Language selection

Search

Notice announcing accelerated examination of patent applications related to COVID-19 relief for small entities

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Practice notice published on:

CIPO has implemented a pilot process that will allow accelerated examination for inventions related to medical products and processes supporting the response to COVID-19. The process will result in faster intellectual property protection for small entity applicants and will encourage these applicants to disclose their inventions publicly. This will allow others to learn from the applications to produce further inventions in support of the response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Small entities are either universities, or businesses employing 50 or fewer employees. To request accelerated examination, these applicants must include a statement that the technology is medical and related to COVID-19 and that an approval for its use has been obtained from or has been submitted to Health Canada. Applicants must have requested examination and paid the associated examination fee. The application must be open to public inspection or the applicant must have submitted a request for an early laid open date. There is no additional fee to use this process however all other requirements for filing, examination and fees remain.

Applicants will no longer qualify for the accelerated process if they request an extension of time or miss any deadline. Withdrawal from accelerated examination related to COVID-19 relief can be requested at any time.

The process aims to accelerate examination of up to 50 patent applications and will remain in effect until otherwise indicated by CIPO.

Learn more about the accelerated examination of patent applications related to COVID-19 relief.

Date modified:

Avis concernant l’accélération de l’examen des demandes de brevet en réponse à la COVID-19 pour les petites entités

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Avis sur les brevets publié le :

L'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC) a mis en œuvre un processus pilote qui favorisera un examen accéléré des inventions en lien aux produits et aux processus médicaux à l'appui de la réponse à la COVID-19. Le processus permettra la protection plus rapide de la propriété intellectuelle pour les demandeurs ayant le statut de petite entité et encouragera ces derniers à divulguer publiquement leur invention. Cette mesure pourrait permettre de nouvelles inventions et à d'autres personnes à pousser l'innovation encore plus loin afin de contribuer à la lutte contre la pandémie de la COVID-19.

Une petite entité est une université ou une entité qui compte 50 employés au plus ou une université. Pour demander un examen accéléré, ces demandeurs doivent présenter une déclaration stipulant qu'il s'agit d'une technologie médicale liée à la COVID-19 et qu'une demande d'autorisation pour son utilisation a été obtenue de Santé Canada ou qu'une telle autorisation a été soumise à Santé Canada. Les demandeurs doivent avoir fait une requête d'examen et payer la taxe d'examen. La demande doit être accessible au public ou le demandeur doit avoir demandé une date d'accessibilité au public. Aucune taxe supplémentaire n'est requise pour utiliser ce processus, mais toutes les autres exigences pour le dépôt, l'examen et les taxes restent en vigueur.

Le processus accéléré ne sera plus accessible pour les demandeurs si une prorogation de délai est demandée ou si une échéance quelconque n'est pas respectée. Le retrait de votre demande du processus accéléré lié à l'effort de lutte contre la COVID-19 peut être demandé à tout moment.

Ce processus vise à accélérer l'examen d'un maximum de 50 demandes de brevet et demeurera en vigueur jusqu'à ce qu'il en soit décidé autrement par l'OPIC.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur l'examen accéléré des demandes de brevet liées à l'effort de lutte contre la COVID-19.

Date de modification :