Priority claims

Publication date:

Amendment date: June 17, 2019

This practice notice provides guidance on priority under section 34 of the Trademarks Act.

In accordance with subsection 34(1) of the Trademarks Act, a request for priority setting out the date and country of filing of the earlier application must be filed with the Registrar of Trademarks within a period of six months after the date on which the earliest application was filed for the registration of the same or substantially the same trademark for use in association with the same kind of goods or services. Such a priority request may be filed in one of the following ways:

  1. by including the request in an application as originally filed, provided that the subsequent application is filed within the above-noted six-month period;
  2. by amending an application to include the request, provided that the amendment is made within the six-month period;
  3. by filing a separate request in respect of an application at any time within the six-month period.

Should an error be made in a request for priority concerning the date or country of filing of the earlier application, the Office will permit the request to be amended to correct the error at any time within the six-month period of time. After the expiry of the six-month period of time, no amendment will be permitted to the date or country indicated in the request since it is considered that such an amendment would be inconsistent with paragraph 34(1)(a) of the Act. However, pursuant to subsection 33(2) of the Trademarks Regulations, a request for priority may be withdrawn by filing a request to that effect before the application is advertised under subsection 37(1) of the Act.

Subsection 34(1) of the Act does not require that a request for priority include the number of the earlier application. The Office, however, considers that it is highly desirable for it to be able to make available to the public either the number of, or a copy of, the earlier application. Accordingly, where a request for priority does not include the number of the earlier application, the Office will, pursuant to subsection 34(2) of the Act, require the applicant to either provide the Office with the number or submit a certified copy of the earlier application.

Should an error be made in indicating the number of the earlier application, the Office will permit the number to be corrected at any time before registration. (Since subsection 34(1) of the Act does not require the request for priority to include the number, the Office considers that an amendment of the number is permitted by the applicant as of right in accordance with subsection 35(1) of the Trademarks Regulations.)

For the purposes of the request for priority referred to in paragraph 34(1)(b) of the Act, the Office does not consider there to be any requirement to identify the specific goods or services in respect of which priority is requested. With respect to goods or services, it is sufficient if the request indicates that the priority application was filed for registration of the same or substantially the same trademark for use in association with the same kind of goods or services. If, however, an applicant chooses to limit the priority to goods only, to services only, or to specified goods and/or services, the limitations to the goods or services covered by the priority request may be made at any time within the above-noted six month period. After the expiry of the six-month period, no amendment to remove any such limitation will be permitted since this would be considered in substance to be the making of a new request for priority outside of the time limits permitted by paragraph 34(1)(a).

With respect the extension of the above-noted six-month period, please refer to the Practice Notice titled "Practice Notice on Extensions of Time due to Force Majeure for Priority and Renewal".

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Revendications de priorité

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Date de publication :

Date de modification : 17 juin 2019

Cet énoncé de pratique a pour but de préciser la pratique relative à la priorité en vertu de l'article 34 de la Loi sur les marques de commerce.

Conformément au paragraphe 34(1) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce, une demande de priorité comprenant la date et le pays où a été produite la demande la plus ancienne doit être produite auprès du registraire des marques de commerce à l'intérieur d'un délai de six mois suivant la date à laquelle la plus ancienne demande pour la même, ou sensiblement la même marque de commerce, en liaison avec le même genre de produits et ou services. Une telle demande de priorité doit être produite selon une des façons suivantes :

  1. en incluant la demande de priorité dans la demande initiale d'enregistrement, à la condition que la demande postérieure soit produite dans le délai de six mois indiqué ci-dessus;
  2. en modifiant la demande d'enregistrement afin d'inclure une demande de priorité, à la condition que la modification soit faite dans le délai de six mois;
  3. en produisant une demande de priorité séparément relativement à la demande d'enregistrement à tout moment dans le délai de six mois.

S'il y a une erreur dans la demande de priorité quant à la date ou le pays où la plus ancienne demande d'enregistrement été produite, le Bureau permet au requérant de modifier la demande afin de corriger l'erreur à tout moment dans le délai de six mois. Après l'expiration du délai de six mois, aucune modification de la date ou du pays indiqué dans la demande ne sera autorisé car une telle modification est considérée comme étant incompatible avec l'alinéa 34(1)a) de la Loi. Cependant, en vertu du paragraphe 33(2) du Règlement sur les marques de commerce, une demande de priorité peut être retirée par la production d'une demande à cet effet avant que la demande d'enregistrement ne soit annoncée au titre du paragraphe 37(1) de la Loi.

Le paragraphe 34(1) de la Loi n'exige pas que la demande de priorité inclut le numéro de la demande antérieure. Le Bureau juge cependant très à propos de pouvoir mettre à la disposition du public soit le numéro, soit une copie de la demande antérieure. En conséquence, si la demande de priorité n'inclut pas le numéro de la demande antérieure, le Bureau enjoindra au requérant, en vertu du paragraphe 34(2) de la Loi, de fournir le numéro au Bureau ou de lui remettre une copie certifiée de la demande antérieure.

S'il y a une erreur dans le numéro de la demande antérieure, le Bureau permettra que le numéro soit corrigé à tout moment avant l'enregistrement. (Puisque le paragraphe 34(1) de la Loi n'exige pas que la demande inclue le numéro, le Bureau estime que le requérant peut modifier le numéro de plein droit conformément au paragraphe 35(1) du Règlement sur les marques de commerce.)

Relativement à la demande de priorité mentionnée à l'alinéa 34(1)b) de la Loi, le Bureau est d'avis que le requérant n'est pas tenu de définir les produits ou services spécifiques visés par la revendication de priorité. Il suffit que la demande indique que la demande de priorité a été produite à l'égard de l'enregistrement de la même, ou sensiblement la même marque de commerce en liaison avec le même genre de produits ou services. Toutefois, si la demande de priorité vise uniquement des produits ou uniquement des services ou est limitée à des produits et/ou à des services précis, les restrictions peuvent être précisées à tout moment au cours du délai de six mois susmentionné. Une fois ce délai expiré, aucune demande de modification visant à supprimer une telle restriction ne sera autorisée puisqu'elle serait assimilable à une nouvelle déclaration de priorité présentée hors du délai prévu à l'alinéa 34(1)a).

En ce qui concerne les prolongations de délai au-delà du délai de six mois, veuillez-vous référer à l'énoncé de pratique intitulé : « Énoncé de pratique concernant les prolongations de délai en cas de force majeure pour une priorité et un renouvellement ».

Date de modification :