Activity report for the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO)/Intellectual Property Institute of Canada (IPIC) Diagnostic Methods Working Group

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Meetings

(Ottawa); (Toronto); (teleconference)

Participants

Peter Wilcox (Partner, Belmore Neidrauer); Micheline Gravelle (Managing Partner, Bereskin & Parr); Neena Kushwaha (Acting Director, Biotechnology, CIPO); Jeremy McLean (Acting Program Manager, CIPO); Anne-Marie Monteith (Senior Director, CIPO); Kathleen Murphy (Director, Biotechnology, CIPO; only)

Objective

To review the issues and jurisprudence regarding the statutory subject matter of medical diagnostic methods.

Background

In 2015, a Practice Notice concerning the examination of medical diagnostic methods was issued by CIPO. The Practice Notice has given rise to the identification by CIPO examiners of alleged defects relating to non-statutory subject matter for a subset of claims to diagnostic methods that would not have been so identified prior to the Practice Notice. Furthermore, due to various constraints, the CIPO Practice Notice is also fairly complex which has led to a long period of adjustment for applicants, agents and patent examiners. The CIPO Practice Notice has been the subject of some debate: a number of articles and blog postings discussing the CIPO Practice Notice and whether it adhered to the jurisprudence have been published. Against this backdrop, the President of IPIC approached the Commissioner of Patents at CIPO to see whether a collaboration intended to conduct an in depth discussion of the examination of medical diagnostic method patent applications and the Practice Notice might be a useful way to work together on this issue.

Discussions

Clarification of practice

There was agreement that the CIPO Practice Notice was complicated and difficult to understand, especially when first encountered. According to the CIPO representatives, this complexity was a necessary outcome of the dual requirements of consistency of examination and the jurisprudence as interpreted by CIPO. Despite the complex nature of the Practice Notice, attention was drawn to the section of MOPOP on medical diagnostic methods published in late 2017 that expands on the Practice Notice in highlighting elements that might render a diagnostic method claim statutory such as distinct subpopulations and combinations of markers and/or tests.

Consistency of practice

CIPO has dedicated significant resources to ensuring examination of medical diagnostic method claims is consistent and would welcome the identification, through the use of the online feedback mechanism, of any applications for which examinations do not seem to adhere to published practice. (Please note: this mechanism cannot be used for the prosecution of the patent applications.)

Statistics: CIPO gathered and presented data for International Patent Classifications linked to medical diagnostic methods with the disclaimer that this data does not reflect all applications claiming such methods and also includes applications that were not claiming such methods. This data showed that the percentage of applications being allowed in these classifications is generally increasing with no significant changes in trends following the introduction of the Practice Notice.

Jurisprudence

The working group discussed in depth the significance and interpretation of a number of decided cases including Amazon.com, Inc v. Canada 2011 FCA 328; Shell Oil Co. v. Commissioner of Patents [1982] 2 S.C.R. 536; Free World Trust v. Électro Santé Inc. 2000 SCC 66; Whirlpool Corp. v. Camco Inc. 2000 SCC 67; and Schlumberger Canada Ltd. v. Commissioner of Patents [1981] 56 C.P.R. (2d) 204. Though a greater appreciation of the reasoning behind the differing interpretations was shared, no consensus interpretation of the relevant cases was attained. CIPO interprets the teachings of Amazon and Schlumberger to be relevant to diagnostic methods and Shell Oil was distinguished and interpreted by CIPO relatively narrowly.

Conclusion

The working group engaged in informative discussions. No further regular meetings will be scheduled, however the working group members have agreed to meet on an as-needed basis should one party have a topic to discuss. Working collaboratively, a better understanding of the differing perspectives was achieved by all participants. This understanding will be a useful foundation of knowledge in the event that any change to the diagnostic method Practice Notice is required. Furthermore, the engagement allowed for the provision of better information sharing regarding details of a published practice. The composition of the working group, both in terms of the relatively small size and the mixture of subject-matter expertise and strategic vision, allowed for discussions that were engaging, informative, constructive and non-confrontational.

Date modified:

Rapport d’activité du Groupe de travail sur les méthodes diagnostiques de l’Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC) et de l’Institut de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (IPIC)

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Réunions

(Ottawa); (Toronto); (téléconférence)

Participants

Peter Wilcox (associé, Belmore Neidrauer); Micheline Gravelle (associée directrice, Bereskin & Parr); Neena Kushwaha (directrice intérimaire, Biotechnologie, OPIC); Jeremy McLean (gestionnaire de programme par intérim, OPIC); Anne-Marie Monteith (directrice principale, OPIC); Kathleen Murphy (directrice, Biotechnologie, OPIC; réunion du seulement)

Objectif

Examiner les questions et la jurisprudence relatives à l'objet des méthodes de diagnostic médical prévu par la Loi.

Contexte

En 2015, l'OPIC a publié un énoncé de pratique concernant l'examen des méthodes de diagnostic médical. L'énoncé de pratique a amené les examinateurs de l'OPIC à soupçonner qu'un sous-ensemble de revendications pour des méthodes de diagnostic n'aurait pas d'objet prévu par la Loi, un défaut qui n'aurait pas été cerné avant l'énoncé de pratique. En outre, en raison de diverses contraintes, l'énoncé de pratique de l'OPIC est également assez complexe, ce qui a mené à une longue période d'adaptation pour les demandeurs, les agents et les examinateurs de brevets. L'énoncé de pratique de l'OPIC a fait l'objet d'un débat, car un certain nombre d'articles et de billets de blogue traitant de l'énoncé de pratique de l'OPIC et de son respect de la jurisprudence ont été publiés. Dans ce contexte, le président de l'IPIC a approché la commissaire aux brevets de l'OPIC afin de voir si la tenue d'une discussion conjointe approfondie sur l'examen des demandes de brevet pour des méthodes de diagnostic médical et l'énoncé de pratique pourrait être un moyen utile de travailler ensemble sur cette question.

Discussions

Clarification de la pratique

Il a été convenu que l'énoncé de pratique de l'OPIC était complexe et difficile à comprendre, surtout lorsqu'il est présenté pour la première fois. Selon les représentants de l'OPIC, cette complexité était un résultat incontournable de la double exigence de cohérence de l'examen et de la jurisprudence telle qu'elle est interprétée par l'OPIC. Malgré la nature complexe de l'énoncé de pratique, on a attiré l'attention sur la section du Recueil des pratiques du Bureau des brevets (RPBB) sur les méthodes de diagnostic médical publié à la fin de 2017, qui élargit l'énoncé de pratique en mettant en évidence les éléments qui pourraient rendre l'objet d'une demande de brevet de méthode de diagnostic prévu par la Loi, comme des sous-populations distinctes et des combinaisons de marqueurs ou d'essais.

Uniformité de la pratique

L'OPIC a consacré des ressources importantes pour veiller à ce que l'examen des revendications relatives à une méthode de diagnostic médical soit uniforme et aimerait être informé, au moyen du formulaire de rétroaction de la clientèle de toute demande pour laquelle les examens ne semblent pas respecter la pratique publiée. (Veuillez noter que ce mécanisme ne peut pas être utilisé pour le processus de demandes de brevet.)

Statistiques : L'OPIC a recueilli et présenté des données pour la Classification internationale des brevets liées aux méthodes de diagnostic médical, en précisant que ces données ne reflètent pas toutes les demandes revendiquant ces méthodes et qu'elles couvrent également des demandes qui ne revendiquaient pas ces méthodes. Ces données ont montré que le pourcentage de demandes admises dans ces classifications augmente généralement sans qu'il y ait eu de changements importants dans les tendances à la suite de l'introduction de l'énoncé de pratique.

Jurisprudence

Le groupe de travail a discuté en profondeur de l'importance et de l'interprétation d'un certain nombre de décisions, y compris Amazon.com, Inc. c. Canada, 2011 CAF 328; Shell Oil Co. c. Commissaire des brevets, (1982) 2 RCS 536; Free World Trust c. Électro Santé Inc., 2000 CSC 66; Whirlpool Corp. c. Camco Inc., 2000 CSC 67; et Schlumberger Canada Ltd. c. Commissaire aux brevets (1981) 56 CPR (2e) 204. Bien qu'une meilleure compréhension du raisonnement qui sous-tend les différentes interprétations ait été partagée, aucune interprétation consensuelle des cas pertinents n'a été obtenue. L'OPIC interprète les enseignements d'Amazon et de Schlumberger comme étant pertinents pour les méthodes de diagnostic et Shell Oil a été distinguée et interprétée de façon relativement étroite par l'OPIC.

Conclusion

Le groupe de travail a participé à des discussions instructives. Il n'y aura pas d'autres réunions ordinaires, mais les membres du groupe de travail ont convenu de se réunir au besoin si une partie désire discuter d'un sujet en particulier. En travaillant en collaboration, tous les participants ont pu mieux comprendre les différents points de vue. Cette compréhension constituera une base de connaissances utile si un changement devait être apporté à l'énoncé de pratique concernant l'examen des méthodes de diagnostic. De plus, la mobilisation a permis d'améliorer l'échange d'information concernant les détails d'une pratique publiée. La composition du groupe de travail, tant en ce qui a trait à sa taille relativement petite qu'à la combinaison d'expertise en la matière et de vision stratégique, a favorisé des discussions qui ont été stimulantes, instructives, enrichissantes et non conflictuelles.

Date de modification :