus au Protocole.

Date de publication : 201X-XX-XX

Législation et énoncés de pratique pertinents

Le présent énoncé de pratique fait référence à la législation et aux énoncés de pratique suivants :

Sur cette page

Avis important

Dans l'éventualité où le projet de loi C-86 reçoive la sanction royale, entraînant ainsi des modifications substantielles aux dispositions de la Loi et du Règlement ayant trait aux demandes divisionnaires, le présent énoncé de pratique sera simplifié afin de refléter ces modifications.

I Introduction

Une demande peut être divisée à tout moment après l'annonce, mais avant l'enregistrement, y compris pendant la période de deux mois suivant l'annonce, pendant toute prolongation du délai d'opposition et suivant la production d'une déclaration d'opposition, pour autant que les produits et les services divisés s'inscrivent dans la portée de la demande originale telle qu'elle a été annoncée (article 39(1)b) de la Loi). Une demande divisionnaire peut elle-même être divisée, auquel cas l'article 39 de la Loi s'applique au même titre que si cette demande était la demande originale [article 39(5) de la Loi].

II Utilisation des demandes divisionnaires en matière d'opposition

La capacité de diviser des demandes pendant la procédure d'opposition permet aux requérants de faire progresser certains produits ou services lorsque, par exemple, i) l'opposition s'applique seulement à certains des produits ou services de la demande originale ou ii) les parties conviennent que l'opposition à l'encontre de certains des produits ou services pourrait être réglée pour permettre de procéder à l'enregistrement en ce qui concerne ces produits ou services alors que les produits et services restants sont visés par l'opposition. Bien que l'objectif d'autoriser des demandes divisionnaires au cours d'une procédure d'opposition soit, en partie, de permettre le règlement et le retrait subséquent d'une opposition à l'encontre de certains produits ou services, le consentement de l'opposant n'est pas exigé pour la production d'une demande divisionnaire.

III Correspondance

Un requérant doit faire parvenir à un opposant une copie de toute correspondance se rapportant à une demande qui fait l'objet d'une opposition après la production d'une déclaration d'opposition, conformément à l'article 44 du Règlement. Cela comprend la production d'une demande divisionnaire dérivant d'une demande faisant l'objet d'une opposition.

Le registraire fera parvenir à un opposant ou un opposant projeté une copie de toute correspondance concernant une demande divisionnaire. De plus, si une demande consiste en une demande divisionnaire ou en la demande originale correspondante d'une demande divisionnaire, ceci sera noté dans la Base de données sur les marques de commerce canadiennes.

IV Tout acte accompli

Selon la règle générale, est réputé accompli à l'égard de la demande divisionnaire tout acte qui, à l'égard de la demande originale, est accompli au plus tard le jour où la demande divisionnaire est produite (article 40(1) du Règlement). Ceci inclut la production d'une déclaration d'opposition et toute mesure prise dans le cadre d'une procédure d'opposition comme la soumission de la preuve et la participation à une audience. L'article 40(2) du Règlement prévoit des exceptions à cette règle générale, y compris :

V Procédure suivie pour les demandes divisionnaires produites pendant ou après une procédure d'opposition

Ci-après sont énoncées les procédures qui seront suivies pour des demandes divisionnaires produites a) pendant une procédure d'opposition, et b) suivant le retrait ou le rejet d'une procédure d'opposition. La procédure qui sera suivie dans le cas exceptionnel où une demande divisionnaire est produite pour des produits ou services retirés pendant la période de deux mois suivant l'annonce est énoncée ci-après à la section VI. Un tableau résumant les procédures suit à l'annexe A du présent énoncé de pratique.

Si une demande divisionnaire est produite, les parties peuvent demander une autorisation de modifier leur déclaration d'opposition ou leur contre-déclaration ou de produire une autre preuve en ce qui concerne la procédure d'opposition à l'encontre de la demande divisionnaire (voir Pratique concernant la procédure d'opposition en matière de marque de commerce).

V.a Demande divisionnaire produite pendant une procédure d'opposition

Cette partie vise le cas où une demande divisionnaire est i) produite pendant une procédure d'opposition pour des produits ou services qui s'inscrivent dans la portée de la demande originale à la date de son annonce (et est par conséquent conforme à l'article 39(1) de la Loi) et ii) les produits ou services de la demande divisionnaire s'inscrivaient dans la portée de la demande originale correspondante pendant la période d'opposition de deux mois suivant l'annonce (de sorte que l'exception prévue à l'article 40(2)c) du Règlement ne s'applique pas).

En pareilles circonstances, en vertu de l'article 40(1) du Règlement, tout acte accompli par le registraire, un requérant ou un opposant à l'égard de la demande originale est réputé accompli à l'égard de la demande divisionnaire. Par exemple, la demande originale et la demande divisionnaire ont la même date d'annonce et toute déclaration d'opposition produite à l'égard de la demande originale s'applique à la demande divisionnaire.

Puisque tout acte concernant la demande originale est réputé accompli à l'égard de la demande divisionnaire, toute date limite en instance pour la demande originale en raison d'actes accomplis avant la production de la demande divisionnaire sera également en instance pour la demande divisionnaire. Les parties doivent faire attention aux dates limites en instance pour la demande originale et s'assurer de les respecter à l'égard de la demande divisionnaire. Dans les cas où un délai expire entre la production et l'acceptation de la demande divisionnaire ou lorsqu'un délai expirera dans les trois semaines suivant l'acceptation de la demande divisionnaire, le registraire exercera généralement son pouvoir discrétionnaire pour prolonger ce délai pour une brève période et ceci sera confirmé par écrit aux parties lorsque le registraire a confirmé l'acceptation de la demande divisionnaire et son numéro de demande. Enfin, le registraire peut également exercer son pouvoir discrétionnaire afin de synchroniser les délais en cours dans les procédures d'opposition visant la demande originale et celle(s) divisionnaire(s) afin d'accroître l'efficacité pour les parties et la Commission des oppositions des marques de commerce.

Deux exemples de scénarios (Scénarios 1 et 2) sont présentés ci-après :

Scénario 1

Scénario 2

V.b Demande divisionnaire produite après le retrait ou le rejet d'une procédure d'opposition

Pour des demandes divisionnaires produites après le retrait ou le rejet d'une opposition, les actes accomplis à l'égard de la demande originale s'appliquent à la demande divisionnaire, à l'exception du retrait ou du rejet de l'opposition. Il en est ainsi parce que le registraire doit confirmer que le retrait ou le rejet de l'opposition s'applique aux produits ou services de la demande divisionnaire.

Pour une demande divisionnaire produite après le retrait ou le rejet d'une opposition, le registraire examinera la demande divisionnaire et confirmera si les produits ou services de la demande divisionnaire s'inscrivaient dans la portée de la demande au moment du retrait ou du rejet de l'opposition. Si tel est le cas, le registraire, généralement, rejettera l'opposition à l'encontre de la demande divisionnaire ou la considérera retirée.

Si le registraire n'est pas convaincu que les produits ou services de la demande divisionnaire s'inscrivaient dans la portée de la demande au moment du retrait ou du rejet de l'opposition, le registraire avisera l'opposant par écrit qu'une demande divisionnaire a été produite et lui demandera de confirmer s'il souhaite que son opposition se poursuive à l'encontre de la demande divisionnaire. Si l'opposant avise le registraire qu'il souhaite que l'opposition se poursuive à l'encontre de la demande divisionnaire, le registraire fixera généralement un délai pour la prochaine étape de la procédure d'opposition.

Deux exemples de scénarios (Scénarios 3 et 4) sont présentés ci-après :

Scénario 3

Scénario 4

VI Demande divisionnaire produite pour des produits ou services retirés pendant la période de deux mois suivant l'annonce

Dans cette situation exceptionnelle, un requérant i) retire des produits ou services de sa demande pendant la période de deux mois suivant l'annonce et ii) après cette période de deux mois, produit une demande divisionnaire incluant des produits ou services qui s'inscrivaient en dehors de la portée de la demande à la fin du délai d'annonce. L'article 40(2)c) du Règlement exige l'annonce de la demande divisionnaire puisque les opposants potentiels n'ont pas eu deux mois pour s'opposer aux produits ou services de la demande divisionnaire.

Deux exemples de scénarios où des produits ou services ont été retirés pendant la période de deux mois suivant l’annonce (Scénarios 5 et 6) sont présentés ci-après. Dans chaque cas, la demande divisionnaire est annoncée puisque les produits ou services ne s'inscrivaient pas dans la demande originale pendant la durée complète de la période de deux mois suivant l'annonce :

Scénario 5

Scénario 6

VII Demande divisionnaire produite après que la période d'opposition ait été prolongée mais avant qu'une déclaration d'opposition soit produite

Le scénario 7 illustre lorsqu'il est nécessaire de demander une prolongation de délai rétroactive en vertu de l'article 47(2) de la Loi pour s'opposer à une demande divisionnaire. Plus particulièrement, si une prolongation de délai pour produire une déclaration d'opposition est obtenue, des produits ou services sont supprimés après la période de deux mois suivant l'annonce, et une demande divisionnaire est produite après le délai d'opposition ayant été prolongé dans le cas où l'opposant n'a pas produit de déclaration d'opposition en regard de la demande originale, si l'opposant potentiel souhaite s'opposer à la demande divisionnaire, il doit requérir une demande de prolongation de délai rétroactive. Dans pareilles circonstances, le registraire accordera généralement la prolongation de délai rétroactive demandée puisque l'opposant potentiel ne peut pas produire de déclaration d'opposition à l'encontre de produits ou services qui avaient été supprimés d'une demande. À ce titre, le défaut de produire une déclaration d'opposition n'était pas raisonnablement évitable.

Scénario 7

Annexe A

Résumé des procédures à suivre pour des demandes divisionnaires produites après l'annonce
Moment de production de la demande divisionnaire Procédure après la production de la demande divisionnaire
Demande divisionnaire produite pour des produits ou services supprimés pendant la période de deux mois suivant l'annonce La demande divisionnaire sera annoncée puisque les opposants potentiels n'ont pas eu deux mois pour s'opposer aux produits ou services de la demande divisionnaire [article 40(2)c) du Règlement].
Demande divisionnaire produite après que la période d'opposition ait été prolongée La demande divisionnaire sera sujette au délai d'opposition prolongé. Si la demande divisionnaire est produite après l'expiration du délai d'opposition prolongé, l'opposant potentiel doit demander une prolongation de délai rétroactive en vertu de l'article 47(2) de la Loi pour s'opposer à la demande divisionnaire.

Demande divisionnaire produite pendant la procédure d'opposition

(Après la production d'une déclaration d'opposition mais avant la fermeture du dossier d'opposition)

Tout acte accompli par le registraire, un requérant ou un opposant à l'égard de la demande originale est réputé accompli à l'égard de la demande divisionnaire [article 40(1) du Règlement].
Demande divisionnaire produite après le retrait ou le rejet d'une procédure d'opposition

Le registraire examinera la demande divisionnaire et confirmera si les produits ou services de la demande divisionnaire s'inscrivaient dans la portée de la demande au moment du retrait ou du rejet de l'opposition.

  • Si tel est le cas, le registraire rejettera ou considérera comme retirée l'opposition à l'encontre de la demande divisionnaire.
  • Si tel n'est pas le cas, le registraire avisera l'opposant par écrit qu'une demande divisionnaire a été produite et lui demandera de confirmer s'il souhaite que son opposition se poursuive à l'encontre de la demande divisionnaire et accordera, si nécessaire, une prolongation de délai.
Demande divisionnaire produite après l'émission du certificat d'enregistrement La demande de production d'une demande divisionnaire ne sera pas traitée. Une demande divisionnaire peut seulement être produite avant l'enregistrement

Le présent énoncé de pratique a pour objet de fournir une orientation sur la pratique de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada et l'interprétation de la législation pertinente. En cas d'incompatibilité entre cet énoncé et la législation applicable, la législation doit prévaloir. Les dispositions du présent énoncé de pratique sont seulement un guide général, elles n'ont force obligatoire dans aucun cas particulier et sont sujettes à changement.

Date de modification :