IP roadmap – Your path to international industrial design registration under the Hague Agreement: Filing with the World International Property Organization

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

View as PDF (PDF: 964 KB; 1 page)


On this page

This roadmap shows you the steps to apply for industrial design protection in multiple countries through one application and to pay fees in one currency through a single transaction with the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).

1 – Filing (applicant)

You can start the international registration process by filing your application with the International Bureau (IB) of WIPO.

Your international application must include the following:

How much does an international application cost?

There are 3 types of fees in an international application: a basic fee, a publication fee and a fee for each country where protection is sought. A schedule of fees and a fee calculator are available on WIPO's website.

2 – Examination: formal requirements (WIPO)

The IB will verify that your international application meets the formal requirements prescribed by the Hague Agreement.

If the requirements are met

The IB will send you a certificate of international registration.

If the requirements are not met

The IB will send you an invitation to correct irregularities within 3 months of the date of the invitation.

3 – Publication (WIPO)

Publication in the International Designs Bulletin acts as a notification to each country identified in your application that, if applicable, they can now begin substantive examination under their domestic law.

4 – Examination: substantive requirements (CIPO)

If you seek protection in Canada, the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) will examine your Hague application. This includes a search of prior art to assess the novelty of your design.

5 – Grant of protection (CIPO and WIPO)

If your Hague application complies with the requirements of the Industrial Design Act and the Industrial Design Regulations, CIPO will issue a Statement of Grant of Protection to the IB. The IB will forward you the statement, informing you that Canada has granted protection to your design.

or

Notification of refusal (CIPO and WIPO)

If your Hague application does not comply with the Act or the Regulations, CIPO will send the IB a Notification of Refusal (NR) and an examination report outlining the objections to registration. The IB will forward you both documents.

How long does CIPO have to examine my application?

CIPO will notify the IB within 12 months of the international registration publication date if the application is refused. If you don't hear back within that refusal period, your industrial design will be considered protected.

6 – Response (applicant)

You can respond to the NR directly to CIPO within 3 months. You can choose to argue against the objection, or you can amend or abandon your application.

7 – Objection maintained (CIPO)

If your amendments or arguments fail to overcome the objections outlined in the examination report accompanying the NR, CIPO may send you subsequent examination reports and, eventually, a Notice of Possible Refusal, until a final refusal is issued and puts an end to the examination.

or

Grant of protection after objection (CIPO)

If all objections are overcome, CIPO will issue a Statement of Grant of Protection to the IB. The IB will forward you the statement, informing you that Canada has granted protection to your design.

8 – Maintaining your international registration (applicant)

Your international registration is valid for 5 years from the date of international registration and can be renewed every 5 years. To renew your international registration, you must make a request for renewal and pay the required fees to the IB before each 5-year period ends.

For Canada, your first renewal payment will cover the remainder of the maximum term of protection available, which is up to 15 years from the date of international registration. Nevertheless, you must renew your registration again within 10 years of the date of international registration to ensure it remains maintained in Canada. For that second renewal, no fees are required.

To find out about the renewal fees for international registrations, visit WIPO's web page on individual fees under the Hague Agreement.

Date modified:

Feuille de route de la PI – La marche à suivre pour enregistrer vos dessins et modèles industriels à l’échelle internationale en vertu de l’Arrangement de La Haye : Déposer une demande auprès de l’Organisation Mondiale de la Propriété Intellectuelle

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Afficher en PDF (PDF : 966 Ko; 1 page)


Cette feuille de route vous montre les étapes à suivre pour demander la protection d'un dessin ou modèle industriel dans plusieurs pays au moyen d'une seule demande et payer les frais dans une seule devise, en une seule transaction, auprès de l'Organisation Mondiale de la Propriété Intellectuelle (OMPI).

1 – Dépôt (déposant)

Vous pouvez commencer la procédure d'enregistrement international en déposant votre demande auprès du Bureau international (BI) de l'OMPI.

Votre demande internationale doit inclure ce qui suit :

Combien coûte une demande internationale?

Une demande internationale comprend 3 types de frais : des frais de base, des frais de publication et des frais pour chaque pays où une protection est demandée. Un barème des frais et un calculateur de frais sont accessibles à partir du site Web de l'OMPI.

2 – Examen : exigences de forme (OMPI)

Le BI s'assurera que votre demande internationale satisfait aux exigences de forme prescrites par l'Arrangement de La Haye.

Si les exigences sont satisfaites

Le BI vous enverra un certificat d'enregistrement international.

Si les exigences ne sont pas satisfaites

Le BI vous enverra un avis vous invitant à apporter les corrections nécessaires dans les 3 mois qui suivent la date d'envoi de l'avis.

3 – Publication (OMPI)

La publication dans le Bulletin des dessins et modèles internationaux fait office d'avis pour chaque pays indiqué dans votre demande. Cet avis signifie qu'ils peuvent désormais procéder à l'examen de fond conformément à leur législation interne.

4 – Examen : exigences de fond (OPIC)

Si vous demandez une protection au Canada, l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC) examinera votre demande en vertu de l'Arrangement de La Haye. Cela comprend une recherche des antériorités pour évaluer la nouveauté de votre dessin ou modèle.

5 – Octroi de la protection (OPIC et OMPI)

Si votre demande en vertu de l'Arrangement de La Haye est conforme aux exigences de la Loi sur les dessins industriels et du Règlement sur les dessins industriels, l'OPIC délivrera une déclaration d'octroi de la protection au BI. Le BI vous fera parvenir la déclaration, vous informant que le Canada a accordé une protection à votre dessin ou modèle.

ou

Avis de refus (OPIC et OMPI)

Si votre demande en vertu de l'Arrangement de La Haye n'est pas conforme à la Loi ou au Règlement, l'OPIC enverra au BI un avis de refus et un rapport d'examen décrivant les objections à l'enregistrement. Le BI vous fera parvenir les deux documents.

Combien de temps l'OPIC a-t-il pour examiner ma demande?

Si la demande est refusée, l'OPIC avisera le BI dans les 12 mois suivant la date de publication de l'enregistrement international. Si vous n'obtenez pas de réponse dans ce délai, votre dessin ou modèle industriel sera considéré comme protégé.

6 – Réponse (déposant)

Vous pouvez envoyer votre réponse à l'avis de refus directement à l'OPIC dans un délai de 3 mois. Vous pouvez choisir de contester les objections, de modifier votre demande, ou de l'abandonner.

7 – Objection maintenue (CIPO)

Si les objections décrites dans le rapport d'examen accompagnant l'avis de refus sont maintenues malgré vos modifications ou vos arguments, l'OPIC pourrait vous envoyer des rapports d'examen subséquents et, éventuellement, un avis de possible refus, jusqu'à ce qu'un refus final soit émis et mette fin à l'examen.

ou

Octroi de la protection après une objection (OPIC)

Si toutes les objections sont levées, l'OPIC délivrera une déclaration d'octroi de la protection au BI. Le BI vous fera parvenir la déclaration, vous informant que le Canada a accordé une protection à votre dessin ou modèle.

8 – Maintien de votre enregistrement international (déposant)

Votre enregistrement international est valable 5 ans à compter de la date de l'enregistrement international et peut être renouvelé tous les 5 ans. Pour renouveler votre enregistrement international, vous devez présenter une demande de renouvellement et payer les frais requis au BI avant la fin de chaque période de 5 ans.

Pour le Canada, votre premier paiement de renouvellement couvrira le reste de la durée maximale de protection disponible, soit jusqu'à 15 ans à compter de la date de l'enregistrement international. Cependant, vous êtes tenu de procéder de nouveau au renouvellement dans les 10 ans suivant la date de l'enregistrement international pour vous assurer que ce dernier demeure maintenu au Canada. Pour ce deuxième renouvellement, aucuns frais ne s'appliquent.

Pour en savoir plus sur les frais de renouvellement des enregistrements internationaux, veuillez consulter la page Web de l'OMPI sur les frais individuels en vertu de l'Arrangement de La Haye.

Date de modification :