Nano One Materials Corp.: Better battery materials for a cleaner and sustainable future

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Clean, renewable energy sources, like wind and solar, are an essential part of creating a sustainable society. These sources require storage solutions such as lithium-ion batteries, often used in the automotive and consumer electronics industries. Relying on high performance batteries, which enable long lasting energy storage, has become increasingly important in sustainable development.

Nano One, a Canadian technology company based in Burnaby, British Columbia, seized the opportunity to gain a foothold in the battery space by developing new processes to make cathode materials for lithium-ion batteries.

Nano One's intellectual property portfolio

Better battery materials contribute to shorter charge time, longer battery life and increased battery capacity. Nano One has developed and patented innovative processes to produce high-performance lithium-ion battery cathode materials at low cost.

Originally founded as a private company, Perfect Lithium, in 2011, the company later went public as Nano One Materials Corp. in 2015. The company has more than 30 full-time employees working mainly as scientists and engineers with expertise in electrochemistry, lithium battery manufacturing and chemical process engineering. Its current intellectual property (IP) portfolio consists of 16 patents (including process patents) issued in strategic markets around the world. The company name is trademarked in many countries, mainly in Asia and Europe, and is currently pending registration in Canada. It has secured several joint collaboration agreements in the battery materials and automotive industries, including with Pulead Technology Industry Co. and more recently with Volkswagen Group.

The unique position and competitive advantage of licensing

With the battery industry going global, more players want to get involved in the growing field of lithium-ion batteries. To make cathode materials better and cheaper, Nano One took a strategic approach: it protected its innovative process of cathode materials found in lithium-ion batteries, and is negotiating license agreements with other companies that have the supply chain to manufacture these batteries.

"We license the 'ready-made package' to other players so that they do not have to spend years developing their own processes," says Dr. Stephen Campbell, Chief Technology Officer at Nano One.

Securing protection in Canada and abroad

Nano One filed its first batch of six United States (U.S.) provisional patent applications in 2013. Through further innovation and new technology advancement, it filed for more patents in 2015. Since then, the company has been filing an average of 2 to 4 applications a year for the past 4 years. Its latest U.S. patent was issued in October 2019.

Before any filing, Nano One's team of scientists and researchers keep up to date with patent literature and perform online database searches to ensure what it files is new and inventive. A patent agent is also hired to provide Nano One with valuable intelligence when landscaping and to help prepare patent applications.

"Having a very good patent agent working for us is essential, as they have the expertise to help us construct solid patent claims in the application, as well as having access to specific IP databases," says Dr. Campbell.

Nano One is proudly Canadian, and believes that filing for IP rights in Canada is very important. The Government of Canada has been an important partner for Nano One, supporting the company through close to $10 million in non-dilutive government grants (Sustainable Development Technology Canada, Automotive Supplier Innovation Program and National Research Council of Canada Industrial Research Assistance Program).

Aligning an intellectual property portfolio with business opportunities

Identifying opportunities and gaps in the battery industry is the cornerstone of Nano One's thought process when strategically deciding whether to pursue the protection of its innovation.

"Nano One operates under a patent licensing model, therefore obtaining IP protection is essential for us to have freedom to operate. Securing freedom to operate is an essential overarching component to any IP assets strategy and should not be overlooked."

Dr. Stephen Campbell, Chief Technology Officer at Nano One

Dr. Campbell recommends thinking through the following when considering protection:

  1. Is the innovation new and inventive? Identifying novelty and inventiveness is critical before considering anything else.
  2. Is the innovation enforceable? It is important to make sure that you can differentiate the innovation from others and that you can detect infringement. In case of litigation, the onus is on the patent holder that initiates the proceedings to prove that another party is infringing.
  3. Can it lead to a licensing opportunity? To align with the company's business model, the innovation must lead to a revenue stream and provide a return on the time and money spent on patenting.

Key takeaways

Seeking professional help and not attempting to do everything yourself is very important. "Don't spend money and effort in filing a patent application that is poorly constructed and not enforceable. Seek the help of professionals in both the legal and patent space because litigation matters are complex," says Dr. Campbell.

Finally, growing a company's IP portfolio and considering exporting abroad requires identifying target markets and the timely filings of applications. Consider filing for patent protection through the Patent Cooperation Treaty to streamline the process of obtaining IP rights in countries where you plan to sell your products.

Nano One's ongoing patent grants and new joint development agreements are indications of a promising future for the Canadian company.

Follow:

Related links

Date modified:

La société Nano One Materials Corp. : de meilleurs matériaux pour les batteries pour un avenir plus propre et durable

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Les formes d'énergie propres et renouvelables, comme l'énergie éolienne et l'énergie solaire, sont essentielles à la mise en place d'une société durable. Ces types d'énergie nécessitent des solutions de stockage telles que des batteries au lithium-ion, souvent utilisées dans l'industrie de l'automobile et de l'électronique grand public. Le recours aux batteries à haute performance, qui permettent un stockage à long terme de l'énergie, prend de plus en plus d'importance dans le secteur du développement durable.

Nano One, une société technologique canadienne de Burnaby (Colombie-Britannique), a su se tailler une place dans le monde des batteries en mettant au point de nouveaux procédés de fabrication de matériaux cathodiques pour les batteries au lithium-ion.

Le portefeuille de propriété intellectuelle de la société Nano One

Le fait d'utiliser de meilleurs matériaux contribue à réduire le temps de charge des batteries, à en prolonger la durée de vie et à en augmenter la capacité. La société Nano One a mis au point et breveté des procédés innovants permettant de produire des matériaux cathodiques pour des batteries au lithium-ion de haute performance, à faible coût.

Créée à l'origine en 2011 en tant que société fermée sous la dénomination Perfect Lithium, la société est entrée en bourse sous le nom Nano One Materials Corp. en 2015. Elle compte plus de 30 employés à temps plein travaillant principalement comme scientifiques et ingénieurs ayant une expertise en électrochimie, en fabrication de batteries au lithium et en génie des procédés chimiques. Son portefeuille actuel de propriété intellectuelle (PI) comprend 16 brevets, y compris des brevets de procédé, qui ont été accordés dans des marchés stratégiques partout dans le monde. En ce moment, la marque de commerce de la société est enregistrée dans de nombreux pays, principalement en Asie et en Europe, et en attente d'enregistrement au Canada. La société a conclu plusieurs accords de collaboration dans les industries des matériaux pour batteries et de l'automobile, notamment avec Pulead Technology Industry Co. et plus récemment avec le groupe Volkswagen.

L'octroi de licences : un positionnement unique et un avantage concurrentiel

Dans un contexte de mondialisation de l'industrie des batteries, de plus en plus d'acteurs veulent prendre part au secteur en pleine croissance que représentent les batteries au lithium-ion. Pour rendre les matériaux cathodiques plus efficaces et moins chers, la société Nano One a adopté une approche stratégique : elle a fait protéger son procédé innovant de production de matériaux cathodiques que l'on trouve dans les batteries au lithium-ion et elle négocie actuellement des contrats de licence avec d'autres entreprises qui possèdent la chaîne d'approvisionnement pour fabriquer ces batteries.

« Nous accordons des licences de procédé clés en main à d'autres acteurs pour qu'ils n'aient pas à passer des années à élaborer leurs propres procédés », explique Stephen Campbell, dirigeant principal de la technologie pour la société Nano One.

Protéger ses droits au Canada et à l'étranger

La société Nano One a déposé son premier lot de 6 demandes de brevet provisoire aux États-Unis en 2013. De nouvelles innovations et avancées technologiques l'ont amenée à déposer d'autres demandes de brevet en 2015. Depuis, la société a déposé en moyenne 2 à 4 demandes par an au cours des 4 dernières années. Son plus récent brevet américain a été accordé en octobre 2019.

Avant de déposer une demande de brevet, les dirigeants de la société Nano One demandent à leur équipe de scientifiques et de chercheurs de consulter la documentation sur les brevets et d'effectuer des recherches dans les bases de données en ligne pour s'assurer que ce qu'ils déposent est nouveau et inventif. Ils font également appel aux services d'un agent de brevets pour obtenir de précieux renseignements utiles lors de l'étape de la conception et de l'aide pour la préparation des demandes de brevet.

« Il est essentiel d'avoir un très bon agent de brevets à nos côtés, car il possède l'expertise nécessaire pour nous aider à établir des revendications solides pour notre demande, et il a accès à des bases de données de PI précises », affirme Stephen Campbell.

La société Nano One, fièrement canadienne, croit qu'il est très important de déposer une demande de droits de PI au Canada. D'ailleurs, le gouvernement du Canada a été un partenaire majeur de la société, l'ayant soutenue au moyen de subventions gouvernementales non dilutives de près de 10 millions de dollars, à l'aide de la fondation des Technologies du développement durable Canada, du Programme d'innovation pour les fournisseurs du secteur de l'automobile et du Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle du Conseil national de recherches du Canada.

Harmoniser le portefeuille de PI avec les possibilités d'affaires

Pour la société Nano One, il est essentiel de bien cerner les occasions qui se présentent dans l'industrie des batteries et les lacunes de cette industrie afin de pouvoir décider stratégiquement s'il faut continuer ou non de protéger son innovation.

« La société Nano One est exploitée conformément à un modèle d'octroi de licences de brevet. Il est donc essentiel pour nous d'obtenir la protection de la PI pour que nous puissions bénéficier de la liberté d'exploitation. La garantie de la liberté d'exploitation est un élément essentiel de toute stratégie reposant sur les actifs de PI et elle ne doit pas être négligée. »

Stephen Campbell, dirigeant principal de la technologie pour la société Nano One

Stephen Campbell recommande de réfléchir aux points suivants lorsqu'on envisage de demander une protection :

  1. L'innovation est-elle nouvelle et inventive? Il faut déterminer si l'innovation est nouvelle et inventive avant d'envisager toute action.
  2. L'innovation peut-elle procurer des droits que l'on peut faire respecter? Il est important de pouvoir différencier l'innovation de celles des autres et d'être en mesure de repérer ce qui constituerait de la contrefaçon. En cas de litige, il incombe au titulaire du brevet qui engage la procédure de prouver qu'une autre partie commet une infraction.
  3. L'innovation peut-elle mener à une possibilité d'octroi de licence? Pour correspondre au modèle d'affaires de la société, l'innovation doit pouvoir conduire à un flux de rentrées et offrir ainsi un rendement pour le temps et l'argent consacrés au brevetage.

Les points à retenir

Il est très important de demander l'aide de professionnels et de ne pas essayer de tout faire soi-même. « Ne dépensez pas d'argent et ne gaspillez pas d'énergie pour déposer une demande de brevet mal construite dont les droits ne pourront être respectés. Demandez l'aide de professionnels dans le domaine juridique et celui des brevets, car les questions de litige sont complexes », affirme M. Campbell.

Enfin, pour accroître le portefeuille de PI d'une société et entreprendre l'exportation de biens et services, il faut déterminer les marchés cibles et déposer les demandes en temps opportun. Envisagez de déposer une demande de protection par brevet au moyen du Traité de coopération en matière de brevets afin de simplifier le processus d'obtention des droits de PI dans les pays où vous prévoyez vendre vos produits.

Les octrois de brevets en cours pour la société Nano One et ses nouvelles ententes sur le développement conjoint laissent entrevoir un avenir prometteur pour la société canadienne.

Suivez :

Liens connexes

Date de modification :