Michel Dallaire

Follow:

Michel Dallaire: Over 50 Years of Canadian industrial design

Are you familiar with the BIXI bike, the self-service bike that is available whenever you want, on four continents? The creator behind this innovation is none other than the famous industrial designer Michel Dallaire.

A multi-talented designer, Michel has been around since 1965. He has been involved in the design of a wide variety of projects and consumables, from the one-gallon bleach bottle to the angel-shaped Angelcare baby monitor and the Olympic torch! Always at work, he is currently a senior advisor on a number of special projects related to urban development and street furniture.

BIXI

With over 50 years of industrial design under his belt and many more years to come, he is not finished finding solutions to problems. "Industrial design is about solving problems and creating a product that people want," he says. For his BIXI prototype, he was inspired by the boomerang "because a boomerang comes back, and we wanted the bikes to come back." When you compare the two, the similarity of the curve is striking!

BIXI is owned by PBSC Urban Solutions, which has registered over a dozen industrial designs in Canada. "A project's only value is its protection. If the project is not protected, it has no commercial value," says Dallaire. "Imagine, if we had not protected our intellectual property for BIXI, everyone would have copied us." With 60,000 bicycles and 5,000 stations in 30 cities around the world, it is fair to say that business is going well.

1976 Olympic torch

The Quebec industrial designer also had the chance to create the Olympic torch design for the 1976 Summer Olympic Games in Montréal. The geometric form was inspired by cattails, which are sometimes used as improvised torches. Dallaire's torch burned olive oil, "because we wanted a photogenic flame, visible both day and night," he says.

I aim for timelessness in its technical and aesthetic purpose and am wary of passing trends that eventually go out of fashion. I want to highlight the object, but not distort it. Isn't that precisely our role in giving things shape?
Michel Dallaire

The Quebec designer has received many awards and recognitions during his long career, including the Order of Canada, the Ordre national du Québec and the Prix Paul-Émile-Borduas.

Interested in learning more about Michel Dallaire? Get his book, Michel Dallaire : De l'idée à l'objet, published by Les éditions du passage. Read more about industrial designs on the Canadian Intellectual Property Office website.

Date modified:

Michel Dallaire

Suivez :

Michel Dallaire, plus de 50 ans de design industriel canadien

La bicyclette BIXI, vous connaissez? Ce vélo en libre-service qu'on utilise quand bon nous semble et qui est offert sur quatre continents. Le créateur derrière cette innovation n'est nul autre que le célèbre designer industriel, Michel Dallaire.

Designer aux multiples talents, Michel roule sa bosse depuis 1965. Il fut impliqué dans la conception d'une grande diversité de projets et d'objets de consommation. Du contenant d'eau de javel au moniteur pour bébé en forme d'ange, Angelcare, en passant par la torche olympique, tout y passe! Toujours au travail, il est présentement conseiller principal sur plusieurs projets spéciaux reliés à l'aménagement et au mobilier urbain.

BIXI

Avec plus de 50 ans de design industriel derrière lui, et encore plusieurs autres à venir, il n'a pas fini de trouver une solution à un problème. « Le design industriel, c'est résoudre des problèmes et créer un produit que les gens veulent posséder », dit-il. Lorsqu'il a dessiné son prototype de BIXI, il s'est inspiré du boomerang « parce qu'un boomerang, ça revient et on voulait que les bicyclettes reviennent ». Lorsque vous comparez les deux, la ressemblance de la courbe est saisissante!

BIXI est la propriété de l'entreprise PBSC Solutions Urbaines qui a enregistré plus d'une dizaine de dessins industriels au Canada. « La seule valeur d'un projet est sa protection. S'il n'y a pas de protection, le projet n'a pas de valeur commerciale, déclare M. Dallaire. Imaginez, si l'on n'avait pas protégé notre propriété intellectuelle pour le BIXI, tout le monde nous aurait copiés ». Avec 60 000 bicyclettes et 5 000 stations dans 30 villes du monde, on peut dire que les affaires roulent bien.

Torche olympique de 1976

Le designer industriel québécois a également eu la chance de créer le concept de la torche olympique pour les Jeux olympiques d'été de 1976 à Montréal. La forme géométrique lui a été inspirée par la quenouille, parfois utilisée par certains comme torche artisanale. Celle de Michel carburait à 50% à l'huile d'olive, « parce qu'on voulait une flamme photogénique, visible de jour comme de soir », dit-il.

Je vise l'intemporel dans sa finalité technique et esthétique et me méfie des modes passagères qui passent éventuellement de mode. Je veux débanaliser, mais non dénaturer l'objet. Notre rôle de metteur en forme, n'est-il pas de faire autrement?
Michel Dallaire

Le désigner québécois a été reconnu à maintes reprises et a reçu plusieurs prix au cours de sa longue carrière, dont l'Ordre du Canada, l'Ordre national du Québec et le Prix Paul-Émile-Borduas.

Curieux d'en apprendre plus sur Michel Dallaire? Procurer vous son livre, Michel Dallaire : De l'idée à l'objet des éditions du passage. Pour plus d'information sur les dessins industriels, visitez le site Web de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada.

Date de modification :