Recording of Transfers, Changes of Name and Registration of Related Documents

1.0 Introduction

Patents for an invention are intellectual property that can be sold, licensed or used to negotiate funding, venture capital or other forms of financing. While it is not mandatory for applicants or patentees to record a transfer or a change of name with the Patent Office, there are benefits to doing so in a timely manner. It allows the Patent Office to issue patents to the correct owners of the rights accorded by the patent and maintain accurate records. It also ensures that the Patent Office’s records are up to date for third parties to easily recognize who owns the rights to the invention.

The Office recommends that persons submitting requests under these sections use the provided formFootnote 1. This will help ensure that all the necessary information is provided and will expedite the processing of these requests.

2.0 Recording a transfer

A patent grants the patentee and the patentee’s legal representatives the exclusive right, privilege and liberty of making, constructing and using the invention and selling it to others to be used. Those rights are established at the filing date when the applicant(s) make a claim to those exclusive rights through the patent application. The subsequent transfer of those rights from one applicant/patentee may be recorded by the Commissioner following a request under section 49 of the Patent Act. Note that the effective date for the recordal is the date when the Commissioner records the transfer and not when the request is submitted to the Patent Office.

2.1 Request to record a transfer

In order to record a transfer, the submission must contain:

2.1.1 Request to record a transfer by applicant or patentee

If a request to record a transfer is submitted by the applicant or the patentee, the Commissioner will record the transfer without additional required evidence (subsections 49(2) and (3) of the Patent Act). For more information on who can represent the applicant or patentee, please refer to the draft MOPOP document on Representation.

2.1.2 Request to record a transfer by the transferee

If a request to record a transfer is submitted by the transferee (and not the currently recognized applicant or patentee), the transferee will need to provide evidence of the transfer to the Commissioner (subsections 49(2) and 49(3) of the Patent Act). A copy of the document effecting the transfer of rights along with an affidavit or one of the examples of evidence provided below would be considered satisfactory:

Please note that the request and any evidence submitted will be placed on file and be open to public inspection as required under section 10 of the Patent Act.

For more information on who can represent the transferee, please refer to the draft MOPOP document on Representation.

2.2 Recordal certificate

Once the Commissioner has recorded the transfer, a certificate with a unique identification number will be sent to the person who requested the recordal of the transfer.

2.3 Removal of transfer recording

The Commissioner will remove the recording of the transfer of an application or a patent upon receipt of evidence satisfactory to the Commissioner that the transfer should not have been recorded.

3.0 Recording a name change

Changes of name that do not change the identity will be recognized on the request of the applicant or patentee. Changes of name are distinct and separate from the correction mechanisms for applicants under the Patent Rules. For more information on correction mechanisms, please refer to the draft MOPOP document on Corrections.

3.1 Request to record a name change

In order to record a change of name, the submission must contain:

For more information on who can represent the applicant or patentee, please refer to the draft MOPOP document on Representation.

3.2 Certificate of a name change

Once the Commissioner has recorded a change of name, a certificate with a unique identification number will be sent to the person who requested the change of name.

4.0 Registration of related documents

Any person may submit a request to the Commissioner to register a document relating to a patent application or patent (section 125 of the Patent Rules). Note that the registration of a document is a separate mechanism than the recordal of a transfer. Registration of a document which effects a transfer or which documents a change of name will simply put that document on file at the Patent Office. It will not be treated as a recordal request.

4.1 Request to register a document

In order to register a document, the submission must contain:

4.2 Certificate of registration of a document

Once the Commissioner has registered a document, a certificate with a unique identification number will be sent to the person who requested the registration of the document.

Date modified:

Inscription de transferts, de changements de nom et enregistrement de documents connexes

1.0 Introduction

Les brevets d'invention sont des formes de propriété intellectuelle qui peuvent être vendues, exploitées sous licence ou utilisées pour négocier un financement ou un capital de risque ou pour obtenir d'autres formes de financement. Bien que les demandeurs ou brevetés ne doivent pas obligatoirement enregistrer un transfert ou un changement de nom auprès du Bureau des brevets, il demeure avantageux de le faire en temps opportun. Cela permet au Bureau des brevets d'accorder les brevets aux détenteurs des droits conférés par le brevet et d'assurer l'exactitude de ses dossiers. Cela permet également de s'assurer que les dossiers du Bureau des brevets sont à jour, ce qui permet d'indiquer d'emblée aux tiers qui les consultent l'identité du/des détenteurs des droits à l'égard de telle ou telle invention.

Pour toute demande en vertu de ces articles, le Bureau recommande d'utiliser le formulaire fourni par le BureauNote de bas de page 1. Cela permet de s'assurer que tous les renseignements nécessaires sont bien fournis, et d'accélérer le traitement de ces demandes.

2.0 Inscription d'un transfert

Un brevet donne au breveté et à ses représentants légaux le droit exclusif, la faculté et le privilège de fabriquer, construire, exploiter et vendre l'invention à un tiers pour qu'ils l'exploitent. Ces droits sont établis à la date de dépôt lorsque le ou les demandeurs revendiquent ces droits exclusifs par la voie de la demande de brevet. Le transfert subséquent de ces droits d'un demandeur ou d'un breveté peut être inscrit par le commissaire suivant une demande en vertu de l'article 49 de la Loi sur les brevets. Il convient de noter que la date d'entrée en vigueur de l'inscription est la date à laquelle le commissaire inscrit le transfert et non la date à laquelle la demande de transfert est soumise au Bureau des brevets.

2.1 Demande d'inscription d'un transfert

Pour inscrire un transfert la soumission doit comprendre :

2.1.1 Demande d'inscription d'un transfert par le demandeur ou le breveté

Si une demande d'inscription d'un transfert est soumise par le demandeur ou le breveté, le commissaire inscrira le transfert sans autre preuve supplémentaire (paragraphes 49(2) et (3) de la Loi sur les brevets). Pour de plus amples renseignements sur qui peut représenter le demandeur ou le breveté, veuillez consulter le document de consultation du RPBB sur la Représentation.

2.1.2 Demande d'inscription d'un transfert par le cessionnaire

Si une demande d'inscription d'un transfert est soumise par le cessionnaire (plutôt que par le demandeur ou le breveté), le cessionnaire devra fournir au commissaire une preuve de transfert requise (paragraphes 49(2) et (3) de la Loi sur les brevets). Une copie de l'acte de transfert des droits, accompagnée d'un affidavit ou de l'un des exemples de preuves ci-dessous, pourrait suffire :

Il convient de noter que la demande et toute preuve soumise seront versées au dossier et seront rendues accessibles au public comme l'exige l'article 10 de la Loi sur les brevets.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur qui peut représenter le cessionnaire, veuillez consulter le document de consultation du RPBB sur la Représentation.

2.2 Certificat d'inscription

Lorsque le commissaire a inscrit le transfert, un certificat qui stipule qu'un numéro d'identification unique sera envoyé à la personne ayant demandé l'inscription du transfert.

2.3 Retrait d'une inscription de transfert

Le commissaire retirera l'inscription du transfert d'une demande ou d'un brevet à la réception d'une preuve qu'il juge satisfaisante portant que le transfert n'aurait pas dû être inscrit.

3.0 Inscription d'un changement de nom

Les changements de nom qui ne modifient pas l'identité seront reconnus à la demande du demandeur ou du breveté. Les changements de nom sont distincts et indépendants des mécanismes de correction qui sont prévus dans les Règles sur les brevets pour les demandeurs. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les mécanismes de correction, veuillez consulter le document de consultation du RPBB sur les Corrections.

3.1 Demande d'inscription d'un changement de nom

Pour inscrire un changement de nom la soumission doit comprendre :

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur qui peut représenter le demandeur ou breveté, veuillez consulter le document de consultation du RPBB sur la Représentation.

3.2 Certificat de changement de nom

Lorsque le commissaire a inscrit un changement de nom, un certificat portantun numéro d'identification unique sera envoyé à la personne ayant demandé l'inscription du changement de nom.

4.0 Enregistrement de documents connexes

Toute personne peut soumettre au commissaire une demande d'enregistrement d'un document se rapportant à une demande de brevet ou à un brevet (article 125 des Règles sur les brevets). Il convient de noter que l'enregistrement d'un document est un mécanisme indépendant de l'inscription d'un transfert. L'enregistrement d'un document qui a une incidence sur le transfert ou qui documente un changement de nom fera simplement en sorte que ce document sera versé au dossier du Bureau des brevets. Cela ne sera pas considéré comme une demande d'inscription.

4.1 Demande d'enregistrement d'un document

Pour enregistrer un document la soumission doit comprendre :

4.2 Certificat d'enregistrement d'un document

Lorsque le commissaire a enregistré le document, un certificat portant un numéro d'identification unique sera imprimé et envoyé à la personne ayant demandé l'enregistrement du document.

Date de modification :