Temporary Appointment of Trademark Agent or Associate Trademark Agent

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Publication date: June 17, 2019

Amendment date: January 17, 2020

This practice notice provides guidance on providing notice to the Registrar in one communication of the temporary appointment of a trademark agent or associate trademark agent.

The Office of the Registrar of Trademarks understands that a trademark agent may be appointed for the purpose of submitting a single communication or request in respect of multiple trademark applications or registrations. In these cases, the appointment, communication or request, and revocation of the associate trademark agent must be communicated to the Registrar in one document.

The following is an example of an acceptable request to temporarily appoint a trademark agent

The undersigned has been appointed, under subsection 22(1) of the Trademarks Regulations, by the applicant or registered owner as trademark agent for the purpose of the following:

[details of request]

Upon recordal by the Office of this request, our appointment as trademark agent is revoked under section 23 of the Trademarks Regulations.

The following is an example of an acceptable request to temporarily appoint an associate trademark agent:

The undersigned has been appointed, under subsection 22(3) of the Trademarks Regulations, by the trademark agent that resides in Canada appointed on the following trademark applications and registrations, as associate trademark agent for the purpose of the following:

[details of request]

Upon recordal by the Office of this request, our appointment as associate agent is revoked under section 23 of the Trademarks Regulations, and the appointed trademark agent will remain of record.

Please note that any response from the Office to the communication or request will be sent to the temporarily-appointed agent.

Requests to Group Goods or Services (Nice Classification)

The temporary appointment of a trademark agent or associate trademark agent for the purpose of grouping the goods or services of a trademark registration may be done using the Group Goods or Services (Nice Classification) e-service on the CIPO website by including the temporary appointment request in the "Closing details" section.

This practice notice is intended to provide guidance on the Canadian Intellectual Property Office practice and interpretation of relevant legislation. However, in the event of any inconsistency between this notice and the applicable legislation, the legislation must be followed. The provisions of this practice notice are general guidelines only, are not binding in any particular case and are subject to change.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Nomination temporaire d’un agent de marques de commerce ou d’un agent de marques de commerce associé

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Date de publication : 17 juin 2019

Date de modification : 17 janvier 2020

Le présent énoncé a pour but de clarifier la pratique en ce qui concerne l'avis de la nomination d'un agent de marques de commerce ou d'un agent de marques de commerce associé par voie d'une seule communication au registraire.

Le Bureau du registraire des marques de commerce est conscient qu'un agent de marques de commerce peut être nommé dans le seul but de soumettre une communication ou une requête unique dans de multiples demandes ou enregistrements de marque de commerce. Dans de tels cas, la nomination, la communication ou la requête, et la révocation de l'agent de marques de commerce associé peuvent être transmises au registraire en un seul document.

Voici un exemple d'une requête acceptable de nomination temporaire d'un agent de marques de commerce:

Le soussigné a été nommé, en vertu du paragraphe 22(1) du Règlement sur les marques de commerce, par le requérant ou le propriétaire inscrit, à titre d'agent de marques de commerce aux fins de ce qui suit :

[détails de la requête]

Sur inscription de la présente requête par le Bureau, ma nomination à titre d'agent de marques de commerce sera révoquée en vertu de l'article 23 du Règlement sur les marques de commerce

Voici un exemple d'une requête acceptable de nomination temporaire d'un agent de marques de commerce associé :

Le soussigné a été nommé, en vertu du paragraphe 22(3) du Règlement sur les marques de commerce, par l'agent de marques de commerce résidant au Canada qui est nommé à l'égard des demandes et enregistrements de marque de commerce suivants, à titre d'agent de marques de commerce associé aux fins de ce qui suit :

[détails de la requête]

Sur inscription par le Bureau de la présente requête, ma nomination à titre d'agent associé sera révoquée en vertu de l'article 23 du Règlement sur les marques de commerce, et l'agent de marques de commerce nommé demeurera au dossier.

Veuillez noter que toute réponse du Bureau à la communication ou à la requête sera envoyée à l'agent nommé à titre temporaire.

Requêtes visant à grouper les produits ou services (Classification de Nice)

La nomination temporaire d'un agent de marques de commerce ou d'un agent de marques de commerce associé afin de grouper des produits ou services d'une marque de commerce enregistrée peut être soumise en utilisant le système électronique Grouper les produits ou services (Classification de Nice) sur le site web de l'OPIC en incluant la requête de nomination temporaire dans la section « Renseignements de clôture ».

Le présent énoncé de pratique a pour objet de fournir une orientation quant à la pratique de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada et à son interprétation de la législation pertinente. Toutefois, en cas d'incompatibilité entre le présent énoncé et la législation applicable, la législation doit prévaloir. Les dispositions du présent énoncé de pratique constituent seulement des lignes directrices générales, elles n'ont force obligatoire dans aucun cas particulier et sont sujettes à changement.

Date de modification :