Corrections

Draft administration topic that focuses on errors that can be corrected in a patent application or granted patent. The types of errors and how to request a correction are outlined for applications and patents

1.0 Introduction

From time to time a patent application or a patent can contain errors due to an oversight by the applicant/patentee or the Patent Office. The most common errors in patent applications are the identification of applicants and inventors, and information regarding the request for priority. The Patent Office encourages clients to review all documents prior to submission to ensure that they are error free.

This document focuses on errors that can be corrected in a patent application or granted patent. The types of errors and how to request a correction are outlined for applications and patents.

Note that corrections are distinct from other provisions which allow amendments to the specification and drawings, recordal of transfers of rights or changes of name.

2.0 What can be corrected in a patent application?

Certain errors in patent applications and related documents submitted during the application stage may be corrected as provided for in the Patent Rules. Please note that no fee is required for correcting an error during the application stage.

2.1 Applicant name and identity

The person who submitted the application to obtain a filing date or for PCT national phase entry will be able to request correction of the name of the applicant, as long as the error arose from inadvertence, accident or mistake without any fraudulent or deceptive intention and the person who submitted the application provides a statement to that effect.

For a regularly filed application the request will have to be made before the earlier of when the application becomes open to public inspection and the day on which the Commissioner receives a request to record a transfer under section 49 of the Patent Act.
(section 104 of the Patent Rules)

For a PCT national phase application the request must be submitted before the earlier of:

(subsection 155(6) of the Patent Rules)

2.2 Inventor identity

When an inventor was incorrectly identified for a patent application, it may be corrected by a simple request from the applicant if it is submitted before a notice of allowance is sent.
(section 105 of the Patent Rules)

2.3 Applicant/Inventor Name

Errors in the names of applicants or inventors in a patent application, if it does not result in a change of identity, may be corrected by a simple request from the applicant if it is submitted on or before the payment of the final fee, or if the final fee is refunded, on or before it is paid again.
(section 106 of the Patent Rules)

2.4 Priority filing date

If the patent application has not yet been opened to public inspection and the applicant has not requested that it be opened to public inspection early, then it may be possible to request the correction of an error in the filing date of the priority application submitted under section 28.4(2) of the Patent Act, if that request is made before the earlier of the uncorrected date and the corrected date on which the application would be open to public inspection.
(subsection 73(4) of the Patent Rules).

Decision tree to determine the deadline to submit a correction
Decision tree to determine the deadline to submit a correction - Text version

The figure contains a decision tree to determine the deadline to submit a correction to the priority filing date.

There are 2 boxes where the user determines the later of 16 months from the requested corrected priority date or 4 months from the application filing date. Then the user takes the result of the previous box and combined with another calculation box determines the earlier of that date and the open to public inspection date as per the requested corrected originally date.

The user then repeats all of the above calculations for the originally submitted priority date. The final 2 boxes asks the user to determine the earlier of the time limit using the originally submitted priority date and the time limit using the requested corrected priority date.

The time limit to make the correction to the priority date is the earlier of the 2 results.

2.5 Priority filing country/office or number

Upon request, it is possible to correct an error in the name of a country or office of filing and the number of the priority application. The request must be made on or before payment of the final fee or if the final fee is refunded, on or before it is paid again.
(subsection 73(5) of the Patent Rules)

2.6 Specification or Drawings

Any error in the specification or drawings during the application phase may be corrected through the amendment provisions up until a notice of allowance is sent (section 102 and subsection 100(1) of the Patent Rules).

After a notice of allowance is sent and on or before the payment of the final fee, it is possible to amend the specification and drawings only to correct obvious errors. In these circumstances, it must be obvious based on the specifications and drawings contained in the application on the day the notice of allowance was sent that something other than what appears was intended AND that nothing other than the proposed amendment could have been intended. There is no fee for this correction. The manner of submitting an amendment should be in compliance with section 102 of the Patent Rules.
(subsection 100(2) of the Patent Rules)

3.0 Correction of identity vs correction of a name

Where a person is incorrectly identified, either as the inventor or applicant, there is a small window in which the identity can be corrected when the error was due to inadvertence or mistake without any intention to mislead. In other words, when the person named as applicant has no rights to the invention or the person named as inventor was not an inventor, the Patent Rules provide mechanisms to replace the incorrect individual with the correct applicant or inventor.

For example, Bob was named as an applicant at time the application was filed but Bob has no rights to the invention. The person who submitted the application incorrectly identified Bob when he should have identified John as the applicant.

A correction of name is meant to correct errors that do not change the identity such as incorrect spellings. For example, Bob was named as the applicant at the time the application was filed and he has the rights to the invention. Bob is a nickname and he should have been identified as Robert.

Please note that a correction of name is different than a change of name. For more information on changes of name, please see the consultation MOPOP document on Transfers.

4.0 Content of requests to correct errors in a patent application

All requests for corrections of a patent application must comply with the requirements for submitting written communications to the Commissioner. Every request must include the application number, name of the applicant(s), a clear request for correction of an error and any additional information that may be needed.

5.0 Effect of correction of an error in a patent application

The correction of an error in a patent application will result in updating office records and the requester will be informed by letter that the correction has been made.

6.0 What can be corrected in an issued patent?

Certain errors in granted patents can be corrected for a limited time after they are issued. Details of which errors can be corrected and the requirements for obtaining these are described below.

6.1 Commissioner's errors:

The Patent Office may correct errors, made by the Commissioner in the patent or in the specification or drawings referenced in the patent within six months after the issue of the patent. In order for the Patent Office to make the correction, it must be obvious based on the documents on file in the Patent Office that something else was intended and nothing else could have been intended. No fee is required for the correction of obvious Office errors.

The Patent Office has a rigorous quality process to ensure that the patents it issues are free of errors though they do happen occasionally. Though the Commissioner can correct these errors without a request from the patentee, the Patent Office recommends that patentees review their granted patent upon receipt and signal any errors to the Commissioner immediately since the time to make these corrections is short (six months after the patent is issued).

All requests for corrections of Commissioner's errors in a granted patent must comply with the requirements for submitting written communications to the Commissioner. Every request must include the patent number, name of the patentee(s), a clear request for correction of an error and any additional information that may be needed.
(subsection 108(1) of the Patent Rules)

6.2 Errors – name of patentee or inventor

Patentees are able, within six months of the patent's issuance, to request correction of errors in the name of patentee or the inventor. The correction by the Office may be made after the six month period, so long as the request is submitted before the expiry of the time limit. The correction in the patentee or inventor name must not change the identity of the patentee or inventor.
(paragraph 110(1)(a) of the Patent Rules)

6.3 Obvious errors – specification or drawings

Patentees are able, within six months of the patent's issuance, to request correction of obvious errors in the specification or drawings if it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art that something else was intended than what appears AND that nothing else could have been intended other than the correction. A fee in the amount of $200.00 is required to correct this error.
(paragraph 110(1)(b) of the Patent Rules)

7.0 Content of requests to correct errors in a patent (not including Office Errors)

The request for correction of errors must contain:

(subsection 110(2) of the Patent Rules)

If the patentee does not comply with the formal requirements and/or pay the fee, the Commissioner will send a notice requesting that the patentee submit the required information and/or fee within three months of the notice. If the required information and/or fee are not received within that time, the request for correction will be considered never to have been made.
(subsection 110(3) of the Patent Rules)

8.0 Effect of error correction in a patent

The correction of an error in the patent will result in a certificate setting out the correction. The correction has retroactive effect and will be considered to have been made on the date on which the patent was issued.
(section 112 of the Patent Rules)

Date modified:

Corrections

Ébauche de sujet administratif portant sur les erreurs qui peuvent être corrigées dans une demande de brevet ou dans un brevet délivré. Les types d'erreurs et la façon de faire une demande de correction sont précisés pour les demandes et les brevets

1.0 Introduction

De temps à autre, une demande de brevet ou un brevet peut contenir des erreurs dues à une omission du demandeur, du breveté ou du Bureau des brevets. Les erreurs les plus courantes dans les demandes de brevet sont l'identification des demandeurs et des inventeurs, et les renseignements concernant les demandes de priorité. Le Bureau des brevets encourage les clients à réviser tous les documents avant de les présenter pour s'assurer qu'ils sont exempts de toute erreur.

Ce document porte sur les erreurs qui peuvent être corrigées dans une demande de brevet ou dans un brevet délivré. Les types d'erreurs et la façon de faire une demande de correction sont précisés pour les demandes et les brevets.

Il convient de noter que les corrections diffèrent des autres dispositions qui permettent d'apporter des modifications au mémoire descriptif, aux dessins, ainsi qu'aux inscriptions des transferts de droits ou des changements de noms.

2.0 Ce qui peut être corrigé dans une demande de brevet

Certaines erreurs dans les demandes de brevet et les documents connexes présentés à l'étape de la demande peuvent être corrigées, comme le prévoient les Règles sur les brevets. Il convient de noter qu'aucune taxe n'est exigée pour la correction d'une erreur à l'étape de la demande.

2.1 Nom et identité du demandeur

La personne qui a présenté une demande de brevet afin d'obtenir une date de dépôt ou une demande de brevet entrée à la phase nationale du PCT peut demander la correction du nom du demandeur, pourvu que la faute ait été commise par inadvertance, accident ou méprise, sans intention de frauder ou de tromper, et que la personne qui a présenté la demande fournit un énoncé à cet effet.

Pour une demande déposée de façon régulière, la demande de correction doit être faite au plus tard à celle des dates ci-après qui est antérieure à l'autre : soit avant la date à laquelle la demande peut être consultée par le public ou la date à laquelle le commissaire reçoit une demande d'inscription d'un transfert aux termes de l'article 49 de la Loi sur les brevets.
(Article 104 des Règles sur les brevets)

Pour une demande PCT à la phase nationale, la demande de correction doit être faite au plus tard à celle des dates ci-après qui est antérieure à l'autre :

(Paragraphe 155(6) des Règles sur les brevets)

2.2 Identité de l'inventeur

Lorsqu'un inventeur a été identifié de façon erronée dans une demande de brevet, la correction peut être apportée suivant une simple demande du demandeur, si cette demande est faite avant l'envoi d'un avis d'acceptation.
(Article 105 des Règles sur les brevets)

2.3 Nom du demandeur ou de l'inventeur

Une erreur dans le nom d'un demandeur ou d'un inventeur dans une demande de brevet peut être corrigée, si la correction n'entraîne pas de changement quant à la personne du demandeur ou de l'inventeur, par une simple demande du demandeur, si cette demande est faite au plus tard à la date à laquelle la taxe finale a été payée, ou si celle-ci a été remboursée, au plus tard à la date à laquelle elle est de nouveau payée.
(Article 106 des Règles sur les brevets)

2.4 Date de priorité

Si la demande de brevet n'est pas encore devenue accessible pour consultation et que le demandeur n'a pas demandé qu'elle le soit de façon anticipée, il est possible de demander la correction d'une erreur dans la date de dépôt de la demande de priorité en vertu du paragraphe 28.4(2) de la Loi sur les brevets, si cette demande est faite au plus tard avant celle des dates ci-après qui est antérieure à l'autre, soit la date non corrigée ou la date corrigée à laquelle la demande deviendrait accessible pour consultation.
(Paragraphe 73(4) des Règles sur les brevets)

Diagramme de décision pour déterminer la date d'échéance pour demander une correction
Diagramme de décision pour déterminer la date d'échéance pour demander une correction - version texte

La figure contient un diagramme de décision pour déterminer la date d'échéance pour demander une correction de la date de priorité.

Il y a 2 boites, où l'utilisateur détermine le dernier de 16 mois de la date de priorité corrigée ou 4 mois de la date de dépôt de la demande. Ensuite, l'utilisateur prend le résultat de la boîte précédente et, en combinaison avec une autre boite de calcul, détermine le premier entre la date précédente et la date d'accessibilité au public pour consultation selon la date de priorité corrigée.

L'utilisateur répète ensuite tous les calculs ci-dessus avec la date de priorité erronée. L'utilisateur doit utiliser les 2 dernières boites pour déterminer le premier de la date d'échéance avec la date de priorité erronée et la date d'échéance avec la date de priorité corrigée.

La date d'échéance pour demander la correction à la date de priorité est la première de ces 2 dates.

2.5 Pays, bureau ou numéro de la demande de priorité

Sur demande, il est possible de corriger une erreur dans le nom d'un pays ou d'un bureau de dépôt et dans le numéro de la demande de priorité. La demande doit être faite au plus tard à la date à laquelle le paiement de la taxe finale est effectué ou, si la taxe finale est remboursée, au plus tard à la date à laquelle elle est payée de nouveau.
(Paragraphe 73(5) des Règles sur les brevets)

2.6 Mémoire descriptif ou dessins

Toute erreur dans le mémoire descriptif ou les dessins à l'étape de la demande peut être corrigée par l'intermédiaire des dispositions de modification avant que l'avis d'acceptation soit envoyé (article 102 et paragraphe 100(1) des Règles sur les brevets).

Après l'envoi de l'avis d'acceptation et au plus tard au moment du paiement de la taxe finale, il est possible de modifier le mémoire descriptif ou les dessins pour ne corriger que des erreurs évidentes. Dans ces circonstances, il doit être évident, d'après le mémoire descriptif et les dessins compris dans la demande à la date de l'avis d'acceptation, que quelque chose d'autre était voulu ET que rien d'autre que la modification demandée n'aurait pu être voulu. Aucune taxe n'est exigée pour cette correction. La façon de faire la modification doit respecter les exigences de l'article 102 des Règles sur les brevets.
(Paragraphe 100(2) des Règles sur les brevets)

3.0 Correction de la personne comparativement à la correction d'un nom

Lorsqu'une personne est identifiée de façon erronée, que ce soit en tant qu'inventeur ou demandeur, il existe une courte période pendant laquelle la personne peut être corrigée, pourvu que l'erreur s'est produite par inadvertance ou méprise, sans intention trompeuse. Autrement dit, lorsque la personne nommée comme demandeur n'a aucun droit sur l'invention ou que la personne nommée comme inventeur n'est pas un inventeur, les Règles sur les brevets prévoient un mécanisme de remplacement de la personne identifiée de façon erronée par le demandeur ou l'inventeur approprié.

À titre d'exemple, Alex a été nommé comme demandeur au moment du dépôt de la demande, mais Alex n'a aucun droit sur l'invention. La personne qui a présenté la demande a identifié Alex de façon erronée alors que Jean aurait dû être identifié comme le demandeur.

Une correction d'un nom vise à corriger des erreurs qui ne modifient pas la personne, comme des erreurs d'orthographe. À titre d'exemple, Alex a été désigné comme demandeur au moment du dépôt de la demande et il a des droits sur l'invention. Alex est un surnom et il aurait dû être identifié comme étant Alexandre.

Il convient de noter qu'une correction de nom diffère d'un changement de nom. Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant les changements de nom, veuillez consulter le document du RPBB portant sur les transferts.

4.0 Contenu des demandes de correction d'erreurs dans une demande de brevet

Toutes les demandes de correction d'une demande de brevet doivent respecter les exigences de transmission de communications écrites adressées au commissaire. Chaque demande de correction doit comprendre le numéro de la demande, le nom du ou des demandeurs, une demande claire de correction d'une erreur et tout autre renseignement utile.

5.0 Conséquence de la correction d'une erreur dans une demande de brevet

La correction d'une erreur dans une demande de brevet entraîne la mise à jour des dossiers du Bureau et le demandeur est informé par lettre que la correction a été apportée.

6.0 Ce qui peut être corrigé dans un brevet délivré

Certaines erreurs dans un brevet délivré peuvent être corrigées pendant une certaine période suivant la délivrance. Les renseignements relatifs aux erreurs qui peuvent être corrigées et les conditions qui permettent de telles corrections sont indiqués ci-dessous.

6.1 Erreurs du commissaire :

Le Bureau des brevets peut corriger des erreurs faites par le commissaire dans le brevet ou dans le mémoire descriptif ou les dessins auxquels renvoie le brevet, dans les six mois suivant la délivrance du brevet. Pour que le Bureau des brevets puisse apporter la correction, il doit être évident, d'après les documents que le Bureau des brevets a en sa possession à l'égard du brevet, que quelque chose d'autre était voulu et que rien d'autre n'aurait pu être voulu. Aucune taxe n'est exigée pour la correction d'erreurs évidentes du Bureau.

Le Bureau des brevets a un processus rigoureux lié à la qualité, pour s'assurer que les brevets délivrés sont exempts de toute erreur, quoique cela arrive parfois. Bien que le commissaire puisse corriger ces erreurs sans que le breveté en fasse la demande, le Bureau des brevets encourage les brevetés à réviser leur brevet délivré dès sa réception et à signaler immédiatement toute erreur au commissaire puisque la période pendant laquelle ces erreurs peuvent être corrigées est courte (six mois suivant la délivrance du brevet).

Toutes les demandes de correction d'erreurs du commissaire dans un brevet délivré doivent respecter les exigences de transmission de communications écrites adressées au commissaire. Chaque demande de correction doit comprendre le numéro de brevet, le nom du ou des brevetés, une demande claire de correction d'une erreur et tout autre renseignement utile.
(Paragraphe 108(1) des Règles sur les brevets)

6.2 Erreurs — nom du breveté ou de l'inventeur

Dans les six mois suivant la délivrance du brevet, les brevetés peuvent demander la correction d'erreurs dans le nom du breveté ou de l'inventeur. La correction peut être apportée par le Bureau après cette période de six mois, pourvu que la demande de correction soit faite avant la fin de ce délai. La correction du nom du breveté ou de l'inventeur ne doit pas changer la personne du breveté ou de l'inventeur.
(Alinéa 110(1)a) des Règles sur les brevets)

6.3 Erreurs évidentes — mémoire descriptif ou dessins

Dans les six mois suivant la délivrance du brevet, les brevetés peuvent demander la correction d'erreurs évidentes dans le mémoire descriptif ou les dessins s'il aurait été évident pour toute personne versée dans l'art que quelque chose d'autre était voulu ET que rien d'autre que la correction demandée n'aurait pu être voulu. Une taxe d'un montant de 200 $ est exigée pour la correction de cette erreur.
(Alinéa 110(1)b) des Règles sur les brevets)

7.0 Contenu des demandes de correction d'erreurs dans un brevet (à l'exception des erreurs du Bureau)

La demande de correction d'erreurs doit contenir :

(Paragraphe 110(2) des Règles sur les brevets)

Si le breveté ne respecte pas les exigences formelles et/ou ne paie pas la taxe, le commissaire envoie un avis demandant que le breveté fournisse les renseignements requis et/ou paie la taxe réglementaire dans les trois mois suivant l'avis. Si les renseignements requis et/ou la taxe réglementaire ne sont pas reçus dans ce délai, la demande de correction est considérée comme n'ayant jamais été faite.
(Paragraphe 110(3) des Règles sur les brevets)

8.0 Conséquence d'une correction d'erreur dans un brevet

La correction d'une erreur dans un brevet entraîne la délivrance d'un certificat énonçant la correction. La correction a un effet rétroactif et est réputée avoir été apportée à la date de délivrance du brevet.
(Article 112 des Règles sur les brevets).

Date de modification :