Divisional Application

1.0 Introduction

The following sections describe the administrative requirements regarding the filing of a divisional application.

A divisional application is a separate patent application which is divided from an original application where the original patent application describes more than one invention. The divisional application benefits from the same filing date as the original application.

1.1 Meaning of "original application"

In accordance with subsection 36(4) of the Patent Act, a divisional application is deemed to be a separate and distinct application under the Act, to which the Act's provisions apply as fully as may be.

The Office takes the position that a divisional application may itself be considered an original application under section 36 of the Patent Act for the purposes of the filing of further divisional applications.

Thus, if a first application (the "grandparent" application) leads to a first divisional application (the "parent" application), a further divisional application (the "child" application) may be filed on the basis of either the parent or the grandparent application.

2.0 Filing requirements

In order to file a divisional application, the applicant must meet the requirements in section 89 of the Patent Rules on the presentation date set out in section 103 of the Patent Rules and as described in the paragraph below.

The requirements to establish a presentation date are similar to the requirements to establish a filing date of a regular application:

  1. An explicit or implicit indication that the granting of a patent is sought;
  2. Information allowing the identity of the applicant to be established;
  3. Information allowing the Commissioner to contact the applicant; and
  4. A document that on its face, appears to be a description.

Unlike a regularly filed application, the description for a divisional application, or the document that on its face appears to be a description, must be in English or French (subsection 15(1) of the Patent Rules).

On the presentation date, an application for a divisional application must also meet the requirements set out in section 89 of the Patent Rules. The requirements are that:

  1. the application contains a petition that includes a statement to the effect that the application is a divisional application that results from the division of an original application filed in Canada and the petition identifies that original application number;
  2. the applicant, or if there are joint applicants, at least one of the joint applicants, was an applicant of the original application at any time during the period beginning on the filing date of the original application and ending on that presentation date;
  3. the application contains one or more claims; and
  4. if the applicant of the original application is required, under subsection 15(2) or (3), to provide a translation in respect of that application, that applicant has provided the translation to the Commissioner.

2.1 Application Fee for Divisional

Each divisional application filed requires the applicant to pay the application fee though the fee is not required to establish the filing of a divisional application. If it is not submitted on the presentation date, the Commissioner will send a notice requiring the applicant to pay the fee and the late fee before the end of the three month period after the date of the notice.

2.2 Maintenance Fees for Divisionals

Divisional applications carry their own maintenance fees, separate from the parent application. Maintenance fees will be calculated from the filing date of the original application and are payable at the presentation date of the divisional application. Note that the divisional application has the same filing date as the original application. For example, if a divisional application is filed 40 months after the filing date of the parent application, maintenance fees for the 2nd and 3rd years have to be paid at the presentation date upon filing of the divisional application. If the required maintenance fees are not paid at the presentation date, the Commissioner will send a notice requiring the applicant to pay the maintenance fees and the late fee before the later of two months from the date of the notice or six months from the presentation date.

2.3 Consequence of not meeting section 89 requirements on presentation date

The applicant must meet the requirements in section 89 of the Patent Rules on the presentation date in order for the application to be a divisional application. The Patent Rules do not allow for an application to be a divisional application if the requirements in section 89 are complied with after the presentation date.

Therefore, if an applicant meets the filing date requirements as described in section 2.0 above, but does not meet the requirements for an application to be a divisional application on its presentation date, the presentation date will become the filing date of the application, or in other words, a regularly filed application. If this is the case, the Office will send the applicant a filing certificate for a regular application rather than a divisional application.

If the applicant does not successfully file a divisional application, the applicant may wish to withdraw the regular application and re-file the application as a divisional by meeting the presentation date requirements as well as the section 89 requirements on the same date.

3.0 Deadline for filing a divisional application

A divisional application cannot be filed if the parent application is granted, or if it is abandoned beyond the period of reinstatement. A divisional application may be filed after the parent application is refused, if it is filed within the time prescribed in section 90 of the Patent Rules.

4.0 Actions deemed taken

Various actions taken in respect of the parent application are deemed to be taken in respect of the divisional application if the action is taken before the presentation date of the divisional application.

These are:

  1. a small entity declaration has been filed
  2. a request for priority has been made and not withdrawn
  3. information required under subsection 28.4(2) of the Act has been submitted to the Commissioner in respect of a request for priority
  4. a copy of a translation of a previously regularly filed application for a patent, or a certificate showing its filing date, has been submitted to the Commissioner
  5. a copy of a previously regularly filed application for a patent has been made available to the Commissioner in a digital library
  6. information required by paragraph 93(1)(b) in respect of a deposit of biological material has been submitted to the Commissioner
  7. a request has been submitted under subsection 95(1)

(section 92 of the Patent Rules)

The Office will ensure that Office records for the divisional application reflect the actions that were taken in respect of the parent application.

5.0 Notices in respect of parent application

If the applicant does not comply with a notice that was sent with respect to the parent application before the presentation date of the divisional application, the notice will continue to apply to the parent application. A divisional application will be assessed for compliance with requirements in the Act and the Rules and will be subject to separate notices, if applicable.

6.0 Open to Public Inspection of Divisional Application

Where a divisional application is filed after the expiry of the 18 month confidentiality period specified in section 10 of the Patent Act of the original application, the application and any documents filed in connection with it shall be open to public inspection immediately upon filing. Note that the confidentiality period of a divisional application is calculated based on the earliest filing date of any previously filed application on which a request for priority is made in respect of the divisional application.

Date modified:

Demande divisionnaire

1.0 Introduction

Les sections qui suivent décrivent les exigences administratives concernant le dépôt d'une demande divisionnaire.

La demande divisionnaire est une demande de brevet distincte qui est séparée d'une demande originale lorsque la demande de brevet originale décrit plus d'une invention. La demande divisionnaire bénéficie de la même date de dépôt que la demande originale.

1.1 Signification de « demande originale »

Conformément au paragraphe 36(4) de la Loi sur les brevets, une demande divisionnaire est réputée être une demande distincte à laquelle la Loi s'applique aussi complètement que possible.

Le Bureau est d'avis qu'une demande divisionnaire peut elle-même être considérée comme une demande originale au titre de l'article 36 de la Loi sur les brevets pour le dépôt de nouvelles demandes divisionnaires.

Par conséquent, si une première demande (la demande « grand-parent ») donne lieu à une première demande divisionnaire (la demande « parent »), une nouvelle demande divisionnaire (la demande « enfant ») peut être déposée sur le fondement de la demande parent ou de la demande grand-parent.

2.0 Exigences relatives au dépôt

Pour déposer une demande divisionnaire, le demandeur doit satisfaire aux exigences de l'article 89 des Règles sur les brevets relativement à la date de soumission énoncée à l'article 103 des Règles sur les brevets et décrites ci-dessous.

Les exigences pour établir une date de soumission sont similaires aux exigences pour établir une date de dépôt d'une demande régulière :

  1. une indication explicite ou implicite que la délivrance d'un brevet est demandée;
  2. des renseignements permettant d'établir l'identité du demandeur;
  3. des renseignements permettant au commissaire de communiquer avec le demandeur; et
  4. un document qui, à première vue, semble être une description.

Contrairement à une demande déposée de façon régulière, la description pour une demande divisionnaire, ou le document qui, à première vue, semble être une description, doit être en anglais ou en français (paragraphe 15(1) des Règles sur les brevets).

À la date de soumission, une demande divisionnaire doit également satisfaire aux exigences énoncées à l'article 89 des Règles sur les brevets. Les exigences sont les suivantes :

  1. la demande renferme une pétition qui contient une déclaration selon laquelle la demande est une demande divisionnaire issue d'une demande originale déposée au Canada et qui indique le numéro de cette demande originale;
  2. le demandeur ou, s'il y a plus d'un demandeur, au moins un des codemandeurs était un demandeur de la demande originale à un moment quelconque pendant la période allant de la date de dépôt de la demande originale à la date de soumission de cette demande;
  3. la demande contient au moins une revendication; et
  4. si le demandeur de la demande originale est tenu, au titre du paragraphe 15(2) ou (3), de fournir une traduction à l'égard de cette demande, le demandeur a fourni la traduction au commissaire.

2.1 Taxe pour le dépôt d'une demande divisionnaire

Le dépôt de chaque demande divisionnaire exige que le demandeur paie la taxe de dépôt, bien que celle-ci ne soit pas requise lors du dépôt d'une demande divisionnaire. Si la taxe n'est pas payée à la date de soumission, le commissaire enverra un avis enjoignant au demandeur de payer la taxe et la surtaxe avant la fin de la période de trois mois suivant la date de l'avis.

2.2 Taxe pour le maintien en état d'une demande divisionnaire

Les demandes divisionnaires comportent des taxes de maintien en état qui leur sont propres et sont distinctes de celles de la demande parent. Les taxes de maintien en état seront calculées à compter de la date de dépôt de la demande originale et doivent être payées à la date de soumission de la demande divisionnaire. Notez que la demande divisionnaire a la même date de dépôt que la demande originale. Par exemple, si une demande divisionnaire est déposée quarante mois après la date de dépôt de la demande parent, les taxes de maintien en état pour les deuxième et troisième années doivent être payées à la date de soumission de la demande divisionnaire. Si les taxes de maintien en état exigées ne sont pas payées à la date de soumission, le commissaire enverra un avis enjoignant au demandeur de payer les taxes de maintien en état et la surtaxe avant la fin du délai de deux mois suivant la date de l'avis ou six mois suivant la date de soumission, si cette date est ultérieure.

2.3 Conséquence du non-respect des exigences de l'article 89 à la date de soumission

Le demandeur doit satisfaire aux exigences de l'article 89 des Règles sur les brevets à la date de soumission pour qu'une demande soit considérée être une demande divisionnaire. Les Règles sur les brevets ne permettant pas qu'une demande soit considérée comme une demande divisionnaire si les exigences de l'article 89 sont satisfaites après la date de soumission.

Par conséquent, si le demandeur satisfait aux exigences relatives à la date de dépôt, telles que décrites dans la section 2.0 ci-dessus, mais ne satisfait pas aux exigences pour qu'une demande soit considérée être une demande divisionnaire à sa date de soumission, la date de soumission deviendra la date de dépôt de la demande ou, autrement dit, une demande déposée de façon régulière. Si c'est le cas, le Bureau enverra au demandeur un certificat de dépôt pour une demande régulière plutôt que pour une demande divisionnaire.

Si le demandeur ne réussit pas à déposer une demande divisionnaire, le demandeur peut vouloir retirer la demande régulière et déposer de nouveau la demande en tant que demande divisionnaire en satisfaisant aux exigences relatives à la date de soumission ainsi qu'aux exigences de l'article 89 à la même date.

3.0 Délai pour le dépôt d'une demande divisionnaire

Une demande divisionnaire ne peut être déposée si la demande parent est abandonnée au-delà de la période de rétablissement, ou si le brevet de la demande parent est accordé. Une demande divisionnaire peut être déposée après que la demande parent a été rejetée si elle est déposée dans le délai prescrit à l'article 90 des Règles sur les brevets.

4.0 Mesures réputées être prises

Diverses mesures prises à l'égard de la demande parent sont réputées être prises à l'égard de la demande divisionnaire si la mesure est prise avant la date de soumission de la demande divisionnaire.

Ces mesures sont les suivantes :

  1. une déclaration du statut de petite entité a été déposée;
  2. une demande de priorité a été présentée et n'a pas été retirée;
  3. les renseignements exigés au paragraphe 28.4(2) de la Loi ont été communiqués au commissaire à l'égard de la demande de priorité;
  4. une copie d'une traduction d'une demande de brevet déposée antérieurement de façon régulière ou un certificat indiquant la date de dépôt de cette demande a été fourni(e) au commissaire;
  5. une copie d'une demande de brevet déposée antérieurement de façon régulière a été mise à la disposition du commissaire dans une bibliothèque numérique;
  6. les renseignements exigés à l'alinéa 93(1)(b) à l'égard d'un dépôt de matières biologiques ont été communiqués au commissaire;
  7. une demande a été présentée au titre du paragraphe 95(1).

(article 92 des Règles sur les brevets).

Le Bureau s'assurera que les dossiers qu'il tient relativement à la demande divisionnaire témoignent des mesures qui ont été prises à l'égard de la demande parent.

5.0 Avis concernant la demande parent

Si le demandeur ne se conforme pas à un avis qui a été envoyé à l'égard de la demande parent avant la date de soumission de la demande divisionnaire, l'avis continuera de s'appliquer à la demande parent. La conformité d'une demande divisionnaire aux exigences de la Loi et des Règles sera évaluée et la demande divisionnaire sera assujettie à des avis distincts, s'il y a lieu.

6.0 Consultation de la demande divisionnaire par le public

Lorsqu'une demande divisionnaire est déposée après l'expiration de la période de non-consultation de dix-huit mois de la demande originale spécifiée à l'article 10 de la Loi sur les brevets, la demande et les documents déposés en lien avec elle peuvent être consultés par le public dès le dépôt. Il convient de souligner que la période de non-consultation d'une demande divisionnaire est calculée à compter de la date de dépôt de la première demande déposée antérieurement pour laquelle une demande de priorité est présentée à l'égard de la demande divisionnaire.

Date de modification :