Written Communications Procedures

This section provides guidance on the procedures for written communications with the Commissioner of Patents and the Patent Office.

1.0. General requirements for submission of written communications

All written communications must be addressed to the attention of the Commissioner of Patents (section 6 of the Patent Rules).

A person doing business with the Patent Office via written communication must always provide their postal address. (section 7 of the Patent Rules)

Each piece of written communication must pertain to a single patent application or patent and at a minimum, it must identify the application/patent number and the applicant/patentee name(s). (sections 8 and 9 of the Patent Rules)

1.1. Exception for communications relating to more than one application or patent

Written communications are permitted to relate to more than a single patent application or patent if the communication pertains to the following:

  1. changes in name and address,
  2. transfers,
  3. requests to register documents,
  4. payment of maintenance fees,
  5. appointments or revocations of agent, or
  6. correction of an error, if the error is the same in each application or patent.

(subsection 8(2) of the Patent Rules)

1.2. Exception identifying the patent application number

If the patent application number is not known (ex. in cases where the national phase of a Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) application has not yet entered the national phase or an application number has not yet been assigned), then sufficient information must be given in order to identify that application. The Patent Office will do its best to identify the patent application with the information provided. Please note however that the Patent Office databases have limited search functions and we encourage clients to provide as much information as possible when the application number is not known. (subsection 9(1) of the Patent Rules)

1.3. Who can communicate with the Office

There are specific requirements in the Patent Rules regarding who can communicate with the Office with respect to patent applications and patents for the purposes of various actions. Please see the section on Representation for more information.

2.0 Physical Delivery of Written Communications

Written communications may be physically delivered to the Patent Office by mail, in person, or to a designated establishment only as outlined in the section below. (section 10 of the Patent Rules)

For information on the date of receipt accorded to documents, information or fees, please see the Time document.

2.1 Regular Mail or In Person

Written communications addressed to the Commissioner of Patent can be sent by mail or delivered in-person to the Patent Office during ordinary business hours at the following address:

Canadian Intellectual Property Office
Place du Portage I
50 Victoria Street, Room C-114
Gatineau QC K1A 0C9

Please be advised that once communications are received by CIPO they cannot be returned to the sender, even if the sender states that the communication was sent by mistake. When submitting a fee, the Office recommends that the Fee Payment Form should be submitted as a covering document and should be the only document submitted to CIPO that contains financial information, such as credit card numbers.

2.2. Designated Establishments – Regional Offices of ISED

Written communications addressed to the Commissioner of Patents may also be delivered in-person, in a sealed envelope, at the following designated establishments for the purposes of section 10 of the Patent Rules.

These offices are open 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (local time), Monday to Friday (except statutory holidays) in the following locations:

2.3. Designated Establishment – Registered Mail™ and Xpresspost™ services of Canada Post

Written communications addressed to the Commissioner of Patents may also be sent via the Registered Mail™ and Xpresspost™ services of Canada Post which are designated establishments for the purposes of the Patent Rules. (section 10 of the Patent Rules)

3.0 Electronic means for submission of written communications

Written communications addressed to the Commissioner of Patents may be submitted using the electronic means only as provided for in this document. Written communications sent online or by facsimile constitutes the original; therefore a duplicate paper copy should not be forwarded.

3.1 Online

Written communications addressed to the Commissioner of Patents may be sent electronically using the relevant links below:

3.1.1. Canada as Receiving Office under the PCT: PCT-SAFE

Pursuant to PCT Rule 89bis, CIPO, in its role as a Receiving Office, accepts the electronic filing of an international application prepared using the latest version of the WIPO's PCT-Safe software and applications prepared using WIPO's ePCT online service. Filing in both cases must be done using CIPO's International Filing e-service called PCT E-Filing.

Note: Communications related to PCT international applications cannot be sent electronically to CIPO using any of the other online submission means outlined above. Alternatively communications related to PCT international applications may be physically delivered by regular mail, in person, to a designated establishment or submitted by facsimile as outlined in this document.

3.2 Facsimile

Facsimile correspondence addressed to the Commissioner of Patents may be sent to the following facsimile numbers:

Facsimile correspondence that is sent to any facsimile number other than those indicated above, including those of a designated establishment, will be deemed not to have been received.

The electronic transmittal report returned to you following your facsimile transmission will constitute your acknowledgment receipt. Confidentiality of the facsimile transmission process cannot be guaranteed. Please note that CIPO strongly discourages the use of a computer facsimile interface or internet-based facsimile services due to technical issues with reception.

When submitting a document by facsimile that also has a fee requirement, notification of the preferred mode of payment to be applied must be prominently displayed on the Fee Payment Form to ensure expedient processing.

4.0 Electronic forms of submission

The following section outlines other electronic forms for submission of documents, information and fees that may be used in accordance with section 8.1 of the Patent Act, and for the purposes of subsections 10(1), 10(4), 58(1), and 58(4) of the Patent Rules. The Office will accept documents initially filed in other formats provided they are viewable with the software "Stellent Quick View Plus 8.0.0". In these cases, the Office will request the documents to be replaced by documents in PDF or TIFF and the submission of a statement to the effect that the replacement documents are the same as the documents initially filed.

4.1 General requirements for submission of electronic forms

Documents submitted in an electronic form should contain a cover letter and a table of contents which will be date stamped by the Office and placed in the application file.

When submitted in an electronic form, the parts of the application must be broken down in individual files, each being no larger than 25 megabytes.

The Patent Office will accept 3.5 inch diskette, CD-ROM, CD-R, DVD, DVD-R and any format as specified in Annex F of the PCT Administration Instructions.

The electronic medium must also be free of worms, viruses or other malicious content. Files with malicious content will be deleted.

4.2 Types of electronic forms for submission

The Patent Office will accept files in the TIFF, PDF and ASCII format when they comply with the following specifications:

TIFF Format:

PDF Format:

ASCII

4.3 Electronic format requirements for sequence listings

With regards to sequence listings under section 58 of the Patent Rules, if the disclosure of a patent application contains a sequence listing other than identified in the prior art, that sequence listing must be presented in electronic form and in compliance with the PCT sequence listing standard.Footnote 1

4.3.1 Electronic Filing of Sequence Listings in the Receiving Office under PCT

Pursuant to PCT Rules 89bis and 89ter, and in accordance with Part 7 of the PCT Administrative Instructions, where an international application contains disclosure of one or more nucleotide and/or amino acid sequence listings, CIPO, in its role as a receiving Office, accepts that the sequence listing part of the description and/or any table related to the sequence listing(s) be filed, at the option of the applicant:

The sequence listing part of an international application filed in electronic form and related tables filed in electronic form shall comply with the relevant provisions of Annex C of the PCT Administrative Instructions respectively.

For this purpose the Canadian receiving Office will accept any electronic media specified in Annex F of the PCT Administrative Instructions. Where both the sequence listing and the tables are filed in electronic form, the listing and the tables shall be contained on separate electronic media, which shall contain no other programs or files.

For the purpose of processing the international application, the Canadian receiving Office requires two (2) additional copies of the electronic media containing the sequence listing and/or tables in electronic form, accompanied by a statement that the sequence listings and/or tables contained in the copies are identical to those in electronic form as filed.

For further details concerning the filing of sequence listings and/or tables in electronic form, including the labeling of the electronic media and the calculation of the international filing fee, refer to section 7 of the PCT Administrative Instructions.

5.0 Written Communications from the Commissioner of Patents or the Patent Office

The Commissioner of Patents or Patent Office will send written communications to persons doing business before the Patent Office at the address provided in accordance with the Patent Rules. By default, the Office will send written communications to the postal address provided unless the person with whom the Office is corresponding provides both their email address and authorization to send written communications to the latter. (section 7 of the Patent Rules)

5.1 Exceptions – Written Communications sent before Removal or Refusal from Register of Agents

Under uncommon circumstances patent agents may be removed from the register (subsection 23(2) of the Patent Rules) or refused recognition from the Commissioner (section 16 of the Act).

Any written communications sent to the removed or refused agent in the four month period preceding the removal or refusal that has not been responded to, is deemed not sent (section 11 of the Patent Rules).

In practical terms, the applicant will be advised of the removal or refusal of their agent and any written communications sent in the preceding four months will be resent to the applicant. The applicant may also receive a notice requiring an appointment of agent if an agent is required.

Date modified:

Procédures de communications écrites

Toutes les activités liées aux demandes de brevet et aux brevets présentées au Bureau des brevets doivent se faire par écrit. La présente section renferme des directives sur les procédures de communications écrites adressées au commissaire aux brevets et au Bureau des brevets.

1.0. Exigences générales relatives à la fourniture de communications écrites

Toutes les communications écrites doivent être adressées au commissaire aux brevets (article 6 des Règles sur les brevets).

Une personne faisant affaire avec le Bureau des brevets par écrit doit toujours fournir son adresse postale (article 7 des Règles sur les brevets).

Chaque communication écrite doit porter sur une seule demande de brevet ou un seul brevet et, à tout le moins, doit indiquer le numéro de la demande ou du brevet et le nom du demandeur ou du breveté (articles 8 et 9 des Règles sur les brevets).

1.1. Exception pour des communications relatives à plus d'une demande ou plus d'un brevet

Les communications écrites peuvent se rapporter à plus d'une demande de brevet ou plus d'un brevet si elles concernent :

  1. un changement de nom ou d'adresse;
  2. un transfert;
  3. un enregistrement de document;
  4. un paiement de la taxe pour le maintien en état;
  5. la nomination ou la révocation d'un agent;
  6. la correction d'une erreur, si l'erreur est la même dans chacune des demandes ou chacun des brevets visé(e)s.

(Paragraphe 8(2) des Règles sur les brevets)

1.2. Exception relativement à l'identification d'une demande de brevet

Si le numéro de la demande de brevet n'est pas connu (p. ex., lorsqu‘une demande en vertu du Traité de coopération en matière de brevets (PCT) n'est pas encore entrée en phase nationale ou qu'un numéro de demande n'a pas encore été attribué), il faut alors fournir suffisamment de renseignements pour identifier cette demande. Le Bureau des brevets fera de son mieux afin d'identifier la demande de brevet avec les informations fournies. Sachez cependant que les bases de données du Bureau des brevets ont des fonctions de recherche limitées et nous encourageons les clients à fournir le plus de renseignements d'identification possible lorsque le numéro de demande n'est pas connu (paragraphe 9(1) des Règles sur les brevets).

1.3. Qui peut communiquer avec le Bureau des brevets

Les Règles sur les brevets renferment des précisions particulières quant aux personnes qui sont autorisées à communiquer avec le Bureau au sujet d'une demande de brevet ou d'un brevet pour diverses fins. Veuillez consulter la section « Représentation » pour en savoir plus.

2.0. Remise physique des communications écrites

Les communications écrites peuvent être livrées par remise physique soit au Bureau des brevets, par courrier ordinaire ou en personne, soit à un établissement désigné, conformément à la section ci-dessous (article 10 des Règles sur les brevets).

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur la date de réception accordée aux documents ou de l'information sur les taxes, veuillez consulter le document relatif aux délais.

2.1 Courrier ordinaire ou en personne

Les communications écrites adressées au commissaire aux brevets peuvent être envoyées par la poste ou livrées en personne au Bureau des brevets pendant les heures normales d'ouverture à l'adresse suivante :

Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada
Place du Portage I
50, rue Victoria, bureau C-114
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0C9

Veuillez noter que toute communication reçue par l'OPIC ne peut plus être retournée à l'expéditeur, et ce, même si ce dernier affirme que la communication a été envoyée par erreur. Le Bureau recommande de présenter le Formulaire de paiement des frais à titre de document d'accompagnement lors du paiement d'une taxe. Le Formulaire de paiement des frais devrait être le seul document soumis à l'OPIC à contenir des renseignements financiers (p. ex. : numéros de carte de crédit).

2.2. Établissements désignés – Bureaux régionaux d'ISDE

Les communications écrites adressées au commissaire aux brevets peuvent également être livrées en personne, dans une enveloppe scellée, à l'un des établissements désignés suivants, conformément à l'article 10 des Règles sur les brevets.

Ces bureaux sont ouverts de 8 h 30 à 16 h 30 (heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés), aux adresses suivantes :

2.3. Établissements désignés – Services Courrier recommandéMC et XpresspostMC de Postes Canada

Les communications écrites adressées au commissaire aux brevets peuvent également être envoyées par l'entremise des services Courrier recommandéMC et XpresspostMC de Postes Canada, lesquels représentent des établissements désignés aux fins de l'application des Règles sur les brevets (article 10 des Règles sur les brevets).

3.0 Electronic means for submission of written communications

Les communications écrites adressées au commissaire aux brevets peuvent également être envoyées par l'entremise des services Courrier recommandéMC et XpresspostMC de Postes Canada, lesquels représentent des établissements désignés aux fins de l'application des Règles sur les brevets (article 10 des Règles sur les brevets).

3.1 En ligne

Les communications écrites adressées au commissaire aux brevets peuvent être envoyées par voie électronique en utilisant les liens suivants :

3.1.1. Le Canada comme office récepteur en vertu du PCT : PCT-SAFE

Conformément à la règle 89bis du PCT, l'OPIC, à titre d'office récepteur, accepte le dépôt électronique des demandes internationales préparées à l'aide de la dernière version du logiciel PCT-SAFE de l'OMPI ou à l'aide du service en ligne ePCT de l'OMPI. Dans les deux cas, le dépôt doit être fait par l'entremise du service électronique de dépôt international de l'OPIC (Dépôt électronique de demandes du PCT).

Remarque : les communications relatives aux demandes internationales en vertu du PCT ne peuvent pas être envoyées par voie électronique à l'OPIC en utilisant les autres moyens de présentation en ligne décrits ci-dessus. Par ailleurs, les communications relatives aux demandes internationales en vertu du PCT peuvent être transmises par courrier ordinaire ou en personne à un établissement désigné ou par télécopieur, tel qu'indiqué dans le présent document.

3.2 Télécopieur

La correspondance par télécopieur adressée au commissaire aux brevets peut être transmise aux numéros ci-dessous :

La correspondance par télécopieur qui est transmise à tout autre numéro de télécopieur que ceux qui sont indiqués ci-dessus, y compris ceux d'établissements désignés, sera réputée non reçue.

Le rapport de transmission électronique que vous recevez après votre envoi par télécopieur constituera votre accusé de réception de l'envoi. La confidentialité du processus de transmission par télécopieur ne peut être garantie. Veuillez noter que l'OPIC décourage fortement l'utilisation d'une interface de télécopieur électronique ou de services de télécopieur accessibles sur internet en raison de problèmes techniques liés à la réception.

Quand on transmet par télécopieur un document comprenant une demande d'acquittement de taxes, il faut clairement indiquer le mode de paiement préféré sur le formulaire de paiements en vue d'assurer un traitement rapide.

4.0 Formulaires électroniques

La section suivante renferme de l'information sur les formulaires électroniques relatifs aux documents, aux renseignements et aux taxes qui peuvent être utilisés conformément à l'article 8.1 de la Loi sur les brevets et aux fins des paragraphes 10(1), 10(4), 58(1) et 58(4) des Règles sur les brevets. Le Bureau acceptera les documents déposés initialement dans d'autres formats, à condition qu'ils soient consultables avec le logiciel « Stellent Quick View Plus 8.0.0 ». Dans de tels cas, le Bureau demandera que les documents soient convertis en format PDF ou TIFF et exigera la transmission d'une déclaration indiquant que les documents de remplacement sont les mêmes que les documents déposés initialement.

4.1 Exigences générales relatives aux formulaires électroniques

Les documents fournis sous format électronique doivent être assortis d'une lettre d'accompagnement et d'une table des matières que le Bureau doit estampiller et dater puis placer dans le dossier de la demande.

Lorsqu'elles sont soumises sous forme électronique, les parties de la demande doivent être divisées en fichiers individuels dont la taille ne doit pas dépasser 25 mégaoctets.

Le Bureau des brevets acceptera les disquettes 3.5 pouces, CD-ROM, CD-R, DVD, DVD-R et tous les formats énoncés dans les Instructions administratives du PCT.

Le support électronique doit également être exempt de vers, de virus ou d'autres contenus malveillants. Les fichiers avec contenu malveillant seront supprimés.

4.2 Types de formulaires électroniques

Le Bureau des brevets acceptera les fichiers en format TIFF, PDF et ASCII, à condition qu'ils répondent aux critères suivants :

Format TIFF :

Format PDF :

ASCII :

4.3 Exigences en matière de format électronique pour les listages des séquences

En ce qui concerne les listages des séquences visés par l'article 58 des Règles sur les brevets, si la divulgation d'une demande de brevet contient un listage des séquences qui n'est pas désigné comme faisant partie d'une invention ou découverte antérieure, ce listage doit être présenté sous forme électronique et en conformité avec la Norme PCT de listages des séquences.Note de bas de page 1

4.3.1 Dépôt de listages des séquences sous forme électronique à l'office récepteur en vertu du PCT

Conformément aux Règles 89bis et 89ter du PCT, ainsi qu'à la Partie 7 des Instructions administratives du PCT, lorsqu'une demande internationale contient la divulgation d'un ou de plusieurs listages des séquences de nucléotides et/ou d'acides aminés, l'OPIC, en sa qualité d'office récepteur, accepte le dépôt de la partie de la description contenant le listage des séquences et/ou de tout tableau lié au listage des séquences, au choix du demandeur :

La partie du listage des séquences d'une demande internationale déposée sous forme électronique et les tableaux connexes déposés sous forme électronique doivent être conformes aux dispositions pertinentes de l'Annexe C des Instructions administratives du PCT, respectivement.

À cette fin, l'office récepteur canadien acceptera tout support électronique précisé à l'Annexe F des Instructions administratives du PCT. Lorsque le listage des séquences et les tableaux sont déposés sous forme électronique, le listage et les tableaux doivent se trouver sur des supports électroniques distincts, qui ne doivent contenir aucun autre programme ou fichier.

Aux fins du traitement de la demande internationale, l'office récepteur canadien exige deux (2) copies supplémentaires des supports électroniques contenant des listages des séquences et/ou des tableaux sous forme électronique, accompagnées d'une déclaration selon laquelle les listages des séquences et/ou les tableaux contenus dans les copies sont identiques à ceux initialement déposés électronique.

Pour plus de détails sur le dépôt des listages de séquences et/ou des tableaux sous forme électronique, y compris l'étiquetage des supports électroniques et le calcul des taxes de dépôt internationales, reportez-vous à la septième partie des Instructions administratives du PCT.

5.0 Communications écrites du commissaire aux brevets ou du Bureau des brevets

Le commissaire aux brevets ou le Bureau des brevets communiquera par écrit avec les personnes qui font affaire avec le Bureau des brevets à l'adresse fournie, conformément aux Règles sur les brevets. Par défaut, le Bureau enverra ses communications écrites à l'adresse postale fournie, à moins que la personne avec laquelle le Bureau communique fournisse son adresse électronique et une autorisation de communiquer avec elle par courriel à cette adresse (article 7 des Règles sur les brevets).

5.1 Exceptions – Communications écrites envoyées avant la radiation ou le refus d'inscription d'un agent dans le registre des agents

Dans des circonstances exceptionnelles, des agents de brevets peuvent être radiés du registre (paragraphe 23(2) des Règles sur les brevets) ou le commissaire peut refuser de les inscrire au registre (article 16 de la Loi).

Les communications écrites envoyées à un agent ayant été refusé ou dont le nom a été supprimé du registre des agents, dans les quatre mois précédant le refus ou la suppression, et pour lesquelles le Bureau n'a reçu aucune réponse, seront réputées ne pas avoir été envoyées (article 11 des Règles sur les brevets).

Concrètement, le demandeur sera informé du refus ou de la suppression de son agent et toute communication écrite envoyée dans les quatre mois précédents sera envoyée de nouveau au demandeur. Le demandeur peut également recevoir un avis exigeant la nomination d'un agent si un agent est requis.

Date de modification :