Famous Five Women of IP

Follow:

Sarah McLachlan

Sarah McLachlan's enchanting voice and profound lyrics have been haunting our hearts and minds for over 30 years. This talented singer-songwriter has sold over 40 million albums in her career and was recently inducted into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame. Her album Surfacing, released in 1997, is her best-selling release to date. She's also won an impressive number of Juno Awards. In 1999, she was appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada and in 2001, she was further rewarded for her vision and talent when she was appointed to the Order of British Columbia.

Sarah is also an esteemed entrepreneur with three registered trademarks under the Sarah McLachlan Entertainment Corporation, including Tyde Records and Tyde Music, as well as the famous Lilith Fair festival, which showcased female artists. This festival brought over two million people together during its three-year run and raised over $7 million for women's charities. It also helped launch the careers of numerous female performers. Sarah has shown how protecting her intellectual property by registering her trademarks can be a strong strategic asset, not only from a business perspective but an artistic one as well.

Sarah continued her philanthropic efforts by laying the groundwork for a non-profit music education program in Vancouver. When she first envisioned a music school at no cost, she knew that in order for her vision to thrive, she would have to think outside the box. The Sarah McLachlan School of Music officially opened its doors in 2002 with a mission to provide top quality music instruction at no cost, in a safe and nurturing environment, for at-risk and underserved children and youth. The school reaches hundreds of young people every year, providing them with the space and the tools they need to express themselves and it offers a secure, inspiring place to learn, practice, and ultimately connect with others and with themselves.

Here's what music brings to Ms. McLachlan's life and how she's used her passion to help others:

"Because of music, my life has deeper meaning and a powerful sense of purpose. I learned early on how good it feels to give back and when I saw music programs being cut from the public school system, I knew I could do something to help fill that void. Creating a free music program for at-risk and underserved kids felt like a great and powerful way of using my gifts for something really meaningful, for a greater purpose."

Roberta Bondar

Born in Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, Dr. Roberta Bondar has an impressive list of achievements and has undertaken many professional roles in her life, including astronaut, physician, scientific researcher, photographer, author, environment interpreter and team leader. As Canada's first female astronaut and the first neurologist in space, she has received many honours, including the Order of Canada, the Order of Ontario, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) Space Medal, 24 honorary degrees from Canadian and American universities and induction into the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame.

Dr. Bondar combines her love of science with a passion for photography. She also understands the importance of protecting ideas and products through intellectual property rights. In July 2009, she founded the Roberta Bondar Foundation, a registered trademark and not-for-profit charity where she explores the relationship between life and the planet through the fusion of art and science. She's the only astronaut to use fine art photography to reveal Earth's natural environment from the surface. Through her foundation, she's interested in addressing "the growing nature deficit in society, cultivating in all ages a sense of awe, respect and appreciation for other life forms that share our planet."

Dr. Bondar is recognized worldwide for her contributions to space medicine. For more than a decade at NASA, she headed an international space medicine research team where she continued to find new connections between astronauts recovering from the microgravity of space and neurological illnesses here on Earth such as stroke and Parkinson's disease. She's a prime example of a scientist using science to better humanity!

Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood is a highly respected, world-famous Canadian novelist, but did you know that she's also an inventor? She is the genius behind the LongPen, a remote signing device that enables authors to give readings, interact with another person and do book signings without being physically present. In 2014, Margaret Atwood co-founded Syngrafii Inc. which has now developed into a leading digital signature platform with the launch of Syngrafii sPaper™.

She also holds various patents related to the LongPen technologies, demonstrating that protecting her intellectual property is key to her business strategy.

Ms. Atwood began writing at the tender age of six. At 78, she's still a very active member of the writing community. Her literary works and complex and enigmatic female characters have transformed the Canadian literary landscape and carved out a place for women in literature. She's won numerous awards, including the Man Booker Prize for her novel, The Blind Assassin, and some of her books have been adapted for stage and screen, including a television series based on Alias Grace and the recent Emmy-winning series, The Handmaid's Tale.

This great writer also believes in the importance of protecting our creations:

"Book copyrights are essential to the ability of writers to make a living from selling books that contain their creations. […] I could not exist as a self-employed writer without copyright."

Lise Watier

The former T.V. host carved out a place for herself in the business world when she founded Lise Watier Cosmetics in 1972. A trailblazer in the field of cosmetics in Canada, Ms. Watier's company emphasized quality and innovation. Over the past several decades, she has registered dozens of trademarks for her best-selling beauty products in Canada and Quebec. She believes that "managing one's trademarks is the key to the success and sustainability of a business. It enables us to accomplish great things and to have a positive impact on society."

Thanks to her determination, and because she listens to women, Ms. Watier has received many honours, including the Order of Canada, l'Ordre national du Québec and the  Order of Montreal, as well as three honorary doctorates.

In 2009, armed with her intellectual property rights, the visionary entrepreneur created the Lise Watier Foundation. Now headed by Ms. Watier's daughter, Marie-Lise Andrade, the foundation took a new turn in the fall of 2017 with the development of its own assistance program. The s'Entreprendre program is aimed at helping women gain long-term financial independence with the help of education and entrepreneurship. The program is based on the concepts of intervention, training, support and financial backing.

Dorothy Grant

The story of the Haida fashion designer, born in Alaska and now living in British Columbia, is one of inspiration and determination. From weaving spruce root hats with her grandmother in 1981 to opening a store downtown Vancouver in 1994 and finally receiving the Order of Canada in 2015, Dorothy Grant has followed her dreams, spreading the Haida culture internationally.

"I knew 30 years ago that my hands logo reflected the core philosophy of my fashion design. At first, I was using it as a garment label. Then, I registered it as a trademark that would always represent my name, which I had spent years branding. I fought for six years against a company that claimed my trademark was too similar to theirs: a battle I won, and which was worth fighting. The world of fashion is full of mimes that will copy without asking. That's when it's useful to have a registered trademark to prove you're the owner. People are less likely to copy it," says the designer.

Dorothy's work innovatively combines Haida formline art with haute couture and has been featured in 15 museums in Canada, the United States, the United Kingdom and New Zealand. It has been worn in fashion shows and on Oscars red carpets and has earned her an impressive number of awards in her career, spanning over four decades.

Date modified:

Cinq femmes célèbres de la PI

Suivez :

Sarah McLachlan

La voix envoûtante et les paroles profondes de Sarah McLachlan captent nos cœurs et nos esprits depuis plus de 30 ans. Cette auteure-compositrice-interprète de talent a vendu plus de 40 millions d'albums au cours de sa carrière et a récemment été intronisée au Panthéon de la musique canadienne. Son album Surfacing, lancé en 1997, est son meilleur vendeur à ce jour. Elle a également remporté un nombre impressionnant de prix Juno. En 1999, elle a été nommée officière de l'Ordre du Canada et en 2001, elle a été récompensée de nouveau pour sa vision et son talent lorsqu'elle a reçu l'Ordre de la Colombie-Britannique.

Sarah est également une entrepreneure accomplie qui possède trois marques de commerce enregistrées au nom de Sarah McLachlan Entertainment Corporation, soit Tyde Records, Tyde Music ainsi que le célèbre festival Lilith Fair, qui mettait en vedette des artistes féminines. Ce festival a rassemblé plus de deux millions de personnes au cours de ses trois éditions, et a recueilli plus de sept millions de dollars pour des organismes sans but lucratif desservant les femmes. Il a aussi aidé à lancer la carrière de plusieurs interprètes féminines. Sarah a démontré qu'en protégeant sa propriété intellectuelle au moyen de marques de commerce enregistrées, on peut tirer profit d'un actif stratégique solide, non seulement d'un point de vue commercial, mais également d'un point de vue artistique.

Sarah a poursuivi ses efforts philanthropiques en jetant les bases d'un programme d'éducation musicale sans but lucratif à Vancouver. Lorsqu'elle a imaginé une école de musique sans frais, elle savait que, pour que sa vision se concrétise, elle devrait sortir des sentiers battus. En 2002, la Sarah McLachlan School of Music a ouvert ses portes. Cette école a pour mission de fournir des cours de musique de qualité supérieure, et ce, sans frais et dans un environnement sécuritaire et bienveillant pour les enfants et adolescents à risque et défavorisés. L'école dessert des centaines de jeunes par année, leur fournissant l'espace et les outils dont ils ont besoin pour s'exprimer, dans un lieu sécuritaire et inspirant,  propice à l'apprentissage et à la pratique. Cet endroit leur permet, en fin de compte, de tisser des liens avec les autres tout en apprenant à se connaître.

Voici, en ses mots (traduits), ce que la musique apporte à Madame McLachlan et comment elle a utilisé sa passion pour venir en aide aux autres :

« Grâce à la musique, ma vie revêt une signification profonde et j'ai une raison d'être puissante. J'ai appris tôt dans ma vie le plaisir de donner, et quand j'ai constaté qu'on faisait des coupures dans les programmes de musique des écoles publiques, je me suis dit que je pouvais faire quelque chose pour combler ce manque. Je sentais qu'en créant un programme de musique gratuit pour les enfants à risque et défavorisés, j'utiliserais mes dons pour quelque chose de vraiment significatif, qui sert une cause plus grande que moi. »

Roberta Bondar

Née à Sault-Sainte-Marie, en Ontario, Dre Roberta Bondar affiche une liste impressionnante de réalisations. Au cours de sa vie, elle a aussi assumé de nombreux rôles professionnels, dont ceux d'astronaute, de médecin, de chercheuse scientifique, de photographe, d'auteure, d'interprète environnementale et de chef d'équipe. Elle est la première femme astronaute au Canada et la première neurologue à être allée dans l'espace, et elle a reçu de nombreux prix, dont l'Ordre du Canada, l'Ordre de l'Ontario, la Space Medal de la National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), 24 titres honorifiques d'universités canadiennes et américaines et une intronisation au Temple de la renommée médicale canadienne.

Dre Bondar allie son amour de la science à sa passion pour la photographie. Elle comprend aussi l'importance de protéger les idées et produits par des droits de propriété intellectuelle. En juillet 2009, elle a fondé la Roberta Bondar Foundation, une marque de commerce enregistrée et un organisme sans but lucratif où elle explore la relation entre la vie et la planète en fusionnant l'art et la science. Elle est la seule astronaute à utiliser la photographie artistique pour révéler l'environnement naturel de la Terre à partir de sa surface. Par le biais de sa fondation, elle cherche à « s'attaquer au déficit croissant en matière de nature dans notre société en cultivant chez les gens de tous les âges l'admiration, le respect et l'appréciation d'autres formes de vie qui cohabitent sur notre planète. »

Dre Bondar est reconnue à l'échelle mondiale pour ses contributions à la médecine spatiale. Pendant plus d'une décennie à la NASA, elle a dirigé une équipe internationale de recherche en médecine spatiale, ce qui lui a permis de trouver de nouveaux liens entre les astronautes qui récupèrent des effets de la microgravité dans l'espace et des maladies neurologiques présentes sur la Terre comme les accidents vasculaires cérébraux et la maladie de Parkinson. Elle illustre parfaitement la science au service de l'humanité!

Margaret Atwood

Saviez-vous qu'en plus d'être une écrivaine canadienne de renommée mondiale très respectée, Margaret Atwood est également inventrice? C'est elle, le génie derrière l'invention LongPen (page en anglais seulement), un outil de signature à distance qui permet aux auteurs de faire des lectures, d'interagir avec d'autres et de donner des séances d'autographe sans y être en personne. En 2014, Margaret Atwood a cofondé Syngrafii Inc., qui est devenue une plate-forme de signature numérique de premier plan grâce au lancement de Syngrafii sPaperMC.

Elle détient également de nombreux brevets liés aux technologies LongPen, ce qui démontre que la protection de sa propriété intellectuelle est un facteur clé de sa stratégie d'affaires.

Margaret Atwood a commencé à écrire dès l'âge de 6 ans. À 78 ans, elle est toujours très active au sein de la communauté des écrivains. Ses œuvres littéraires  et ses personnages féminins complexes et énigmatiques ont transformé le paysage littéraire canadien et forgé une place pour les femmes en littérature. Elle a remporté de nombreux prix, dont le Man Booker Prize pour son roman Le Tueur aveugle. Certains de ses romans ont même fait l'objet d'adaptations pour le théâtre et le petit et le grand écrans, notamment la série télévisée basée sur le roman Alias Grace et la récente télésérie La servante écarlate, qui a remporté des prix Emmy.

Cette grande écrivaine croit aussi en l'importance de protéger nos créations :

« Les droits d'auteurs sur les livres sont essentiels pour permettre aux écrivains de vivre de la vente de livres qui contiennent leurs créations. […] Je ne pourrais pas être une écrivaine autonome sans le droit d'auteur. »

Lise Watier

L'ancienne animatrice télé s'est taillé une place de choix en tant que femme d'affaires lorsqu'elle a fondé Lise Watier Cosmétiques en 1972. Véritable pionnière dans le domaine des cosmétiques au Canada et guidée par des valeurs de qualité et d'innovation, elle détient des dizaines de marques de commerce pour ses produits de beauté, meilleurs vendeurs au Canada et au Québec depuis des décennies. « L'importance accordée à la gestion de sa marque de commerce va bien au-delà d'assurer le succès et la pérennité d'une entreprise. Cela permet aussi d'être un levier pour accomplir de grandes choses ayant un impact positif sur la société », souligne madame Watier.

Grâce à son écoute des femmes et à sa détermination, Mme Watier a été reconnue, entre autres, par l'Ordre du Canada, l'Ordre national du Québec et l' Ordre de Montréal, en plus de se voir décerner trois doctorats honorifiques.

En 2009, l'entrepreneure visionnaire, forte de sa propriété intellectuelle, a créé la Fondation Lise Watier. Désormais dirigée par la fille de madame Watier, Marie-Lise Andrade, la Fondation a pris un nouveau tournant avec la mise sur pied, à l'automne 2017, de son propre programme d'aide. Le programme s'Entreprendre s'adresse ainsi aux femmes qui désirent prendre les mesures nécessaires pour atteindre l'autonomie financière de façon durable, principalement par le biais de l'éducation et de l'entrepreneuriat. Le programme est conçu selon une approche unique d'intervention, de formation, d'accompagnement et de soutien financier.

Dorothy Grant

L'histoire de la créatrice de mode du peuple haïda, née en Alaska et maintenant établie en Colombie-Britannique, en est une d'inspiration et de détermination. De ses débuts où elle tissait des chapeaux avec sa grand-mère en 1981, à l'ouverture d'un magasin au centre-ville de Vancouver en 1994, et finalement à la réception de l'Ordre du Canada en 2015, Dorothy Grant a suivi ses rêves, tout en répandant la culture haïda à l'échelle internationale.

« Il y a 30 ans, je savais que mon logo de mains reflétait ma philosophie envers mes créations de mode. Au début, je l'utilisais comme étiquette sur mes vêtements. Puis, j'ai fait enregistrer la marque de commerce qui allait représenter mon nom pour toujours, un nom que je faisais connaître depuis des années. J'ai lutté pendant six ans contre une compagnie qui soutenait que ma marque de commerce ressemblait trop à la sienne : une lutte que j'ai gagnée, et qu'il valait la peine de mener. Le monde de la mode est rempli d'imitateurs qui copient sans demander la permission. C'est dans ces cas-là qu'il est utile d'avoir une marque de commerce enregistrée pour prouver qu'on en est le propriétaire. Les gens risquent moins de la copier », affirme la créatrice.

Les créations de Dorothy combinent de façon innovatrice l'art haïda de style linéaire et configuratif avec la haute couture, et ont été exposées dans 15 musées au Canada, aux États-Unis, au Royaume-Uni et en Nouvelle-Zélande. Elles ont été portées à des parades de mode et sur le tapis rouge des Oscar, et lui ont valu un nombre impressionnant de prix tout au long de sa carrière s'étendant sur quatre décennies.

Date de modification :