Language selection

Search

Requests for expedited examination

From: Canadian Intellectual Property Office

Publication date:

Trademark applications are generally examined in order, according to the order in which they are received by the Registrar of Trademarks. There are no specific provisions in the Trademarks Act (the Act) or Trademarks Regulations (the Regulations) concerning expediting the examination of an application. Examining an application out of sequence creates a favored position at the expense of other applicants. As such, the Canadian Intellectual Property Office does not currently grant requests to examine trademark applications out of order.

However, in the context of the current COVID-19 pandemic, and with a view to ensuring Canadians have timely access to COVID-19 related products and services, effective the Office will begin accepting requests for expedited examination of trademark applications associated with medical goods or services related to COVID-19.

Form and content of request

The Registrar will accept requests for expedited examination in the form of an affidavit or statutory declaration, by a person having knowledge of the facts, setting out the specific circumstances and reasons for the request. The affidavit or statutory declaration must clearly set out how one or more of the following criteria are met:

  1. A court action is underway in Canada with respect to the applicant's trademark in association with the goods or services listed in the application;
  2. The applicant is in the process of combating counterfeit products at the Canadian border with respect to the applicant's trademark in association with the goods or services listed in the application;
  3. An approval for use of the goods or services listed in the application has been submitted to, or has been obtained from, Health Canada under the same name as the trademark.

Examples of Health Canada approval processes include:

To be eligible for expedited examination under this procedure, the application must include at least one of the following types of goods or services:

How to file a request

Requests must include the name of the applicant and, if known, the trademark application number (for further information, please refer to the practice notice "Identifying an application"). In compliance with subsection 4(1) of the Regulations, a request for expedited examination must not relate to more than one application for the registration of a trademark. There is no fee associated with a request for expedited examination. Requests must be submitted by mail or fax using the contact information outlined below.

Request for expedited examination
c/o Deputy Director, Examination Division
Trademarks Office
Canadian Intellectual Property Office
50 Victoria Street
Gatineau, Quebec K1A 0C9
fax: 819-953-2476

After a request is submitted

If the request for expedited examination is accepted, the Office will examine the application as soon as possible. Where a trademark application receives expedited examination, it could lose this advantage if the applicant requests an extension of time or misses any deadline.

If the request for expedited examination is not accepted, the Office will send written correspondence to the applicant explaining why the request was denied.

Please note that all Canadian trademark applications are examined in accordance with the Act and Regulations with guidance from the Trademarks Examination Manual.

This practice notice is intended to provide guidance on the Canadian Intellectual Property Office practice and interpretation of relevant legislation. However, in the event of any inconsistency between this notice and the applicable legislation, the legislation must be followed. The provisions of this practice notice are general guidelines only, are not binding in any particular case and are subject to change.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Requêtes d’accélération de l’examen

De : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Date de publication :

Les demandes d'enregistrement d'une marque de commerce sont généralement examinées dans l'ordre selon lequel elles ont été reçues par le registraire. La Loi sur les marques de commerce (la Loi) et le Règlement sur les marques de commerce (le Règlement) ne renferment aucune disposition spécifique prévoyant l'accélération de l'examen d'une demande. L'examen d'une demande d'enregistrement hors séquence tend à privilégier un requérant au détriment de tous les autres. À ce titre, l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada n'accorde actuellement aucune requête pour l'examen d'une demande d'enregistrement de marque de commerce hors de l'ordre normal.

Cependant, dans le contexte de l'actuelle pandémie de COVID-19 et en vue d'assurer aux Canadiens un accès rapide à des produits et services relatifs à la COVID-19, le bureau acceptera, dès le , les requêtes d'accélération de l'examen pour les demandes d'enregistrement d'une marque de commerce dont les produits ou services sont de nature médicale et en lien avec la COVID-19.

Contenu de la requête et exigences quant à la forme

Le registraire des marques de commerce acceptera les requêtes d'accélération de l'examen faites par voie d'affidavit ou de déclaration solennelle, par une personne qui a une connaissance des faits et qui précise les circonstances et les raisons qui justifient la requête. L'affidavit ou la déclaration solennelle doit indiquer, de façon claire, comment un ou plusieurs des critères suivants sont rencontrés :

  1. Une procédure judiciaire est en cours au Canada en ce qui concerne la marque de commerce du requérant en liaison avec les produits ou services énumérés dans la demande d'enregistrement;
  2. Le requérant combat la contrefaçon de produits à la frontière Canadienne en ce qui concerne la marque de commerce du requérant en liaison avec les produits ou services énumérés dans la demande d'enregistrement;
  3. Une demande d'autorisation pour l'utilisation des produits ou services énumérés dans la demande d'enregistrement, sous le même nom que la marque de commerce, a été soumise ou autorisée par Santé Canada.

À titre d'exemple, le processus d'autorisation de Santé Canada inclut les éléments suivants :

Afin d'être admissible à l'examen accéléré dans le cadre de cette procédure, la demande d'enregistrement doit comprendre au moins un produit ou service parmi les types suivants :

Comment présenter une requête

La requête indique le nom du requérant et, s'il est connu, le numéro de la demande d'enregistrement (pour plus de renseignements, veuillez vous référer à l'énoncé de pratique intitulé « Identification des demandes »). Conformément au paragraphe 4(1) du Règlement, une requête d'accélération de l'examen ne peut concerner plus d'une demande d'enregistrement ou plus d'une marque de commerce déposée. Il n'y a aucun droit à payer pour l'accélération de l'examen. Toute requête en ce sens doit être présentée par courrier ou par télécopieur aux coordonnées ci-dessous.

Requête d'accélération de l'examen
a/s Directeur(trice) adjoint(e), Division des examens
Bureau des marques de commerce
Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada
50, rue Victoria
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0C9
Par télécopieur au : 819-953-2476

Après avoir fait votre requête

Si la requête d'accélération de l'examen est acceptée, le bureau examinera la demande d'enregistrement dans les plus brefs délais. Bien qu'une demande d'enregistrement d'une marque de commerce bénéficie d'un examen accéléré, elle pourrait perdre cet avantage si le requérant demande une prolongation de délai ou s'il ne respecte pas une échéance quelconque.

Si la requête d'accélération de l'examen n'est pas acceptée, le bureau communiquera par écrit les raisons du refus.

Veuillez noter que toutes les demandes canadiennes d'enregistrement d'une marque de commerce sont examinées conformément à la Loi et le Règlement, en fonction des orientations prévues au Manuel d'examen des marques de commerce.

Le présent énoncé de pratique a pour objet de fournir une orientation sur la pratique de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada et l'interprétation de la législation pertinente. Toutefois, en cas d'incompatibilité entre le présent énoncé et la législation applicable, la législation doit prévaloir. Les dispositions du présent énoncé de pratique constituent seulement des lignes directrices générales, elles n'ont force obligatoire dans aucun cas particulier et sont sujettes à changement.

Date de modification :