Compliant Patent Applications

1.0 Compliant Patent Applications

A patent application consists of many parts, only a few of which are required to be submitted to the Office to obtain a filing date. However, all the parts of the patent application must be submitted soon after the filing date in order to be compliant with the prescribed requirements of the Patent Act and the Patent Rules. There are also requirements for each of those parts that are assessed for compliance after the filing of a patent application and during its prosecution until either a patent is issued or the application is refused.

This document relates to the assessment of patent application requirements specific to submitting parts of the application or statements relating to entitlement of the application, as well as to how and when they are assessed. Other requirements, such as novelty, obviousness and utility, are assessed by examiners once a request for examination has been made. Assessment of these other requirements is described in more detail in the Manual of Patent Office Practice.

A compliant patent application must contain:

2.0 Notice of non-compliance

After the patent application has received a filing date or entered the national phase via the PCT, the Office will review the application to determine if all the required parts have been submitted and whether they are compliant with the prescribed requirements. If either a required part is missing or a submitted part is non-compliant, the Commissioner will send a notice under section 65 of the Patent Rules requiring the applicant to comply. The applicant will have three months to respond to the notice in good faith in order to avoid their patent application being deemed abandoned under subsection 73(2) of the Patent Act.

2.1 Notice of non-compliance - response to notice

The Office will review the response to the notice and assess whether the response renders the application compliant. If the application remains non-compliant following the response, a new Commissioner's notice of non-compliance under section 65 of the Patent Rules will be sent to the applicant. The applicant will once again have three months to respond to the notice in good faith in order to avoid their patent application being deemed abandoned under subsection 73(2) of the Patent Act.

3.0 Sequence Listings

If a sequence listing is not provided at filing or national phase entry, a determination as to whether a sequence listing is required under subsection 58(1) may occur after filing. A sequence listing that is provided at filing or national phase entry will be reviewed to ensure that it is compliant with the PCT sequence listing standard and any required statements set out in subsections 58(3) and (4) of the Patent Rules. If the sequence listing is non-compliant, the Commissioner will send a notice under section 65 of the Patent Rules requiring the applicant to comply with the standard.

If it is determined that a sequence listing is required for the patent application to be compliant, a notice under section 65 of the Patent Rules will be sent to the applicant. If the sequence listing submitted in response to the examiner's requisition is non-compliant with the PCT standard and/or if any required statements in subsections 58(3) and (4) are not made, the Commissioner will send a notice under section 65 of the Patent Rules requiring the applicant to comply with the standard.

4.0 Drawings

If drawings are not provided at filing or national phase entry, a determination as to whether drawings are required under section 27(5.1) of the Patent Act may be made. If it is determined that drawings are required for the patent application to be compliant, a notice under section 65 of the Patent Rules will be sent to the applicant.

5.0 Inventor Information and Establishing entitlement

Pursuant to subsection 54(1) of the Patent Rules, the application must indicate the name and postal address of each inventor of the subject-matter of the invention for which an exclusive privilege or property is claimed.

If the applicant is the inventor, the application must also contain a statement to that effect that the applicant is the sole inventor of the subject matter of the invention for which an exclusive privilege or property is claimed or, if there are joint applicants, the applicants are all inventors and the sole inventors of that subject-matter.

Where the applicant is not the inventor, the application must contain a statement to the effect that the applicant is or, if there are joint applicants, the applicants are entitled to apply for a patent.

The statements referred to above must be included in the petition or submitted in a document other than the abstract, specification or drawings.

5.1 Inventor Information and Establishing entitlement – changes to applicant

The Office takes the position that the requirement to provide a statement relating to entitlement is an ongoing requirement. When amendments are made such that the subject-matter of the invention for which an exclusive privilege or property is claimed changes, applicants are advised to update inventorship and entitlement as needed so that they remain compliant with the Patent Rules. It may also need to be updated when applicant information on record in the Patent Office changes, such as after a transfer is recorded or after a change in identity results from a correction.

5.2 PCT national phase applications – applicant or legal representative

Pursuant to subsection 155(7) of the Patent Rules, in respect of PCT national phase applications, where the Commissioner has reasonable grounds to believe that the person who complied with the requirements to enter national phase in Canada is neither the applicant of the international application nor their legal representative, the Commissioner must require by notice the person who complied with the requirements to enter national phase in Canada to establish that they are either the applicant of the international application or their legal representative.

The person may establish that they are either the applicant of the international application or their legal representative by providing to the Office a PCT/IB/306 form showing a change in the applicant of the international application, an assignment to the person who complied with the requirements to enter national phase in Canada, or a change of name document.

Pursuant to subsection 155(8) of the Patent Rules, where the person does not comply with the notice not later than three months after the date of the notice, that person is deemed never to have complied with the requirements to enter national phase in Canada.

Date modified:

Demandes de brevet conformes

1.0 Demandes de brevet conformes

Une demande de brevet comprend plusieurs parties, mais seulement certaines d'entre elles doivent être soumises au Bureau pour obtenir une date de dépôt. Cependant, toutes les parties de la demande de brevet doivent être soumises peu après la date de dépôt afin d'être conformes aux exigences prescrites dans la Loi sur les brevets et dans les Règles sur les brevets. Chaque partie soumise après le dépôt de la demande et au cours de son traitement jusqu'à ce que le brevet soit délivré ou que la demande soit rejetée comprend aussi des exigences dont la conformité doit être examinée.

Ce document concerne l'examen des exigences relatives à la soumission des parties d'une demande de brevet ou aux déclarations relatives au droit du demandeur, ainsi qu'au moment et à la façon de les examiner. D'autres exigences comme la nouveauté, l'évidence et l'utilité, sont examinées lorsqu'une requête d'examen a été faite. L'examen de ces autres exigences est décrit plus en détail dans le Recueil de pratiques du Bureau des brevets.

Une demande de brevet conforme doit comprendre :

2.0 Avis de non-conformité

Après que la demande de brevet ait obtenu une date de dépôt ou soit entrée à la phase nationale sous le PCT, le Bureau examinera la demande pour déterminer si toutes les parties requises ont été soumises et si elles sont conformes aux exigences prescrites. Si une partie requise est manquante ou qu'une partie soumise n'est pas conforme, le commissaire enverra un avis en vertu de l'article 65 des Règles sur les brevets exigeant que le demandeur se conforme. Le demandeur aura trois mois pour répondre de bonne foi à l'avis pour éviter que sa demande de brevet soit réputée abandonnée en vertu du paragraphe 73(2) de la Loi sur les brevets.

2.1 Avis de non-conformité — réponse à un avis

Le Bureau examinera la réponse à l'avis et évaluera si la réponse rend la demande conforme. Si la demande demeure non conforme suite à la réponse, le commissaire enverra au demandeur un nouvel avis de non-conformité en vertu de l'article 65 des Règles sur les brevets. Le demandeur aura de nouveau trois mois pour répondre de bonne foi à l'avis pour éviter que sa demande de brevet soit réputée abandonnée en vertu du paragraphe 73(2) de la Loi sur les brevets.

3.0 Listage des séquences

Si aucun listage des séquences n'est fourni à la date de dépôt ou d'entrée à la phase nationale, il faudra déterminer, après le dépôt, si un listage des séquences est requis en vertu du paragraphe 58(1). Un listage des séquences fourni à la date de dépôt ou d'entrée à la phase nationale sera examiné pour s'assurer de sa conformité à la norme PCT de listage des séquences et à toute déclaration requise énoncée aux paragraphes 58(3) et (4) des Règles sur les brevets. Si le listage des séquences n'est pas conforme, le commissaire enverra un avis en vertu de l'article 65 des Règles sur les brevets exigeant que le demandeur se conforme à la norme.

S'il est déterminé qu'un listage des séquences est requis pour que la demande de brevet soit conforme, un avis en vertu de l'article 65 des Règles sur les brevets sera envoyé au demandeur. Si le listage des séquences soumis en réponse à la demande de l'examinateur n'est pas conforme à la norme PCT et/ou si l'une des déclarations requises en vertu des paragraphes 58(3) et (4) n'est pas faite, le commissaire enverra un avis en vertu de l'article 65 des Règles sur les brevets exigeant que le demandeur se conforme à la norme.

4.0 Dessins

Si aucun dessin n'est fourni à la date de dépôt ou d'entrée à la phase nationale, il faudra déterminer si des dessins sont requis en vertu du paragraphe 27(5.1) de la Loi sur les brevets. S'il est déterminé que des dessins sont requis pour que la demande de brevet soit conforme, un avis en vertu de l'article 65 des Règles sur les brevets sera envoyé au demandeur.

5.0 Renseignements concernant l'inventeur et établissement du droit

Suivant le paragraphe 54(1) des Règles sur les brevets, la demande doit indiquer le nom et l'adresse postale de chaque inventeur de l'objet de l'invention pour laquelle il y a revendication de privilège exclusif ou de propriété.

Si le demandeur est l'inventeur, la demande doit également comprendre une déclaration portant que le demandeur est l'inventeur unique de l'objet de l'invention pour laquelle il y a une revendication de privilège exclusif ou de propriété ou, s'il y a des codemandeurs, les demandeurs sont tous des inventeurs et les inventeurs uniques de cet objet.

Lorsque le demandeur n'est pas l'inventeur, la demande doit comprendre une déclaration portant que le demandeur est l'inventeur de cet objet. S'il y a des codemandeurs, la demande doit comprendre une déclaration portant que les demandeurs sont les inventeurs de cet objet.

Les déclarations susmentionnées doivent être comprises dans la pétition ou soumises dans un document autre que l'abrégé, le mémoire descriptif ou les dessins.

5.1 Renseignements concernant l'inventeur et établissement du droit — changements relatifs au demandeur

Le Bureau est d'avis que l'exigence de fournir une déclaration relative au droit du demandeur est une exigence permanente. Lorsque des modifications sont apportées de sorte que l'objet de l'invention pour laquelle il y a revendication de privilège exclusif ou de propriété est modifié, les demandeurs sont avisés de mettre à jour, au besoin, la qualité de l'inventeur et le droit du demandeur pour que la demande demeure conforme avec les Règles sur les brevets. Il faudra peut-être également les mettre à jour lorsque des modifications sont apportées aux renseignements concernant le demandeur qui sont inscrits au dossier du Bureau des brevets; par exemple, après l'enregistrement d'un transfert ou un changement d'identité à la suite d'une correction.

5.2 Demande PCT à la phase nationale — demandeur ou représentant légal

Conformément au paragraphe 155(7) des Règles sur les brevets, en ce qui concerne les demandes PCT à la phase nationale, lorsque le commissaire a des motifs raisonnables de croire que la personne s'étant conformée aux exigences de l'entrée à la phase nationale au Canada n'est ni le demandeur de la demande internationale ni son représentant légal, le commissaire doit exiger par avis à la personne s'étant conformée aux exigences d'entrée à la phase nationale au Canada qu'elle établisse qu'elle est le demandeur de la demande internationale ou son représentant légal.

La personne peut établir qu'elle est le demandeur de la demande internationale ou son représentant légal en fournissant au Bureau un formulaire PCT/IB/306 faisant état du changement de demandeur de la demande internationale, une cession à la personne s'étant conformée aux exigences d'entrée à la phase nationale au Canada ou un document relatif à un changement de nom.

Conformément au paragraphe 155(8) des Règles sur les brevets, lorsque la personne ne se conforme pas à l'avis dans les trois mois suivant l'avis, cette personne est jugée ne s'être jamais conformée aux exigences d'entrée à la phase nationale au Canada.

Date de modification :