Time

1.0 Introduction

This document provides guidance on topics related to time ranging from the dates communications are deemed received, to time limits and how they are calculated to extensions of time under the Patent Act and the Patent Rules.

2.0 Ordinary Business Hours of the Office

The ordinary business hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (local time). The Office is open Monday to Friday, except for the following statutory holidays:

2.1 Unexpected Closures of the Office

In the case of adverse weather events or other emergencies, the Office may close to the public for all or part of a day when it would otherwise be open for business. Unexpected closures will be announced on the Office's website and social media. For information about the dates accorded to documents submitted to the Office and about extensions of time in these situations, please see the Time document.

3.0 Dates Accorded to Written Communications

The dates accorded to documents, information and fees submitted to the Patent Office or written communications sent from the Commissioner or the Patent Office are outlined below.

3.1 Physical Delivery by Mail or In Person to the Office

Written communications delivered to the Office by mail or in person on a day when the Office is open to the public will be deemed received on the date of delivery. Those delivered when the Office is closed to the public are deemed to be received on the next day the Office is open to the public. (subsection 10(2) of the Patent Rules)

3.2. Physical Delivery to Designated Establishments – Regional Offices of ISED

Written communications delivered to designated establishments - which are regional offices of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada listed in the Written Communications document - when they are open to the public, , will be deemed to be received on the date of delivery to that designated establishment only if it is also a day on which CIPO is open to the public. Written communications delivered to a designated establishment on a day when CIPO is closed to the public will be considered to be received on the next day on which CIPO is open to the public. For example, written communications delivered to the designated establishment in Toronto on June 24 will not be deemed received on that date since it prescribed day when CIPO is closed to the public. It will be deemed received on the next day CIPO is open to the public. (subsection 10(3) of the Patent Rules)

3.3 Physical Delivery to Designated Establishments - Registered Mail™ and Xpresspost™ services of Canada Post

Written communications delivered through the Registered Mail™ and Xpresspost™ services of Canada Post are deemed received on the day indicated on the mailing receipt provided by Canada Post, only if it is also a day on which CIPO is open to the public. If the date indicated on the mailing receipt provided by Canada Post is a day on which CIPO is closed to the public, the written communication will be deemed received on the next day CIPO is open to the public. (subsection 10(3) of the Patent Rules)

3.4 Submission by Electronic Means

Written communications delivered by electronic means of transmission, online or facsimile as outlined in the Written Communications document, will be considered to be received on the day that it is transmitted if it is delivered and received before midnight, local time at CIPO. Please note that for facsimiles, the date of receipt will be the date when the transmission ends. (Subsection 8.1(1) of the Patent Act and subsection 10(4) of the Patent Rules).

3.5 Written Communications Sent from the Commissioner or the Patent Office

Written communications sent from the Commissioner of Patents or the Patent Office are deemed sent on the date that the communication bears, whether that is the letter or notice sent by mail or in the email attachment. (section 7 of the Patent Rules)

4.0 Time Limits

There are multiple time limits set in the Patent Act and Patent Rules for submitting documents, information and fees. Time limits are usually expressed as requiring an action within a certain number of months after a specified day.

4.1 Calculation of Time Limits

When an action is required to be taken within a fixed number of months from a specified day, the time limit is calculated by:

  1. Counting forward from the specified day the number of months, without including the month in which the day falls,
  2. Excluding the specified day, and
  3. Including in the last month counted from a. above the day that has the same calendar number as the specified day, or if that month has no day with that number, the last day of that month.

A few examples are listed below for illustrative purposes:

Example 1: An examiner's requisition dated January 15 requires a response within four months therefore the time limit for a response is May 15 of the same year.

Example 2: The maintenance fee for an application is due on Aug 29, 30 or 31 and it is not paid by the due date. The Commissioner's Notice is sent on September 15 requiring the applicant to pay the fee and late fee before the later of 2 months from the date of the notice or 6 months from the maintenance fee due date. The later date is 6 months from the maintenance fee due date or February 28 (or February 29 in leap years) of the following year.

Example 3: A Commissioner's notice sent under section 68 of the Rules requiring the applicant to comply within three months of the notice is sent on March 31. The applicant is required to respond by June 30.

5.0 Extensions of Time

There are provisions in the Patent Act and Patent Rules which extend time in certain circumstances as described below.

5.1 Time Period Extended for Prescribed and Designated Days

Where a time period to complete an action ends on a prescribed or on a day designated by the Commissioner, the time period is deemed extended to the next day that is not a prescribed day or a designated day. (Subsection 78(1) of the Patent Act)

5.1.1. Prescribed Days

The prescribed days are listed in section 5 of the Patent Rules and are copied here for convenience of reference:

  1. Saturday
  2. Sunday
  3. January 1, or if January 1 falls on a Saturday or a Sunday, the following Monday
  4. Good Friday
  5. Easter Monday
  6. the Monday before May 25
  7. June 24, or if June 24 falls on a Saturday or a Sunday, the following Monday
  8. July 1, or if July 1 falls on a Saturday or a Sunday, the following Monday
  9. the first Monday in AugustFootnote 1
  10. the first Monday in September
  11. the second Monday in October
  12. November 11, or if November 11 falls on a Saturday or a Sunday, the following Monday
  13. December 25 and 26, or
    1. If December 25 falls on a Friday, that Friday and the following Monday, and
    2. If December 25 falls on a Saturday or Sunday, the following Monday and Tuesday
  14. Any day on which the Patent Office is closed to the public for all or part of the day during ordinary business hours

An example of a deemed extension of time for a prescribed day is provided below for illustrative purposes:

A notice of allowance dated July 11 requires payment of the final fee within four months of the date of the notice (November 11).

5.1.1.1. Unplanned Closures of the Office

In the case of adverse weather events or other emergencies, the Office may close to the public for all or part of a day when it would otherwise be open to the public. Unexpected closures will be announced on the Office's website and social media. These unplanned closures are included in prescribed days (paragraph 5(n) of the Patent Rules and described above in section 5.1.1., bullet n.) for the purposes of subsection 78(1) of the Patent Act, and if the time period ends on that day, the time period is extended to the next day the Office is open to the public.

5.1.2. Designated Days – Force Majeure

The Commissioner may designate a day or days when there is a "force majeure" event and it is in the public interest to do so (subsection 78(2) of the Patent Act). This provision allows the Commissioner to suspend obligations when unforeseen circumstances arise making it impossible for applicants and patentees to fulfill their obligations as normal. Any designation of a day or days by the Commissioner will be published on the Office's website and the time periods that end on the designated day(s) will be extended to the next day the Office is open to the public under subsection 78(1) of the Patent Act.

5.2 Requests for Extensions of Time – Subsection 3(1) of the Patent Rules

The Commissioner has the authority to extend time limits for certain actions under the Patent Rules if the Commissioner is satisfied that the circumstances justify the extension and the other administrative conditions are met. Applicants and patentees can, before the expiry of a time limit, request an extension of time for actions where it is permitted by the Rules (please see Annex 1 below for a list of exceptions where extensions of time are not permitted). Please note time limits fixed under the Patent Act cannot be extended.

The request for extension of time must be submitted before the expiry of the original time limit and the requestor must pay the prescribed fee of $200 (Item 1 of Schedule 2 of the Patent Rules). While no affidavit is required when requesting an extension of time, the applicant must provide a justification that explain why the required actions cannot be completed within the time period originally set. The Office will assess the request and if it is satisfactory, the Commissioner will generally grant an extension of time of up to six months per file and per action. The applicant/patentee will be notified by letter of the Commissioner's decision regarding any request for an extension of time for time periods which can be extended.

Examples of actions eligible for extension of time

Subsequent requests for an extension of time for the same action on the same file will only be considered under exceptional circumstances.

Examples of what could amount to exceptional circumstances that would justify a further extension of time:

5.3 Extension of Time to 'Top-up' Small Entity Fees – Subsection 3(3) of the Patent Rules

The Commissioner is authorized to extend the period of time, whether it has expired or not, to pay most fees paid at the small entity rate if the Commissioner consider the circumstances justify the extension and if the following requirements are met:

  1. The small entity fee was paid before the expiry of the time period for payment of the fee;
  2. It is later determined that the standard fee should have been paid;
  3. The applicant or patentee files a statement that, to the best of their knowledge, the small entity fee was paid in good faith and that the application for the extension is being filed without undue delay after the applicant or patentee became aware that the standard fee should have been paid;
  4. The applicant or patentee pays the difference between the amount of the small entity fee that was paid and the standard fee that was applicable on the day on which the small entity fee was paid; and
  5. The applicant or patentee pays the $200 extension of time fee (Item 1 of Schedule 2 of the Patent Rules).

The applicant will be notified by letter of the Commissioner's decision regarding any request for an extension of time. The following fees are eligible for a top-up:

This also includes the equivalent fees paid under the former Rules through transitional provisions back to June 2, 2007. Fees paid at the small entity rate before that date are not eligible to be 'topped-up'.

Please note that the Office will accept a single request and statement (paragraph 3(3)(c) of the Patent Rules) to cover the top-up of multiple fees at the small entity rate so long as the applicant/patentee pays the $200 extension of time fee for each fee previously paid at the small entity rate that is being "topped-up" as well as the difference for each fee.

Where the applicant or patentee has successfully "topped-up" all the previous small entity fees for the application or patent to a standard rate, the Office will update the entity size in its records and all future fees and corresponding notices and letters will list the fee at the standard rate. If not all the fees have been "topped-up", the entity size in the Office records will remain small for the purposes of fees, corresponding notices and letters. Applicants and patentees may still pay any future fees at the standard rate though the difference will remain on file at the Office and be available for refund within three years of payment upon request.

6.0 Time Limits under the Patent Cooperation Treaty

Rule 80.5 of the Regulations under the PCT provides: If the expiration of any period during which any document or fee must reach a national Office or intergovernmental organization falls on a day:

  1. On which such Office or organization is not open to the public for the purposes of the transaction of official business;
  2. On which ordinary mail is not delivered in the locality in which such Office or organization is situated;
  3. Which, where such Office or organization is situated in more than one locality, is an official holiday in at least one of the localities in which such Office or organization is situated, and in circumstances where the national law applicable by that Office or organization provides, in respect of national applications, that, in such a case, such period shall expire on a subsequent day; or
  4. Which, where such Office is the government authority of a Contracting State entrusted with the granting of patents, is an official holiday in part of that Contracting State, and in circumstances where the national law applicable by that Office provides, in respect of national applications, that, in such a case, such period shall expire on a subsequent day;

the period shall expire on the next subsequent day on which none of the said four circumstances exists.

CIPO takes the position that section 26 of the Interpretation Act applies to PCT international applications filed in Canada. Accordingly, where a person has a time limit under the PCT for the filing of a document in Canada that expires on a provincial or territorial holiday but only delivers the document on the next day that is not a holiday, CIPO will assume that the document was delivered to an establishment that would justify an extension of the time limit. CIPO, however, takes no position as to whether such extensions would be recognized by other countries, and it will be the responsibility of the person filing the document to ensure that in other countries of interest they are properly entitled to any needed extension of the time limit by reason of Rule 80.5 of the Regulations under the PCT or some other applicable law.

Annex 1 - Non-application of subsection 3(1)

While extension of time may be granted for certain actions, there are time limits that are fixed under the Act and the Rules and that subsection 3(1) does not apply in those circumstances. The following is a list of actions for which the Commissioner cannot grant extension of time:

Date modified:

Temps — Consultations sur le RPBB

1.0 Introduction

Ce document présente des directives sur des sujets liés au temps, allant des dates auxquelles les communications sont réputées reçues aux délais et à la façon de les calculer, en passant par la prorogation des délais aux termes de la Loi sur les brevets et des Règles sur les brevets.

2.0 Heures normales d'ouverture du Bureau des brevets

Les heures normales d'ouverture du Bureau au public sont de 8 h 30 à 16 h 30 (heure locale). Le Bureau est ouvert du lundi au vendredi, à l'exception des jours fériés suivants :

2.1 Fermeture imprévue du Bureau des brevets

En cas de conditions météorologiques défavorables ou d'autres urgences, le Bureau pourrait exceptionnellement fermer ses portes au public pour la totalité ou une partie de la journée. Les fermetures imprévues seront annoncées sur le site Web du Bureau et dans les médias sociaux. Pour en savoir plus sur les dates attribuées aux documents soumis au Bureau et sur les prorogations de délai dans ces situations, veuillez consulter le document relatif au Temps.

3.0 Dates accordées aux communications écrites

Les dates accordées aux documents, aux renseignements et aux taxes présentés au Bureau des brevets ou aux communications écrites envoyées par le commissaire ou le Bureau des brevets sont précisées ci-dessous.

3.1 Livraison physique par la poste ou en personne au Bureau des brevets

Les communications écrites livrées au Bureau par la poste ou en personne, un jour où le Bureau est ouvert au public, sont réputées reçues à la date de la livraison. Les communications livrées lorsque le Bureau est fermé sont réputées reçues le prochain jour d'ouverture du Bureau (paragraphe 10(2) des Règles sur les brevets).

3.2. Livraison physique à des établissements désignés — bureaux régionaux d'ISDE

Les communications écrites livrées à des établissements désignés que sont les bureaux régionaux d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) énumérés dans le document relatif aux communications écrites, un jour où ceux-ci sont ouverts au public, sont réputées reçues à la date de livraison à l'établissement désigné si et seulement si, à cette date, les bureaux de l'OPIC sont ouverts au public. Les communications écrites livrées à un établissement désigné un jour où les bureaux de l'OPIC sont fermés au public sont réputées reçues le prochain jour d'ouverture des bureaux de l'OPIC au public. À titre d'exemple, des communications écrites livrées à l'établissement désigné de Toronto le 24 juin ne sont pas réputées reçues à cette date puisque les bureaux de l'OPIC sont fermés au public ce jour-là. Les communications sont réputées reçues le prochain jour d'ouverture des bureaux de l'OPIC au public (paragraphe 10(3) des Règles sur les brevets).

3.3 Livraison physique à des établissements désignés – services Courrier recommandéMC et XpresspostMC de Postes Canada

Les communications écrites livrées par l'entremise des services Courrier recommandéMC et XpresspostMC de Postes Canada sont réputées reçues le jour indiqué sur le reçu d'expédition émis par Postes Canada si et seulement si, à cette date, les bureaux de l'OPIC sont ouverts au public. Si les bureaux de l'OPIC sont fermés au public à la date indiquée sur le reçu d'expédition émis par Postes Canada, la communication écrite est réputée reçue le prochain jour d'ouverture des bureaux de l'OPIC au public (paragraphe 10(3) des Règles sur les brevets).

3.4 Livraison par modes de transmission électronique

Les communications écrites livrées par modes de transmission électronique, en ligne ou par télécopieur, décrits dans le document relatif aux communications écrites, sont réputées reçues le jour de la transmission si la livraison et la réception ont lieu avant minuit, heure locale de l'OPIC. Il convient de noter que pour les télécopies, la date de réception correspond à la date à laquelle se termine la transmission (paragraphe 8.1(1) de la Loi sur les brevets et paragraphe 10(4) des Règles sur les brevets).

3.5 Communications écrites envoyées par le commissaire ou le Bureau des brevets

Les communications écrites envoyées par le commissaire aux brevets ou le Bureau des brevets sont réputées envoyées à la date qu'elles portent, qu'il s'agisse de la lettre ou de l'avis envoyé par la poste ou joint à un courriel (article 7 des Règles sur les brevets).

4.0 Délais

Plusieurs délais sont prévus dans la Loi sur les brevets et les Règles sur les brevets relativement à la présentation de documents et de renseignements et au paiement des taxes. Les délais sont généralement exprimés en fonction de mesures à prendre dans un délai d'un certain nombre de mois suivant une date précise.

4.1 Calcul des délais

Lorsqu'une mesure doit être prise dans un nombre défini de mois suivant une date précise, les règles suivantes s'appliquent :

  1. le nombre de mois se calcule, dans un sens, exclusion faite du mois où tombe la date précise,
  2. la date précise ne compte pas,
  3. Le jour qui, dans le dernier mois obtenu selon a. ci-dessus, porte le même quantième que la date précise compte; à défaut de quantième identique, c'est le dernier jour de ce mois qui compte.

Quelques exemples sont présentés ci-dessus à titre indicatif :

Exemple 1 : Une demande de l'examinateur datée du 15 janvier requiert une réponse dans les quatre mois. Par conséquent, le délai de réponse est le 15 mai de la même année.

Exemple 2 : La taxe périodique d'une demande est due le 29, le 30 ou le 31 août et n'est pas payée à la date d'échéance. L'avis du commissaire est envoyé le 15 septembre et exige que le demandeur paie la taxe et la surtaxe dans les deux mois suivant l'avis ou dans les six mois suivant la date d'échéance de la taxe périodique, selon le délai qui expire le dernier. Le délai qui expire le dernier correspond à six mois suivant la date d'échéance de la taxe périodique, soit le 28 février (ou le 29 février s'il s'agit d'une année bissextile) de l'année suivante.

Exemple 3 : Un avis du commissaire envoyé aux termes de l'article 68 des Règles sur les brevets exige que le demandeur se conforme dans les trois mois suivant la date de l'avis envoyé le 31 mars. Le demandeur doit répondre avant le 30 juin.

5.0 Prorogations de délai

Des dispositions de la Loi sur les brevets et des Règles sur les brevets prévoient une prorogation de délai dans les circonstances décrites ci-dessous.

5.1 Prorogation de délai pour les jours prescrits et désignés

Lorsque le délai imparti pour compléter une mesure se termine un jour prescrit ou désigné par le commissaire, le délai est réputé prorogé au jour suivant qui n'est pas un jour prescrit ou désigné (paragraphe 78(1) de la Loi sur les brevets).

5.1.1. Jours prescrits

Les jours prescrits sont énumérés à l'article 5 des Règles sur les brevets et sont reproduits ici à titre de référence :

  1. le samedi
  2. le dimanche
  3. le 1er janvier ou, si le 1er janvier tombe un samedi ou un dimanche, le lundi suivant
  4. le vendredi saint
  5. le lundi de Pâques
  6. le lundi qui précède le 25 mai
  7. le 24 juin ou, si le 24 juin tombe un samedi ou un dimanche, le lundi suivant
  8. le 1er juillet ou, si le 1er juillet tombe un samedi ou un dimanche, le lundi suivant
  9. le premier lundi d'aoûtNote de bas de page 1
  10. le premier lundi de septembre
  11. le deuxième lundi d'octobre
  12. le 11 novembre ou si le 11 novembre tombe un samedi ou un dimanche, le lundi suivant
  13. les 25 et 26 décembre, ou
    1. si le 25 décembre tombe un vendredi, ce vendredi et le lundi suivant; et
    2. si le 25 décembre tombe un samedi ou un dimanche, les lundi et mardi suivants
  14. tout jour pendant lequel le Bureau des brevets est fermé toute la journée ou une partie de la journée pendant les heures d'ouverture normales

Un exemple de prorogation de délai réputé en raison d'un jour prescrit est présenté ci-dessus à titre indicatif :

Un avis d'acceptation daté du 11 juillet requiert le paiement de la taxe finale dans les quatre mois suivant la date de l'avis (le 11 novembre).

5.1.1.1. Fermetures imprévues du Bureau

En cas de conditions météorologiques défavorables ou de situation d'urgence, le Bureau peut être fermé au public toute la journée ou une partie de la journée pendant les heures d'ouverture normales. Toute fermeture imprévue est annoncée sur le site Web et les réseaux sociaux du Bureau. Ces fermetures imprévues sont comprises dans les jours prescrits (alinéa 5n) des Règles sur les brevets et indiqués ci-dessus à la section 5.1.1., point n.), en application du paragraphe 78(1) de la Loi sur les brevets. Si le délai se termine ce jour-là, le délai est prorogé au prochain jour d'ouverture du Bureau.

5.1.2. Jours désignés — force majeure

En cas de force majeure et dans l'intérêt public, le commissaire peut déclarer un ou des jours désignés (paragraphe 78(2) de la Loi sur les brevets). Cette disposition permet au commissaire de suspendre les obligations en cas de circonstances imprévues qui empêchent les demandeurs et les brevetés de respecter leurs obligations comme prévu. Toute déclaration de jour(s) désigné(s) par le commissaire est annoncée sur le site Web du Bureau et les délais qui se terminent ce jour-là ou ces jours-là sont prorogés au prochain jour d'ouverture du Bureau, en application du paragraphe 78(1) de la Loi sur les brevets.

5.2 Demande de prorogation de délai — paragraphe 3(1) des Règles sur les brevets

Le commissaire a le pouvoir de proroger le délai de certaines mesures aux termes des Règles sur les brevets si le commissaire estime que les circonstances justifient la prorogation et que les autres conditions administratives sont respectées. Les demandeurs et les brevetés peuvent, avant l'expiration d'un délai, demander une prorogation de délai pour certaines mesures lorsque les Règles le permettent (veuillez consulter l'annexe 1 ci-dessous pour la liste des exceptions pour lesquelles la prorogation de délai n'est pas autorisée). Il convient de noter que les délais prévus par la Loi sur les brevets ne peuvent pas être prorogés.

La demande de prorogation de délai doit être présentée avant l'expiration du délai initial et le demandeur doit payer la taxe prescrite de 200 $ (point 1 de l'annexe 2 des Règles sur les brevets). Bien qu'aucun affidavit ne soit nécessaire pour demander une prorogation de délai, le demandeur doit expliquer les raisons pour lesquelles il est incapable de prendre les mesures nécessaires dans le délai initial prescrit. Le Bureau examine la demande et, si elle est satisfaisante, le commissaire accorde généralement une prorogation de délai de six mois par dossier et par mesure. Le demandeur ou le breveté est informé par lettre de la décision du commissaire à l'égard de toute demande de prorogation de délai pour les délais qui peuvent être prorogés.

Exemples de mesures pour lesquelles la prorogation de délai est autorisée

D'autres demandes de prorogation de délai visant la même mesure dans le même dossier sont prises en considération seulement dans des circonstances exceptionnelles.

Exemples de circonstances exceptionnelles qui justifient une nouvelle prorogation de délai

5.3 Prorogation de délai pour « compléter » le paiement de la taxe applicable aux petites entités — paragraphe 3(3) des Règles sur les brevets

Le commissaire a le pouvoir de proroger le délai, que ce délai soit expiré ou non, pour le paiement de la plupart des taxes au taux applicable aux petites entités si le commissaire estime que des circonstances justifient la prorogation et si les conditions suivantes sont respectées :

  1. La taxe applicable aux petites entités a été payée avant l'expiration du délai de paiement de cette taxe;
  2. Il est par la suite déterminé que la taxe générale aurait dû être payée;
  3. Le demandeur ou le breveté dépose une déclaration dans laquelle il affirme que, à sa connaissance, la taxe applicable aux petites entités a été payée de bonne foi et que la demande de prorogation de délai est déposée sans retard indu après qu'il ait constaté que la taxe générale aurait dû être payée;
  4. Le demandeur ou le breveté paie la différence entre le montant de la taxe applicable aux petites entités qui a été payée et le montant de la taxe générale prévue à la date du paiement de la taxe applicable aux petites entités; et
  5. Le demandeur ou le breveté paie la taxe de 200 $ pour la prorogation des délais (point 1 de l'annexe 2 des Règles sur les brevets).

Le demandeur est informé par lettre de la décision du commissaire à l'égard de toute demande de prorogation de délai. Les taxes suivantes peuvent faire l'objet d'un complément :

Cela comprend également les taxes équivalentes payées en application des anciennes Règles par l'intermédiaire de dispositions transitoires qui remontent au 2 juin 2007. Les taxes payées au taux applicable aux petites entités avant cette date ne peuvent pas être « topped-up ».

Il convient de noter que le Bureau accepte une seule demande et déclaration (alinéa 3(3)c) des Règles sur les brevets) pour compléter plusieurs taxes payées au taux applicable aux petites entités pourvu que le demandeur ou le breveté paie la taxe de prorogation de délai de 200 $ pour chaque taxe préalablement payée au taux applicable aux petites entités qui doit être « topped-up », en plus de la différence à payer pour chaque taxe.

Lorsque le demandeur ou le breveté « tops-up » le paiement avec succès toutes les anciennes taxes applicables aux petites entités pour la demande ou le brevet au taux de la taxe générale, le Bureau ajuste la taille de l'entité qui est inscrite au dossier et toutes les taxes ultérieures ainsi que les avis et les lettres correspondants indiqueront la taxe générale. Si toutes les taxes n'ont pas été « topped-up », la taille de l'entité inscrite au dossier du Bureau reste la même aux fins des taxes et des avis et lettres correspondants. Les demandeurs et les brevetés peuvent toujours payer les taxes ultérieures au taux général quoique la différence est inscrite au dossier du Bureau et peut être remboursée dans les trois ans suivant le paiement, sur demande.

6.0 Délais prévus dans le Traité de coopération en matière de brevets

La règle 80.5 du Règlement d'exécution du PCT prévoit ce qui suit : Si un délai quelconque pendant lequel un document ou une taxe doit parvenir à un office national ou à une organisation intergouvernementale expire un jour :

  1. où cet office ou cette organisation n'est pas ouvert pour traiter d'affaires officielles;
  2. où le courrier ordinaire n'est pas livré dans la localité où cet office ou cette organisation est situé;
  3. qui, lorsque cet office ou cette organisation est situé dans plus d'une localité, est un jour férié dans au moins une des localités dans lesquelles cet office ou cette organisation est situé, et dans le cas où la législation nationale applicable par cet office ou cette organisation prévoit, à l'égard des demandes nationales, que, dans cette situation, ce délai prend fin le jour suivant; ou
  4. qui, lorsque cet office est l'administration gouvernementale d'un État contractant chargée de délivrer des brevets, est un jour férié dans une partie de cet État contractant, et dans le cas où la législation nationale applicable par cet office prévoit, à l'égard des demandes nationales, que, dans cette situation, ce délai prend fin le jour suivant;

le délai prend fin le premier jour suivant auquel aucune de ces quatre circonstances n'existe plus.

L'OPIC estime que l'article 26 de la Loi d'interprétation s'applique aux demandes internationales du PCT déposées au Canada. Par conséquent, lorsqu'un délai prévu dans le cadre du PCT pour le dépôt d'un document au Canada expire un jour férié provincial ou territorial, si le déposant livre le document en question le jour non férié suivant, l'OPIC tiendra pour acquis que le document a été livré à un établissement où une prorogation du délai est justifiée. Toutefois, l'OPIC ne se prononce pas sur l'acceptation éventuelle de ces prorogations par d'autres pays; il incombera à la personne qui dépose le document de vérifier si elle a droit à une prorogation dans d'autres pays qui l'intéressent, en vertu de la règle 80.5 du Règlement d'exécution du PCT ou d'une autre loi pertinente.

Annexe 1 — Non-application du paragraphe 3(1)

Bien que des prorogations de délai puissent être accordées pour certaines mesures, certains délais sont prévus dans la Loi et dans les Règles et le paragraphe 3(1) ne s'applique pas dans ces circonstances. Les mesures pour lesquelles le commissaire ne peut accorder de prorogation de délai sont énumérées ci-dessous :

Date de modification :