Public consultation on new and updated Trademarks Opposition Board's practice notices

Third-party information liability disclaimer

Some of the information on this web page has been provided by external sources. The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.

Current status: Closed

Public consultation: Open from November 26, 2018 to December 21, 2018

Consultation comments received during the public consultation

November 26 to December 21, 2018

Why

Canada is acceding to three international trademark treaties while modernizing the domestic trademark regime. By joining the Singapore Treaty, the Madrid Protocol and the Nice Agreement, Canadian businesses and innovators will now have access to efficient means of protecting their trademarks in various jurisdictions around the world. A modernized trademark regime that is aligned with other jurisdictions will lower the cost and increase the ease of doing business in Canada to the benefit of both Canadian businesses and those looking to invest in Canadian markets.

Legislative changes have already been made to the Trademarks Act and the Trademarks Regulations, to comply with the requirements of these agreements and to modernize and align opposition, section 45 and objection proceedings with one another.

This consultation pertains to the Trademarks Opposition Board practice notices that have been created and updated, in light of Canada's modernization of the domestic trademark regime. In line with our commitment to inclusive, meaningful, open, transparent and balanced consultations, we want to hear your views and comments on these proposed practice notices.

Who

We want to hear from businesses, individuals, agents, groups or organizations that have an interest in Canada's trademark regime in general and/or in opposition and section 45 proceedings in particular.

What

This public consultation on Trademark Opposition Board practice notices is an opportunity for you to learn about the new processes and procedures that will apply to opposition and section 45 proceedings once the amended Trademarks Act and the new Trademarks Regulations come into force on June 17, 2019.

Consultation documents:

When

November 26th to December 21st, 2018.

How to Participate

Please share with us your comments and feedback by email. Please include "TMOB Practice Notices Consultation" in the subject line.

Questions?

Should you have any questions about this consultation, please send them by email or by regular mail to the following address:

Trademarks Opposition Board
Canadian Intellectual Property Office
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Place du Portage, Phase 1
50 Victoria Street
Gatineau, QC K1A 0C9
Attention: Guylaine Lefebvre

Date modified:

Consultations publiques sur les énoncés de pratique nouveaux et mis à jour de la Commission des oppositions des marques de commerce

Énoncé de désistement de responsabilité concernant les renseignements provenant de tiers

Une partie des informations de ce site Web à été fournie par des sources externes. Le gouvernement du Canada n'assume aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l'actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations. Le contenu fournit par les sources externes n'est pas assujetti aux exigences sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l'accessibilité.

État actuel: Fermées

Consultation publique : Ouverte du 26 novembre au 21 décembre 2018

Commentaires reçus pendant la consultation publique

26 novembre au 21 décembre 2018

Pourquoi

Le Canada est sur le point d'adhérer à trois traités internationaux concernant les marques de commerce tout en modernisant le régime national des marques de commerce. En adhérant au Traité de Singapour, au Protocole de Madrid et à l'Arrangement de Nice, les entreprises et innovateurs canadiens auront maintenant accès à des moyens efficaces pour protéger leur marque de commerce partout dans le monde. Un régime modernisé des marques de commerce qui est aligné sur celui des autres pays permettra également de réduire les coûts d'exploitation et de faciliter les activités commerciales, ce qui bénéficiera à la fois aux entreprises canadiennes et à ceux souhaitant investir dans les marchés canadiens.

Des changements législatifs ont déjà été apportés à la Loi sur les marques de commerce et au Règlement sur les marques de commerce, afin de nous conformer aux exigences de ces ententes et de moderniser et aligner les unes aux autres, les procédures d'oppositions en matière de marque de commerce et d'indications géographiques et la procédure de radiation sommaire prévue à l'article 45.

Cette consultation a trait précisément aux énoncés de pratique de la Commission de oppositions des marques de commerce qui ont été créés et mis à jour à la lumière de la modernisation du cadre législatif des marques de commerce qui entrera en vigueur le 17 juin 2019. Conformément à notre engagement à procéder à des consultations inclusives, significatives, ouvertes, transparentes et équilibrées, nous voulons connaître vos points de vue et commentaires sur les énoncés de pratique proposés.

Qui

Nous voulons savoir ce que pensent les entreprises, les individus, les agents, les groupes ou les organisations qui ont un intérêt envers le régime des marques de commerce au Canada en général, et/ou envers les procédures d'opposition et celle prévue à l'article 45 en particulier.

Quoi

Cette consultation publique sur les énoncés de pratique de la Commission des oppositions des marques de commerce est une occasion de vous familiariser avec les nouveaux processus et procédures qui s'appliqueront aux procédures d'opposition et à celle prévue à l'article 45 une fois que la Loi sur les marques de commerce modifiée et le nouveau Règlement sur les marques de commerce entreront en vigueur le 17 juin 2019.

Documents de la consultation:

Quand

Du 26 novembre au 21 décembre 2018

Comment participer

Veuillez nous faire parvenir vos commentaires par courriel. Veuillez inscrire le titre « Consultations sur les énoncés de pratique de la COMC » dans l'objet.

Questions?

Si vous avez des questions sur cette consultation, veuillez les envoyer par courriel ou par courrier ordinaire à l'adresse suivante :

Commission des oppositions des marques de commerce
Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada
Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada
Place du Portage, Phase 1
50 rue Victoria
Gatineau, QC K1A 0C9
À l'attention de : Guylaine Lefebvre

Date de modification :