Design matters in the solar energy business: Morgan Solar

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Hot, sunny summer days are ideal for generating solar energy. These days are also when heat rises and glare increases. Morgan Solar, a Toronto-based company, designed a special solar panel to generate sustainable solar energy while reducing heat and glare coming in through windows, with a bonus: they look great!

Morgan Solar’s panels, called Sun Simba, are different from conventional solar panels. Sun Simba panels act as translucent sunshades that people can apply over their windows. While generating electricity, the panels block sun glare, reduce heat and diffuse light to illuminate a room.

"They are beautiful over the windows. People love the way they look," says Nicolas Morgan, Vice President of Business Development and one of the founders at Morgan Solar. "Some people want to buy (the panel) because we make this beautiful work of art that actually functions as a solar panel."

Modern buildings tend to integrate large glass windows into their designs, and Sun Simba translucent solar panels fit well with the aesthetic vision of these buildings, Morgan explains.

Customer feedback about the eye-catching aspect of this technology inspired the company to apply to register its industrial design. The company wanted to protect its distinctive-looking solar panel optics (the cells on the panels). It has obtained three industrial design registrations since 2016. The sophisticated designs came from a team of highly skilled optical designers with strong design capabilities at Morgan Solar.

The beauty of a design can create challenges in manufacturing and commercializing. Since 2007, Morgan Solar has moved from designing products that were hard to manufacture to making high-performance products that are easier to manufacture, allowing them to more easily commercialize and grow their business.

Morgan Solar has a robust intellectual property (IP) strategy using in-house expertise and working with multiple law firms who offer advice on which IP they should protect and how to do it. In addition to industrial design rights, the company also owns patents, trademarks and maintains trade secrets within Canada and internationally.

Registering industrial designs makes sense for Morgan Solar, says Nicolas Morgan. "Anything that looks striking and pretty can add potential value to our products."

Follow:

Related links

Date modified:

Morgan Solar : le design a de l'importance dans le domaine de l'énergie solaire

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Les chaudes journées ensoleillées de l'été sont idéales pour générer de l'énergie solaire. C'est aussi le moment où la chaleur grimpe et l'éblouissement s'intensifie. Morgan Solar, une entreprise torontoise, a conçu des panneaux solaires spéciaux qui génèrent de l'énergie solaire durable tout en réduisant la chaleur et l'éblouissement qui pénètrent par les fenêtres, sans compter le petit extra : ils ont très beaux!

Appelés Sun Simba, les panneaux de Morgan Solar sont différents des panneaux solaires traditionnels. Les panneaux Sun Simba fonctionnent comme des ombrelles translucides que les gens peuvent appliquer sur leurs fenêtres. Tout en générant de l'électricité, les panneaux bloquent l'éclat du soleil, réduisent la chaleur et diffusent la lumière pour illuminer une pièce.

« Ils sont vraiment beaux sur les fenêtres. Les gens trouvent qu'ils ont une très belle allure », dit Nicolas Morgan, vice-président du développement des affaires et l'un des fondateurs de Morgan Solar. « Certaines personnes veulent acheter (le panneau) parce que cette superbe œuvre d'art fonctionne vraiment comme un panneau solaire. »

Les concepts des bâtiments modernes tendent à intégrer de grandes fenêtres en verre et les panneaux solaires translucides Sun Simba s'harmonisent bien avec la vision esthétique de ces bâtiments, explique M. Morgan.

Les commentaires des clients concernant l'attrait de cette technologie ont incité l'entreprise à faire une demande pour enregistrer son dessin industriel. L'entreprise voulait protéger l'allure distinctive de ses panneaux solaires (les cellules sur les panneaux). Elle a obtenu trois enregistrements de dessins industriels depuis 2016. Le design sophistiqué a été créé par une équipe de concepteurs optiques hautement compétente avec de solides capacités en design de Morgan Solar.

La beauté d'un concept peut créer des difficultés pour ce qui est de la fabrication et de la commercialisation. Depuis 2007, Morgan Solar est passé de la conception de produits qui étaient difficiles à fabriquer à la production de produits haute performance qui sont maintenant plus faciles à produire, ce qui a facilité la commercialisation et permis à l'entreprise de prendre de l'expansion.

Morgan Solar s'est doté d'une solide stratégie de propriété intellectuelle (PI), misant sur l'expertise maison et collaborant avec plusieurs cabinets d'avocats qui les conseillent sur la PI qu'ils devraient protéger et comment. En plus des droits de dessin industriel, l'entreprise est propriétaire de brevets, de marques de commerce et de secrets commerciaux au Canada et à l'échelle internationale.

L'enregistrement de dessins industriels a du sens pour Morgan Solar, explique Nicolas Morgan. « N'importe quoi de beau et captivant a le potentiel de donner de la valeur à nos produits. »

Suivez :

Liens connexes

Date de modification :