Filing Requirements

Introduction

This document focuses on the documents and information that must be submitted in order to secure a filing date for a regular filed patent application.

1.0 Requirements to obtain a filing date for a patent application

In order to secure a filing date under subsection 28(1) of the Patent Act, an applicant is required to provide the following documents and information, as prescribed by section 71 of the Patent Rules:

  1. an indication that the elements submitted are intended to be an application for a patent;
  2. information which allows the applicant to be identified;
  3. information which allows the applicant to be contacted ; and
  4. a document, in any language, that on the face of it appears to be a description.

When the prescribed documents and information are submitted on different dates, the filing date accorded to the patent application will be the latest of those dates.

Submitting an application fee is not a requirement to secure a filing date for your patent application. If the application fee is not submitted when the patent application is filed, the Commissioner will send the applicant a notice, as required by subsection 27(7) of the Patent Act, requiring the submission of the application fee and the late fee within three months of the date of the notice. If the application fee and late fee are not submitted within the 3 months from the date of the notice, the application will be deemed withdrawn pursuant to subsection 66(1) of the Patent Rules.

1.1 Failure to provide all of the information and/or documents to secure a filing date.

If any of the required documents and/or information is not contained in the application, the applicant will be notified, as required by subsection 28(2) of the Patent Act, of any document(s) or information that are missing. The applicant will be required to submit the outstanding documents or information within two months after the date of the notice.

If the applicant submits the outstanding documents or information within two months after the date of the notice, the filing date accorded to the patent application will be the latest date where they were submitted.

If the applicant does not submit the missing documents and information within that two-month period after the date of the notice, the application will be deemed to never have been filed pursuant to 28(3) of the Patent Act.

1.2 Description provided in a language other than English or French

Although the document describing the invention does not need to be in English or French for establishing a filing date, the applicant is required to submit a translation into English or French of any part of the specification or the drawings that, on the filing date, is not entirely in English or French. If the required translation is not submitted, the Commissioner will send the applicant a notice, as required by subsection 15(4) of the Patent Rules, requiring the submission of the translated document within two months of the date of the notice.

If the applicant submits the translation within the two-month period after the notice is sent, the translation will replace the original document. If a translation is not submitted within the required time the application will be deemed to be abandoned under 73(2) of the Patent Act as prescribed by subsection 133(a) of the Patent Rules. For more information please consult the document regarding abandonment and reinstatement.

1.3 Providing a reference to a previously filed application for patent (to secure a filing date)

1.3.1 Reference statement

Pursuant to subsection 27.01 of the Patent Act, in order to secure a filing date, an applicant may choose to submit a reference statement, in English or French, to the effect that a reference to a specified previously filed application for a patent is being submitted instead of all or part of the specification or drawings required to be contained in the application.

Pursuant to subsection 27.01 of the Patent Act and paragraph 67(2)(a) of the Patent Rules, the reference statement must include the following information regarding the previously filed application:

  1. the statement referred to in subsection 27.01 (1) of the Patent Act must indicate the name of the country or office of filing of the previously filed application; and
    1. if the number of the previously filed application for a patent is known, the statement must indicate the number of the previously filed application, and
    2. if the number of the previously filed application for a patent is not known, the statement must indicate:
      1. the provisional number for the previously filed application given by that office,
      2. the date on which the previously filed application was sent to that office, and the statement must be accompanied by a copy of the request portion of the application, or
      3. the reference number given to the previously filed application by the applicant and indicated in it, the name and postal address of the applicant, the title of the invention and the date on which the previously filed application was sent to that office; and
  2. if the previously filed application for a patent was not filed in or for Canada, the application must, not later than two months after the date of the submission of that statement, either:
    1. submit to the Commissioner a copy of the previously filed application for a patent, or
    2. make a copy of the previously filed application available to the Commissioner in a digital library that is specified by the Commissioner as being accepted for that purpose, and inform the Commissioner that it is so available.

The prescribed period to make a complete reference statement begins the date on which we receive any document to receive a filing date and ends the earlier of:

  1. two months from receipt of the earliest document or information required for establishing a filing date or, if a notice is sent under subsection 28(2) Patent Act, two months after the date of the notice; and,
  2. the filing date.

This prescribed time period also restricts that a reference statement can't be made to submit a divisional application. Add consequence of not complying with this, deemed never to have filed.

1.3.2 Copy of the previously filed application

If the previously filed application was not filed in Canada, the applicant will be required, pursuant to paragraph 67(2)(b) of the Patent Rules, within two months from the submission of the statement, to submit a copy of the previously filed application to the office or make a copy of the previously filed application available to the Commissioner in a digital library that is specified by the Commissioner and inform the Commissioner that the copy is available.

1.3.3 Copy of the previously filed application is not in English or French

If the previously filed application is in a language other than English or French a translation into English or French must be provided. If the required translation is not submitted when the copy of the previously filed application is submitted, the Commissioner will send the applicant a notice, pursuant to subsection 15(2) of the Patent Rules, requiring the submission of the translated document within two months of the date of the notice.

Failure to provide the translation of the previously filed application will result in the application being deemed abandoned pursuant to paragraph 133(a) of the Patent Rules. Once an application is abandoned, the applicant can reinstate the application. For more information please consult the document regarding abandonment and reinstatement.

If the applicant meets all the requirements, the specification or drawing in the previously filed application are deemed to have been contained in the application on the date on which the statement is received and this will be the filing date of the patent application.

1.4 Addition to specification or addition of drawing

If an application is missing a part of the specification or a drawing referred to in the application, the applicant may add the missing part to their application by submitting the addition along with a statement indicating that the addition is made under section 28.01 of the Patent Act. If within two months after the earliest date on which the Commissioner receives any document or information under subsection 28(1) of the Patent Rules, the Commissioner finds that part of the description or a drawing appears to be missing, they must notify the applicant of the missing element.

1.4.1 Prescribed time period for addition

Applicants have two months from the earliest date on which the Commissioner receives any document or information required for establishing a filing date, pursuant to subsection 28(1) of the Patent Act, to add the missing part to the application.

If the Commissioner notifies the applicant of a missing part, the applicant must make the addition before the earlier of:

  1. the end of two months after the date of the notice, and
  2. the end of the six months after the date on which the Commissioner receives any document or information pursuant to subsection 28(1) of the Patent Act.

1.4.2 Effect on filing date

If the missing part and drawing are completely contained in a prior application on which priority has been requested, the applicant may submit the missing information without affecting the filing date.

In order to secure the original filing date, the applicant will have to ensure the following, under subsection 28.01(2):

  1. The applicant has, on the earliest date the Commissioner received any document or information under subsection 28(1) or the Patent Act, made a request for priority in respect of that application under section 28.4 of the Patent Act;
  2. The addition is completely contained in a previously filed application on which the request is based;
  3. The applicant requests that the filing date be the filing date referred to in subsection 28(1) of the Patent Act; and
  4. Complies with any other prescribed requirements.

If the prior application was not filed in Canada the applicant is required to either provide a copy of the prior application or make a copy available to the Commissioner in a digital library that is specified by the Commissioner as being acceptable.

If any part of that prior application is in a language other than English or French, the applicant is required to provide a translation in English or French of that part. They must also indicate where in that prior application or in the translation the addition is contained.

Where the parts being added are not contained in a prior application on which priority has been requested, and the request is not withdrawn before the prescribed date, the missing parts will be added to the application and the filing date will be the later of the date on which the addition is received and the filing date (where other filing requirements have not been met before the addition of the missing part is requested). Consequence is an amended filing certificate.

Considering the short timelines, the Office will expedite the assessment of whether or not the parts being added are contained in the priority application. The Office will do its best to inform applicants rapidly if they are not to give the applicant the opportunity to withdraw the addition and maintain the original filing date.

Since the potential consequence of an addition to the specification may result in a later filing date, applicants should ensure their original submission of their patent application is complete and free of errors.

The Patent Rules also indicate that addition of missing parts does not apply to divisional applications.

Date modified:

Exigences de dépôt

Introduction

Ce document concerne les documents et les renseignements qui doivent être soumis pour obtenir une date de dépôt pour une demande de brevet déposée de façon régulière.

1.0 Exigences pour obtenir une date de dépôt pour une demande de brevet

Pour obtenir une date de dépôt en vertu du paragraphe 28(1) de la Loi sur les brevets, un demandeur doit fournir les documents et les renseignements suivants, comme l'exige l'article 71 des Règles sur les brevets :

  1. une indication portant que les éléments soumis se rapportent à une demande de brevet;
  2. des renseignements permettant d'identifier le demandeur;
  3. des renseignements permettant de communiquer avec le demandeur; et
  4. un document, en quelque langue que ce soit, qui, à première vue, semble être une description.

Lorsque les documents et les renseignements prescrits sont soumis à différentes dates, la date de dépôt de la demande de brevet est la dernière de ces dates.

Le paiement de la taxe de dépôt n'est pas exigé pour obtenir une date de dépôt pour une demande de brevet. Si la taxe de dépôt n'est pas payée lorsque la demande de brevet est déposée, le commissaire enverra au demandeur un avis, en vertu du paragraphe 27(7) de la Loi sur les brevets, exigeant le paiement de la taxe de dépôt et la surtaxe dans les trois mois suivant la date de l'avis. Si la taxe de dépôt et la surtaxe ne sont pas payées dans les trois mois suivant la date de l'avis, la demande sera réputée retirée conformément au paragraphe 66(1) des Règles sur les brevets.

1.1 Omission de produire tous les renseignements et/ou les documents pour obtenir une date de dépôt.

Si l'un ou l'autre des documents et/ou des renseignements requis n'est pas inclus dans la demande, le demandeur sera avisé, comme l'exige le paragraphe 28(2) de la Loi sur les brevets, de tout document ou renseignement manquant. Le demandeur devra soumettre les documents ou les renseignements manquants dans les deux mois suivant la date de l'avis.

Si le demandeur soumet les documents ou les renseignements manquants dans les deux mois suivant la date de l'avis, la date de dépôt de la demande de brevet sera la dernière date à laquelle ils ont été soumis.

Si le demandeur ne soumet pas les documents ou les renseignements manquants dans les deux mois suivant la date de l'avis, la demande sera réputée n'avoir jamais été déposée en vertu du paragraphe 28(3) de la Loi sur les brevets.

1.2 Description fournie dans une langue autre que l'anglais ou le français

Bien que le document décrivant l'invention n'ait pas besoin d'être rédigé en anglais ou en français pour établir une date de dépôt, le demandeur doit soumettre une traduction en anglais ou en français de toute partie du mémoire descriptif ou des dessins qui, à la date de dépôt, n'est pas entièrement en anglais ou en français. Si la traduction requise n'est pas soumise, le commissaire enverra un avis au demandeur, comme l'exige le paragraphe 15(4) des Règles sur les brevets, exigeant la soumission du document traduit dans les deux mois suivant la date de l'avis.

Si le demandeur soumet la traduction dans le délai de deux mois suivant l'envoi de l'avis, la traduction remplacera le document original. Si aucune traduction n'est soumise dans le délai prescrit, la demande sera réputée abandonnée en vertu du paragraphe 73(2) de la Loi sur les brevets, comme l'exige le paragraphe 133a) des Règles sur les brevets. Veuillez consulter le document de consultation sur l'abandon et le rétablissement pour de plus amples renseignements.

1.3 Production d'un renvoi à une demande de brevet déposée antérieurement (pour obtenir une date de dépôt)

1.3.1 Déclaration relative au renvoi

Conformément au paragraphe 27.01 de la Loi sur les brevets, pour obtenir une date de dépôt, un demandeur peut choisir de soumettre une déclaration relative au renvoi, en anglais ou en français, énonçant que le renvoi à une demande de brevet déposée antérieurement qu'il précise tient lieu de tout ou partie des dessins ou du mémoire descriptif devant être compris dans sa demande.

Conformément au paragraphe 27.01 de la Loi sur les brevets et à l'alinéa 67(2)a) des Règles sur les brevets, la déclaration relative au renvoi doit comprendre les renseignements suivants concernant la demande déposée antérieurement :

  1. la déclaration mentionnée au paragraphe 27.01 (1) de la Loi sur les brevets doit indiquer le nom du pays ou du bureau où la demande antérieure a été déposée; et
    1. si le numéro de la demande de brevet déposée antérieurement est connu, la déclaration doit indiquer le numéro de la demande déposée antérieurement;
    2. si le numéro de la demande de brevet déposée antérieurement n'est pas connu, la déclaration doit indiquer :
      1. le numéro provisoire de la demande déposée antérieurement attribué par ce bureau;
      2. la date à laquelle la demande déposée antérieurement a été envoyée à ce bureau; la déclaration doit également être accompagnée d'une copie de la partie de la demande concernant la requête; ou
      3. le numéro de référence attribué à la demande déposée antérieurement par le demandeur, lequel est également indiqué dans la demande, ainsi que le nom et l'adresse postale du demandeur, le titre de l'invention et la date à laquelle la demande déposée antérieurement a été envoyée à ce bureau; et
  2. si la demande de brevet déposée antérieurement n'a pas été déposée au Canada ou à l'intention du Canada, le demandeur doit, dans les deux mois suivant la date de soumission de la déclaration :
    1. soumettre au commissaire une copie de la demande de brevet déposée antérieurement; ou
    2. rendre une copie de la demande déposée antérieurement accessible au commissaire dans l'une des bibliothèques numériques désignées par le commissaire comme acceptées à cette fin, et informer le commissaire que la copie est ainsi accessible pour consultation.

Le délai prescrit pour faire une déclaration complète relative au renvoi commence à la date à laquelle tout document visant l'obtention d'une date de dépôt est reçu, et se termine à la première date entre :

  1. deux mois suivant la réception du premier document ou renseignement requis pour l'établissement d'une date de dépôt, ou si un avis est envoyé en vertu du paragraphe 28(2) de la Loi sur les brevets, deux mois suivant la date de l'avis; et
  2. la date de dépôt.

Le délai prescrit évite également qu'une déclaration relative à un renvoi soit faite pour soumettre une demande divisionnaire. À défaut de s'y conformer, la demande est réputée n'avoir jamais été déposée.

1.3.2 Copie de la demande déposée antérieurement

Si la demande déposée antérieurement n'a pas été déposée au Canada, le demandeur doit, conformément à l'alinéa 67(2)b) des Règles sur les brevets, dans les deux mois suivant la soumission de la déclaration, soumettre au bureau une copie de la demande déposée antérieurement ou rendre une copie de la demande déposée antérieurement accessible au commissaire dans l'une des bibliothèques numériques désignées par le commissaire comme acceptées à cette fin, et informer le commissaire que la copie est ainsi accessible pour consultation.

1.3.3 Copie de la demande déposée antérieurement dans une langue autre que l'anglais ou le français

Si la demande déposée antérieurement est dans une langue autre que l'anglais ou le français, une traduction en anglais ou en français doit être fournie. Si la traduction requise n'est pas soumise en même temps que la copie de la demande déposée antérieurement, le commissaire enverra un avis au demandeur, conformément au paragraphe 15(2) des Règles sur les brevets, exigeant la soumission du document traduit dans les deux mois suivant la date de l'avis.

L'omission de fournir la traduction de la demande déposée antérieurement entraînera l'abandon réputé de la demande, conformément à l'alinéa 133a) des Règles sur les brevets. Lorsqu'une demande est abandonnée, le demandeur peut rétablir la demande. Veuillez consulter le document de consultation sur l'abandon et le rétablissement pour de plus amples renseignements.

Si le demandeur satisfait à toutes les exigences, le mémoire descriptif ou les dessins dans la demande déposée antérieurement sont réputés avoir été inclus dans la demande à la date à laquelle la déclaration est reçue. Il s'agira alors de la date de dépôt de la demande de brevet.

1.4 Ajout au mémoire descriptif ou ajout de dessins

S'il manque une partie du mémoire descriptif ou un ou des dessins mentionnés dans la demande, le demandeur peut ajouter l'élément manquant à sa demande en soumettant l'élément ajouté, accompagné d'une déclaration selon laquelle l'ajout est fait en vertu de l'article 28.01 de la Loi sur les brevets. Si dans les deux mois suivant la date la plus ancienne à laquelle le commissaire a reçu tout document ou renseignement en vertu du paragraphe 28(1) des Règles sur les brevets, le commissaire estime qu'une partie du mémoire descriptif ou un dessin semble manquer, il doit aviser le demandeur de l'élément manquant.

1.4.1 Délai prescrit pour l'ajout

Les demandeurs ont deux mois suivant la date la plus ancienne à laquelle le commissaire a reçu tout document ou renseignement requis pour établir une date de dépôt, conformément au paragraphe 28(1) de la Loi sur les brevets, pour ajouter l'élément manquant à la demande.

Si le commissaire avise le demandeur d'un élément manquant, le demandeur doit en faire l'ajout avant la date la plus ancienne de :

  1. la fin du délai de deux mois suivant la date de l'avis, et
  2. la fin du délai de six mois suivant la date à laquelle le commissaire a reçu tout document ou renseignement, conformément au paragraphe 28(1) de la Loi sur les brevets.

1.4.2 Incidence sur la date de dépôt

Si la partie manquante et le(s) dessins manquants sont compris en totalité dans une demande antérieure sur laquelle une demande de priorité est fondée, le demandeur peut soumettre les renseignements manquants sans que cela ait d'incidence sur la date de dépôt.

Pour obtenir la date de date de dépôt originale, le demandeur devra s'assurer de ce qui suit, en vertu du paragraphe 28.01(2) :

  1. Le demandeur a, à la date la plus ancienne à laquelle le commissaire a reçu tout document ou renseignement en vertu du paragraphe 28(1) de la Loi sur les brevets, présenté une demande de priorité à l'égard de cette demande, en vertu de l'article 28.4 de la Loi sur les brevets;
  2. l'élément ajouté est compris en totalité dans la demande déposée antérieurement sur laquelle la demande est fondée;
  3. le demandeur demande que la date de dépôt soit la date de dépôt mentionnée au paragraphe 28(1) de la Loi sur les brevets; et
  4. se conformer à toute autre exigence prescrite.

Si la demande antérieure n'a pas été déposée au Canada, le demandeur doit fournir une copie de la demande antérieure ou rendre une copie accessible au commissaire dans une des bibliothèques numériques désignées par le commissaire comme acceptées à cette fin.

Si une partie de la demande antérieure est dans une langue autre que l'anglais ou le français, le demandeur doit fournir une traduction en anglais ou en français de cette partie. Il doit également indiquer à quel endroit dans la demande antérieure ou dans la traduction l'élément ajouté est compris.

Lorsque les éléments ajoutés ne sont pas compris dans une demande antérieure pour laquelle une priorité a été demandée et que la demande n'est pas retirée avant la date prescrite, les éléments manquants seront ajoutés à la demande, et la date de dépôt sera la date la plus tardive entre la date à laquelle l'ajout est reçu et la date du dépôt (lorsque d'autres exigences de dépôt n'ont pas été respectées avant que l'ajout de l'élément manquant soit demandé). Cela entraînera la modification du certificat de dépôt.

Considérant le court délai, le Bureau accélérera l'examen pour savoir si les éléments ajoutés sont compris ou non dans la demande de priorité. Le Bureau s'efforcera d'informer rapidement le demandeur afin de lui donner l'occasion de retirer l'élément ajouté et de maintenir la date de dépôt originale.

Comme un ajout au mémoire descriptif peut entraîner une date de dépôt plus tardive, le demandeur doit s'assurer que la soumission originale de sa demande de brevet est complète et exempte d'erreurs.

Les Règles sur les brevets indiquent également que l'ajout d'éléments manquants ne s'applique pas aux demandes divisionnaires.

Date de modification :