Language selection

Search

Patentable Subject-Matter under the Patent Act

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Taking into account the recent decision of the Federal Court in Yves Choueifaty v Attorney General of Canada, 2020 FC 837, this document is intended to provide guidance on the current understanding by the Patent Office of the legal principles applicable in determining whether the subject-matter defined by a claim is patentable subject-matter, particularly in respect of computer-implemented inventions, medical diagnostic methods and medical uses.

The present guidance builds on guidance in the Manual of Patent Office Practice (MOPOP).  However, it does supersede some of the guidance currently present within MOPOP.  In particular, the references in MOPOP chapters 12, 17, 18, 22 and 23,Footnote 1 to the "contribution" of a claim; to a "technological solution to a technological problem"; and, to the "problem and solution" approach in the identification of essential elements during purposive construction should no longer be applied.

Purposive Construction

The first step in determining whether the subject-matter defined by a claim is patentable subject-matter is to construe the claim.

Subsection 27(4) of the Patent Act requires that the specification end with a claim or claims defining distinctly and in explicit terms the subject-matter of the invention for which an exclusive privilege or property is claimed.

The subject-matter defined by a claim is determined on the basis of a purposive construction of the claim conducted in accordance with the principles set out by the Supreme Court of Canada in Free World Trust v Électro Santé Inc., 2000 SCC 66 and Whirlpool Corp. v Camco Inc., 2000 SCC 67.

The goal of purposive construction of a claim is to determine the fences of the monopoly claimed by the applicant.Footnote 2 This is done by objectively determining where the person skilled in the art would, as of the date of publication of the patent application and on the basis of the particular words or phrases used in the claim, have understood the applicant to have intended to place the fences around the monopoly being claimed.Footnote 3

The purposive construction of a claim is carried out in light of the whole of the specification and takes into account what the person skilled in the art would understand from the whole of the specification to be the nature of the invention.Footnote 4

During purposive construction of a claim, the elements of the claimed invention "are identified as either essential elements (where substitution of another element or omission takes the device outside the monopoly) or non-essential elements (where substitution or omission is not necessarily fatal to an allegation of infringement)."Footnote 5 In carrying out this identification of essential and non-essential elements, all elements set out in a claim are presumed essential, unless it is established otherwise or is contrary to the language used in the claim.Footnote 6

Subject-Matter

Once the subject-matter defined by a claim has been determined through purposive construction, it is then necessary to determine whether that subject-matter complies with all of the requirements of the Patent Act.Footnote 7 Included in these requirements are that the subject-matter defined by a claim must be patentable subject-matter, meaning (having regard to the definition of "invention" in section 2 of the Patent Act) that it be an art, process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter or an improvement in one of the foregoing and must, in accordance with subsection 27(8) of the Patent Act, not be a mere scientific principle or abstract theorem.Footnote 8

To be both patentable subject-matter and not be prohibited under subsection 27(8) of the Patent Act, the subject-matter defined by a claim must be limited to or narrowerFootnote 9 than an actual inventionFootnote 10 that either has physical existence or manifests a discernible physical effect or changeFootnote 11 and that relates to the manual or productive arts, meaning those arts involving or concerned with applied and industrial sciences as distinguished in particular from the fine arts or works of art that are inventive only in an artistic or aesthetic sense.Footnote 12

For each claim, the identification of the actual invention must be grounded in a purposive construction of the claimFootnote 13 and cannot be determined solely on the basis of a literal reading of the claim, or a determination, not anchored in the language of the claim, of the "substance of the invention" within the meaning of that phrase as used by the Supreme Court of Canada in paragraph 46 of Free World Trust v Électro Santé Inc., 2000 SCC 66.Footnote 14

An actual invention may consist of either a single element that provides a solution to a problem or of a combinationFootnote 15 of elements that cooperate together to provide a solution to a problem. Where an actual invention consists of a combination of elements cooperating together, all of the elements of the combination must be considered as a whole when considering whether there is patentable subject-matter and whether the prohibition under subsection 27(8) of the Patent Act is applicable.Footnote 16

An actual invention that includes a disembodied idea, a scientific principle or an abstract theorem is not patentable unless the disembodied idea, scientific principle or abstract theorem is part of a combination of elements that cooperate together and that combination has physical existence or manifests a discernible physical effect or change and relates to the manual or productive arts.Footnote 17

An element of a claimed invention that is identified as essential for establishing the fences of the monopoly under purposive construction is not necessarily part of the actual invention. For example, an element may be an essential element of a claim only because the applicant intended to limit the scope of the monopoly being claimed to less than what the applicant actually invented. An element may thus be an essential element of the claim because the applicant intended it to be essential even though it has no material effect on the working of the invention.Footnote 18 Such an element would not form part of the actual invention because the fact that it has no material effect on the working of the invention means it does not cooperate with other elements of the claimed invention.

The application of these general principles to specific situations is further elaborated in the ensuing sections.

Computer-implemented inventions

The mere fact that a computer is identified to be an essential element of a claimed invention for the purpose of determining the fences of the monopoly under purposive construction does not necessarily mean that the subject-matter defined by the claim is patentable subject-matter and outside of the prohibition under subsection 27(8) of the Patent Act. In such a case, it is necessary to consider whether the computer cooperates together with other elements of the claimed invention and thus is part of a single actual invention and, if so, whether that actual invention has physical existence or manifests a discernible physical effect or change and relates to the manual or productive arts.

In addition, the fact that a computer is necessary to put a disembodied idea, scientific principle or abstract theorem into practice does not necessarily mean that there is patentable subject-matter even if the computer cooperates together with other elements of the claimed invention. If a computer is merely used in a well-known manner,Footnote 19 the use of the computer will not be sufficient to render the disembodied idea, scientific principle or abstract theorem patentable subject-matter and outside the prohibition under subsection 27(8) of the Patent Act.Footnote 20

In the case of a claim to a computer programmed to run a mathematical algorithm, if the computer merely processes the algorithm in a well-known manner and the processing of the algorithm on the computer does not solve any problem in the functioning of the computer, the computer and the algorithm do not form part of a single actual invention that solves a problem related to the manual or productive arts.  If the algorithm by itself is considered to be the actual invention, the subject-matter defined by the claim is not patentable subject-matter or is prohibited under subsection 27(8) of the Patent Act.

On the other hand, if running the algorithm on the computer improves the functioning of the computer, then the computer and the algorithm would together form a single actual invention that solves a problem related to the manual or productive arts and the subject-matter defined by the claim would be patentable subject-matter and not be prohibited under subsection 27(8) of the Patent Act.

Similarly, a business method that is not itself patentable subject-matter or is prohibited under subsection 27(8) of the Patent Act because it is an abstract idea does not become patentable subject-matter and outside of the subsection 27(8) prohibition merely because it is implemented using a computer. To constitute patentable subject-matter and be outside the subsection 27(8) prohibition, a business method that is an abstract idea must cooperate with other elements of the claimed invention so as to become part of a combination of elements making up an actual invention that relates to the manual or productive arts and that either has physical existence or manifests a discernible physical effect or change.

Medical diagnostic methods

As with any other claim, all elements set out in a medical diagnostic method claim are presumed essential, unless it is established otherwise or is contrary to the language used in the claim.  A claim to a medical diagnostic method often includes an element correlating a specific analyte or the result of a medical test to a disease. A correlation, on its own, would generally be considered an abstract or disembodied idea. In many cases, a claim to a medical diagnostic method further includes one or more physical steps that comprise carrying out a medical test or determining the presence or quantity of the analyte in a sample. Such steps may include, for example, means for identifying, detecting, measuring, etc. the presence or quantity of an analyte.

An abstract idea that is an element of a claim that cooperates with other elements of the claim becomes part of a combination of elements making up a single actual invention. In such cases, all of the elements of the combination are considered as a whole and may constitute patentable subject-matter if the actual invention either has physical existence or manifests a discernible physical effect or change. 

Thus, a diagnostic method claim that defines a combination of elements that cooperate together so as to form a single actual invention that includes physical means for testing or for identifying, detecting, measuring, etc. the presence or quantity of an analyte in a sample would be considered to be patentable subject-matter and not to be prohibited under subsection 27(8) of the Patent Act.Footnote 21

Where a computer is involved in the method, please also refer to the section on Computer-implemented inventions above.

Medical uses

It is well established that methods of medical treatment and surgery are not patentable subject-matter because they do not fall within the manual or productive arts.Footnote 22

As with any other claim, all elements set out in a medical use claim are presumed essential, unless it is established otherwise or is contrary to the language used in the claim. An actual invention of a medical use claim may consist of a combination of all the essential elements of the claim where those elements cooperate together.

An actual invention that has physical existence or manifests a discernible physical effect or change and does not otherwise fall within a jurisprudential exclusion (e.g., methods of medical treatment) would be patentable subject-matter.

Where an actual invention includes one or more essential elements that comprise an active medical treatment step or surgical step or that restrict, prevent, interfere with, or require the exercise of the professional skill and judgment of a medical professional, the actual invention is an excluded method of medical treatment and is not patentable subject-matter.

It is noted that in cases where at least one of the essential elements of the actual invention limits the claimed use to a dosage, a range of potential dosages that a patient may receive, and/or a dosage regimen, regardless of whether these are fixed and/or cover a range, this fact alone is not determinative of whether the claim is patentable subject-matter. It is also necessary to consider whether the exercise of professional skill and judgment of a medical professional is part of the actual invention. For example, professional skill and judgment may be involved if a medical professional is expected to monitor or make adjustments to the treatment, or make a selection of a dosage from a claimed range (i.e., in cases where not all dosages in the range will work for all subjects within the treatment group). In such cases, the subject-matter defined by the claim would encompass a method of medical treatment and would not be patentable subject-matter.

Examples

Examples of Patentable Subject-Matter Analysis

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Objet brevetable en vertu de la Loi sur les brevets

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

En tenant compte de la décision récente de la Cour fédérale dans Yves Choueifaty c. Procureur général du Canada, 2020 CF 837, le présent document sert à donner des conseils sur la compréhension actuelle du Bureau des brevets quant aux principes juridiques applicables dans la détermination à savoir si l'objet défini par une revendication est un objet brevetable, particulièrement en ce qui a trait aux inventions mises en œuvre par ordinateur, aux méthodes de diagnostic médical et aux utilisations médicales.

La présente directive se fonde sur les directives exposées dans le Recueil des pratiques du Bureau des brevets (RPBB). Toutefois, elle remplace certaines des directives actuellement présentes dans le RPBB.

Plus particulièrement, aux chapitres 12, 17, 18, 22 et 23Note de bas de page 1 du RPBB, les références à la « contribution » d'une revendication; à une « solution technique à un problème technologique »; et à l'approche « problème et solution » dans la détermination des éléments essentiels pendant l'interprétation téléologique ne devraient plus être employées.

Interprétation téléologique

La première étape pour déterminer si l'objet défini par une revendication est un objet brevetable est d'interpréter la revendication.

Le paragraphe 27(4) de la Loi sur les brevets exige que le mémoire descriptif se termine par une ou plusieurs revendications définissant distinctement et en des termes explicites l'objet de l'invention dont le demandeur revendique la propriété ou le privilège exclusif.

L'objet défini par une revendication est déterminé au titre d'une interprétation téléologique de la revendication réalisée conformément aux principes établis par la Cour suprême du Canada dans Free World Trust c. Électro Santé Inc., 2000 CSC 66 et Whirlpool Corp. c. Camco Inc., 2000 CSC 67.

L'objectif de l'interprétation téléologique d'une revendication est de déterminer les clôtures du monopole revendiqué par le demandeur.Note de bas de page 2 Cet objectif est réalisé en déterminant de façon objective où la personne versée dans l'art aurait, en date de la publication de la demande de brevet et au titre des mots particuliers ou des phrases particulières employés dans la revendication, compris que le demandeur avait l'intention d'ériger des clôtures autour du monopole revendiqué.Note de bas de page 3

L'interprétation téléologique d'une revendication est réalisée à la lumière de l'ensemble du mémoire descriptif et tient compte de ce que la personne versée dans l'art comprendrait de l'ensemble du mémoire descriptif comme étant la nature de l'invention.Note de bas de page 4

Pendant l'interprétation téléologique d'une revendication, les éléments de l'invention revendiquée « sont qualifiés soit d'essentiels (la substitution d'un autre élément ou une omission fait en sorte que l'appareil échappe au monopole), soit de non essentiels (la substitution ou l'omission n'entraîne pas nécessairement le rejet d'une allégation de contrefaçon)Note de bas de page 5. » Dans l'exécution de cette détermination des éléments essentiels et non essentiels, tous les éléments établis dans une revendication sont présumés être un élément essentiel, à moins qu'il n'en soit établi autrement ou que ce soit contraire au libellé employé dans la revendication.Note de bas de page 6

Objet

Une fois que l'objet défini par une revendication a été déterminé au moyen de l'interprétation téléologique, il est alors nécessaire de déterminer si l'objet est conforme à toutes les exigences de la Loi sur les brevets.Note de bas de page 7 Ces exigences comprennent que l'objet défini par une revendication doit être un objet brevetable, ce qui signifie (en ce qui a trait à la définition d'« invention » à l'article 2 de la Loi sur les brevets) que ce soit toute réalisation, tout procédé, toute machine, fabrication ou composition de matières, ainsi que tout perfectionnement de l'un d'eux, et conformément au paragraphe 27(8) de la Loi sur les brevets, ne peut être de simples principes scientifiques ou conceptions théoriques.Note de bas de page 8

Afin d'être un objet brevetable et de ne pas être interdit en vertu du paragraphe 27(8) de la Loi sur les brevets, l'objet défini par une revendication doit être limité à ou moins vasteNote de bas de page 9 que l'invention en questionNote de bas de page 10 qui est dotée d'une existence physique ou est une manifestation d'un effet ou changement physique discernableNote de bas de page 11 et qui a trait à un domaine de réalisations manuelles ou industrielles, ce qui signifie des procédés comportant ou visant des sciences appliquées et industrielles, afin de distinguer, en particulier, des beaux‑arts ou des œuvres d'art qui ne sont originales que dans un sens artistique ou esthétique.Note de bas de page 12

Pour chaque revendication, l'identification de l'invention réelle doit être fondée sur une interprétation téléologique de la revendicationNote de bas de page 13 et ne peut être déterminée uniquement sur la base d'une lecture littérale de la revendication ou d'une détermination, non ancrée dans le libellé de la revendication, ou l'« essentiel de l'invention » au sens de cette expression utilisée par la Cour suprême du Canada au paragraphe 46 de Free World Trust c. Électro Santé Inc., 2000 CSC 66.Note de bas de page 14

Une invention réelle peut consister soit en un seul élément qui fournit une solution à un problème, soit en une combinaisonNote de bas de page 15 d'éléments qui coopèrent pour apporter une solution à un problème. Lorsqu'une invention réelle consiste en une combinaison d'éléments coopérant ensemble, tous les éléments de la combinaison doivent être pris en considération dans leur ensemble lorsqu'il s'agit de déterminer s'il y a un objet brevetable et si l'interdiction en vertu du paragraphe 27(8) de la Loi sur les brevets est applicable.Note de bas de page 16

Une invention réelle qui comprend une idée désincarnée, un principe scientifique ou un théorème abstrait n'est pas brevetable, à moins que l'idée désincarnée, le principe scientifique ou le théorème abstrait ne fasse partie d'une combinaison d'éléments qui coopèrent et que cette combinaison ait une existence physique ou manifeste un effet ou un changement physique discernable et qui se rapporte aux réalisations manuelles ou industrielles.Note de bas de page 17

Un élément d'une invention revendiquée qui est identifié comme essentiel pour ériger les clôtures du monopole dans l'interprétation téléologique ne fait pas nécessairement partie de l'invention réelle. Par exemple, un élément peut être un élément essentiel d'une revendication seulement parce que le demandeur avait l'intention de limiter la portée du monopole revendiqué à moins que ce que le demandeur a réellement inventé. Un élément peut donc être un élément essentiel de la revendication parce que le demandeur a voulu qu'il soit essentiel, même s'il n'a pas d'incidence matérielle sur le fonctionnement de l'invention.Note de bas de page 18 Un tel élément ne ferait pas partie de l'invention réelle parce que le fait qu'il n'ait pas d'incidence matérielle sur le fonctionnement de l'invention signifie qu'il ne coopère pas avec d'autres éléments de l'invention revendiquée.

L'application de ces principes généraux à des situations spécifiques est développée plus en détail dans les sections suivantes.

Inventions mises en œuvre par ordinateur

Le simple fait qu'un ordinateur soit identifié comme étant un élément essentiel d'une invention revendiquée aux fins de déterminer les clôtures du monopole dans l'interprétation téléologique ne signifie pas nécessairement que l'objet défini par la revendication est un objet brevetable et qu'il ne fait pas partie de l'interdiction prévue au paragraphe 27(8) de la Loi sur les brevets. Dans un tel cas, il est nécessaire de considérer si l'ordinateur coopère avec d'autres éléments de l'invention revendiquée et s'il fait donc partie d'une seule invention réelle et, s'il y a lieu, si cette invention réelle a une existence physique ou manifeste un effet ou un changement physique discernable et qui se rapporte aux réalisations manuelles ou industrielles.

De plus, le fait qu'un ordinateur soit nécessaire pour mettre en pratique une idée désincarnée, un principe scientifique ou une conception théorique ne signifie pas nécessairement qu'il existe un objet brevetable, même si l'ordinateur collabore avec d'autres éléments de l'invention revendiquée. Si un ordinateur est simplement utilisé d'une façon bien connue,Note de bas de page 19 l'emploi de l'ordinateur ne sera pas suffisant pour rendre l'idée désincarnée, le principe scientifique ou les conceptions théoriques en un objet brevetable et en dehors de l'interdiction prévue au paragraphe 27(8) de la Loi sur les brevets.Note de bas de page 20

Dans le cas d'une revendication visant un ordinateur programmé pour exécuter un algorithme mathématique, si l'ordinateur traite simplement l'algorithme d'une manière bien connue et que le traitement de l'algorithme sur l'ordinateur ne résout aucun problème dans le fonctionnement de l'ordinateur, l'ordinateur et l'algorithme ne font pas partie d'une seule invention réelle qui résout un problème lié aux réalisations manuelles ou industrielles. Si l'algorithme en soi est considéré comme étant l'invention, l'objet défini par la revendication n'est pas un objet brevetable ou est interdit en vertu du paragraphe 27(8) de la Loi sur les brevets.

D'autre part, si l'exécution de l'algorithme sur l'ordinateur améliore le fonctionnement de l'ordinateur, l'ordinateur et l'algorithme formeraient donc ensemble une seule invention réelle qui résout un problème lié aux réalisations manuelles ou industrielles et l'objet défini par la revendication serait un objet brevetable et ne serait pas interdit en vertu du paragraphe 27(8) de la Loi sur les brevets.

De façon similaire, une pratique commerciale qui ne constitue pas elle-même un objet brevetable ou est interdite en vertu du paragraphe 27(8) de la Loi sur les brevets parce qu'elle est une idée abstraite ne devient pas un objet brevetable et en dehors de l'interdiction au paragraphe 27(8) du simple fait qu'elle est mise en œuvre au moyen d'un ordinateur. Afin de constituer un objet brevetable et d'être en dehors de l'interdiction en vertu du paragraphe 27(8), une pratique commerciale qui est une idée abstraite doit collaborer avec d'autres éléments de l'invention revendiquée en vue de faire partie d'une combinaison d'éléments qui composent l'invention réelle qui se rapporte aux réalisations manuelles ou industrielles, et qui a soit une existence physique, soit manifeste un effet ou un changement physique discernable.

Méthodes de diagnostic médical

Comme pour toute autre revendication, tous les éléments définis dans une revendication de méthode de diagnostic médical sont présumés essentiels, à moins qu'il n'en soit établi autrement ou qu'il n'en soit contraire au langage utilisé dans la revendication. Une revendication visant une méthode de diagnostic médical comprend souvent un élément qui établit la corrélation entre un analyte spécifique ou le résultat d'un test médical et une maladie. Une corrélation, à elle seule, serait généralement considérée comme une idée abstraite ou désincarnée. Dans de nombreux cas, une revendication visant une méthode de diagnostic médical inclut en outre une ou plusieurs étapes physiques comprenant la réalisation d'un test médical ou la détermination de la présence ou de la quantité de l'analyte dans un échantillon. De telles étapes peuvent inclure, par exemple, des moyens pour l'identification, la détection, la mesure, etc. de la présence ou de la quantité d'un analyte.

Une idée abstraite qui est un élément d'une revendication qui collabore avec d'autres éléments de la revendication fait partie d'une combinaison d'éléments qui composent une seule invention réelle. Dans de tels cas, tous les éléments de la combinaison sont considérés comme un tout et peuvent constituer un objet brevetable si l'invention réelle a soit une existence physique, soit manifeste un effet ou un changement physique discernable.

Ainsi, une revendication de méthode de diagnostic qui définit une combinaison d'éléments qui collaborent de façon à former une seule invention qui comprend des moyens physiques d'essai ou d'identification, de détection, de mesure, etc., la présence ou la quantité d'un analyte dans un échantillon serait considérée comme un objet brevetable et ne serait pas interdite en vertu du paragraphe 27(8) de la Loi sur les brevets.Note de bas de page 21

Lorsqu'un ordinateur est impliqué dans la méthode, veuillez également consulter la section sur les Inventions mises en œuvre par ordinateur ci-dessus.

Utilisations médicales

Il est bien établi que les méthodes de traitement médical et de chirurgie ne sont pas brevetables parce qu'elles ne relèvent pas des réalisations manuelles ou industrielles.Note de bas de page 22

Comme pour toute autre revendication, tous les éléments définis dans une revendication d'utilisation médicale sont présumés essentiels, à moins qu'il n'en soit établi autrement ou qu'il n'en soit contraire au langage utilisé dans la revendication. Une invention réelle d'une revendication d'utilisation médicale peut consister en une combinaison de tous les éléments essentiels de la revendication lorsque ces éléments coopèrent.

Une invention réelle qui a une existence physique ou manifeste un effet ou un changement physique discernable et qui ne tombe autrement pas dans une exclusion jurisprudentielle (p. ex., méthodes de traitement médical) serait un objet brevetable.

Lorsqu'une invention réelle comprend un ou plusieurs éléments essentiels qui comprennent une étape active de traitement médical ou une étape chirurgicale ou qui restreignent, empêchent, entravent ou exigent l'exercice des compétences professionnelles et du jugement d'un professionnel de la santé, l'invention réelle est une méthode de traitement médical exclue et n'est pas un objet brevetable.

Il est à noter que dans les cas où au moins un des éléments essentiels de l'invention limite l'utilisation revendiquée à une dose, à une gamme de doses potentielles qu'un patient peut recevoir et/ou à une posologie, qu'il s'agisse de doses fixes et/ou couvrant une gamme, ce fait en soi n'est pas déterminant quant à savoir si la revendication vise un objet brevetable. Il est également nécessaire de considérer si l'exercice des compétences professionnelles et du jugement d'un professionnel de la santé fait partie d'une invention réelle. Par exemple, une compétence et un jugement professionnels peuvent être en cause si un professionnel de la santé doit surveiller le traitement ou y apporter des ajustements, ou choisir une dose d'une gamme revendiquée (c.-à-d., dans les cas où toutes les doses de la gamme ne fonctionneront pas pour tous les sujets du groupe traité). Dans de tels cas, l'objet défini par la revendication engloberait une méthode de traitement médical et ne serait pas un objet brevetable.

Exemples

Exemples d'analyse d'un objet brevetable

Date de modification :