ISED Business Assistant – Frequently asked questions

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

1. What is the ISED Business Assistant chatbot?

In the spring of 2019, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) launched a mobile application called Canada Business to support small business owners in navigating government programs and services, while providing tailored recommendations and personalized notifications on funding applications.

The Canada Business app release included a chatbot component, the ISED Business Assistant, to assist businesses in quickly finding the information they need the most without the need to browse through multiple federal and provincial websites. The ISED chatbot is able to answer a variety of frequently asked questions (FAQs) on government programs and services, including the most requested intellectual property (IP) questions.

Although the chatbot is still learning about ISED and the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO), there are many advantages in using the Business Assistant:

2. How does the ISED Business Assistant work?

The ISED chatbot operates through a combination of artificial intelligence (AI) and rules sets that provide a conversational experience that resembles an interaction with a real person in a written format.

On , general content on patents, trademarks, industrial designs and copyrights were introduced in the ISED Business Assistant to expand its knowledge base. CIPO is piloting the chatbot to better assist small businesses in finding the information they need on IP.

In its current stage, the Business Assistant is still "in training" and will not have all the answers. The ISED chatbot aims at better understanding the questions being asked by clients to continuously improve its AI technology in providing the best answers to your questions. The more questions you ask, the more knowledgeable the chatbot gains and the more interactive it becomes. New content is added on a regular basis to improve your experience.

3. What can I ask the chatbot?

The ISED Business Assistant is currently programmed to answer general questions on IP. Here are a few topics covered under this first release:

We understand that the same question can be asked in multiple ways. To ensure that the chatbot is providing the appropriate answer, it is really important that you ask questions as you would to a real person.

Good questions: How much are patent maintenance fees? How much does it cost to maintain a patent?

Bad questions: Patent maintenance fees? Patent fees?

Do not share any confidential information with the chatbot. For more information about privacy, please view the privacy notice.

4. What if the chatbot is unable to answer your question?

If you see that the ISED Business Assistant is unable to provide an answer to your question, you can:

Do not forget to provide your feedback on your experience so that we can feed the chatbot with more relevant content, improve the service and better meet your needs.

5. How do switch languages when chatting with the chatbot?

You may ask a question in the other official language at any point during the conversation with the chatbot. You will need to select the language you wish to switch to from the top left-hand menu drop-down list. Please note, the chatbot will not answer questions in the opposite language unless the language is selected from the drop-down menu.

A demonstration of how you can change the language of the chatbot.
Date modified:

Foire aux questions au sujet de l’Assistant d’affaires d’ISDE

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

1. Qu'est-ce que le robot conversationnel (l'Assistant d'affaires d'ISDE)?

Au printemps 2019, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) a lancé l'application mobile Entreprises Canada pour aider les propriétaires de petites entreprises à mieux s'y retrouver dans les programmes et services gouvernementaux, tout en leur fournissant des recommandations et des avis personnalisés sur les demandes de financement.

L'application Entreprises Canada comprend un robot conversationnel, l'Assistant d'affaires d'ISDE, afin d'aider les entreprises à trouver rapidement les renseignements dont elles ont le plus besoin sans avoir à parcourir de nombreux sites Web fédéraux et provinciaux. Le robot conversationnel d'ISDE est en mesure de répondre à une foule de questions fréquemment posées sur les programmes et services gouvernementaux, notamment sur la propriété intellectuelle (PI).

Bien que le robot conversationnel soit encore en train de se familiariser avec ISDE et l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC), les avantages à l'utiliser sont nombreux. Vous pourrez notamment :

2. Comment fonctionne l'Assistant d'affaires d'ISDE?

Le fonctionnement du robot conversationnel d'ISDE repose sur une combinaison d'intelligence artificielle (IA) et d'ensembles de règles qui permettent de créer une expérience conversationnelle ressemblant à une interaction avec une vraie personne, sous forme écrite.

Le , on a intégré à l'Assistant d'affaires d'ISDE du contenu général sur les brevets, les marques de commerce, les dessins industriels et le droit d'auteur, afin d'élargir sa base de connaissances. L'OPIC met le robot conversationnel à l'essai pour mieux aider les petites entreprises à trouver les renseignements sur la PI dont elles ont besoin.

Au stade actuel, l'Assistant d'affaires est encore « en formation » et ne possède pas toutes les réponses. Le robot conversationnel d'ISDE cherche à mieux comprendre les questions posées par les clients, afin de perfectionner constamment sa technologie reposant sur l'IA et ainsi offrir les meilleures réponses à vos questions. Donc, plus vous lui poserez de questions, plus il sera renseigné et deviendra interactif. Du nouveau contenu sera ajouté régulièrement pour améliorer votre expérience.

3. Que puis-je demander au robot conversationnel?

L'Assistant d'affaires d'ISDE est actuellement programmé pour répondre aux questions générales sur la PI. Voici quelques sujets qui ont été traités dans cette première version :

Nous sommes conscients du fait que la même question peut être posée de multiples façons. Pour s'assurer que le robot conversationnel fournisse la réponse appropriée, il est très important que vous posiez vos questions comme vous le feriez à une vraie personne.

Bonnes questions : À combien s'élèvent les taxes pour le maintien en état d'un brevet? Combien coûte le maintien en état d'un brevet?

Mauvaises questions : Frais de maintien en état des brevets? Frais liés aux brevets?

Ne divulguez jamais de renseignement confidentiel au robot conversationnel. Pour obtenir plus d'information au sujet de la protection des renseignements personnels, consultez l'Avis de confidentialité.

4. Que faire si le robot conversationnel est incapable de répondre à votre question?

Si vous constatez que l'Assistant d'affaires d'ISDE n'est pas en mesure de répondre à votre question, vous pouvez :

N'oubliez pas de nous faire part de vos commentaires sur votre expérience afin que nous puissions enrichir le robot conversationnel d'un contenu plus pertinent, améliorer le service et mieux répondre à vos besoins.

5. Comment changer de langue pendant le clavardage avec le robot conversationnel?

Vous pouvez poser une question dans l'autre langue officielle à tout moment de la conversation avec le robot conversationnel. Vous devez sélectionner la langue dans laquelle vous souhaitez vous exprimer dans la liste déroulante du menu en haut à gauche. Veuillez noter que le robot conversationnel ne répondra pas aux questions dans l'autre langue si elle n'a pas été sélectionnée dans le menu déroulant.

Une démonstration de la façon dont vous pouvez changer la langue de l'assistant virtuel.
Date de modification :