The due care standard

Recent amendments made to the Patent Act (Act) and the proposed amendments to the Patent Rules (Rules) to implement the Patent Law Treaty (PLT) will introduce a due care standard that must be met by an applicant or patentee before rights can be restored after the following has occurred:

Subject to transitional provisions, when the new legislative provisions come into force, the Commissioner will be required to make a positive determination that a failure has occurred in spite of the due care required by the circumstances having been taken, before rights can be successfully restored following failure to take any action described above.

Transitionals

An applicant requesting reinstatement of an application or reversal of the deemed expiry of a patent following a failure to pay a maintenance fee or a failure to request examination that occurred prior to the coming into force of the amended Patent Act and Rules is not subject to the due care standard. If the failure occurred prior to the coming into force of the amended Patent Act and Rules, sections 46 and 73 of the Act as they read immediately before the coming into force of the amended Patent Act and Rules apply with respect to the restoration of rights.

In order for the Commissioner to make a determination, the applicant or patentee will be required to provide the reasons for the failure to take the action that should have been taken to avoid abandonment of the application or the deemed expiry of the term limited for the duration of the patent. The application will be reinstated or the term limited for the duration of the patent will be reversed if the requirements set out in 73(3)(a) of the Act or paragraphs 46(5)(a), respectively, and are met and if the Commissioner determines, based on the reasons provided by the applicant or patentee, that the failure occurred in spite of the due care required by the circumstances having been taken and informs the applicant of this determination.

Due care standard

When determining whether the failure occurred in spite of the due care required by the circumstances having been taken by applicant or patentee, the Commissioner will assess whether the applicant took all measures that a reasonably prudent applicant / patentee would have taken - given the particular set of circumstances related to the failure- to avoid the failure, and despite taking those measures, the failure occurred. Measures taken by the applicant or patentee after the failure occurred will not be taken into consideration in making the determination. This approach is generally consistent with the approach that is currently used by the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (Office) when acting as a Receiving Office in the context of a request for restoration of priority under the Patent Cooperation Treaty, when that request for restoration of the right of priority is made on the basis that due care required by the circumstances was taken.

Contents of the request

Reinstatement of a Patent Application that is abandonment due to a failure to pay a maintenance fee and a late fee

The applicant must, within 12 months after the date the application was deemed abandoned, meet the following requirements set out in paragraph 73(3)(a) of the Act to reinstate the application:

  1. make a request for reinstatement to the Commissioner,
  2. state the reasons for the failure to pay the prescribed application maintenance fee and the late fee referred to in the notice sent under paragraph 27.1(2)(b) of the Act before the later of the end of six months after the maintenance fee due date and the end of two months after the date of the notice;
  3. take the action that should have been taken in order to avoid the abandonment; and
  4. pay the prescribed fee of $200.00 for reinstatement.

Reinstatement of a Patent Application that is abandoned due to a failure to request examination and failure to pay a late fee

If the request for reinstatement is submitted after 6 months after the prescribed time to request examination, the applicant must meet the following requirements set out in paragraph 73(3)(a) of the Act to reinstate the application before the end of 12 months after the application is deemed abandoned:

  1. make a request for reinstatement to the Commissioner,
  2. state the reasons for the failure to request examination and pay the examination fee and the late fee referred to in the notice sent under paragraph 35(3)(b) of the Act within two months of the date of the notice,
  3. take the action that should have been taken in order to avoid the abandonment; and
  4. pay the prescribed fee of $200.00 for reinstatement.

Reversal of deemed expiry of the term limited for the duration of the patent

The patentee must, within 12 months after the end of six months after maintenance fee due date, meet the following requirements set out in paragraph 46(5)(a) to reverse the deemed expiry of the term limited for the duration of the patent:

  1. make a request to the Commissioner for the term limited for the duration of the patent to never have been deemed to have expired,
  2. state the reasons for the failure to pay the prescribed maintenance fee and late fee before the later of the end of six months after the applicable prescribed date and the end of two months after the date of the notice; and
  3. pay the prescribed maintenance fee, the late fee of $200 and the additional prescribed fee of $200.

Recommended information to include with the request

In order to make a determination of whether the failure occurred in spite of due care required by the circumstances having been taken, the Commissioner will consider the reasons for the failure to act that are provided by the applicant or patentee. In order to assist the Commissioner in making a determination, the Office recommends that the applicant or patentee include, as part of the required reasons for the failure, the following elements in the request for reinstatement or the request for reversal of the deemed expiry of the term limited for the duration of the patent:

The applicant or patentee may also include evidence of the circumstances and reasons for failure such as a medical note, or other relevant affidavits.

A note on sensitive personal information

All documents relating to a patent or patent application submitted by applicants and/or agents are open to public inspection under section 10 of the Act after the confidentiality period is expired and most information is made available online on the Canadian Patents Database. However, the Office will endeavour to prevent making available sensitive personal information on the Canadian Patents Database if a document is expressly identified by the applicant as containing sensitive personal information. Therefore, it is recommended that any sensitive personal information, such as a medical certificate, provided in the content of the request be provided in a separate document than the request and marked as sensitive. For more information on protecting your privacy on the Canadian Patents Database, please visit this webpage.

Office procedure

Determination

The Commissioner will review the reasons for the failure to pay the maintenance fee and the late fee, or the reasons for the failure to request examination in time and pay the late fee to determine whether the failure occurred in spite of due care required by the circumstances having been taken. In making a determination of whether the failure occurred in spite of due care required by the circumstances having been taken, the Commissioner will consider whether anything else could have been reasonably expected to have been done to avoid the failure while taking into consideration the particular set of circumstances surrounding the failure to take the required action. Measures taken by the applicant or patentee after the failure occurred will not be taken into consideration in making the determination. In making this determination, the Commissioner will consider the customary diligence that a prudent party would have exercised in the circumstances.

In making this determination, the Office will have regard to considerations that are taken into account by the International Bureau and Receiving Offices as described in paragraph 166M of the Receiving Office Guidelines (PDF: 6.86 MB; 104 pages) while keeping in mind that no two sets of facts or circumstances will be identical.

In general, in the following circumstances, a determination that a failure occurred in spite of due care required by the circumstances having been taken by the applicant or agent may be made where the agent or applicant demonstrates the due care of a reasonably prudent person that would be required by the circumstances was taken:

In general, the following circumstances may favour a determined that due care required by the circumstances was not taken by the applicant or agent:

Observations

Before any determination is made by the Commissioner under paragraph 46(5)(b) or 73(3)(b) of the Act to the effect that due care required by the circumstances was not taken, the Office will send a letter to the applicant or patentee informing them of the Commissioner's intended determination and providing the applicant or patentee with the opportunity to make observations before the end of one month after the date of the letter.

Proposed service standard

Unless the applicant is informed that the Commissioner intends to determine that due care required by the circumstances was not taken, applicants and patentees can expect a response to a request for reinstatement, including the Commissioner's determination with respect to the due care standard, within two months of receipt of the request in the Office, or two months days from receipt of the last correspondence relating to the request.

Date modified:

La norme de diligence requise

Les récentes modifications apportées à la Loi sur les brevets (la Loi) et les modifications proposées aux Règles sur les brevets (les Règles) aux fins de la mise en œuvre du Traité sur le droit des brevets (PLT) introduiront une norme de diligence requise à laquelle un demandeur ou un breveté devront satisfaire avant que leurs droits puissent être rétablis à la suite des situations suivantes :

Sous réserve des dispositions transitoires, une fois que les nouvelles dispositions législatives entreront en vigueur, le commissaire devra décider avec certitude que l'omission a été commise bien que la diligence requise en l'espèce ait été exercée avant que les droits puissent être rétablis suite à l'omission de prendre l'une quelconque des mesures décrites ci-dessus.

Dispositions transitoires

N'est pas assujetti à la norme de diligence requise tout demandeur qui sollicite le rétablissement d'une demande ou l'annulation de la péremption d'un brevet suite à une omission de payer une taxe de maintien en état ou à une omission de présenter une requête d'examen survenue avant l'entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur les brevets et des Règles sur les brevets modifiées. Si l'une ou l'autre de ces omissions est survenue avant l'entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur les brevets et des Règles sur les brevets modifiées, ce sont les articles 46 et 73 de la Loi dans leur version antérieure à l'entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur les brevets et des Règles sur les brevets modifiées qui s'appliquent à l'égard du rétablissement des droits.

Pour que le commissaire puisse décider si une diligence requise a été exercée, le demandeur ou le breveté devra fournir les raisons à l'origine de l'omission de prendre les mesures qui s'imposaient pour éviter que sa demande soit réputée abandonnée ou que son brevet soit réputé périmé. La demande sera rétablie ou le brevet sera considéré comme n'ayant jamais été périmé s'il est satisfait aux exigences énoncées à l'alinéa 73(3)a) ou à l'alinéa 46(5)a) de la Loi, respectivement, et si le commissaire détermine, d'après les raisons fournies par le demandeur ou le breveté, que l'omission a été commise bien que la diligence requise en l'espèce ait été exercée. Le commissaire informe le demandeur ou le breveté de cette décision.

Norme de diligence requise

Pour décider si l'omission a été commise bien que la diligence requise en l'espèce ait été exercée, le commissaire évaluera si le demandeur ou le breveté a fait toutes les démarches qu'un demandeur ou un breveté raisonnablement prudent aurait faites — dans les circonstances spécifiques entourant l'omission — pour éviter l'omission qui est quand même survenue malgré que ces démarches aient été faites. Les démarches faites par le demandeur ou le breveté après que l'omission soit survenue ne seront pas prises en considération aux fins de cette détermination. De façon générale, cette approche concorde avec l'approche qu'adopte l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (le Bureau) lorsqu'il agit en qualité d'office récepteur dans le contexte d'une requête de restauration du droit de priorité en vertu du Traité de coopération en matière de brevets (PCT), lorsque cette requête de restauration du droit de priorité est fondée sur la présomption qu'une diligence requise en l'espèce a été exercée.

Contenu de la requête en rétablissement

Rétablissement d'une demande de brevet abandonnée en raison de l'omission de payer une taxe de maintien en état et une surtaxe

Pour faire rétablir sa demande, le demandeur doit, dans les douze mois suivant la date à laquelle la demande est réputée abandonnée, satisfaire aux exigences qui sont énoncées à l'alinéa 73(3)a) de la Loi, c'est-à-dire :

  1. présenter au commissaire une requête en rétablissement;
  2. exposer les raisons à l'origine de l'omission de payer la taxe réglementaire pour le maintien en état de la demande ainsi que la surtaxe indiquées dans l'avis donné en vertu de l'alinéa 27.1(2)b) de la Loi avant l'expiration du délai de six mois suivant la date limite de paiement de la taxe de maintien en état ou du délai de deux mois suivant la date de l'avis, selon celui de ces délais qui expire le dernier;
  3. prendre la mesure qui s'imposait pour éviter l'abandon; et
  4. payer la taxe de rétablissement réglementaire de 200 $.

Rétablissement d'une demande de brevet abandonnée en raison de l'omission de présenter une requête d'examen et de payer une surtaxe

Si la requête en rétablissement est soumise plus de six mois après l'expiration du délai prescrit pour présenter une requête d'examen, le demandeur doit, pour faire rétablir sa demande, satisfaire aux exigences énoncées à l'alinéa 73(3)a) dans les douze mois suivant la date à laquelle la demande est réputée abandonnée, c'est-à-dire :

  1. présenter au commissaire une requête en rétablissement;
  2. exposer les raisons à l'origine de l'omission de présenter une requête d'examen et de payer la taxe d'examen ainsi que la surtaxe indiquées dans l'avis donné en vertu de l'alinéa 35(3)b) de la Loi dans les deux mois suivant la date de l'avis;
  3. prendre la mesure qui s'imposait pour éviter l'abandon; et
  4. payer la taxe de rétablissement réglementaire de 200 $.

Annulation de la péremption d'un brevet

Pour faire annuler la péremption d'un brevet, le demandeur doit, dans les douze mois suivant l'expiration du délai de six mois suivant la date limite de paiement de la taxe de maintien en état, satisfaire aux exigences énoncées à l'alinéa 46(5)a) de la Loi, c'est-à-dire :

  1. présenter au commissaire une requête pour obtenir que le brevet n'ait jamais été réputé périmé;
  2. exposer les raisons à l'origine de l'omission de payer la taxe de maintien en état réglementaire ainsi que la surtaxe avant l'expiration du délai de six mois suivant la date réglementaire applicable ou du délai de deux mois suivant la date de l'avis, selon celui de ces délais qui expire le dernier;
  3. payer la taxe de maintien en état réglementaire, la surtaxe de 200 $ et la taxe réglementaire additionnelle de 200 $.

Renseignements à inclure dans la requête en rétablissement

Pour décider si l'omission a été commise bien que la diligence requise en l'espèce ait été exercée, le commissaire examinera les raisons à l'origine du défaut d'agir fournies par le demandeur ou le breveté. Afin d'aider le commissaire à faire cette détermination, le Bureau recommande que le demandeur ou le breveté inclue, dans le cadre des raisons à l'origine de l'omission, les éléments suivants dans sa requête en rétablissement ou sa demande d'annulation de la péremption du brevet :

Le demandeur ou le breveté peut également inclure des éléments de preuve confirmant l'existence des circonstances alléguées ou des raisons à l'origine de l'omission, tels qu'un certificat médical ou des affidavits pertinents.

Remarque concernant les renseignements personnels de nature délicate

Tous les documents relatifs à un brevet ou à une demande de brevet soumis par les demandeurs et/ou leurs agents deviennent accessibles pour consultation conformément à l'article 10 de la Loi après l'expiration de la période de non-consultation, et la majorité des renseignements fournis sont accessibles en ligne dans la Base de données sur les brevets canadiens. Toutefois, si un document est spécifiquement identifié par le demandeur comme contenant des renseignements personnels de nature délicate, le Bureau s'efforcera de ne pas rendre ces renseignements personnels de nature délicate accessibles en ligne via la Base de données sur les brevets canadiens. Par conséquent, il est recommandé que les documents contenant des renseignements personnels de nature délicate, tels qu'un certificat médical, soient identifiés comme tels et soumis sous pli distinct, c'est-à-dire séparément de la requête en rétablissement. Pour en savoir plus sur la protection de votre confidentialité dans la Base de données sur les brevets canadiens, veuillez consulter cette page Web.

Procédure du Bureau

Décision

Afin de décider si l'omission a été commise bien que la diligence requise en l'espèce ait été exercée, le commissaire examinera les raisons à l'origine de l'omission de payer la taxe de maintien en état et la surtaxe, ou les raisons à l'origine de l'omission de présenter une requête d'examen avant l'expiration du délai prescrit et de payer la surtaxe. À cette fin, le commissaire décidera si l'on aurait raisonnablement pu s'attendre à ce que d'autres démarches soient faites afin de prévenir l'omission et tiendra compte des circonstances spécifiques entourant l'omission de prendre la mesure qui s'imposait. Les démarches faites par le demandeur ou le breveté après que l'omission soit survenue ne seront pas prises en considération aux fins de cette décision. Aux fins de cette décision, le commissaire tiendra compte de la diligence habituelle dont une personne prudente aurait fait preuve dans les circonstances.

Aux fins de cette décision, le Bureau tiendra compte des facteurs pris en considération par le Bureau international et les offices récepteurs qui sont décrits au paragraphe 166M des Directives à l'usage des offices récepteurs du PCT (PDF : 6,59 Mo; 112 pages) tout en gardant à l'esprit que les faits et les circonstances qui entourent chaque omission ne sont jamais identiques.

En règle générale, dans les circonstances énumérées ci-dessous, le commissaire décidera que l'omission a été commise par le demandeur ou son agent, bien que la diligence requise en l'espèce, si l'agent ou le demandeur démontre que la « diligence requise » dont aurait fait preuve une personne raisonnablement prudente a été exercée :

En règle générale, dans les circonstances énumérées ci-dessous, le commissaire décidera que la « diligence requise » en l'espèce n'a pas été exercée par le demandeur ou son agent :

Observations

Avant que toute décision soit prise par le commissaire au titre des alinéas 46(5)b) ou 73(3)b) de la Loi à l'effet que la diligence requise en l'espèce n'a pas été exercée, le Bureau enverra une lettre au demandeur ou au breveté pour l'informer que le commissaire entend prendre cette décision et lui offrir la possibilité de présenter des observations dans le mois suivant la date de la lettre.

Norme de service proposée

Sauf lorsque le demandeur est informé que le commissaire entend décider que la diligence requise en l'espèce n'a pas été exercée, les demandeurs et les brevetés peuvent s'attendre à recevoir une réponse à leur requête en rétablissement, y compris la décision du commissaire en ce qui concerne la norme de diligence requise, dans les deux mois suivant la réception par le Bureau de leur requête en rétablissement ou dans les deux mois suivant la réception par le Bureau de la dernière pièce de correspondance concernant la requête en rétablissement.

Date de modification :