Doing business abroad: Protecting your IP in Mexico

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

View as PDF (PDF: 2.2 MB; 13 pages)


On this page

Doing business abroad: Protecting your IP in Mexico

Intellectual property (IP) is a valuable asset that can support your business expansion abroad. A Canadian patent, trademark or industrial design does not secure your rights outside Canada. You should consider obtaining IP protection in the countries where you plan on doing business, including selling products online or manufacturing products overseas.

Canada and Mexico are major trading partners, and there are a significant number of business, trade and investment ties between both countries. It is therefore important to know how to recognize, register and enforce your IP rights in Mexico. For the most part, the protection and registration process for IP in Mexico is similar to that in Canada. However, there are certain differences that you should familiarize yourself with by reading this guide.

In Mexico, you can apply for patent, trademark, industrial design and copyright protection. If you wish to enter the Mexican market or are already doing business in Mexico, you should apply to protect your IP rights as soon as practically possible.

Where is IP registered?

The Mexican Institute of Industrial Property (IMPI) is the decentralized agency responsible for the administration and registration of patents, trademarks and industrial designs. Copyright is granted through the National Institute of Copyright (INDAUTOR).

Applications for patents, trademarks and industrial designs can be filed electronically through the IMPI website (in Spanish only), and copyright applications can be filed through the INDAUTOR website (in Spanish only). Both websites also have online searchable databases. A good first step is to search existing IP to check whether your anticipated IP use may conflict with or infringe on someone’s prior rights.

Trademarks

Terminology

In Mexico, the term “industrial property” is used to refer to patents, trademarks and industrial designs.

Patents

Industrial designs

IP enforcement

There are several ways to enforce your rights against unauthorized use of your IP in Mexico:

Tips: Important notes

Related information

*The information provided above is meant as an educational resource only and should not be construed as legal advice.


Copy of this publication

To obtain a copy of this publication, or to receive it in an alternate format (Braille, large print, etc.), please fill out the Publication Request Form or contact:

ISED Citizen Services Centre
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
C.D. Howe Building
235 Queen Street
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0H5
Canada

Telephone (toll-free in Canada): 1‑800‑328‑6189
Telephone (international): 613‑954‑5031
TTY (for hearing impaired): 1‑866‑694‑8389
Business hours: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Eastern Time)
Email: ISED@Canada.ca

Permission to reproduce

Except as otherwise specifically noted, the information in this publication may be reproduced, in part or in whole and by any means, without charge or further permission from the Department of Industry, provided that due diligence is exercised in ensuring the accuracy of the information reproduced; that the Department of Industry is identified as the source institution; and that the reproduction is not represented as an official version of the information reproduced, or as having been made in affiliation with, or with the endorsement of, the Department of Industry.

For permission to reproduce the information in this publication for commercial purposes, please fill out the Application for Crown Copyright Clearance or contact the ISED Citizen Services Centre mentioned above.

Ⓒ Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, as represented by the Minister of Industry, 2019.

Aussi offert en français sous le titre Protéger votre PI au Mexique.

Date modified:

Faire des affaires à l'étranger : protéger votre PI au Mexique

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Afficher en PDF (PDF: 2.2 Mo; 13 pages)


Sur cette page

Faire des affaires à l'étranger : protéger votre PI au Mexique

La propriété intellectuelle (PI) constitue un actif précieux qui peut favoriser l'expansion de votre entreprise à l'étranger. Un brevet, une marque de commerce ou un dessin industriel au Canada ne garantit pas vos droits à l'extérieur du Canada. Vous devriez envisager d'obtenir une protection de votre PI dans les pays où vous prévoyez exercer vos activités, comme vendre des produits sur Internet ou fabriquer des produits à l'étranger.

Le Canada et le Mexique sont d'importants partenaires commerciaux, et il existe un nombre important d'entreprises et de liens commerciaux et d'investissements entre les deux pays. Il est donc important de savoir comment reconnaître, enregistrer et faire respecter vos droits de PI au Mexique. Dans l'ensemble, le processus de protection et d'enregistrement de la PI au Mexique est semblable à celui du Canada. Toutefois, vous devriez vous familiariser avec certaines différences en lisant le présent guide.

Au Mexique, vous pouvez présenter une demande de protection pour un brevet, une marque de commerce, un dessin industriel et un droit d'auteur. Si vous souhaitez percer le marché mexicain ou si vous faites déjà des affaires au Mexique, vous devriez présenter une demande de protection de vos droits de PI dès que possible.

Où faut-il enregistrer la PI?

L'Institut mexicain de la propriété industrielle (IMPI) est l'organisme décentralisé responsable de l'administration et de l'enregistrement des brevets, des marques de commerce et des dessins industriels. Le droit d'auteur est accordé par l'Institut national du droit d'auteur (INDAUTOR).

Les demandes de brevets, de marques de commerce et de dessins industriels peuvent être déposées par voie électronique sur le site Web de l'IMPI (en espagnol seulement) et les demandes de droit d'auteur peuvent être déposées par l'intermédiaire du site Web de l'INDAUTOR (en espagnol seulement). Les sites Web des deux organisations contiennent des bases de données interrogeables en ligne. Un bon point de départ consiste à effectuer une recherche sur la PI existante pour vérifier si l'utilisation prévue de la PI entre en conflit avec les droits antérieurs d'une personne ou leur porte atteinte. Un professionnel de la PI canadien pourrait être en mesure de coordonner le travail avec un professionnel de la PI au Mexique.

Marques de commerce

Terminologie

Au Mexique, le terme « propriété industrielle » désigne les brevets, les marques de commerce et les dessins industriels.

Brevets

Dessins industriels

Faire respecter les droits de PI

Il existe plusieurs façons de faire respecter vos droits en cas d'utilisation non autorisée de votre PI au Mexique :

Conseils : Notes importantes

Renseignements connexes

*Les renseignements ci-dessus sont offerts à titre de ressources éducatives seulement et ne devraient pas être interprétés comme des conseils juridiques.


Pour obtenir un exemplaire de cette publication ou un format substitut (Braille, gros caractères), veuillez remplir le formulaire de demande de publication ou communiquer avec :

Centre de services aux citoyens d'ISDE
Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada
Édifice C.D.-Howe
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0H5
Canada

Téléphone (sans frais au Canada) : 1‑800‑328‑6189
Téléphone (international) : 613‑954‑5031
ATS (pour les personnes malentendantes) : 1‑866‑694‑8389
Les heures de bureau sont de 8 h 30 à 17 h (heure de l'Est).
Courriel : ISDE@Canada.ca

Autorisation de reproduction

À moins d'indication contraire, l'information contenue dans cette publication peut être reproduite, en tout ou en partie et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sans frais et sans autre permission du ministère de l'Industrie, pourvu qu'une diligence raisonnable soit exercée afin d'assurer l'exactitude de l'information reproduite, que le ministère de l'Industrie soit mentionné comme organisme source et que la reproduction ne soit présentée ni comme une version officielle ni comme une copie ayant été faite en collaboration avec le ministère de l'Industrie ou avec son consentement.

Pour obtenir l'autorisation de reproduire l'information contenue dans cette publication à des fins commerciales, veuillez demander l'affranchissement du droit d'auteur de la Couronne ou communiquer avec le Centre de services aux citoyens d'ISDE aux coordonnées ci-dessus.

Ⓒ Sa Majesté la Reine du Chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de l'Industrie, 2020.
N.B. Dans cette publication, la forme masculine désigne tant les femmes que les hommes.

Also available in English under the title Protect your IP in Mexico.

Date de modification :